7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

A RM20k Entry Level Sportbike, Kawi/Suzie/Yammie/Honda?

TSyamato
post Apr 10 2010, 01:35 AM, updated 15y ago

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

Hi guys,

my car installment has finally settled and i am thinking of getting a bike next.

now, budget is below 20k, but i wouldnt mind to top it to 30k if i find something which perfectly suits me.

i perfer smtg like:
- brand new sportsbike or naked/streetbike. (not a chopper/cruiser/tourer fan here.)
- 250 to 650cc
- 4 stroke
- as an alternative daily commute (car is still my main), 30mins city ride to work.
- occasional weekend "getaway" ride
- strictly non European machine.

I have actually shortlisted a few bikes, but.....

1. Kawasaki ninja 250R - RM23K (fuel injection '10 model)
Pro:
- good beginner bike
- decent handling
- resell value
Con:
- kindda small for a 6' man like myself, not comfy for long legs. handle bar almost knocked my knee when making sharp turns.
- pricey for a 250cc.
- skinny and similar looking as the smaller 150cc NSR, TZM and super KIPS 150  hmm.gif

2. Kawasaki ER6N - RM34K
Pro:
- one of the cheapest 650cc
- badass & muscular looking
Con:
- seriously beyond my budget
- no windscreen, fighting the wind at >120km/h will put much load on both arms unless sticking the chin on the tank. might not suitable for weekend cruising.
- poor ergonomics for 6 footer. crampy for long legs

3. Honda VTR250 2010 - Price TBA
Pro:
- V-twin
- great ergonomics
- quality built (its a honda rolleyes.gif )
- italian style like a baby ducati monster
- price tag fits my pocket (in thai, VTR is 5000baht cheaper than kawa 250R)
Con:
- yet to be launched, will it ever reach Msia?  wink.gif
- 3hp less then kawa 250R ( VTR 29hp, 250R 32hp). it may sound insignificant, but thats 10%hp less, do the math!
- missing 6th gear
- could be expensive if CBU (Kawa 250R is rm21k because its CKD, if this VTR isnt CKD.... doh.gif 
(until today there is still no news about this bike, i guess we should forget about the VTR)

4. Honda CBR250 2011 - Price TBA (Est RM20k+)
Pro:
- Honda = built quality, reliable & durable, plenty of spareparts icon_rolleyes.gif
- ABS (optional)

Con:
- single cylinder OMG doh.gif  this one is killing me.
- CBU from thai unless Boon Siew localize it
- only 13L tank (ninja has 17.4L)

there are other bikes that i have looked into like the Naza blade 250 and 650 but none have really draw my attention yet.

so sifus & gurus, please give me some suggestions and recommendations on what do u think that might suits me.

i want a bike that looks good, sounds right, feels fun.
looking forward to join you guys for convoy, soon enough i hope! thumbup.gif

edited:
honda CBR added into the list

This post has been edited by yamato: Oct 30 2010, 08:02 AM
dma0991
post Apr 10 2010, 01:45 AM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

This post has been edited by dma0991: Apr 7 2015, 12:09 AM
DarkForXe
post Apr 10 2010, 01:46 AM

747 posts

er6f? the hottest bike now.
anyway, you can install windscreen on er6n easily.

Added on April 10, 2010, 1:48 amhmmm. dont get 250r. Few months of riding you would feel like throwing it away. Underpowered, unable to join certain convoy due to lack of speed/power. Just choose between er6n or er6f. If you dont mind 2nd hand bikes, there are more to choose from.

This post has been edited by DarkForXe: Apr 10 2010, 01:48 AM
raymondwong1808
post Apr 10 2010, 01:50 AM

283 posts

WHAT CAR R U DRIVING?
Agent717
post Apr 10 2010, 10:14 AM

209 posts

Instead of er-6n, how about er-6f?
Basically an er-6n with fairings.
http://kawasaki.com.my/productpage.php?do=...tail&pro_id=105

This post has been edited by Agent717: Apr 10 2010, 10:15 AM
robertngo
post Apr 10 2010, 11:08 AM

4,027 posts

if for me i will got for er6n or er6f, may be save a few more month to get enough money. the 250 likely you will feel underpower soon after riding it.
wandzul
post Apr 10 2010, 11:34 AM

152 posts

if u can consider used, used kawa zxr 750 L model should be below rm25k.. J model should be below rm20k..

or used aprilia rs250.. rm13k onwards.. but its a 2-stroke and parts might cost u a bomb..

go HERE.. u might be poisoned.. lol
darkdevilrey
post Apr 10 2010, 12:28 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

with your budget, i would suggest er6f

happy.gif

not much u can choose for a price range of RM20 to 30k.

er6n too common liao, everywhere also got.
robertngo
post Apr 10 2010, 12:54 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Apr 10 2010, 12:28 PM)
er6n too common liao, everywhere also got.
of cause common, which new 600 cc bike you buy for 32k new? thank to our wonderful tax and AP system.
Cyprid Dark ii
post Apr 10 2010, 04:19 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Apr 10 2010, 12:54 PM)
of cause common, which new 600 cc bike you buy for 32k new? thank to our wonderful tax and AP system.
Thats true....since there is no other 600cc that you can buy new with 30k range,unless you opted for second hand bike.

50k range can get you second hand 05-06 ZX636 or GSX-R600 K4-K5(but other brand than kawa is quite rare to find especially Suzuki)

dma0991
post Apr 10 2010, 06:47 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

This post has been edited by dma0991: Apr 7 2015, 12:09 AM
tictac
post Apr 10 2010, 07:30 PM

2,520 posts

how about 2nd hand bike?

zxr 250cc

TSyamato
post Apr 10 2010, 09:01 PM

760 posts

oh come on, the er6f is 40K+ beast, and its a supersport.
i dont need a fast bike. speed is my least concern as i have mentioned that the bike is just for me to get to work zapping through urban traffic.

and thx for the continental or used bike recommendations, i prefer brand new jap or CKD ones. hassle free, cheaper to maintain and wide range of aftermarket parts.

Agent717
post Apr 10 2010, 09:20 PM

209 posts

Wah the VTR. I also want it sad.gif
I love nakeds.
bluears
post Apr 10 2010, 09:28 PM

104 posts

KSR 110? it may be small, but looks very nice. only 7k
TSyamato
post Apr 10 2010, 09:39 PM

760 posts

QUOTE(Agent717 @ Apr 10 2010, 09:20 PM)
Wah the VTR. I also want it sad.gif
I love nakeds.
yup. sexy it is.

im praying that this baby is going to CKD and available in the market by 3rd or 4th quarter this year. but i dont have high hopes coz 250cc have a tiny market in malaysia. (kawa 250R and blade 250 are the only 2 choices we have now)

150cc is rm8k-10k. 10k/150= rm67 per CC
250cc is rm20k. 20k/250=rm80 per CC
400cc is...(where are the 400s in msia?)
650cc is 35-45k+. 40k/650=rm61 per CC

250 is vastly overpriced, not to mention if CBU cry.gif

Added on April 10, 2010, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(bluears @ Apr 10 2010, 09:28 PM)
KSR 110? it may be small, but looks very nice. only 7k
hah, i have nvr thought of it.
7k is pretty easy going but it looks more like a toy then a real bike. is it capable to bring me to genting on any weekend joy ride? i doubt so shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by yamato: Apr 10 2010, 09:48 PM
kapalterbang_737
post Apr 11 2010, 01:50 AM

859 posts

If speed is not the main concern, kawa 250r is a good choice. It can go up to 170/180 and i think its already enough for cruising on highways.the seating position also quite relaxing as it is actually a sport tourer, so ur body will be on quite an upright position.

If u want something cheaper maybe u can try naza blade 250r. those early model had some QC issues but the new 1 has improved. i'm using one and satisfied with it. but it's quite hard to find spareparts and aftermarket parts if u are not in KL smile.gif
Agent717
post Apr 11 2010, 02:07 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(yamato @ Apr 10 2010, 09:39 PM)

Added on April 10, 2010, 9:43 pm

hah, i have nvr thought of it.
7k is pretty easy going but it looks more like a toy then a real bike. is it capable to bring me to genting on any weekend joy ride? i doubt so shakehead.gif

Say that to the myksr community lol
They have been travel from KL to Perak. Very good bike. I own one actually.

TSyamato
post Apr 11 2010, 02:54 AM

760 posts

@kapalterbang 737
im glad that u share your biking experience with us. the infos are sincere & will definitely help me in choosing the right bike. notworthy.gif

@agent717
pls dont get me wrong, ksr is a decent machine, but it doesnt fit my case.
eg. ksr, c70, hayabusa or V-max all can travel from point A to point B without a prob, in fact there are thousands of bikes out there that can do the same, but im looking for the right bike, which can only be just one.

SUSenjoice
post Apr 11 2010, 05:04 AM

33 posts

if u like that kind of sound on the 250 try get er6n sounds more powerful and faster than 250r.

honestly if i have no choice i wud rather choose er6n or klx150, dtracker 250 over ninjz 250r, they sounds better than 250 ninja. but i wud preffer inline 4 cylinder sound like cbrf4i

or you can opt for kawasaki dtracker 250 (supermoto), with extra cash if u want to, try mod it with accessories and tune the bike better.

supermoto front fender, rear fender and seats. high handle bar. etc etc

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:40 AM