Unifi Boycott Unifi - capped connection

silverhawk
post Mar 31 2010, 01:29 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(powerfulcool @ Mar 31 2010, 12:09 PM)
will do. i should contribute to this community smile.gif

Added on March 31, 2010, 12:34 pmoo just thought id let u guys know my astro canceled already. we think RM135 a month is too pricey for the amount of time that we spend on it

we think terrestrial TV offerings and other news and international channels from TM are good enough  for us smile.gif
If IPTV had good sports channels, you would see people jumping on to subscribe laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Mar 31 2010, 02:51 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Mar 31 2010, 01:48 PM)
yeah its true silver, i think we need someone to send an email to them, or maybe all of us send an email to them and ask them to put more channel into the IPTV. as for me my housemate dont want to apply this hsbb because there is no sport channel and also Learning TV like National GEO, History and etc. if have those we will change since i and my friend use internet for only gaming and download. some of them watching sport and Nat Geo.
comes guys. let send an email to them regarding this... or maybe they have read from here and try to take an action to add more channel?
icon_rolleyes.gif
Taka.
yeah, astro got the channel for sport and astro only can broadcast it  sweat.gif
I'm not much of a TV watcher myself, I prefer to go cinemas or do series marathon with friends.

I also don't watch sports channels, but I can see the value in getting sports channels for IPTV, its almost a necessity considering how much people love their sports. I would easily settle for discovery and nat geo smile.gif
silverhawk
post Apr 1 2010, 02:54 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(powerfulcool @ Apr 1 2010, 11:53 AM)
they wont unbundle it because they spent so much of their money to connect each house. also they want to establish a large userbase to reach a critical mass to compete against Astro. that's why they are giving the decoder for free.

Yes, its a good marketing strategy.

be thankful that they arent charging users anything; when you opted for astro did they charge you for the decoder? they used to, and it was expensive. im not sure how about now.

Be thankful? Most people don't even want the IPTV in the first place, to them its just extra cost. Remember, nothing is ever truly free, its all calculated as part of the cost already.

the statement "20% user take up 80% bandwidth" is true among all ISPs; there's always some a/holes, like, many in this thread, who disregard the need of others to use the bandwidth

I keep hearing this statement, and while its true, what most people don't realize is that the ones making the argument isn't any different from the ones they are criticizing. Both are greedy and selfish and only want things to work well for them. Yes, the heavy downloaders are abusing, but only because the ISP marketed it that way to them.

The light users are also selfish because they want to limit other users so their own experience is better. The only justification they have is that they use less than the heavier ones, failing to take note that their 'light' usage, could be another person's heavy usage. Its all relative. When the international link went down, how many of you "selfless" people stopped using the internet to watch youtube and download files? How many of you thought to yourselves "shit, international line down, perhaps I shouldn't be streaming youtube videos and downloading so others can surf at decent speeds".

So seriously, get off your moral high horses, stop blaming the users, its not their fault to maximise what they paid for.

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Apr 1 2010, 01:18 PM)
Ya there are ppl who say i buy 10Mbps and i have right to DL 10Mbps 24/7/365 that why cap is must but at accepct able Amount.
People will always try to maximise what they pay for, and that mentality isn't wrong per se. Just that it gets abusive because companies are greedy, they want to cater to these people but at the same time they want to limit them. Abit of a oxymoron.
silverhawk
post Apr 2 2010, 03:07 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(murks @ Apr 2 2010, 01:16 AM)
Ok. But now UniFi is being marketed as being capped (they are being upfront about it). So, why are people still complaining?

Cap is too low and the price too high. Take a look at some comparisons

I'm still compiling the list and double checking figures for household incomes. Still, it just shows you how much more expensive broadband is for us.

Let me ask you a question, what is the purpose of having a HSBB project? What is the purpose of having a good internet connection? What benefits does it bring to the society and the economy? Does unifi cater to a broadband future?

I don't think unifi is going to support a broadband future for Malaysia, the way its being rolled out and the plans they have for it doesn't reflect that. Typical of a Malaysian project, its all for show and bragging rights, maximizing its potential is just not part of the plan. So hung up on the idea of broadband penetration, they forget to make the internet usable for the people. Its pointless to have a 100% penetration if you don't even have the capacity to handle it.

All around the world, the media content on the internet is getting bigger, youtube allows for HD videos already, websites are getting bigger. Do you know how much a typical webpage loads? It used to be below 50kB, but now, with all the javascript, high res images, flash etc. A website can easily load up to 500kB per page and its only going to grow.

Where will Malaysia be when the supply and demand for rich media content grows? Behind the times, trying to play catch up, or should we be prepared for it? Do you build roads and highways to cater for the CURRENT traffic? No, you build it for future predicted traffic, our internet service should be no different.

And the notion that TM has a monopoly on broadband only holds water in this forum. Maxis, Celcom, P1, Digi, Time, Redtone, Jaring, etc all have license to offer broadband. Maxis already have FTTH available (on "trial"), but are not rolling it out fast enough. Time already have a few buildings wired up. P1 and other WiMAX providers can easily provide "high-speed" wireless broadband (it's just that they are not pumping enough bandwidth to their towers).

Also, all the big players have their own backbone/Metro-e network and also international links. So, they don't actually rely on TM. So, apart from TM owning the legacy "copper", the new world of high-speed broadband is free-for-all.

No, they still have a monopoly. Just because there is some competition, doesn't mean they're off the monopoly status. No other company is the size of TM or even has the government support TM has. Was the HSBB project opened for tender by other companies? Nope, it was given straight to tmnet.

BTW, the only reason areas such as Puchong, Sungai Buluh, etc are getting UniFi (eventually) is that the Govt is co-investing. If not, only "rich" areas such as TTDI and Bangsar would get it (just like what Maxis and Time are doing).

Hence my argument still holds, they're charging high rates to match the high income areas (its the reason it starts there) and move on later to the lower income and less densely populated areas. It still doesn't change the fact that its expensive, do you really think lower income groups are going to subscribe for it?

p/s sorry if this sounds pro-TM, but the amount of crap being thrown around in this thread is absurd.
I agree, even some of the points thrown out by people in my camp is ridiculous.
silverhawk
post Apr 2 2010, 02:59 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 2 2010, 02:28 PM)
r u sure got the capping already will make the speed faster r?
im using streamyx unlimited 4m
and it is smooth and nice
no problem  also
i think if ur streamyx slow not because other user dl 24*7
it is because ur telephone line slow
if slow
go do speedtest
n show to cfm/skmm and COMPLAIN la!
they will send tppl to u n fix it
actually, your 4m is faster is because your package gets higher priority and with 4m you have a much higher buffer. Its not always due to the line. My line quality is great, but during peak hours my downloads won't break 30kBps, try again later around 2-3am, and suddenly I can be going at 150kBps.

silverhawk
post Apr 2 2010, 08:40 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 2 2010, 08:30 PM)
b4 tat im using 1M also can get 150kb/s wat
but i got complain them why peak hour so slow
then send tech come n check n fix my problem oledi rclxms.gif
u all should do tat also notworthy.gif
been there done that, after a while goes back to the same thing.

Its a network congestion issue, not a line quality problem.
silverhawk
post Apr 3 2010, 05:22 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Apr 3 2010, 04:01 PM)
There were too many people torrenting back in the day I guess with stuff freely available. Right now to download stuff they have to pay for some sort of services(RS, MU, Netload etc) so to 'kids', it's a turn off. As for youtube.. it eats a lot of bandwidth I guess and as a temporary measure they slowed it down. We used to be able to bypass that by downloading directly, but that one have been throttled as well.

With caps on, don't think they will bother with those throttling stuff.. hopefully. You never know with them.
Yea, we use the internet and they slow it down. Brilliant strategy to advance Malaysia.
silverhawk
post Apr 15 2010, 08:53 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(jalan2 @ Apr 14 2010, 11:15 PM)
i think you don't understand economics, or the real world.

TM cannot just wire-up KL or Penang and just ignore everywhere else in Malaysia; as Hanzo explained.

If you have 2 parents (Family A) earning $200,000 & have only 1 child; compared to another family (B) where they earn $50,000 with 8 children, do you think these 9 kids have the same education & benefits? Surely the 1 rich kid (A) can afford Ipods, PS3, swimming at clubs,private school, etc. The other 8 kids (B) will have a totally different lifestyle.... or you think the parents can just help 1 kid & leave the other 7 kids with nothing??????

in other words, imagine TM only put fibre in KL & everyone in KL get 50mbs internet, but the rest of malaysia no need any wiring, no need phones, no need communication....?

That's what happen if you say "just compare any city in Malaysia to Singapore".... btw, you may not be aware that Singapore is a COUNTRY, not just a city.
As for China, if you're thinking of comparing KL (2 million) to Beijing (22 million) or Shanghai (17 million), of course the logistics & business opportunity makes it worth to invest billions in China where the potential customers is 10 times more. When Celcom first started business, they actually set-up telecom companies in China, where 1 small China city earn more revenue than the entire Malaysia. Even a "small city" like Shenzhen (by China standards) has over 8 million population... that's 400% bigger than KL, or 1600% bigger than Ipoh!

If you still don't understand basic economics & business logistics, i'm sorry you'll have to go somewhere else to learn this.........
Actually, basic economics would dictate that wiring up rural areas is a poor economic decision as its a waste of resource. Internet can already be delivered to rural areas where they can get enough speed for their needs.

The internet infrastructure should be something public in the first place and the private companies use it.
silverhawk
post Apr 18 2010, 03:07 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(jalan2 @ Apr 16 2010, 12:43 AM)
No, we're not talking sktscraper or LRT... just telecoms line.

I hope you will re-read original question to understand the real question. Getting 56k to most of Malaysia is NOT FREE. If it cost, say, $2 billion to do that, that's $2 billion that Singapore DID NOT NEED TO SPEND, becos they don't have rest of the country except their own measly 700sq km land area, while TM has to cover even 10% of our 330,000 sq km.

.... and while its nice to say "just get 10 people to subscribe VIP20", well I'm sure you're thinking you are one of the 10? Tell me honestly, is it OK for 10 people (not you) to enjoy VIP20, while the rest of us (i think including you, me, and most of the people in this Forum!) to have 56k....??

Well, even if you don't mind that (becos you're a really nice guy), I really doubt the rest of Malaysia willing to sacrifice their access to hi-speed (oklah, 1 - 4mbs can say hi-speed lah) just so that only a small group of people (oklah, lets say 500,000 people for argument's sake) who happen to stay in KL can enjoy that VIP20 line....!?!?

As a side topic: you say rural area do not need Unifi..... why is that? are Malaysians in rural areas less ambitious/ less smart/ less desirous than city people? Who you think will dare make that decision to tell TM "hey, stop all fibre cabling outside the cities.... no need to give Unifi to rural area becos they don't need it".... the PM? CEO of TM? Really?

Would anybody now staying in rural area please reply to say its OK if TM just forget about giving Unifi to your home..... I'm sure we'll get very interesting results from that poll

anyway, all i said is just for sembang-sembang kosong sake, nothing serious lah..  whatever it is, this is all we got & we just have to live with it .......
How do you then explain how australia does it? or any other country which provides internet at CHEAPER rates than ours when you factor in their average household incomes and their own labour rates?

Australia for example has a much higher cost just from being so bloody far from the rest of the world, their labor cost is also a lot more expensive, and their cities and towns are much more spread out and dispersed compared to ours. Yet, they provide much better service at a better price.

Why?

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0330sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:12 PM