Sennheiser Headphones/Earphones Fan Club V2, Create the Sound.................

damieneo
post Apr 21 2010, 10:58 PM

126 posts

HD600, HD800, HD25-13 (Old version)

This post has been edited by damieneo: Apr 22 2010, 10:15 PM
damieneo
post Apr 25 2010, 11:00 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Apr 25 2010, 09:14 PM)
sadly nope....u will need at least cdp source or u.s.d.2k dac pair with laptop
for amp, most recommend amp is SPL phonitor/auditor or tube amps like 2 x6SN7 or 4x 12ax7 at least to make the hd800 truly spectular
The thing about the HD800 is that its such a monster to amp properly. Its a really transparent headphone and will readily show up a gear's particular qualities. Too bad I missed the meet yesterday because at least can try out on different gears and cables Sep90 have and also to get opinions on the Audio-Gd gear I have to amp the HD800. Hopefully May 1st is can meet-up.
damieneo
post Apr 27 2010, 12:46 AM

126 posts

Someone from another forum I talked to had a HD580 and a HD600 - the original version with black silk screen and a brass ring around the inner coil. offer to sell at RM620 and RM700. Sounds like a good deal. Should I get hold either of this? I remember PcWork commented this being the best sounding of all??

These are pictures he sent of the HD600.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by damieneo: Apr 27 2010, 01:14 AM
damieneo
post Apr 27 2010, 03:26 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Apr 27 2010, 03:06 AM)
hm..for the price. you should buy that HD600.
it's cheap for that price provided the condition is ok.

it's true that before this. the version with cooper rings sounds the best, compare to newer version (during 2002-2008) which removed the cooper rings while still mantain black silk screen.

according to my experience. it is still true for HD650.
however. before launching of HD800.
i personally tested a unit of HD650 with silver colour of acoustic silk. and that's the best sounding HD650 imho. and i personally bought a pair of it.

so .. imho. i will personally rate
Silver silk HD650 > Copper ring Black Silk HD650 >>>>>>>>> Black silk HD650 without copper ring.

newest HD650. with silver silk. doesn't suffer any viel problems, less boomy compared to black silk HD650. faster sound signature. and imho more neutral.
and direct drive of this version of HD650 is possible even though connect it to a notebook soundcard.
while previous version HD650. without proper amping. is very very muddy and slow.

and i personally very salute to sennheiser company. that they continue to upgrade the HD650.. even though their new flagship is going to release. and imho. those who wanna keep a HD650. now is the time. because this newest version sound the best across 4/5 types of variation HD650 i ever heard.
some even with paper like acoustic silk which is slightly brown in colour..
Hey bro...still awake? smile.gif

Ya, I decided to go for the HD600, was dealing with the seller online from the US. I heard the old version once while working at the Philharmonik way back when the HD600 first come out, thought it sounded very very real.

Seems like Sennheiser continues to quietly bring about changes their HD6x0s through the years. the HD600 itself seem to have gone thru 3 different versions. As for the HD650 latest version, it probably is the best version now. Maybe I'll audition one at the Jaben meet this sat.

Makes one wonder....what will happen to the HD800 over the years.

PS Well, there's still the HD580, so whoever is interested can PM me and I'll pass the contact. Looks like I'll have to let go of my current HD600 doh.gif

This post has been edited by damieneo: Apr 27 2010, 03:35 AM
damieneo
post May 7 2010, 04:01 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(damieneo @ Apr 27 2010, 12:46 AM)
Someone from another forum I talked to had a HD580 and a HD600 - the original version with black silk screen and a brass ring around the inner coil. offer to sell at RM620 and RM700. Sounds like a good deal. Should I get hold either of this? I remember PcWork commented this being the best sounding of all??

These are pictures he sent of the HD600.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
My 1st Gen HD600 has finally arrived. Comparison with a recent HD600 with the metallic screen (made in 2007 I think from the date printed on the driver inside) definitely shows some sonic differences.

The 1st gen HD600 sounds fuller, more spacious and depth in soundstaging. It is not so piercingly bright yet very clear and airy. In fact details and timbre seems very close to a HD800 without HD800's upper treble brightness and without HD800 timbral refinement.

Tried the Cardas cable and the DHC Aftermarket cables on both. The 1st gen definitely sounded so much more natural in its instrument presentation, while using the DHC cable make it sound harsh and a bit grainy. So I suppose the often talked about synergy between HD600 and Cardas cable is true after all.

As for the recent HD600, it seems that the cardas and DHC makes it sound even brighter so perhaps just a upgrade to a HD650 cable will be better.

Didn't really believe there was a difference until I get one because I was always bothered by the newer HD600 brightness compared to the rest of the Sennheiser that I have and listened to.

I am very amazed by the fact a 10 year old HD600 sound so close to a HD800... It has the Sennheiser house sound...This must be what the first batch when reviews define the HD600's legendary neutralilty and natural presentation of instruments. Definitely will keep this.

This post has been edited by damieneo: May 7 2010, 04:12 PM
damieneo
post May 11 2010, 08:06 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ May 11 2010, 06:00 PM)
u cannot only cincai go for hd800
+ u wont know the pairing well 1st even u go for just the cables upgrade...matching is a b!t@^ with it
u will get headache/a lot of holes in wallet just to pair this monster with source and amp....
later u will blame that yur source and amp not up to task....that is the problem with high end headphones
unless u r keen into focus yur heart and attention into playing headphones and have deep wallet then it will reward u in near future....but not all ppl r keen into playing ...they rather go for hifi and it is about the same price as amp/dac/ hd800 setup....think carefully whether u wan to jump into it 1st or not....
Hahaha...quite agree there...getting source, amp to match the HD800 is a real pain... Spent almost close to the price of a HD800 just for the gear to match it now...
damieneo
post Jul 13 2010, 05:19 PM

126 posts

Just got myself a HD650 smile.gif. Yea, crazy...maybe on a headphone collection or sumthing....
damieneo
post Jul 14 2010, 11:28 PM

126 posts

LOL!...I think this is getting too much. Well, the HD25-13 is for field recording, the HD800 is for listening pleasure, the HD600 for checking my mixing, and the HD650 for...erm....not sure yet...I am thinking of selling some of the headphones I seldom use and try other brands like AKG, Grado, Denon....this brand loyalty of mine is carrying it too far doh.gif .

This post has been edited by damieneo: Jul 14 2010, 11:38 PM
damieneo
post Jul 15 2010, 02:31 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Jul 15 2010, 02:14 AM)
u just need a recable hd800 ...trust me ....when u listen back to low models...then u will know wat is missing with it
in my case, hd600 doesnt have the grand imagining as hd800 bass very lembik and missing body...
my favourite hd650 after didint listen for quite a while, listen back and found too much mids colorations and lower register not as tight as flagship
but that is driven by balanced setup and recabled .....maybe some time passed, i grew accoustomed to my hd800
Hmm....I agree about the HD800. About the HD600, mine is the first generation black silk and Brass Gold ring around the driver version. The HD650 is the new silver screen version. I was testing them out today, trying with the Cardas and DHC cable. Surprisingly, the new HD650 with the DHC cable sounds like the 1st gen HD600. With the Cardas, the HD650 has stronger bass and slight roll off treble.

So if given a choice, I like the HD600 with the Cardas cable, and at the moment, the Double Helix cable with the HD650. Haven't try PcWork's new cable yet but I think will visit Jaben and give both headphones a try with the cable. Not sure of upgrade on the HD800 cable yet...very costly....

Besides the HD800 which I listen for pleasure, the one i like the most is the old HD600 because it's imaging is quite good, and very balanced sound and I use it mainly for mixing at my studio. . Still not sure about the HD650 though....maybe for bedtime listening....

UPDATE July 15, 2010, 4:45 pm

I change my opinion about the HD650 sounding similar to the HD600 1st Gen version. It sounded nowhere the same. The HD650 has has smoother treble, and more bass. The mids are quite nice smile.gif It proabably took a while to settle in.

This post has been edited by damieneo: Jul 15 2010, 04:45 PM
damieneo
post Jul 22 2010, 10:45 AM

126 posts

Wow, Sep90...80% of a balanced set-up? I'm really tempted to give it a go. Just got myself a HD650 and am being seduced by its sonics with my neutral set-up.

Hehehe...yea...the HD800 is great for listening on the main rig and is like a combination of both HD600 and HD650 at and its very real in its timbre but I find the treble somewhat "weak".

On the other hand, the HD650 is quite, quite nice with the othe FUN. Now tempting to have a try with the Symphonica...

but budget...the other day bought the HD650 out of impulse without thinking....

Hmmm...Sieveking or Symphonica or Digital Interface....
damieneo
post Jul 22 2010, 11:46 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Jul 22 2010, 11:16 AM)
i was quite suprised at 1st when i played my cds through it as well but i can agree it gave the details and sonics wise as good as balanced setup itself
maybe the balanced r 20% r improved on the noise level,body and timing as well...but somehow it is quite a revealing experience for me since it has almost benefit as the balanced itself....bass and imagining wise the balanced setup excel at and the symphony signature (pcwork's own hd650) i tested just using his puny Govibe amp almost cover the major faults for hd650.....maybe that why it doesnt have bass layering as refined and impact as good as my balanced setup...doesnt rolled off when bass hit and shook my cheek effortlessly but there is a room for improvement if pcwork wan to come out with V2  tongue.gif hahaha
anyhow do try it out at Jaben and frankly it is no brainer for it's price and performance ratio...maybe i down to honest fella when it comes to reviews but i dun favor anyone when giving reviews...somehow pcwork and i able to share common idea and sound signature wise  laugh.gif

anyhow back to hd800, treble is associated the upper frequency...u r saying the the hd800 is not detail enough or bright enough? ><
timbre is mostly refer to body or upper mid to lower frequency itself....i think u mixed both up....
most hd800 has crazy amounts of details even omega Stax bow to it...lol it doesnt have the body, lower smooth range as good as omega but 3d holographic and soundstage hd800 r on par with Omegas....
but i still finding a suitable suitor for my hd800...the silver/gold is good but it's lack body and ahem ( i am too fussy most probably) very damm thin mids which go haywire when i played vocals but great for everything i throw at it
plan yur budget wisely 1st, get something that maximized everything in 1 shot....
sieveking aledi usd100 ++ or more, try to get something will benefit rest of chain from downward to upwards
Oops, I meant to say that the treble in the HD800 is sometimes quite bright to the extent that sometimes I wonder if it is the actual recording's mastering or it is just the HD800 being so revealing. Detail wise it is absolutely fantastic. I can zero in on a musical line in an orchestral performance. I do agree with you in most aspects about the HD800 performance. nod.gif

Maybe my terminology is still a bit mix-up with how musicians talk about. Timbre I mean to say is how much of a realistic body and texture of a musical instrument the HD800 is able to reproduce, especially piano, solo violins or group of violins, guitar compare to real life. In this respect, I felt the HD800 is phenomenal with natural sounding R2R type DAC like the DAC-19DSP. On most sigma-delta type DACs, the HD800 seems to reveal the slight digitalness of the sound.

I was thinking of jumping in on the first batch of the Symphonica earlier but I was held back by the thought of a 1/8" plug instead of the usual 1/4" plug and if using an adapter would affect the signal path. I guess testing it would be the best option at Jaben. Hopefully, during the AV show. I'll drop by early tomorrow as it might be quieter smile.gif

damieneo
post Aug 30 2010, 06:59 PM

126 posts

Well, for those who don't mind a secondhand unit, there's quite a few people letting go of the HD650 on head-fi : http://www.head-fi.org/forum/list/10

Is it safe to buy from them? It really depends on the seller I guess. So far my experience buying from Head-fi and ebay been positive. I bought my HD600 and also HD650 from sellers in Head-fi very cheap.. about RM700 for the HD650 and RM750 for the HD600 (its the first generation)... No problems with customs and great condition. tongue.gif

Anyway, this one is closer to home: http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/507728...inox-noir-cable

This post has been edited by damieneo: Aug 30 2010, 07:07 PM

0.0551sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:46 AM