The suiting thread v2

beau
post Aug 28 2010, 09:22 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Aug 28 2010, 06:24 AM)
OOOOOhh..my god..look at her legs.....what button???
The moral of the story is :-Having a good looking babe on your arms will help mitigate any sartorial faux pas!!
beau
post Aug 31 2010, 11:47 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Aug 28 2010, 09:53 PM)
How about gray lining for a navy suit?
Depends on the tone of grey-Something in shinny deep grey may be interesting otherwise I would opt for a lining in a different color.

Added on September 1, 2010, 12:00 am
QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 31 2010, 10:18 PM)
I think he got it wrong, he had a measurement session followed by 2 fitting sessions. It's the least the tailor could do given the huge profits from selling Zegna cloth.

Half lined is no problem. Unlined is currently not a possibility but wait till beau barges in and works the tailor over.
I'll work on an unlined suit much later -my current priority is to source for some hymo lining & other items to make a fully canvassed non-fused SB 3 piece suit ( fully lined ) Looks like you've given AL a major paradigm shift. He has since changed his tune about "shapeless non fused suit" ( Yung Sau Zhou )

I was thinking of a casual hacking jacket in Moleskins after we get the first suit right which should see me through my holidays year end.

The unlined jacket may follow thereafter

This post has been edited by beau: Sep 1 2010, 12:00 AM
beau
post Sep 2 2010, 02:54 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(TangChristo @ Sep 2 2010, 03:59 AM)
Guys what do you think about this blazer?
Too casual kind? Or formal?
Thinking of getting it. Gurus please give comments icon_question.gif
1. Are you planning to have this tailored for you? and
2. Is there shinny fabric on his lapel?

What are you planning to use this for ( assuming you are getting one in the first instance )
beau
post Sep 2 2010, 03:57 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 2 2010, 02:59 PM)
[attachmentid=1760430]
Could be interesting in DB
beau
post Sep 2 2010, 04:20 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 2 2010, 04:14 PM)
That's a real shame.. Would make for a most exerent DB as beau mentioned.
The prices are ridiculously cheap too.
beau
post Sep 2 2010, 04:41 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 2 2010, 04:20 PM)
BTW beau - I would not rush Iris with work. They probably can give you 2 fittings in a week, but that would not result in perfection.

If i were you, I'd aim for 1-2 muslin fittings and 2 fittings after the cloth is cut. That'd be 4 fittings, and you can space them out whenever you take the short trip down.

I think you'll be about 80-85% satisfied with the first commission this way, and maybe 60-70% satisfied if you were to have only 2 fittings.

If you drop by, let me know and I will be happy to arrange a small meetup with the local SF community. Some of them have experiences with Graham Browne, Chan, A&S and should make for good discussions.
Thanks -These visitors are from the US & have commission work with WW Chan etc. I have enquired at AL who have indicated that he needs 1 month for a fully canvassed job. Not sure if his button holes are up to scratch yet but I'll defer judgement until I see Kotmj's latest effort. I still have one or two more tweaks to be made to the shirt I am having him make before I start on the pants.

The visitors will be in Singapore for 5 to 7 days . Would you think your tailor could fit in 4 fittings in that time frame?

I will give Iris a go when time permits. I usually make day trips to Singapore every 7 to 10 days & having numerous fittings would not be an issue if the timing works out.

Thanks for the offer for me to meet with members of the local SF community -Perhaps you should extend that invitation to my friend as he lives there & probably is better placed to meet up when he is not traveling.

BTW I recently accompanied my friend to Sze Sze Tailor at Hong Lim Centre who spoke proudly of his suit factory . Your suspicions about him is not far from the truth.

Another friend took me to a specialist trouser maker near Lavander MRT. This person made a reasonable copy of a Ambrosi pants for SIN$45 excluding fabric. Comes with the 8 button fly as well. May give that a try when I am next in Singapore.

Added on September 2, 2010, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 2 2010, 04:24 PM)
Go on ... make me feel like an ass for passing up the opportunity. It shall not happen again!
It will probably come your way again but you need to be quick with the mouse.

By way of comparison, a friend recently made a suit in Escorial for around USD$8,000 at his tailor in New York. His usual Zegna fabric suits from the same tailor goes for around USD$2000 to $3,000 . It's unusual to find Escorial in stripes or patterns too. Given the high prices it now commands , it's the plain cloths in solid colors that are usually the norm.

This post has been edited by beau: Sep 2 2010, 04:48 PM
beau
post Sep 2 2010, 09:51 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 2 2010, 05:43 PM)
4 fittings? No chance.. If they are used to Chan's work, might as well just reorder from them if the fit is well dialed-in?

Not recommended to do a rush job in 5-7 days, and I'm sure you don't want your american friends to be unhappy with the work. Also, unless they have their own fabrics, the only things cloths in stock on the island are VBC, some H&S, and some Zegna. The SF approved stuff is not stocked, as is the case with Chan.

Do not have your friend's contact, but we are always happy to meet up with like-minded people.

I think the beauty of Ambrosi's lies in the handwork, and if it is the same Lavender guy I'm thinking of, there is absolutely no handwork involved. Fit is another issue, and most competent tailors would be able to make you a reasonable copy anyways!
Thanks for the info.

I was trying to dispel the myth that Singapore is not bereft of good tailoring but it's probably best not to rush things .
Your mutual tailor has his contact details & he probably needs to visit soon for his initial baste fitting or muslin fittings.It's difficult for me unless I'm staying overnight as I need to catch a flight back to KL after my meetings.

It's interesting to see tailors still practicing this as many move straight to the baste stage.Indeed, the better tailors on the Row would only do a muslin fitting if the fabric is extremely expensive .

It appears that the choice of fabrics is extremely limited in Singapore as compared to KL which surprises me. I went to a shop in Arab street which stocks mainly designer fabrics . I am somewhat doubtful of the quality of these designer fabrics given the fact that Valentino & Gianfranco Ferre doesn't own mills & probably charge a substantial mark up for the use of their brand. There doesn't seem to be much choice apart from Hwa Seng in Singapore.

I agree that Ambrosi's handwork is great but I personally prefer the stress points of a suit or trousers to be machined first for strength with pick stitching over the joints.

The old man at Lavender did some handwork on the pocket seams & fly for another friend but the button holes were machined made-he didn't seem confident to be able to replicate the raised buttonholes in the same manner as Ambrosi.

There is a bit more than just copying an Ambrosi pants as there is a lot of internal parts such as curtained waist & extra fastenings which go into making the trousers comfortable as well as looking smart.

Another friend recommended Kevin Seah at Red Dot Building for shirts & a relative swears by Justmens in Tanglin shopping centre.

I am not able to comment on Kevin Seah as I have not seen any of his product but the jacket my relative made at Justman's seem to be well constructed, fully canvassed & has reasonably nice button holes & finish. However the price he quoted at several thousand SIN seems to be very high for a run of the mill basic wool fabric.

Any thoughts you have on this would be appreciated.

Added on September 2, 2010, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(TangChristo @ Sep 2 2010, 08:01 PM)
Got this pic from TOPMAN website. Planning on purchasing it.
Yes its a skinny fit blazer.
Planning to use it more on smart casual wear, with jeans on than to formal. Or its only meant for formal wear the design?
Cause theres grey pipings on the edge so i assume it goes well with casual.
It really depends on how long you wish to wear this for. If you lose the grey piping & keep it classical & simple , you will probably get more wear out of it in both instances, formal & casual.

If you've looked at old wedding photos where the groom wears platform shoes & a 3 piece white suit versus those who are classically attired, you will note that the ones which are classically dress attract less mirth & looks of derision .

Added on September 2, 2010, 10:02 pm[quote=kotmj,Sep 2 2010, 07:25 PM]
Talking about old Malaysian tailoring, here are some pics I've posted before of jackets made for my uncle who's about 60+ years old now. They were made by his wife's brother who left his small hometown for Singapore to learn the trade before returning to his small town to settle down. They were made in the 1980s. I call him GDT for Great Deceased Tailor for he died a few years back.

He had a few apprentices, and one of them has his own shop in that very town still. He is the most famous tailor in that town. I tried contacting him the last time I was there but he was closed.

The two suits now belong to me. One is a grey POW with sky blue overcheck and the other a brown Scabal 120s.

Yes I saw that in your earlier postings. Goes to prove the adage that they don't make things like they used to. My dad has an old fully canvassed 30 year old suit made in an English fabric which he is still wearing & has aged well. It was difficult to believe that we had the ability to create such works of art then .

This post has been edited by beau: Sep 2 2010, 10:02 PM
beau
post Sep 2 2010, 10:08 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 2 2010, 08:12 PM)
I've actually packed the POW in my suitcase to bring with me on my month long business trip. It's the most comfortable suit I own, it's soft and roomy. I am trying to recreate the feel of this in my DB.

Properly made suits can be handed down and worn with much pleasure.
That used to be the case with many Row suits handed down from generation to generation ( thus giving the English gentry an old money look ) However , unless one specifically requests for extra allowances, today's tailors will not provide for this.

Further , the old vintage fabrics were sturdier & took time to soften out unlike today's consumer who wants an instantly soft suit which the Italians have cleverly pandered to.

Something has to give and in this case longevity is swept aside for progress!!

Added on September 2, 2010, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 2 2010, 10:02 PM)
Yeah, I was quite surprised when I first went to them for my muslin fitting, but learnt later that this the old skool way they were taught to do things. Good on them for not taking every opportunity to cut costs and focus on getting things right IMO. From my understanding, very few tailors these days do a muslin fitting as it adds substantially to costs. You know, the fabric they use in the fittings are actually leftovers from 20+ years ago. My most muslin fitting was done in a Harrison's super 100s fabric! It was a greenish blue with turquoise stripes, which explains why it didnt sell very well.

Well yeah, I guess Malaysia has a stronger home-sewing market which means there is more retail opportunity. The same cannot be said of Singapore, so the suiting business is mostly B2B.

TBH I have yet to see a pair of Ambrosis, but my friend who owns one doesn't think it to be that big a deal. Quite interesting that the old man took up the task to copy it, actually.

Kevin Seah has loads of fabrics, but I have no comments on quality. Justmen's is one of the older names and they are the same family as Kingsmen and Rossi if I remember correctly. No idea what the quality is like, but likely factory made.
My friend was pleasantly surprised too. Very few tailors do this even on the Row and only upon special requests or where the fabric bespoken for is extremely expensive ( eg Vicuna )

I made a pair of Ambrosis sometime time back. They were not very expensive ( around USD$500 to $600 ) given the quality of the handwork. They are cut sleeker than most the the trousers on the Row but is not necessarily more comfortable. There are plus & minuses to having this much handwork. It needs to be sent to a good dry cleaner. Fortunately Jeeves has two outlets in KL that provides dry cleaning at a premium.

I thought that my relative should have used WW Chan given the costs Justmen charged him . The finish was good but not to the same standards as WW.

This post has been edited by beau: Sep 2 2010, 10:20 PM
beau
post Sep 2 2010, 10:29 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 2 2010, 10:26 PM)
How much does a dry clean cost at Jeeves? Do they do sponge and press as well?
Can't remember. Will have to revert to you after the weekend when I collect my cleaning from there. The good thing is the clothes come back with no strong chemical smell but at a substantial premium as compared to the generic ones .
beau
post Sep 2 2010, 10:53 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 2 2010, 10:35 PM)
Have you heard of this method of refreshing a coat called "sponge and press"?

I have used a generic DC and I asked for no fragrance. They obliged. I also asked them to use a pressing cloth while pressing to avoid the wool taking on a sheen. They too obliged, but the result was an underpressed garment that AL had to touch up for me.
This is the first time I've heard of this.

I use a garment steamer & send my suits in when they are soiled after a trip or from heavy use.
beau
post Sep 3 2010, 12:19 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 2 2010, 11:37 PM)
Holy guacamole, which amongst you have a jacket you can move like this in? (That's Mahon, BTW.)

[attachmentid=1761355]
No need to as most of us are not in the trade.

Thomas Mahon is an alumus of A & S.

A & S is not only famous for the drape look but made jackets with impossibly high arm holes which enable Fred Astaire to dance & move easily in formal attire.

Having said this , I don't like the way A & S does its back with rear gathered sleeves as compared to a clean back & the Italians who masterfully hide the excess materials in the lower part of the arm syce.

To Thomas Mahon's credit, the back of his jackets are cleaner than the A & S variety ( at least on the ones I have seen ) & easy to work with , down to earth & generally open to new ideas .

The only negative is the time it takes to get something made as he is constantly traveling . I have not used him & the feedback is based on information from colleagues & friends who have . I would be tempted to if I decide to return to something English.
beau
post Sep 3 2010, 11:46 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 3 2010, 09:55 PM)
So....

It turns out the FC sifu moved house this week and my DB will be finished Sunday afternoon earliest ... which is a major problem because I leave on Saturday night. So the jacket will be couriered to my hotel. I did take delivery of the trousers.

I saw the stack of pictures beau gave AL. "Your friend," he said. AL held up a pic of a front placket buttonhole. Then another of a sleeve placket. Then another of a collar.

Added on September 3, 2010, 10:23 pmAlso, I've never seen so many jackets in his shop before. There were like a dozen hanging around and on the mannequins. During the early phak-woo-ying days there would be two at most. Sometimes none.
I have no trouble ordering & conversing in Cantonese but do not possess the same fluency or knowledge when it comes to tailoring terms . Pictures & samples make it easier to drive home the point to AL.

He has a tendency of first refusing your request -( Mm zhou tak !! ) before he accedes to the customer's request. The negotiation kicks in , a few points conceded , consensus reached etc. By way of an example , he told me that you cannot have a split yoke with matched patterns on the shoulders & sleeves when I showed him a picture until I took out an actual sample from a HK shirtmaker. By the time I graduate to commissioning a full suit , I might as well negotiate peace between the Palestinians & Isreal!!

We should thank you for softening him. When I first came in , he was extolling the evils of a fully canvassed soft suit ( Mm how, how fai chow !! Mm leng etc.. ). The DB he made might as well be his new born son the way he beams at it!!

The FC sifu hasn't upgraded to a Kenny Hills Bungalow on your account?

BTW , he used the wrong button on the sleeve placket ( 16 L instead of 14 L ) Having said that, the shirt is 75 to 80% there & I feel confident that we should come close to a good mix between an Italian shirt with the shank thicker buttons & an English Jermyn Street Shirt.

We'll torture him with an Ambrosi like pants next & remind him that most of us do not plan to use it as riding breeches & wish to retain our high sperm count when wearing our pants!!

How do you say "Curtain waist band " in Cantonese?

You may wish to obtain a quote directly from Jeeves for your "clean & press" . The quote I received was from RM$22 onwards, depending on the condition of your garment.
beau
post Sep 4 2010, 12:03 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 4 2010, 12:32 AM)
LOL, you sure can be funny. Kenny Hills? I negotiated a rather lean price, and when later I said I wanted "pin point stitch" (his terminology for pick stitching), he said he was making a loss on the suit. "Sik pun geh!" I then voluntarily added RM50 to the amount I was willing to pay.

My navy fishtail comes with a waistband curtain. It is not anywhere as well executed as on Zuperpent or Zuperpent+ (but then few trousers come close to these). His trousermaker lacks experience making them. I don't know the term in Cantonese -- I had Zuperpent+ with me at that time.

He used 3.5mm thick plastic buttons on one of my shirts. 16L on the front, 14L in the sleeve plackets. In fact, his brother came up from the galleys to show me the smaller buttons. "See, they are smaller." I said, "indeed they are" while nodding.

BTW you should ask them to soak the finished collar interlining before sewing. The collar interlining is a composite of cotton muslin bonded to a fusible then inserted into the collar, and they should soak the composite. I am planning to have him make enough composite for 10 shirts then bringing them home with me and laundering them several times before giving them back to him.

Also ask for the entire canvassing (in a jacket) to be soaked before making up. Ask him to perform the shrink test on your fabric before making up.
Perhaps the downpayment on a Kenny Hills bungalow with the rest of us helping him finance the installments .

BTW you may wish to re consider sending the jacket . It may be subject to VAT & enrich Herr Taxmeister.

There is a specialist trouser maker in Singapore which did a reasonable copy of an Ambrosi ( sans the handwork ) at very reasonable prices for a friend of mine. ( SIN$40 for labor, $80 to $100 SIN for house cloth , VBC I think ). I'm due to collect something from him mid month & will report back if the results are satisfactory.

I'm toying with the idea of having him pick stitch the pockets & seams after he has machine sewed them for added strength.

AL claims to pre-soak the fabric . From the looks of the two shirts I've made , it would appear that the shirt was laundered . The collars & cuffs were not fused & AL made provisions for collar bones should I need to use the shirt for work.

The collars are fine & seems to be a close duplicate of the ones from Hilditch & Key with much softer lining.The issue is the availability of good lining locally. HST sells reasonably good ones at their usual premium prices .

Having recently dissected an old Italian made shirt, I realize the reason behind the structure behind the collars is not only in the superb cut & tailoring but the soft hemp lining they use.

I was informed that these items are available in Sham Shui Po ,Hong Kong along Tai Po/Cheung Sha Wan Road.
It may be good to have a look there when time permits.

beau
post Sep 4 2010, 12:06 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 4 2010, 11:29 AM)
Quick poll ladies - which to get first?

1) Blue silk/linen/wool to be made as notch lapel ~8oz, 2B, 3 patch with side vents.

2) Sage/tan herringbone with burgundy/brown overcheck ~10oz to be made as notch lapel, 1B, hacking+ticket pockets, side vents.

Both will be quarter lined, soft and squishy.

FWIW I have the following odd jackets: a navy linen blazersuit, a brown with blue overcheck jacket (3patch), tan cotton jacket, and not that it matters, but also a tweed jacket.

TBH I am already 80% sure I have decided, but would like to hear some thoughts anyway!
Gshen,

Here's my two cents worth :-

1. Fabric 1 to be made into a suit
2. Fabric 2 to be made into a jacket, preferable a hacking or Norfolk style jacket.

Any details available on the manufacture? Let us know what you decide on & post pictures of the items in question.

Added on September 4, 2010, 12:10 pm
QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 4 2010, 12:05 PM)
Please do tell if you manage to find the lining. I'd definitely be interested in a good supply of that stuff.
Sure. The other source will be from a friend's factory in Shenzen. Their family does contract manufacturing for some of the high end house & much of the linings etc are often bought in from Italy in the initial stages until they are able to source it locally in China.

Added on September 4, 2010, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 4 2010, 12:32 AM)
LOL, you sure can be funny. Kenny Hills? I negotiated a rather lean price, and when later I said I wanted "pin point stitch" (his terminology for pick stitching), he said he was making a loss on the suit. "Sik pun geh!" I then voluntarily added RM50 to the amount I was willing to pay.

My navy fishtail comes with a waistband curtain. It is not anywhere as well executed as on Zuperpent or Zuperpent+ (but then few trousers come close to these). His trousermaker lacks experience making them. I don't know the term in Cantonese -- I had Zuperpent+ with me at that time.

He used 3.5mm thick plastic buttons on one of my shirts. 16L on the front, 14L in the sleeve plackets. In fact, his brother came up from the galleys to show me the smaller buttons. "See, they are smaller." I said, "indeed they are" while nodding.

BTW you should ask them to soak the finished collar interlining before sewing. The collar interlining is a composite of cotton muslin bonded to a fusible then inserted into the collar, and they should soak the composite. I am planning to have him make enough composite for 10 shirts then bringing them home with me and laundering them several times before giving them back to him.

Also ask for the entire canvassing (in a jacket) to be soaked before making up. Ask him to perform the shrink test on your fabric before making up.
Good point you made about the increase in the number of jackets in ALT.
1. They all seem to be in the same color & shade ( ie Navy )
2. Some commissions are more successful than other. There was even a SB 2 button jacket with a nice generous lapel roll made for a very large gentleman.

This post has been edited by beau: Sep 4 2010, 12:13 PM
beau
post Sep 4 2010, 04:43 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 4 2010, 12:14 PM)
Unfortunately there is only enough of fabric 1 for a jacket. If you felt the softness and limpness of this cloth, you'd surely agree it's jacketing rather than suiting too. The donegal-like flecks also add to the casual nature.

Fabric 1 is by Reid & Taylor, old stuff when they were still producing good stuff back in Scotland. I understand most of their shit is made in India these days. Weave is 50% silk, 35% wool, 15% linen. Or something like that.

Fabric 2 is by Dugdale Bros. I bought this stuff when i visited the factory in Huddersfield last year..unfortunately they had some production problems with this range and it did not even make it to be sent out as swatch books. Just a non-supers worsted wool, with a tweed-like pattern. Very nice drape though. Couldn't decide what to do with this, but I recently tried on my friend's hacking jacket in the same config mentioned, and I like it very much.

Did not want to post the manufacture as both are impossible to get hold of now. But since you asked..
Good buy-Fabric 1 looks similar to Carlo Barbera . The new stuff coming out from their India factory is unimpressive but I'm sure they will overcome this in due course.

beau
post Sep 4 2010, 05:02 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 4 2010, 02:44 PM)
#1 because it's more exotic.

Added on September 4, 2010, 3:00 pm
Jesus, this DB story is getting impossible. I'll have to think of something within the next couple of hours.

Sure he pre-soaks the muslin, but the first non-fused shirt he made for me has no shrinkage while the others that followed did. He also used a stiffer fusing in the later shirts but I have given him immediate feedback that cardboard collars defeat the purpose of no fusing. "Soft and floppy" is the message you should get across each time till it is drummed in.

There are 3 avenues how he can improve his shirts still:

1) Reset buttonholing machine for shirts

He uses a middle setting that allows him to use it for both trouser buttonholes and shirt buttonholes. When I asked him to set it to the finest setting for my shirts, he sort of changed topic.

2) Use #220 thread

Like everyone else he uses #100 or #120, but I will try to source some #220 for my own shirts.

3) Further increase stitch density

Added on September 4, 2010, 4:06 pmSince I'm not a national of the Fatherland, can I not ask for a refund of the VAT?
There are several options available to you:-

1. Take the risk & have the item declared as a "sample" , "gift" or personal effects. In all likelihood , you may get away but on the off chance they open the package for inspection , you may either have to pay a hefty fine on top of the duties & VAT levied or risk having the item impounded.

2. Declare the full correct value & ask for a waiver by explaining that you purchase it for this trip etc.

The Fatherland follows a civil system so intent & purpose is irrelevant if you are in breach. By way of an example, we were caught for a traffic violation . Out came the Polizei with his hand held automatic summons book & fines were paid on the spot with a credit card & receipt issued. No discussions , no negotiations unlike Bolehland where "yau tak keng " & "kau thim" is the norm.

The collars AL makes for me is extremely soft so there's no complaints there. A little bit more structure would enable the collar to roll & sit better.

There seems to be finer stitching on the collars than the rest of the body. I'll probably need to work on the stitch density & threads on my next commission.

Unlike my previous commission where I gave him unfettered access to my buttons, I've limited the supply to precisely the amount he requires for the shirt & reminded him to use the 14L buttons on the sleeve gauntlet.

The plus point is the fabrics I have passed to him were purchased at a steep discount at an outlet so the pain threshold is still bearable.

Have a good trip to the Fatherland, warp up warm & have fun.
beau
post Sep 4 2010, 05:27 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 4 2010, 02:44 PM)
#1 because it's more exotic.

Added on September 4, 2010, 3:00 pm
Jesus, this DB story is getting impossible. I'll have to think of something within the next couple of hours.

Sure he pre-soaks the muslin, but the first non-fused shirt he made for me has no shrinkage while the others that followed did. He also used a stiffer fusing in the later shirts but I have given him immediate feedback that cardboard collars defeat the purpose of no fusing. "Soft and floppy" is the message you should get across each time till it is drummed in.

There are 3 avenues how he can improve his shirts still:

1) Reset buttonholing machine for shirts

He uses a middle setting that allows him to use it for both trouser buttonholes and shirt buttonholes. When I asked him to set it to the finest setting for my shirts, he sort of changed topic.

2) Use #220 thread

Like everyone else he uses #100 or #120, but I will try to source some #220 for my own shirts.

3) Further increase stitch density

Added on September 4, 2010, 4:06 pmSince I'm not a national of the Fatherland, can I not ask for a refund of the VAT?
VAT refund only works if you purchase from certain shops in the EC & bring the stuff out of the country.

Just make sure you keep receipts as evidence of proof of purchase , your return flight & inform them of your intent to bring the item out of the EC when you leave.
beau
post Sep 4 2010, 06:56 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Sep 4 2010, 06:28 PM)
Nope, i wear it from the house, into the car, to the conference/training room, and into the bar after the training, but it pays to look good in front of people for the right occasion.
Also always thought the prada looked the best when compared to other brands, so i got it. and its the only suit i have to date.
I'm not a big fan of designer products as I don't believe in paying high markups & marketing costs. However I am always open to new looks & designs . Please share pictures of the suit in question & we'll be happy to provide feedback
beau
post Sep 5 2010, 12:25 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 4 2010, 11:32 PM)
Thanks for sharing folks - I finally decided to go for #2 first to add a bit more variety to my wardrobe, but #1 will be the next project for sure.

Some vintage kimono fabric is going to be used by lining the shoulders and piping the exposed seams (quarter-lined) as well as under the pocket flaps.

Very eggciting.
Sounds like an interesting choice. We look forward to viewing the pictures in due course.
beau
post Sep 5 2010, 10:18 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 5 2010, 12:41 AM)
Yeah, it's really hit & miss ordering from fleabay. I am lucky to have found a local source, but his stock imported from Japan is very erratic - sometimes awesome and mostly shit. The stuff I'm using for the project is just ~14" wide and has to be cut on the bias for piping.. very costly indeed.

Which are you referring to? #2? I have no issues with non-supers at all as well, and tend to be extremely pessimistic/suspicious when cloth feels too smooth and silky. May be merely correlation, but I find that non-supers tend to feel more robust/beefy and have better drape in general.

I am quite positively sure, but it may be all in my head though.
Gshen,

Fleabay , as you so aptly describe it, is a great source of ladies vintage silk scafts which I've seen used as suit lining to good effect. Not sure how effective it is in terms of robustness.

Like you , I'm not a big fan of all these high super numbered cloths. If anything, my preference is to go no further than 110 or 120 max for longevity. I tend to look at cloth weight . My preference is nothing below 300 gms with 450 for winter jackets.
The lighter fabrics ( with certain exceptions ) generally tend to be more crease prone. The drapes on the slightly heavier fabrics seem better in my opinion.

It's very telling to look at some of the vintage items from the Row versus the more contemporary ones. Not only are they better constructed but the less refine fabrics gives these items greater longevity.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0564sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:10 PM