19 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Philosophy Do you believe end of the world is coming?, by 2012....

3dassets
post Nov 11 2010, 09:49 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

Err... People die everyday, what is the difference if we all die together, you feel better than to die alone?
flore
post Nov 11 2010, 11:30 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Nov 11 2010, 09:49 AM)
Err... People die everyday, what is the difference if we all die together, you feel better than to die alone?
Not many people like to die alone, yeah? biggrin.gif
kaiying
post Nov 13 2010, 11:28 PM

181 posts

HAHAHAHHAHAHA. I'VE GOTTO SAY, I ENJOYED READING. THANKS rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Aug 22 2010, 09:49 PM)
Maybe US (travel agent) going to announce to the world that alien was at Area 51 after all this while
The itinerary on 21 Dec 2012 is still in progress

Seriously, I do agree with Stephen Hawking that it's kinda risky to reach out to Alien... an analogy is to what European had colonize the US land
QUOTE(abubin @ Aug 25 2010, 01:40 PM)
ok, something interested to share with you guys.

I was chatting to a friend the other day and he told me about this collegue of his that is a believer. This guy is really a moron (in my own opinion).

He often do charity work by buying live animals from market and then releasing them out to the open. In chinese term, it's called "let live". But the ironic thing is, he continue to eat meat. He says those who slaughter the animal is the one who get lots of bad karma. Those who eat, not so bad. He also believe in 2012 saying it is not really end of the world but rather something drastic will happen. And he believe, his past life, he was an alien. I LOLed my ass off....

I was like...how can an educated person (he is an engineer), have this kind of mentality?
blink.gif And you are laughing at people's mentality? hmm.gif

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Sep 13 2010, 10:22 AM)
at first, why human being created here (earth) not saturn? not pluto? (dont tell me because earth got oxygen)

second, who created human being?

third, the purpose of human being created? i dont think we birth for work, study, screw girls, screw by boss, buy house, buy car, go clubbing etc..
it must be some purpose that's y we here to achieve

forth, is that in universe that's only human being?

i believe after we know all this secret, then we will know whether got doomsday o not.. it actually related..
Interesting question. But my ancestors all dead already. So they won't know?
To me, life is basically a cycle la. Allow me to ask all your questions but instead of humans, i use ants, dogs, .... (they are living things too.. & maybe they can sense better!- According to Noah's movie)

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Sep 13 2010, 04:10 PM)
believe, but its 2012, not now, not 2moro, not next week....
Wah. U r God ah. Maybe tomorrow (choi) you will have accident. Then that will be 'your' doomsday lo.

QUOTE(3dassets @ Nov 8 2010, 03:00 PM)
What is the deal with Karma, we can blame god for created human and allow to self destruct? Should we void all technology and reject knowledge and stop all invention since 2000 years ago? I should move to the jungle but intrude gov land and have to pay tax, no escape maybe steal something and live in jail. Give me some options, how do I end my ancestor's sin? Can I plant a few trees? I probably need license for that but I shall pay with papaya & banana. hmm.gif
hahahaha. this is funny. rclxms.gif Planting a few trees might be helpful. (by the way, i do agree the way you speak is kinda selfish)

IMBO, 2012 definitely creates a huge impact to the civilized human beings. Look, we are here discussing. You & I wonder what is going to happen, why it will not happen, etc.. To me, is like a sign.. Reminding us to live life, yes, continue to pay your bills, but live life.. Also, we are more aware of natural disasters. When an earthquake/ volcano eruption happens, people talk about it, people begin to worry, people link to 2012, people live life..

Doesn't matter if 2012 happens/not, people die everyday. Or alot of people die everyday. Even if you say 2012, we die together, still we have time diff around the world. So M'sians die first, then US, then bla bla bla.. Maybe in Malaysia, (u get cooked first, i still have another breath after u).. -Temperature.

Imagine to those believers of 2012. If they are gonna spend all their money before 21 Dec then wake up in the morning- they are still alive.. Gosh.. whistling.gif

SUSDeadlocks
post Nov 14 2010, 03:56 AM

n00b
943 posts

Is the topic a scientific question, or a philosophical question?
3dassets
post Nov 14 2010, 02:43 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

Why you need to question the question? Take the title as it is and shoot, no scientist here.
lonely_dream
post Nov 14 2010, 04:47 PM

533 posts

It's not about we all will die together on 2012's day..What i'm concern about is,if 2012 is judgement's day for human being only,just kill us all ,please don't harm other creatures.
3dassets
post Nov 14 2010, 05:51 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(lonely_dream @ Nov 14 2010, 04:47 PM)
It's not about we all will die together on 2012's day..What i'm concern about is,if 2012 is judgement's day for human being only,just kill us all ,please don't harm other creatures.
I think my kind are spared because I don't believe in judgement day, which god under which religion? So other religion don't share the same judgement day are not affected? I think god should just keep the zoo and making human is a mistake.
zeusag
post Nov 15 2010, 12:34 PM

23 posts

Even 2012 is coming, the disasters are not coming all in advance. If it's a punishment, for sure it'll come one by one, torturing your psychological and physically pain & fear.
Just live as fullness as you have now, you'll never know what happen next.
angel-face
post Nov 15 2010, 12:40 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(flore @ Nov 11 2010, 11:30 AM)
Not many people like to die alone, yeah?  biggrin.gif
haha i LOL agree wit u.... rclxms.gif

Added on November 15, 2010, 12:41 pm
QUOTE(zeusag @ Nov 15 2010, 12:34 PM)
Even 2012 is coming, the disasters are not coming all in advance. If it's a punishment, for sure it'll come one by one, torturing your psychological and physically pain & fear.
Just live as fullness as you have now, you'll never know what happen next.
omg...i willing to die instantly rather than suffer from da disaster cry.gif

This post has been edited by angel-face: Nov 15 2010, 12:41 PM
3dassets
post Nov 15 2010, 02:32 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

You mean dying is like going vacation that it feels better in a group? No wonder there are mass suicide, I wonder how that feels like.

We continue to grow up until you reach adulthood and then we are slowly dying, people who are terminally ill suffer such psychological torture.
kaoshi
post Nov 15 2010, 07:24 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Nov 15 2010, 03:32 PM)
You mean dying is like going vacation that it feels better in a group? No wonder there are mass suicide, I wonder how that feels like.

We continue to grow up until you reach adulthood and then we are slowly dying, people who are terminally ill suffer such psychological torture.
dying is the same feeeling you get whatever situation u face..
once u die, u die lah.. just that you will get the chance to watch people dying beside you,while you are dying beside them..
light_type
post Nov 16 2010, 06:39 PM

83 posts

2012 is heard everywhere on internet. Medias.

It's pretty much something that scare me at first, sounds shocking and such but I eventually ignore it. Maybe some people have so much free time and start the rumors, or even when it's true I have other works to do.

for me it's still unknown for the 2012 possibility so I will just go on with life.

bittercup10
post Nov 24 2010, 10:37 AM

I believe that soon end of the world coming but not 2012..we don't know because we are not God and just be nice to ppl smile.gif)
Searingmage
post Nov 29 2010, 12:35 AM

1,809 posts

QUOTE(Forum Goon @ Nov 26 2010, 04:12 PM)
The End of the World cult isn't new. Groups of people have always been claiming that 'the world is gonna end soon' as far back as ancient history. And every one of them has been proven wrong, so there is absolutely no reason tot think one of them would be right today.
This time's better though. They claim the cause will be solar storm, yet scientist has already proved that even if there's a solar storm, it will have little effect on earth. Yet, there are still so many believers.
sarvinG
post Nov 29 2010, 02:34 PM

Quality is better than Quantity
1,155 posts

Well, looking at all the aspects such as books, article, Internet, this issue is something huge. I've read a book entitled 2012 and basically what contains in it are about the usual Mayan's calenders reading and prediction, the pyramids and so on.

Scientist had predicted that there would be some solar storm and stuff. Its not 100% sure its gonna happen but well, its a prediction based on Naza's technology. Another thing is about a catastrophic change that "will" occur on that year. The Earth will move drastically and our north pole, south pole would change. It will happen so fast that many natural disasters would be triggered at one time. So that would wipe out species, therefore ending the world.

After reading much of this thing, I don't really believe it. I mean, let time decide. If it happens ok, if it didn't, ok too. Life goes on.

Nostradamus had been said to been a true prophet in predicting events like this. Countless of events he had predicted such as the September 11 attacks. Anyone actually believe this guy?
3dassets
post Nov 29 2010, 04:55 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

When the date is set by some people who claim this and that, others will make thing happen on that auspicious day. Look at the global impact and influence it can garner from believers, a powerful method of control making predicted events happen which ever is possible and 911 is one that can be achieved.

With it, skeptics have to doubt and fear those dates or prediction, the idea of prediction is the same as predestined, if so go die because what ever you do won't matter, its predicted that you won't and this part of the mental flaws continues.

Life is boring without the unexplained, I feel stupid when think of why I was born and have to worried when the end will come, so I choose to believe in do more to contribute than feeling silly.

This post has been edited by 3dassets: Nov 29 2010, 04:56 PM
kakumei
post Dec 13 2010, 12:45 AM

124 posts

2012 end of days? unless an asteroid crashes on earth (fat chance) or suddenly the sun just die off (which is impossible). haha...

it's a shame that such topics came out in PhD. it reflects the average intelligence here. MOD please shift this topic to /k/ please.

no point discussion religion here. this is PhD channel, where intellect prevails.
TSabubin
post Dec 16 2010, 04:17 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(kakumei @ Dec 13 2010, 12:45 AM)
2012 end of days? unless an asteroid crashes on earth (fat chance) or suddenly the sun just die off (which is impossible). haha...

it's a shame that such topics came out in PhD. it reflects the average intelligence here. MOD please shift this topic to /k/ please.

no point discussion religion here. this is PhD channel, where intellect prevails.
how do you know there are no asteroid going to crash earth? Or the sun solar flare burst is coming? Maybe these are real and just that NASA or other big agencies are not announcing them to ants like you whose life is insignificant. Looks at the 2012 story...they build the ark secretly without public knowing. Don't you think that's possible?

Also, why does religion discussion NOT an intellectual discussion? Religion involves hundreds of years of philosophical shaping. And a lot of religious people are famous scientists too. Eventhough I do not believe in religion, I still can't deny the fact that it exist and is part of this world. That being religious does not means no intelligence.

Which part of this thread does not have intellectual discussion? Do you see those stupid comments and one-liners here as in /k/?

Go back to your k-tard forum with your k intelligence.
kakumei
post Dec 17 2010, 01:50 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Dec 16 2010, 04:17 PM)
how do you know there are no asteroid going to crash earth? Or the sun solar flare burst is coming? Maybe these are real and just that NASA or other big agencies are not announcing them to ants like you whose life is insignificant. Looks at the 2012 story...they build the ark secretly without public knowing. Don't you think that's possible?

Also, why does religion discussion NOT an intellectual discussion? Religion involves hundreds of years of philosophical shaping. And a lot of religious people are famous scientists too. Eventhough I do not believe in religion, I still can't deny the fact that it exist and is part of this world. That being religious does not means no intelligence.

Which part of this thread does not have intellectual discussion? Do you see those stupid comments and one-liners here as in /k/?

Go back to your k-tard forum with your k intelligence.
Obviously you are missing my point.
I can't predict the future as you are. So do the religious people.
As for the asteroid crashing onto earth, fat chance. 0.000001% (not scientifically proven) but if it happens, i'll congratulate you, abubin!! I did not say that it is impossible in my earlier post dude, just the chance is very very very very very very slim.

Yes, religion is...human made; where all the philosophy and culture and rules of the land are made to control the people of THAT era, and NOT NOW. Thousand of years ago, religious people made contributions to science and improvement to the knowledge, but NOT NOW. Now most religious people are spreading ignorance rather than going with time (mostly due to the fact there is no update from GOD since their last messenger)

Do you believe that Earth is created around 10,000 years ago? Certain religion does and currently still defending it despite scientific proves (carbon dating and etc)
Do you believe that the age of whole universe is also around 10,000 years? They do. And they are teaching the children and small kids in the elementary schools and at home. This kind of mentality is absurd.

Which part of it is intellectual now?

By the way you are debating a topic, you don't deserve to post here. Stop calling names. Intellectual people don't disgrace themselves by doing personal attacks. Amen.

P.S. Oh well, i always see myself as an insignificant ant in the world anyway. I'm surprised that you got to know about NASA and other big agencies top secret project to build an ark. You must be a significant big ant. Honoured to speak to you. Enjoy your trip to the space.

P.S.S. Why year 2012? Have you asked? Why do you insist that it's 2012?

Added on December 17, 2010, 2:12 am
QUOTE(abubin @ Apr 19 2010, 02:48 PM)
I know this topic would better suit posted in /k/ thread but I do not want those /k/ people spoiling the thread.

Anyway, if you have watched the movie 2012, it does says by the mayans that the world is coming to an end in 2012.

What made me posted this thing here is because yesterday I heard from a relative that she actually believe 2012 is really coming. She got the information from some documentary about such apocalypse and she actually believe judgment day is coming. This is helped by she being a very religious person.

Then she saying things like she worried about getting a new car because scared that when 2012 strike, she might be jobless and no money to pay for the installment.

So, what do you guys think? Do you really believe in 2012 or end of the world is coming? Or some major catastrophe is nearing?
OMG, you are the OP! Haha.
Indeed you've agreed that this topic is better suited in /k/!

This post has been edited by kakumei: Dec 17 2010, 02:20 AM
TSabubin
post Dec 24 2010, 06:42 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(kakumei @ Dec 17 2010, 01:50 AM)
Obviously you are missing my point.
I can't predict the future as you are. So do the religious people.
As for the asteroid crashing onto earth, fat chance. 0.000001% (not scientifically proven) but if it happens, i'll congratulate you, abubin!! I did not say that it is impossible in my earlier post dude, just the chance is very very very very very very slim.

Yes, religion is...human made; where all the philosophy and culture and rules of the land are made to control the people of THAT era, and NOT NOW. Thousand of years ago, religious people made contributions to science and improvement to the knowledge, but NOT NOW. Now most religious people are spreading ignorance rather than going with time (mostly due to the fact there is no update from GOD since their last messenger)

Do you believe that Earth is created around 10,000 years ago? Certain religion does and currently still defending it despite scientific proves (carbon dating and etc)
Do you believe that the age of whole universe is also around 10,000 years? They do. And they are teaching the children and small kids in the elementary schools and at home. This kind of mentality is absurd.

Which part of it is intellectual now?

By the way you are debating a topic, you don't deserve to post here. Stop calling names. Intellectual people don't disgrace themselves by doing personal attacks. Amen.

P.S. Oh well, i always see myself as an insignificant ant in the world anyway. I'm surprised that you got to know about NASA and other big agencies top secret project to build an ark. You must be a significant big ant. Honoured to speak to you. Enjoy your trip to the space.

P.S.S. Why year 2012? Have you asked? Why do you insist that it's 2012?

Added on December 17, 2010, 2:12 am

OMG, you are the OP! Haha.
Indeed you've agreed that this topic is better suited in /k/!
Yeah..this is a better way to post in this thread instead of what you did in your first post. Those are meant for /k/tards. Like I said, I didn't post in /k/ because I did not want to read those stupid oneliners and troll comments. The above comment you posted even if it is negative stuffs you will never find in /k/ threads (i think cause I have not being there long). Even in the serious discussion in /k/ you still find those lousy post for /k/ trolls.

Anyway, if you read my comments about 2012 it is due to something triggered by the movie 2012 and also due to what one of my relative commented. That is why discussion about 2012. If you think you have a better year for end of the world, by all means go ahead of point it out. We are more than delight to debate about it. Not post one-liners like "you die, i die, we all die. the end". Got it?

19 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:43 PM