Mark Ripptoe:starting strength
gtoforce
post Apr 4 2010, 12:37 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Apr 4 2010, 12:13 AM)
Mark Ripptoe:starting strength
problem ngan mark rippetoe is that there's no problem with it
cuma its quite difficult to understand it if one practices it on one's own (not that its impossible)
tongue.gif

but the focus on compound movements - well thats a basic

Neek
post Apr 4 2010, 01:52 AM

Stop imagining whats supposed to be here.
1,593 posts

QUOTE(synchun @ Apr 4 2010, 12:12 AM)
pedro.
where can i get solid basic routine??
Its in the stickies:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/371250
use search function
TSjackylow_86
post Apr 6 2010, 08:58 AM

Validating
82 posts

QUOTE(Neek @ Apr 4 2010, 01:52 AM)
Its in the stickies:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/371250
use search function
so diffcult leh..i think nd a proper trainer only can do this...izzit got other way ?

just wan to ask..if i do chest press by machine..i take 12 kg..then i do it 30-40 time per set..do it 3 set ..can ?

or take 19kg, do it 20 time x 3 set? izzit the same ?

coz currently i more focus on chest..

then every morning got pumping..12 times x 5 set..can ah ?
Majinity
post Apr 6 2010, 09:13 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(jackylow_86 @ Apr 6 2010, 08:58 AM)
so diffcult leh..i think nd a proper trainer only can do this...izzit got other way ?

just wan to ask..if i do chest press by machine..i take 12 kg..then i do it 30-40 time per set..do it 3 set ..can ?

go heavier. try 8-12 reps per set.
cheezzzz
post Apr 6 2010, 09:26 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(jackylow_86 @ Apr 6 2010, 08:58 AM)

lol. thats a lot to digest, I can understand. I tried to make my own workout through that as well.

stronglifts.com should have what you need, or google starting strength, get the ebook. they guide you really well and if you are not sure how a workout should be done you can youtube the name of the exercise. form is very important when training.

dont do so many times per set mate, how many times you do produces different results. for starting out try what Majinity says, do heavier weights that allow you to do about 8-12 reps (times) only per set. if you're not sure how much that is, pick a heavy weight that you can do about 10 reps and do as many times as you can (dont pick some light weight that you can do 15 reps or more, thats too light), use http://www.ivannikolov.com/msns/calculator...-calculator.php

so input your weight and the maximum reps that you managed to do - you should get a 1,5,10,15 rep max. use the weight for the 10 rep max, and do about 10 reps - 3 to 4 sets per exercise.

your pushups (pumping) 12 times x 3 set should be enough, if done slowly with well controlled form. Do it slowly, you'll realise the difference when your chin touches the ground everytime you go down.. I used to think pushups were easy when I was a scout but now done with proper form and not just bursting through them, you can feel the burn..after a month of stronglifts only I can do 12 times per set man...go for it bro!

ps: dont forget leg workouts. they help your entire body grow.. I didn't believe it too but after much reading and lifting so far the results do not lie.

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 6 2010, 09:28 AM
TSjackylow_86
post Apr 6 2010, 02:17 PM

Validating
82 posts

if have a friend to train beside u..i think is more easy..at least can support you when u go to climax
Majinity
post Apr 6 2010, 04:30 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(jackylow_86 @ Apr 6 2010, 02:17 PM)
if have a friend to train beside u..i think is more easy..at least can support you when u go to climax
if you still thinking of relying on someone, then just forget it. you have your goals, you do anything to achieve it. and my problem in this, is the diet and consistency.
TSjackylow_86
post Apr 6 2010, 11:44 PM

Validating
82 posts

yup...i think the heart is the most important things...consistency...

Added on April 6, 2010, 11:47 pm
QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 6 2010, 09:26 AM)
lol. thats a lot to digest, I can understand. I tried to make my own workout through that as well.

stronglifts.com should have what you need, or google starting strength, get the ebook. they guide you really well and if you are not sure how a workout should be done you can youtube the name of the exercise. form is very important when training.

dont do so many times per set mate, how many times you do produces different results. for starting out try what Majinity says, do heavier weights that allow you to do about 8-12 reps (times) only per set. if you're not sure how much that is, pick a heavy weight that you can do about 10 reps and do as many times as you can (dont pick some light weight that you can do 15 reps or more, thats too light), use http://www.ivannikolov.com/msns/calculator...-calculator.php

so input your weight and the maximum reps that you managed to do - you should get a 1,5,10,15 rep max. use the weight for the 10 rep max, and do about 10 reps - 3 to 4 sets per exercise.

your pushups (pumping) 12 times x 3 set should be enough, if done slowly with well controlled form. Do it slowly, you'll realise the difference when your chin touches the ground everytime you go down.. I used to think pushups were easy when I was a scout but now done with proper form and not just bursting through them, you can feel the burn..after a month of stronglifts only I can do 12 times per set man...go for it bro!

ps: dont forget leg workouts. they help your entire body grow.. I didn't believe it too but after much reading and lifting so far the results do not lie.
yup..im trying to do pumping slowly...full push up..mean my chest is almost on flooe..then slowly up...like tat loh..do it 12 times x 3 set each morning when i wake up..i dunno whether this will help me to buy up my chest or not...when pumping..i feel my triceps pain lah...and when almost on floor..feel my chest pain near to biceps...izzit this is normal ?

This post has been edited by jackylow_86: Apr 6 2010, 11:47 PM
cheezzzz
post Apr 7 2010, 12:28 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(jackylow_86 @ Apr 6 2010, 11:44 PM)

yup..im trying to do pumping slowly...full push up..mean my chest is almost on flooe..then slowly up...like tat loh..do it 12 times x 3 set each morning when i wake up..i dunno whether this will help me to buy up my chest or not...when pumping..i feel my triceps pain lah...and when almost on floor..feel my chest pain near to biceps...izzit this is normal ?
u mean chest pain between chest n front shoulder isit?
gtoforce
post Apr 7 2010, 12:44 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(jackylow_86 @ Apr 6 2010, 11:44 PM)

why do early morning eh?
huhu...let the triceps and chest do their natural thing
important thing - lower back
TSjackylow_86
post Apr 7 2010, 09:02 AM

Validating
82 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 7 2010, 12:28 AM)
u mean chest pain between chest n front shoulder isit?
yup...btw shoulder and chest tat part pain...dunno i do it right or not...i got pump until low low and slowly...so pump around 10-15 time per feel no energy on my hand jor...

Added on April 7, 2010, 9:02 am
QUOTE(gtoforce @ Apr 7 2010, 12:44 AM)
why do early morning eh?
huhu...let the triceps and chest do their natural thing
important thing - lower back
how to said lower back ?

Added on April 7, 2010, 2:05 pmwat is mean by

Your 1-rep max is 21 lbs
Your 5-rep max is 18 lbs
Your 10-rep max is 16 lbs
Your 15-rep max is 14 lbs

i count from the calculator...

max weight 19lbs, 3 rep..

wat is this mean ???can any ppl tell me ?

This post has been edited by jackylow_86: Apr 7 2010, 02:05 PM
cheezzzz
post Apr 7 2010, 03:12 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(jackylow_86 @ Apr 7 2010, 09:02 AM)
yup...btw shoulder and chest tat part pain...dunno i do it right or not...i got pump until low low and slowly...so pump around 10-15 time per feel no energy on my hand jor...

Added on April 7, 2010, 9:02 am

how to said lower back ?

Added on April 7, 2010, 2:05 pmwat is mean by

Your 1-rep max is 21 lbs
Your 5-rep max is 18 lbs
Your 10-rep max is 16 lbs
Your 15-rep max is 14 lbs

i count from the calculator...

max weight 19lbs, 3 rep..

wat is this mean ???can any ppl tell me ?
correct. lower back means ur back must b straight throughout the entire exercise.from back, right down to ur heel looks like a sloped straightline from side view.

19lbs for 3 reps? may I ask what exercise did u do?

Your 1-rep max is 21lbs means if u use 21lbs for that exercise, u can only do 1 rep with 21lbs. 5 rep max 18 lebs means u can only do 5 rep with 18 lbs. This is only more accurate if you pushed your max with the given weight - means when u used 19lbs to test that time u can maximum only go 3 reps, no more strength to push further.

For starting out a good weight is in between d given weight for 10 rep max and 15 rep max.. ppl recommend using tat weight and doing 12 reps AT MOST. Or u can use the 10 rep max as well. This weight-rep max thing changes as u get stronger, after every workout u will definitely get a bit stronger. So have a steady increment, add more weight as you progress, perhaps 2.5-5 lbs per workout day.

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 7 2010, 03:13 PM

0.0172sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:18 AM