6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V1, its a computer with phone capabilities

firstknight
post Mar 30 2010, 10:47 PM

2,681 posts

hey... how come no one tell me that this is up... me also owner...

Added on March 30, 2010, 10:49 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 30 2010, 10:36 PM)
Time to get it. Its worthy it
location - starbucks

Added on March 30, 2010, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 28 2010, 08:16 AM)
I prefer Maemo 5 over Android

Homescreen comparison
user posted image user posted image

Left Image Android Enclair
Right Image Maemo 5
well its just theming... beside... that screen looks like nothing is on it...

i bet wit theming and widget placements... it sure beats the androids....

Added on March 30, 2010, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 29 2010, 03:24 PM)
This is also one important thing Nokia Malaysia/Singapore missed out and never prepare for. For official set, they should understand every shortcomings of the phone such as this important one and let the customer know and what they can do, or provide the app for them, the USSD widgets.

Suppose if PR1.2 have solved this, then probably they rushed it.
PR1.2 have solve many bugs and several improvements, even the User Guide/Manual have added many things. At first, I thought they would wait for PR1.2 before they launch here, but seems not the case. Probably in order to compete in the market (since Milestone and X10 launched too), they decided to just get over the PR1.2 update?
They're talking about fMMS, which is a third part app for sending/receiving MMS.
well i think the idea is buyer have to make sure what they are buying and is for them to ask. even as the phone was launch earlier elsewhere everyone knows what they are getting into.. and following the history there wouldnt be much changes even if it arrives here as updates are across the board.

Please be aware that this phone has potential but have yet to be tapped into... we are waiting for developers to unlock its potential.... if you can bear with it and grow with it... you will definately reap a great enjoyment of the phone....

This post has been edited by firstknight: Mar 30 2010, 11:01 PM
firstknight
post Mar 30 2010, 11:07 PM

2,681 posts

oh ya one more thing... for those new users... mr. google is a handy place to get to know more about your phone especially apps... if you install the repositories into the app manager you will be able to browse available apps in for N900....

i think one of the key word use is "n900 application" or "n900 repository"
firstknight
post Mar 31 2010, 11:16 PM

2,681 posts

looks hard to access to buttons and unlock slide...
firstknight
post Apr 1 2010, 09:17 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 1 2010, 07:44 PM)
Was waiting so long for this phone, but quite disappointed.

I went to the Nokia store today and played around with the N900. The QWERTY keypad is nice, and the phone feels solid. But I really think the GUI is annoying.
1) Menu items just standard Nokia ones and can't rearrange
2) It's using a resistive screen so can't drag it with your finger smoothly, had to use my fingernail.
3) Applications all quite dull.
4) Stuck in landscape mode

The good thing is that there's a lot of non-GUI functionality, but it's quite expensive. I think for that price an Android phone would be a better buy - more applications in Android Market and customization potential. Played with some android HTC phones recently, think they're really great.
haha... well let me share with you some stuff if you are not geeky enough...

1) the rearrange thing is coming soon in the next updated....
2) well to be precise of what you drag of course use finger tip... dun use ur nail you might scratch the screen!!!! but so far me using finger also can drag smoothly... must be the way you do it... to me... it is comparable to that iphone and for a resistive screen is very good!!! thumbup.gif
3) iphone have many ppl doing apps and although it states got loads of apps, i hear ppl say there are too many useless apps than good ones... so I hear hear only la... i think the apps available for maemo is quite exhaustive if you instal repositories in your n900.... I am very happy with the available apps which is mostly usefull...
4) in the next update it has potrait mode as well... beside u should know that it is that way when you purchase the phone... so why you still go ahead?? hehe j/k sweat.gif
5) its a mini computer with a phone function so for phone usage is bare minimum... but more coming at the next update....
6) what device can dual boot?? n900 can... boot android.. search youtube...
7) what device can handle multi task propertly??? n900....
8) what device can do remote desktop??? n900...
9) the ovi map is gonna have update too in the next update.. hehe... now is the bare basics...
10) well it is an open platform means many more will be coming...
11) if you got problem with the phone, you have maemo.org to go to to share the bug and there will be response from relevant ppl... it has not failed me so far...
12) there is an emulator for this phone... what more for gaming... do some searching you will find it....
13) i think i can go further but i will stop here for now....

Note: do search around for nokian900application... you may find repository to download and instal...

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by firstknight: Apr 1 2010, 09:20 PM
firstknight
post Apr 1 2010, 09:21 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Apr 1 2010, 09:19 PM)
drool.gif  wat does dual boot mean? go on go on LOL icon_rolleyes.gif
search youtube you will know.... hehe... tongue.gif
firstknight
post Apr 1 2010, 09:33 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 1 2010, 09:28 PM)

Added on April 1, 2010, 9:30 pm

den does 2.6K worth for an iphone? The only thing good about it is animation capactive touch?

FOr RM2.2k for N900 u can not only do animation u can do so much more because of flexibilty of the OS
i think its the hype for MAC brand... anything from apple is cool....
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 05:27 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Apr 2 2010, 01:04 PM)
Hey, if u dont mind, mind sharing with me ur definition of powerful n900? besides "But in terms of technical, the N900 is one of the most powerful device available in the market, moreover it's very "open" with little or no restrictions. You get root access or administrator rights without the need to hack/jb, that's the right way, just like when you buy a PC, you get administrator access to your Windows XP/Vista/7. " If it will be a long story, u can always pm me =)  brows.gif

I must fully understand the phone and c whether it suits me =)  icon_question.gif
suit you???? what do you want a phone to do??
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 05:32 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 2 2010, 04:09 PM)
ok ill do comparison for you

Nokia N900 is the first smart phone at the moment to be able to browse full flash website without 3rd party software. You can play facebook games from the mobile phone.
This guide is just a comparison with similar phone in the market
If camera N900 is Good
If speaker N900 is Good
If loudspeaker is Average
Connectivity EXCELLENT
Responsiveness of touchscreen very very much better than N97 and 5800XM
Accelerator accuracy and responsiveness very very much better than N97 and 5800XM
Full web browser experience EXCELLENT
Multitasking capability EXCELLENT
Chat EXCELLENT
OS flexibility EXCELLENT
Graphics EXCELLENT
Video playback format EXCELLENT
Email Excellent
I think i need to make some comments....

N900 is NOT a smart phone....
IT IS A MID (Mobile Internet Device) I would like to call it MIT too (multimedia internet tabled) brows.gif
It is a big brother to other n7xx n8xx. this devices does not have phone capabilities...

N900 is a MID/MIT with phone function...

Added on April 2, 2010, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(h_bib @ Apr 2 2010, 05:30 PM)
I really need phone that can make video call on skype or Live Messenger, hope Maemo can dot it..
didnt you search around.. some ppl manage to do skype video calls... hehe... anyway next update video calls...

This post has been edited by firstknight: Apr 2 2010, 05:34 PM
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 05:56 PM

2,681 posts

but they say MeeGo is for developer to feel... for us have to be carefull... hehe..
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 11:26 PM

2,681 posts

welll even so... n900 is still good to use... jus imagine after they iron out most of the bugs... its like the perfect device.... you basically can do anythin on it...
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 11:27 PM

2,681 posts

mod.. the member list updated ker??

This post has been edited by firstknight: Apr 2 2010, 11:30 PM
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 11:30 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 2 2010, 11:29 PM)
Hello, it is my first time posting on this version of thread.

The last time I posted was before it came official in Malaysia.

That was so long time ago, and you expect it to stay at the same price?

I didn't know some of you guys could be so unfriendly. Can't the TS update himself?
soli soli my bad.... notworthy.gif
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 11:33 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(nehwkll @ Apr 2 2010, 11:31 PM)
But why only 65k colour? I was really into this phone until I found out its colour
y does it really matter to you??? to me i have seen movie on it.. its as clear as from the TV you watch..... isnt that enough???
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 11:44 PM

2,681 posts

how nice got the protector stuff....

I think it is time for ppl to start using the power of the internet and GOOGLE!!! most of the question asked here can be found by searching... unless you simply want the easy way out... before this forum is out I have to do all the searching to learn more of the phone....
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 11:48 PM

2,681 posts

if you say so staff.... here is something then....
firstknight
post Apr 2 2010, 11:52 PM

2,681 posts

haha... the problem is that within the forum some of the question is too repetitive...

anyway here is another

firstknight
post Apr 3 2010, 12:01 AM

2,681 posts

i got problem with cafe world... you have or not??
firstknight
post Apr 3 2010, 12:05 AM

2,681 posts

haha... thats fanboyism.... whatever i tell them they dun listen....

I mentioned that they can never experience full desktop browsing... they said can... they show me and an option to see full view or similar.. it showed me the first page.. after login in.... back to mobile view... and the page was facebook....

Added on April 3, 2010, 12:06 ami think iphone was good because ppl were paid to make cool games for it....

This post has been edited by firstknight: Apr 3 2010, 12:06 AM
firstknight
post Apr 3 2010, 12:07 AM

2,681 posts

yo bro.. whats your sig about frutie?

Added on April 3, 2010, 12:08 amaspire have you tried cafe world on n900 does it load??

This post has been edited by firstknight: Apr 3 2010, 12:08 AM
firstknight
post Apr 3 2010, 12:10 AM

2,681 posts

haha i read three times liao it say the same thing wor bro...

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0490sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:36 AM