Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

nazrul90
post Jun 29 2011, 10:01 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(calcilis @ Jun 29 2011, 09:53 PM)
how to avoid frosting during top coating?
QUOTE(Shinra @ February 23 2011, 06:16 PM)
Hey, that’s a frosting effect from the topcoat. It happens when the temperature is too cold, so just make sure it’s above 70 degrees Fahrenheit before spraying and you should be fine. Trying to warm up the can a little might be good too (not too much though, it’s explosive!)
Hope that helps! You can strip the frosting with lacquer thinner
nazrul90
post Jul 4 2011, 02:04 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 3 2011, 09:40 PM)
i think i need to get black gundam marker instead of the normal permanent black =_= that 1...somehow very hard to clean it. and yeah, i know it's those very dark blue...not exactly black :T

so does the tamiya polishing compound helps? can make it looks glossy again ka?

i don wan paint / spray ler. trying to avoid....coz it might end up becoming a bigger mess for a beginner like me
i suggest get a spray can and higher/lower grid sandpaper..
sand it with 600 grid and later higher grid which 1000 or 1200 grid.. but it will left a rough surface(obvious it is?)
take a spray can and spray it about 30 cm from kit(use sweep motion which leaves a smooth and thin surface)
if you want glossy effect get a can of clear spray(for example DPI Anchor clear)

hope this help you.. all item i mentioned can get in hardware shop
dont worry about it.. even i as beginner can do it, why you cannot too? icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Jul 4 2011, 02:05 AM
nazrul90
post Jul 4 2011, 02:10 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 4 2011, 02:07 AM)
you sand the whole kit before spray?
oh yes, but i screwed coz got paint chipping
no primer to cover the kit sad.gif

nazrul90
post Jul 4 2011, 09:31 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 4 2011, 09:20 AM)
use hair dryer laugh.gif
it will melt the plastic whistling.gif
nazrul90
post Jul 4 2011, 07:53 PM

302 posts

why give up for something that you dont do yet?

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Jul 4 2011, 07:53 PM
nazrul90
post Jul 4 2011, 08:10 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Jul 4 2011, 08:04 PM)
Painting is very easy  icon_rolleyes.gif

I trained my spray painting skills by using plastic spoons that i got from college's cafeteria  laugh.gif

I test until I am happy with my end results
^this
i always try paint on unused runner first before painting something
nazrul90
post Jul 6 2011, 10:16 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 6 2011, 10:02 AM)
so normally ppl panel line first....then only cut it, clean the nibs, and polish it? tongue.gif
in basic gunpla, polish isnt needed smile.gif
nazrul90
post Jul 7 2011, 04:00 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Madz.Madz @ Jul 7 2011, 02:34 PM)
Just a question guys, what Tamiya Enamel color do you suggest to use for rust-like weathering?
flat red maybe hmm.gif
you can refer here
nazrul90
post Jul 8 2011, 01:21 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(akoxix @ Jul 8 2011, 01:13 AM)
hi guys. just wanna ask 2 questions..
1. i wanna use decal softener for my D-Hell custom decal. what brand should i use? coz, different brand have different composition. so, which one is the best? or give the best result?

2. i wanna make my model shine metallic-like. but, i don't want to interfere with the original color. i just wanna the color more shining under the light. what should i use?

thanx for helping me icon_question.gif
1. Try Mr.Hobby
2. gloss finish, i mean spray gloss top coat on it will have same effect
nazrul90
post Jul 8 2011, 02:27 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 8 2011, 01:51 PM)
then what's the difference between resin and plastic?

so far gunpla is all plastic?
yes, all gunpla so far consist of ABS, PS and PVC(for polycaps) part, some gunpla even have diecast part(like MG NU Gundam)
no sure about resin kit cause i dont have one yet tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Jul 8 2011, 02:32 PM
nazrul90
post Jul 10 2011, 01:17 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 9 2011, 02:46 PM)
ya meh? :| thought of going matte :|
cannot imagine SF in shiny mode
if you dont like rough surface,
better go for gloss
nazrul90
post Jul 10 2011, 06:18 PM

302 posts

what is the ratio for mixing thinner and paint? hmm.gif
nazrul90
post Jul 11 2011, 12:46 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jul 11 2011, 12:37 AM)
what are you using it for? handpaint or AB? there is not answer to this question unfortunately. paints of different age will have different thickness so it really differs from bottle to bottle. you need to use your judgement and estimate the ratio for yourself.

for ab,we always say have a consistency of milk. for handpaint, i'd say a little thicker with a touch of retarder.
i use handpaint and retarder is optional? coz i dont have retarder
nazrul90
post Jul 13 2011, 09:27 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(mf_yamato @ Jul 13 2011, 04:50 PM)
the trick turns out good..hehehehe

no problem when painting that emblem? no paint spill?
nazrul90
post Jul 19 2011, 06:47 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Jul 18 2011, 06:10 PM)
Gaia is neither acrylic nor enamel. It's lacquer, i believe. As to how to differentiate them, you could usually tell from the name. It will usually say acrylic, aqueous, or enamel on the bottle. If nothing's stated, it's usually lacquer. I'd advise asking the shop owner where you bought it from for confirmation.

Enamel is the best for hand painting since it dries the slowest. You could still use acrylic/lacquer with some drops of retarder to slow the drying process.

yup, mostly Gaia paint are lacquer based...
example how it look:

since it is lacquer, it have smooth and good surface like spraying with spray paint type...
but it have strong smell, so please wear respiration mask while painting ph34r.gif

i usually go for lacquer since enamel is too slow to dry(about 10-24hours) icon_rolleyes.gif
acrylic i never try yet so i dont know how the good it is.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Jul 19 2011, 06:47 AM
nazrul90
post Jul 26 2011, 03:09 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(akoxix @ Jul 26 2011, 02:45 PM)
hi. i got a question. u do know a clear part on chest of 00 Qan[T] right? i want to put  masking tape on it coz i want to paint part around it.. do the masking tape affect that clear part? leaving any sticky residue or nothing at all??  hmm.gif 

thanks.. sorry for the newbie question..  icon_question.gif
Tamiya masking tape have less sticky glue smile.gif

or get the cheap one(the white) at normal shop

avoid clear tape as it the glue is hard too remove

nazrul90
post Jul 26 2011, 10:22 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jul 26 2011, 10:15 PM)
try doing shading with pencil graphite just now (no airbrush yet :[), here's the result on rg aile strike leg part
also jz try tat mechanical pencil can deliver a good shade effect on some panel line  thumbup.gif

try seal it with flat coat
later you hold the gundam with sweaty hand, the shading will disappear
nazrul90
post Jul 28 2011, 07:07 PM

302 posts

any tips painting small area using toothpick/tip of satay stick?

nazrul90
post Jul 31 2011, 01:36 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 31 2011, 01:01 AM)
i jz bought Mr. Hobby Color paint bottles
does the paint need to be mix with thinner or can direct use?
i bought clear colour paints
mix it
the ratio could be 1:2 i guess
not too thick, not too thin based on my experience
nazrul90
post Aug 2 2011, 02:32 AM

302 posts

well, using Mr. Mark Softer and Mr Mark Setter can help waterslide decal stick properly
there is no need to apply flat coat first

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Aug 2 2011, 02:34 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:08 PM