zubai
post Apr 7 2010, 12:31 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 7 2010, 11:46 AM)

Added on April 7, 2010, 11:51 am

From MaemoTalk forum, the members are worried about the heat generated by the CPU after overclock.

From other websites, they also did overclock on the same ARM Cortex A8 processor, those experts were saying the is unlikely heat issue. The heat is actually caused by the "battery".
I'm not sure, maybe someone can confirm after the phone gets hot, turn off the phone and remove the battery and check if it's the phone hot or the battery that's hot.

Even the DC-11 gets hot when charging the N900.
Yep, it's the battery. Even b4 the oc, the battery get quite hot. Should be coz I'm a heavy surfer sweat.gif . What I meant is the ambient temp. Makes you want to shower every 5 minutes sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
aruja_69
post Apr 7 2010, 12:34 PM

3,786 posts

For those who brought ap set is there any problem u are facing?
Andy214
post Apr 7 2010, 12:57 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Apr 7 2010, 12:07 PM)
Hey guys,

Need some help...

i oc my N900 through PC using flash kernel to 800mhz... Once its done in 2 second it come out a white boot screen... then it off again...When i press the power button to boot, the screen came out same white screen then go off again.. it failed to load into the device.. duno what happen? Any GURU out there??
Did you flash wrongly?
Try re-flash the kernel again. Make sure do it correctly.

If no, reflash back to stock kernel image.

If all else fail, you might need to re-flash the whole firmware, which means you'll loose all your settings, etc. You need to restore from backup (if you have backup that is).

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Apr 7 2010, 12:34 PM)
For those who brought ap set is there any problem u are facing?
Why? AP are still Original, it's just model for different country.

Currently, for N900, it isn't a worldwide model yet like others. Most AP should be US set or EUR set.

The problem is the support. Authorised set will get full support from Nokia Malaysia.

TSaspire2oo6
post Apr 7 2010, 01:02 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

This one of the example most people here have ap phones. Because OC its not an immediate defect thing. Example after 5 months the motherboard crash and usually the cost to replace the motherboard is more expensive or 70% of the phone.

So when that happen you will curse and swear about AP phones so imagine 10 ppl complain to 1 AP company where are they gonna find so much spare parts aka COST to replace for you.

AP phones are cheap but when its fine its okay when something goes wrong thats where u will have headache most ppl said some AP company service are good but ask others how many have change their casing and motherboard

Added on April 7, 2010, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 7 2010, 12:57 PM)
Did you flash wrongly?
Try re-flash the kernel again. Make sure do it correctly.

If no, reflash back to stock kernel image.

If all else fail, you might need to re-flash the whole firmware, which means you'll loose all your settings, etc. You need to restore from backup (if you have backup that is).
Why? AP are still Original, it's just model for different country.

Currently, for N900, it isn't a worldwide model yet like others. Most AP should be US set or EUR set.

The problem is the support. Authorised set will get full support from Nokia Malaysia.
Difference between original and ap is just the warranty and support.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Apr 7 2010, 01:27 PM
nehwkll
post Apr 7 2010, 01:26 PM

45 posts

Agree with Aspire. Its really about the warranty thing. In my opinion, its better to get Ori for high end expensive phones. But the price difference is really tempting sometimes
TSaspire2oo6
post Apr 7 2010, 01:40 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(nehwkll @ Apr 7 2010, 01:26 PM)
Agree with Aspire. Its really about the warranty thing. In my opinion, its better to get Ori for high end expensive phones. But the price difference is really tempting sometimes
to me i weight the balance if difference RM 200 RM300 i buy ORI if RM500 different ill consider AP. Because Nokia N900 have 2 things very sensitive the screen and its sliding mechanism.

I know someone bad experience with their Nokia 8800 ARTE CARBON original set. His fren accidentally plug the usb wrongly and it broke. So he said will fix it so he send to an AP company. The guy did fix it but also damage the board badly because lack of experience. Later 1 week it broke again now bring back AP company they said its u spoil it but when send to nokia centre they said must change motherboard because the guy tat try to fix this damage other part of the motherboard as well.
firstknight
post Apr 7 2010, 02:21 PM

2,681 posts

thats the prob as always... that is y there is a need to know bout the company as well b4 u buy...

me in 800 now. like the snappy feeling... as long phone can last for 4 yrs i am happy...
TSaspire2oo6
post Apr 7 2010, 02:23 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Apr 7 2010, 02:21 PM)
thats the prob as always... that is y there is a need to know bout the company as well b4 u buy...

me in 800 now. like the snappy feeling... as long phone can last for 4 yrs i am happy...
its just few days of OC so whether it reach 4 yrs u will find out soon
I am still thinking should i OC or not

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Apr 7 2010, 02:37 PM
firstknight
post Apr 7 2010, 02:44 PM

2,681 posts

jus for the fun... oc till 800 and find the diff... if dun like reboot the phone to go back to stock since the app in the repository have option to make it perma or not... hehe
Andy214
post Apr 7 2010, 02:46 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nehwkll @ Apr 7 2010, 01:26 PM)
N900 is a slightly different case. There were no ORI and no news about ori. Many hardcore owners have ask Nokia but no answer, even asked Nokia International. The reply was "Not going to launch in APAC". If you've been following the scene when N900 was launch, they were many blogs and inquiry about N900 coming to Malaysia. I myself have call up many times, and the don't even know what is that model at first!

Before AP N900 comes in, those people who import it are selling over RM3.3K initially. and then lowered a more people start selling.

When I brought my N900 to Nokia shop to configure the bluetooth (unable to pair), the guy who did for me did not say a word. While pairing half way, finally he asked how much I bought the N900. When i told him he price, he totally lost his cool and was so shocked.
And some people come in this forum and say the N900 is expensive? Haha, those who know smartphone pricing and also Nokia phones pricing, would know current Official set selling at RM2280 is actually VERY good bargain.

Anyway, back then when I went to the Nokia shop, they still have no news about the N900; And how shy Nokia shop don't sell it while AP companies are selling it. Probably due to high demand, finally Nokia Malaysia and Singapore decided to bring it in officially?
Even the price shock AP sellers, if I may say it.

willgan
post Apr 7 2010, 02:49 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 7 2010, 02:23 PM)
its just few days of OC so whether it reach 4 yrs u will find out soon
I am still thinking should i OC or not
i'm pretty sure it can last more than 4 years..
and i think its better to get ori since its so new ... piece of mind even if it broke..
TSaspire2oo6
post Apr 7 2010, 02:51 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(willgan @ Apr 7 2010, 02:49 PM)
i'm pretty sure it can last more than 4 years..
and i think its better to get ori since its so new ... piece of mind even if it broke..
Normal yes sure can last for more than 4years. But after OC we do not know.

Andy214
post Apr 7 2010, 02:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Apr 7 2010, 02:44 PM)
jus for the fun... oc till 800 and find the diff... if dun like reboot the phone to go back to stock since the app in the repository have option to make it perma or not... hehe
As long you don't run constant max clock speed, it should be ok. The other devices with similar processor have been OC for months already. N900 is just starting the footstep.

For Moto Milestone/Droid, the most stable clocks speed reported was 800Mhz.

As for my personal view, OC might help in certain situations and possibly extend the life further?
Example:
Process A - took 10 seconds to complete with 100% usage on 600Mhz
Process A - took 5 seconds to complete with 100% usage on 800Mhz

It actually gives less strain on the processor? I'm not sure, someone have done a detail comparison with battery graph. Seems when watching a movie; OC gives similar/slightly better battery consumption.
But I think the stress on the processor is a different story, let's say watching a 30 minute video, it'll put strain on the processor for operating at max clock speed for long periods.

TSaspire2oo6
post Apr 7 2010, 02:55 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 7 2010, 02:46 PM)
N900 is a slightly different case. There were no ORI and no news about ori. Many hardcore owners have ask Nokia but no answer, even asked Nokia International. The reply was "Not going to launch in APAC". If you've been following the scene when N900 was launch, they were many blogs and inquiry about N900 coming to Malaysia. I myself have call up many times, and the don't even know what is that model at first!

Before AP N900 comes in, those people who import it are selling over RM3.3K initially. and then lowered a more people start selling.

When I brought my N900 to Nokia shop to configure the bluetooth (unable to pair), the guy who did for me did not say a word. While pairing half way, finally he asked how much I bought the N900. When i told him he price, he totally lost his cool and was so shocked.
And some people come in this forum and say the N900 is expensive? Haha, those who know smartphone pricing and also Nokia phones pricing, would know current Official set selling at RM2280 is actually VERY good bargain.

Anyway, back then when I went to the Nokia shop, they still have no news about the N900; And how shy Nokia shop don't sell it while AP companies are selling it. Probably due to high demand, finally Nokia Malaysia and Singapore decided to bring it in officially?
Even the price shock AP sellers, if I may say it.
What you said is true i been following nokia phones usually launch price 2.5k above and when touch screen phone was launch by nokia alot of ppl assume they price will be skyhigh but to the surprise it was at reasonable price. Some say its because nokia testing the market for their new OS
firstknight
post Apr 7 2010, 03:03 PM

2,681 posts

compare the price with n97 this phone i think has better functionability in comparison. worthwhile to get this then n97.

Added on April 7, 2010, 3:05 pmovi maps load faster....and feel it locks faster even am within a building... interesting... thanks to aGPS

This post has been edited by firstknight: Apr 7 2010, 03:13 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Apr 7 2010, 03:12 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

I think i am going to try 700
firstknight
post Apr 7 2010, 03:14 PM

2,681 posts

not much feel i recon... when i up to 800 can feel the speed...

Added on April 7, 2010, 3:17 pmcamera processing image feels faster...

This post has been edited by firstknight: Apr 7 2010, 03:17 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Apr 7 2010, 03:19 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Apr 7 2010, 03:14 PM)
not much feel i recon... when i up to 800 can feel the speed...

Added on April 7, 2010, 3:17 pmcamera processing image feels faster...
if u say image come out clearer and sharper then tat will surprise me but processing faster doesnt make much different
firstknight
post Apr 7 2010, 03:26 PM

2,681 posts

i dun like my browser keep rerender each time i switch to it....

Added on April 7, 2010, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 7 2010, 03:19 PM)
if u say image come out clearer and sharper then tat will surprise me but processing faster doesnt make much different
it does make a diff when u need to take few quick shots especially when the first one not so clear or settings not right.... so the faster it process the faster u get to take the next pic...

This post has been edited by firstknight: Apr 7 2010, 03:29 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Apr 7 2010, 03:35 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Apr 7 2010, 03:26 PM)
i dun like my browser keep rerender each time i switch to it....

Added on April 7, 2010, 3:29 pm

it does make a diff when u need to take few quick shots especially when the first one not so clear or settings not right.... so the faster it process the faster u get to take the next pic...
Quite true but for fast shot i use DSLR because N900 sometimes quite slow but worse part after take not clear lol

156 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:41 AM