Lenovo ideapad Y460/Y560 Thread, Gaming nerd in a business package

TSjotaro12
post Apr 21 2010, 11:35 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(wztech @ Apr 21 2010, 10:37 PM)
y460 >>> 4820tg.....y460 comes with ati hd5650....4820tg only comes with ati hd5470...

http://mytechnews.info/b/2010/04/acer-time...s-malaysia.html
4820TG does have few configurations of spec, only the unlucky part is M'sia won't be having the HD5650 GC and i7-620M. I didn't test the battery life because I mainly use it at home, no point put in battery lol. The main support center is in Subang SS14

Acacia IT Services

I have extended my warranty to 3 years carry-in. For consumer series laptop they don't offer on-site unless you have thinkpad/business class series laptop. The screen is fine on me, nothing to shout about.

I only can say don't give high hopes on upcoming laptops unless they have already launch. I was thinking about getting N82jv too, but because there's no available unit around KL that I can feel and play with, might as well get what is on the market.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 21 2010, 11:43 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Apr 21 2010, 10:10 PM)
it is considered normal for most of the SB to have high temp according to some forums......but i don't know why.. perhaps due to passive cooling ? unsure.gif

My PCH temp for 3 1/2 days tongue.gif. Passive cooling has its own pros and cons. Most of them do able to withstand longer period of high temp but from a lifespan standpoint, it'll shorten for sure.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 22 2010, 01:10 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(mzzzk8819 @ Apr 22 2010, 12:34 AM)
A form of sarcastic review I would say. The only thing interested me would only be the benchmark. Other than that, it seems like he acts like he knew everything which he screwed up himself in the 1st place on the drivers.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 22 2010, 01:41 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Apr 22 2010, 10:49 AM)
WTA is this warranty including on-site available at shops? Looks worth it.

Please read my post on this page and you'll have your answer.

Added on April 22, 2010, 1:48 pm
QUOTE(zeropulse @ Apr 22 2010, 12:41 PM)
After leaving it on for the night, the hdd part gets really warm. My touchpad feels warm too. I've switch to Intel GMA already. Wonder why.

What kind of cooler pad do you guys use? The Y460 seems to have "stands" on each corner of the laptop, which makes it unable to have contact with my cooler master notepal. sleep.gif
If possible, do post a screenie on your current temp using everest, CPU-Z or GPU-Z. I can't assume a possible answer if you don't give us a temp reading.

This post has been edited by jotaro12: Apr 22 2010, 01:49 PM
TSjotaro12
post Apr 22 2010, 04:21 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Apr 22 2010, 03:41 PM)
just to share a china website regarding Y460/Y560
i guess all you want to know about Y460 and Y560 is in the website =D

http://itbbs.pconline.com.cn/notebook/11117096.html
Thanks rclxms.gif I've added the link on 1st page.

Added on April 22, 2010, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(calvenbj @ Apr 21 2010, 08:23 PM)
after some reading on window 7 XP mode..

there are some limitation on it.. especially on those XP software who dealing with 3D graphic and database server communication.. i believe XP mode cant perform well on this virtual XP mode..

. Is there anybody using WIndow XP only on his/her Y460...thanks
Just noticed Y460 support page does provide XP drivers, but not all of it especially on Lenovo's own features software like SlideNav, OneKey Theater/Recovery.

This post has been edited by jotaro12: Apr 22 2010, 05:03 PM
TSjotaro12
post Apr 22 2010, 06:45 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Apr 22 2010, 06:07 PM)

I'm just leaving it on and running a few stuffs. Look a the PCH hitting 70..sleep.gif
I assume you noticed my last screenie does have the same temp as yours. You'll feel a slight warm on upper touchpad area but I'm not bother by it sweat.gif .
TSjotaro12
post Apr 23 2010, 11:56 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Apr 22 2010, 11:29 PM)
y460 user.. try to force the cpu to run at low freq , 1.3GHz .. and run some game test.. you will see the temperature is same as normal laptop =D
this is what i found, however the game FPS will not really drop,
test it then you will know it! XD

through this setting, you don need worry about heat issue when gaming lol
You used Lenovo power management to lower/tweak your CPU clock or other software? hmm.gif Don't have free time lately but was planning to go extreme to max out CPU constantly @2.93Ghz w/ OC GPU to crack 3Dmark 06 score(somehow I can't use ATI Tool on my system, it just BSOD after I finished the installation rclxub.gif )
TSjotaro12
post Apr 23 2010, 03:07 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(wztech @ Apr 23 2010, 02:52 PM)
does anyone knows whether the DVD drive support burning of double layer dvd or not?
It does. Just make sure don't get those cheap dual layer DVDRs since laptop ODD is sensitive.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 24 2010, 12:15 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(rashad @ Apr 23 2010, 11:02 PM)
hi guys i have a question i want to create another partition from C by shrinking c in Disk management tool and using that space to make another partion, my question will that effect the recovery key. i know this question was raised before and answered by jotaro 12 but he mentioned using Linux, i don't think u need Linux to do it since windows can.
The answer is no effect for the recovery key and no again for creating a new primary partition because you already have System Reserved, C: and Recovery partition which already fill up the max 3 primary partitions in 1 HDD. The only way would be re-assign the Extended D: Lenovo partition after you shrinked your C:. If you still don't understand... better start to learn more on file system for Vista/7.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 24 2010, 12:51 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(rashad @ Apr 24 2010, 12:33 AM)
thx for the feedback, and i am sorry if i offended you by any way, it wasn't my intention. because i sense a harsh tone in your reply " the part if you don't understand " which was not necessary.

again ty.

Added on April 24, 2010, 12:33 am

I'm sorry if you think I'm giving you a hard time. I'm just a straight forward guy where I'm not used to explain/elaborate why something can't be done. I've did what you wanna do. The other solution would be extend your system reserved partition to act as your data partition like a bro here stated before. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jotaro12: Apr 24 2010, 12:53 AM
TSjotaro12
post Apr 24 2010, 01:06 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Apr 24 2010, 12:59 AM)
Any comments on the keyboard?
I'm still learning to use it till today bcoz I'm used to my old Dell 15" laptop and the spacing between each key is slightly different from what I've been accommodate for 5+ years. The keyboard doesn't flex though(for me), but it depends on case by case.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 24 2010, 10:02 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(hikari85 @ Apr 24 2010, 07:54 PM)
Did they charge you fees for it?
after update latest BIOS cant boot.  sweat.gif
If you just said your laptop suddenly can't boot up, I think you can skip the charges tongue.gif

Added on April 24, 2010, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Apr 24 2010, 07:13 PM)
It's keyboard comfy and noisy or not bro? hmm.gif
Hmmm, since I got keyboard protector, I'll say noise is fine but I won't say it's comfy, just normal... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jotaro12: Apr 24 2010, 10:11 PM
TSjotaro12
post Apr 25 2010, 06:52 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Apr 25 2010, 05:17 PM)
Hey guys is there the Lenovo Y560 in Malaysia? Seems interesting..! biggrin.gif

-Core i7-720QM 1.6GHz
-ATi Mobility Radeon HD5730

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
It's tempting but it doesn't have graphic switching ability ----> heat generates faster sweat.gif
TSjotaro12
post Apr 26 2010, 07:30 AM

541 posts

QUOTE(mzzzk8819 @ Apr 26 2010, 02:41 AM)
HD 5730 > HD 5650
Too bad you can OC your 5650 anytime to 5730 w/o screwing your laptop/GC.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 26 2010, 06:27 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 26 2010, 05:45 PM)
Guys, if i got some program thAt only compatible with windows XP, can I run it on windows 7 home premium using virtual PC or something?

Or I need windows 7 professional?

Can the y460 support xp mode?

And what's VT ar?
You actually can install XP mode even you're using home basic(found out a while back) but need to do some settings. Try google to get your answer. If not, there are other virtual software like VMware etc. If your XP program does related to server/network operation, it might have it's limit on XP mode. VT is embedded on some processors where it provides the ability to support virtualization.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 27 2010, 12:38 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 27 2010, 10:41 AM)
if not mistaken, all windows 7 CD got all version of windows inside, and you can choose which version to install

so you can surely use your key to activate and install it
That applies to Windows Vista only. All Win 7 retail & OEM DVDs will follow their own version's respectively, there's no version selection before installation and after finish installation, it'll straight away ask you to enter product key(even tho you didn't enter the key, you'll still getting the same version that your DVD has, i.e. Windows 7 Home Premium DVD -> Windows 7 Home Premium only.) Other than that, it's not advisable to discuss here.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 27 2010, 04:20 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Apr 27 2010, 01:33 PM)
hey guys i saw china y460 version has a 3G broadband included in the notebook

i have checked my y460 , it does not have 3G modem integrated in the laptop

does your y460 has the 3G broadband?

Already knew that when I search around china forums. Mine doesn't have the SIM slot + I think it's only available to certain region models. Some China guy got his w/ SIM slot, still it won't able to search it's hardware.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 28 2010, 06:03 PM

541 posts

Stylish and portability, M11x. Performance horse and budget wise, Y460.
TSjotaro12
post Apr 28 2010, 07:08 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 28 2010, 06:52 PM)
finally pay deposit for the y460 lol

and it seems i need to purchase another windows 7 professional myself if i want to use it, which means i will have 2 windows7 @@

i cant just upgrade from windows home premium meh? anyone can clarify?

Added on April 28, 2010, 6:54 pmPS: i asked 2 shop, and both also tell me same thing...very mahal leh if buy again , RM500 @@

sigh..upgrade macam cheaper eh lol
Only Dell provide upgrade options because they'll build your system after you ordered/customized. Other OEMs will get their own OS that come with the box, so limited upgrade options.

This post has been edited by jotaro12: Apr 28 2010, 07:23 PM
TSjotaro12
post Apr 28 2010, 08:48 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 28 2010, 07:26 PM)
means i cant even upgrade myself by purchasing the upgrade from microsoft? sad.gif
You are able to do the upgrade, just not from the OEM factory --> means you have to re-install the OS(recommended) or can try the windows anytime upgrade(not sure if it works).

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:05 AM