19 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Philosophy Do you believe end of the world is coming?, by 2012....

Avangelice
post Oct 11 2010, 09:09 AM

5,272 posts

Without us the world will continue to thrive as this is an evolutionary process unless and until it explodes due to collision or the sun goes out. The question is not Is it going to happen but rather when does it happen.
lindaraof
post Oct 11 2010, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(HonMun @ Apr 19 2010, 02:56 PM)
Another 1 year plus.....be happy dont worry.
thumbup.gif

DarkNite
post Oct 11 2010, 11:14 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Yesterday, I was channel surfing when I came across a documentary that say the world will come to an end in 2060 as predicted by Issac Newton.
Yes that very same English physicist, mathematician, astronomer, natural philosopher, alchemist, and theologian who is considered by many scholars and members of the general public to be one of the most influential people in human history. Who gives us universal gravitation and the three laws of motion in his book - Philosophiæ Naturalis Principia Mathematica.

In a manuscript he wrote in 1704 in which he describes his attempts to extract scientific information from the Bible, he estimated that the world would end no earlier than 2060.

So now we get extra 48 year! thumbup.gif
3dassets
post Oct 11 2010, 11:52 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

extract scientific information from the Bible

Do you see another scientist doing that now? A prominent figure can't be wrong and assume everything just because he got some successes? At that time, the bible is a source of reference in conjunction with the inadequate encyclopaedia.
Searingmage
post Oct 12 2010, 12:51 AM

1,809 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Oct 1 2010, 12:21 PM)
Doesn't the Bible talk about signs of judgement day? Which part of it that says it come at the hour most unexpected?
Mark 13:32
Matthew 24:36
No one knows, however, when that day or hour will come - neither the angels in heaven, nor the Son; only the Father knows.

Frankly, you mentioned in your early post that your relative truly believe in the event of 2012. And you claim she is religious. To date, I have not found any religion that told us the world will end at 2012. If your relative is a Christian, do tell her that if even the Son of Man does not know when the day or hour will come, why should she be worried that it will happen at 2012?
billytong
post Oct 12 2010, 09:08 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 11 2010, 12:41 AM)
I don't believe in the Bible, but I still think there should be signs to it. It's still all right in this 2010, and we're very near to 2012 already.

So mayan's predictions = hoax.

The Mayan didnt predict 2012. It is not their fault. It is their calendar ends @ 2012. Apparently they either had abandon the calendar project or their civilization wiped out when they wrote 2012.

Some dumb historian just trying to grab attention by saying 2012 "could be" end of the world. If anyone need to be blamed about this 2012 thing. It is those dumb archeology scientist who make this 2012 story.
Potatojii
post Oct 14 2010, 09:30 AM

140 posts

End of world is not on 2012. But if you are interested on this subject, read the link below

http://www.barry.warmkessel.com/SynopsisComet.html

Comet impacts cause times of great cold, even Ice Ages, because they stir up so much dust. Evidence can be found in "tree ring", "ice core" and other data. Geochronology data shown in the following table indicate that Earth has been hit often recently. Five comet swarms have formed at two distant (444 AU) locations separated by 13o in Vulcan's elliptical orbit. All are formed in a 3:2 resonance orbits during two sequential Vulcan orbital revolutions. These are similar to the red Plutinos found in a 3:2 resonance orbit with Neptune. These Vulcan related swarms are labeled A' & A and B' & B respectively. A rogue swarm C (same period anticipated) is also present. The separation of the A' to A and B to B swarms is found to be about 666 - 790 years. Multiple comet clusters (Cl) within each swarm exist. Images of these clusters have been found carved in solid rock.

"Starting at the end and work forwards, the last Cataclysmic event is when the Earth is renovated by fire. It is discussed in 2 Peter 3:5-13 and Revelation 20:7-15. The Earth is turned into a sea of fire and lava. There are no longer any oceans. This event could be cause by a large impactor 100-200 miles in diameter.

Before that happens there will be a millennium, a thousand years, of peace. Revelation 20:1-6 - God made a promise to the Jewish people, during this time he will begin to fulfill it. Before that there is a Great Tribulation. This event is discussed in Matthew 24:21, Revelation 8:5-13, Revelation 6:12-17, Revelation 16:17-21 and Revelation 18:8-10,21 to name a few. The damage falls in line with the damage that would be created from an impactor in the 2-3 mile diameter range.
3dassets
post Oct 14 2010, 10:47 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

Thats why "Deep Impact & Armageddon" is more likely, again unless people can migrate to another planet, there is no solution to this kind of cosmic collision.
fix24311
post Nov 7 2010, 01:14 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Oct 11 2010, 11:14 AM)
Yesterday, I was channel surfing when I came across a documentary that say the world will come to an end in 2060 as predicted by Issac Newton.
Yes that very same English physicist, mathematician, astronomer, natural philosopher, alchemist, and theologian who is considered by many scholars and members of the general public to be one of the most influential people in human history. Who gives us universal gravitation and the three laws of motion in his book - Philosophiæ Naturalis Principia Mathematica.

In a manuscript he wrote in 1704 in which he describes his attempts to extract scientific information from the Bible, he estimated that the world would end no earlier than 2060.

So now we get extra 48 year! thumbup.gif

plausible. reason? here: NASA To Visit Asteroid Predicted To Hit Earth

basically NASA predicted the RQ36 asteroid to hit earth in 2182, however it isn't confirmed since many other factors have to consider that may affect the trajectory of the asteroid. with the diameter of 580 meter, will have enormous impact "like the biggest nuclear bombs ever built exploding at once, creating a crater maybe 10 km across."

probability of hitting earth? 1:1000

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by fix24311: Nov 7 2010, 01:16 AM
3dassets
post Nov 7 2010, 04:00 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

Why worry? The movie 2012 shows that only rich people have a chance to live, if we are not then die lah, at least we know how we die.
fix24311
post Nov 7 2010, 02:45 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Nov 7 2010, 04:00 AM)
Why worry? The movie 2012 shows that only rich people have a chance to live, if we are not then die lah, at least we know how we die.

Religious people are worried their deeds aren't enough to ensure a place in the afterlife. But if say the end of world is delayed to 2060 or 2182, maybe they will enjoy... tongue.gif

The movie 2012 doesn't exactly depict the end of the world, it just depict big flood and earthquake with the world still standing strong.
But to say the world doesn't believe this is at all is hard, because I've once read that the UN have built a bunker deep on a mountain in Switzerland that can withstand any disaster. It is currently being used to store seeds for food supplies.
anti-informatic
post Nov 7 2010, 09:10 PM

902 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Oct 12 2010, 09:08 AM)
The Mayan didnt predict 2012. It is not their fault. It is their calendar ends @ 2012. Apparently they either had abandon the calendar project or their civilization wiped out when they wrote 2012. 

Some dumb historian just trying to grab attention by saying 2012 "could be" end of the world. If anyone need to be blamed about this 2012 thing. It is those dumb archeology scientist who make this 2012 story.
No, cant entirely blame on one party only.

The popularity of 2012 is entirely based on the believers, which are those people in the internet, as well as some other people that wrote articles and provide fallacies to mislead ppl to say that mayan calendar, war, natural disaster and bla bla is the reason of 2012.

At the same time, we cant blame entirely on these people as well.
Criminals require the victim's cooperates to achieve their objective.
People who believe in misleading information need to take their own blame for their........

low IQ...?

Lastly..... whenever talk about 2012
Look out of the window or something and ask urself: "Which part of the world I'm seeing now got a sign of 2012?"
If u truly think so many disasters truly gonna happen in one short period while bout 2 years from now this planet can be so peaceful.....
i gonna doubt ur logical thinking.
ray123
post Nov 8 2010, 10:03 AM

Senior Citizen
2,509 posts

QUOTE(anti-informatic @ Nov 7 2010, 09:10 PM)
If u truly think so many disasters truly gonna happen in one short period while bout 2 years from now this planet can be so peaceful.....
Things can change very rapidly and suddenly. Not many know that the Yellowstone National Park in the United States is actually a giant active volcano capable of covering the world in ash and dust. The best part: it is overdue for a cyclical eruption.
happyprince
post Nov 8 2010, 02:20 PM

224 posts

I always believe in Karma.One day human will get what we have done for thousands years.
3dassets
post Nov 8 2010, 03:00 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(happyprince @ Nov 8 2010, 02:20 PM)
I always believe in Karma.One day human will get what we have done for thousands years.
What is the deal with Karma, we can blame god for created human and allow to self destruct? Should we void all technology and reject knowledge and stop all invention since 2000 years ago? I should move to the jungle but intrude gov land and have to pay tax, no escape maybe steal something and live in jail. Give me some options, how do I end my ancestor's sin? Can I plant a few trees? I probably need license for that but I shall pay with papaya & banana. hmm.gif
happyprince
post Nov 8 2010, 05:53 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Nov 8 2010, 03:00 PM)
What is the deal with Karma, we can blame god for created human and allow to self destruct? Should we void all technology and reject knowledge and stop all invention since 2000 years ago? I should move to the jungle but intrude gov land and have to pay tax, no escape maybe steal something and live in jail. Give me some options, how do I end my ancestor's sin? Can I plant a few trees? I probably need license for that but I shall pay with papaya & banana. hmm.gif
Human is only creature in this planet that live to destroy every corner of this planet.The pollutions caused by our heavy industries and daily activities.The more advanced and newer technologies have bring up more human's curiousity to explore more and more in this planet.
The way that you talks are really irresponsible and selfish,.Do you think we,as human are doing well all thousand years?Ya,i know,we can't move back to jungle and live like stone's age lifestyle.At least i have felt i have something bad to this planet.Do you ?
By the way,i'm atheist.
3dassets
post Nov 8 2010, 09:52 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

I assume you are very young, since you feel bad, what are you doing to preserve the Earth? My reply is to reflect yours, so that you show us your solution but don't just say your compassion is the difference. You believe in Karma but then says you are atheist, perhaps you should take time to think before posting?
lonely_dream
post Nov 10 2010, 05:40 PM

533 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Nov 8 2010, 09:52 PM)
I assume you are very young, since you feel bad, what are you doing to preserve the Earth? My reply is to reflect yours, so that you show us your solution but don't just say your compassion is the difference. You believe in Karma but then says you are atheist, perhaps you should take time to think before posting?
I'm atheist too,but doesn't means i don't love this planet.
3dassets
post Nov 10 2010, 07:27 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(lonely_dream @ Nov 10 2010, 05:40 PM)
I'm atheist too,but doesn't means i don't love this planet.
Hello Leng-Chai, I learn to understand English before I post, who says atheist don't feel compassion about conserving the Earth?
flore
post Nov 11 2010, 09:12 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Nov 7 2010, 04:00 AM)
Everybody dies. The only difference is whether we all die together or not.

19 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:08 AM