4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

3D TVs to hit Malaysians homes next month

TSDigitalKL
post Mar 14 2010, 08:46 AM, updated 16y ago

1,360 posts

KUALA LUMPUR: Great news for couch potatoes! 3D TVs will be arriving on Malaysian shores by mid-April.

Samsung has confirmed that its range of 3D TVs will be available for retail next month.

Samsung Malaysia Electronics Sdn Bhd marketing director Jimmy Tan said there would be multiple choices available – starting from 40-inch models – but prices had yet to be determined.

“We are very excited with this new technology,” he said. “This is a new offering to the customer and will add on to his enjoyment of watching movies and sports content.

Excited: A woman watching a 3D TV using light-emitting diodes at the main office of Samsung Electronics in Seoul in this recent filepicture. — AFP

“There are limited opportunities to watching 3D movies in theatres but now customers can bring it into their homes. This is a totally new dimension in television for customers and something they can look forward to,” said Tan.

However, Panasonic Malaysia corporate communications and branding general manager Azizah Wahid said there is no news yet on the availability of Panasonic 3D TVs in Malaysia.

Last week, delegates to the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU) Digital Broadcasting Symposium 2010 held here were treated to a demonstration of the 3D TV.

The exhibit was brought in by Benchmark Systems (S) Pte Ltd, which also gave a demonstration of 3D post-production, the first of its kind in the region.

Viewers have to wear specially-designed polarising glasses to perceive a stereoscopic 3D image. Without the glasses, the picture would appear blurry, with ghosted double images.

“This is the best 3D effect I have seen on television,” said Benchmark’s exhibitor Mithun Dsouza.

“The image depth is excellent, as well as the brightness and richness of the colours,” he said.

The recent success of 3D movies such as the Oscar-winning Avatar, has sparked massive increase in the technology and manufacturers have been scrambling to bring their products into the market.

Panasonic and Samsung have started selling 3D TVs in the United States while other manufacturers such as Sony and LG will be launching their models this year.

Units range from US$2,500 to US$3,300 (RM8,300 to RM11,000).

The unit demonstrated during the symposium was from Japanese manufacturers JVC, whose monitors were used extensively during the production of Avatar.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...1924&sec=nation
AjkR06
post Mar 14 2010, 08:53 AM

that's me
1,561 posts

Wow! RM8000 to RM11000 just for the TV....
Better if I buy the new lappy... tongue.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 14 2010, 09:14 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Mar 14 2010, 08:53 AM)
Better i get a complete HT with 7.1 AMP AVR and LCD 42'..
robotizer
post Mar 14 2010, 09:43 AM

157 posts

but they hurt my eyes a lil, n make me dizzy.... heh
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 14 2010, 09:44 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(robotizer @ Mar 14 2010, 09:43 AM)
Better stick with what you have at the moment..spending money on something does not worth the satisfaction must be avoided completely + its not gonna be here that soon init.. whistling.gif
sonyman
post Mar 14 2010, 10:34 AM

1,043 posts

well i wanna ask, does it mean what ever you input into this 3d TV it will process and reproduce into 3D images? wow, imagine watching astro movies, Wah li tai, and Discovery channel.,,. TV1 TV2 and so on,,,,

If it is true, then watching nice entertainment movies are really much more exciting... everything is popping out of the screen,, mmmm yummy
azbro
post Mar 14 2010, 11:52 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Mar 14 2010, 10:34 AM)

If it is true, then watching nice entertainment movies are really much more exciting... everything is popping out of the screen,, mmmm yummy
I wonder how prawn looks like 3D... thumbup.gif
maskedchan
post Mar 14 2010, 01:05 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(robotizer @ Mar 14 2010, 09:43 AM)
eh, not yet reach our shores, how can make you eyes hurt and dizzy?
you part of tester? whistling.gif
TallJustin
post Mar 14 2010, 02:37 PM

233 posts

well i wanna ask, does it mean what ever you input into this 3d TV it will process and reproduce into 3D images? wow, imagine watching astro movies, Wah li tai, and Discovery channel.,,. TV1 TV2 and so on,,,,

The TV guys conveniently don't talk about that. The answer is no.

Inf3rnal
post Mar 14 2010, 03:52 PM

59 posts

i believe watching 3D TV is not very convenient, well, you gotta HOOK UP THE FREAKING GLASSES first..hahaha..does the glasses comes in variety of sizes? blink.gif

unless you use it once it a while, for *SPECIAL* entertaiment, you know what i mean sweat.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 14 2010, 03:54 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(Inf3rnal @ Mar 14 2010, 03:52 PM)
i believe watching 3D TV is not very convenient, well, you gotta HOOK UP THE FREAKING GLASSES first..hahaha..does the glasses comes in variety of sizes?  blink.gif

unless you use it once it a while, for *SPECIAL* entertaiment, you know what i mean  sweat.gif
Agree, we are not going to put on the glasses all the time to watch any 3D shows, its rather irritating then enjoyable.. doh.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 14 2010, 03:59 PM

12,573 posts

NO rclxms.gif If 3D TVs can turn any source into 3D,then cinemas showing 3D movies like Avatar can close shop?LOL

You would need to pair up 3D TVs with 3D sources to get a 3D experience..

Astro HD has just only upgraded to HD broadcast and don't expect 3D anytime soon....let's just say 5-6 years time rclxms.gif
breaker84
post Mar 14 2010, 04:01 PM

\\//\\//\\//\\//
1,713 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Mar 14 2010, 08:53 AM)
mak ai....
tak mampu eden....
-kytz-
post Mar 14 2010, 04:02 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Inf3rnal @ Mar 14 2010, 03:52 PM)
i believe watching 3D TV is not very convenient, well, you gotta HOOK UP THE FREAKING GLASSES first..hahaha..does the glasses comes in variety of sizes?  blink.gif

unless you use it once it a while, for *SPECIAL* entertaiment, you know what i mean  sweat.gif
No....glass-less 3D TV will be the future viewing experience and not those requiring the geeky glasses laugh.gif
lowyard
post Mar 14 2010, 06:45 PM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

There is a TV that can convert conventional 2D signal to 3D.. They said it worked pretty well but improvement is always appreciated.. Read up here, brought to you by CNET..

http://news.cnet.com/3d-tv-faq/?tag=mncol;mlt_related
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 14 2010, 07:05 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Mar 14 2010, 06:45 PM)
There is a TV that can convert conventional 2D signal to 3D.. They said it worked pretty well but improvement is always appreciated.. Read up here, brought to you by CNET..

http://news.cnet.com/3d-tv-faq/?tag=mncol;mlt_related
10. Can I use my existing HDMI cables?

"At this point, it appears you can. We've heard conflicting reports from manufacturers, but the best information we have indicates that most current HDMI cables, including the inexpensive ones CNET recommends, will work fine with the new 3D formats. One caveat is that that longer cables, say over three feet, might have problems. We'll be able to confirm once we can test one of the new 3D TVs with a 3D Blu-ray player, but until then we recommend trying to use your old cables before spending extra on "high-speed," "HDMI 1.4-certified" or "3D-ready" HDMI cables."

3D TV requires HDMI 1.4 certified cables or 3D ready which probably will not be reaching here in years time, its gonna cost fortunes to purchase this type of cables..
lowyard
post Mar 14 2010, 07:53 PM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

Still can't be confirmed yet but Sony already said that their home computer entertainment system aka PlayStation 3 will be able to support 3D via firmware update that might arrive in unison this June with Sony's 3D TV sale/launch..
sonyman
post Mar 14 2010, 10:03 PM

1,043 posts

like that ah? cannot automatic one ah... no point looking at it ,, just go harvey norman and try try can loh, the TV will cost a bomb, then the software will cost again sommore,
now you have bluray transformer 1, then you want to buy again 3d version of transformer 1, what the heck, bloody hell these company really sucking the money out of the consumers,, so i would still stick to MKV, cheap , nice , watchable and great sound, so unless the source can get from internet, at a better price per bargain, then we all can go into 3D TV, meanwhile, enjoy them in HN and best denki.
geforce1999
post Mar 14 2010, 10:17 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Starting selling price for 3D TV from RM8-11K, isn't too much to ask for... Last year the LCD 46-55" was about that price range already....

Added on March 14, 2010, 10:18 pmNot like when Plasma was introduced many years back, it was in RM30-40K range if I remember correctly ...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Mar 14 2010, 10:19 PM
matyeo
post Mar 15 2010, 12:14 AM

352 posts

3D tv .... hmm.gif better wait and see first.... smile.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:37 PM