HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

paskal
post Jan 8 2014, 10:22 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(acegreaser @ Jan 8 2014, 02:29 AM)
Thanks paskal.
I've been trying to find information on these HD 6xxx cards but can't conclusively see if that ANY HD6xxx card will output DTS HD MA or Dolby TrueHD.
I know I may be a little fussy here, but half the joy is seeing that DTS HD Master or TrueHD light come on on the AV receiver. biggrin.gif

I went to Asus' website and there's no info.
Sapphire's website shows some has it and some doesn't say.
AMD's website simply says all HD 6xxx GPU chip will support DTS HD and TrueHD.
Am I safe to buy ANY 6xxx card?
yes, any HD5XXX up till the newest R9 should be able to bitstream both format natively. i'm personally using the lower end HD6-something-something and it does bitstream without much fuss.

can't say that much about the newer R7-260X though. if the R7 is plagued, then most probably R9 is also affected.
so much for going with the latest and greatest.. mad.gif
can't expect much, it's a gaming card anyway. gaming takes priority over everything else.

another thing does your casing allow full height cards?
paskal
post Jan 9 2014, 10:28 PM

2,801 posts

if any of you guys are building a htpc, best to avoid the newer R7 and R9 series for now.
paskal
post May 7 2014, 10:49 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(breonwei @ May 7 2014, 09:45 AM)
Its time to refresh my old htpc and build a new one. I have the following draft config;

CPU Intel i7 4770
CPU Fan NOCTUA NH-L12
Chassis Silverstone GD07B
Mobo G1.SNIPER Z87
HDD Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
RAM 4GB PC1600 8 chips x 2
Graphics Palit GT 640
PSU Enermax NAXN 500W  80Plus

Total price about RM3200++

I'm still waiting to see if there will be a new MacMini this year. Hope to have either Haswell or Broadwell CPU.
unless you're thinking of gaming on the htpc, such high specs would be a waste.
not to mention the energy usage
paskal
post May 8 2014, 10:39 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(breonwei @ May 8 2014, 08:52 AM)
Yup, another choice will be AMD CPU. Have the budget for RM3000 mainly is to claim max for PC tax relief. Gaming is optional as GT640 won't be so good for full HD gaming. Power wise I think it is reasonably fine as Haswell i7 & GT640 do not consume that much of power anyway.

I really like Silverstone GD07 case as I can stack it up to my Yamaha amp. Nonetheless I'm still hoping for Apple to release a Haswell or Broadwell MacMini. Will see at June keynote.
different people have (usually) vastly different opinions regarding AMD vs Intel solutions.
but one thing remain consistently true: Intel solutions are usually better in energy management compared to AMD. it's been that way for decades years.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/core-i...ew,3521-18.html

so if you don't mind paying a couple bucks more for cheaper initial costs, get AMD.
but if you're planning to turn on the system for a few hours per day, the extra ~200W per hour, per day will add up to a substantial number at the end of the month.

tho it's not impossible to build a system capable of handling full HD material whilst maintaining ~50W (or less) power.
paskal
post May 10 2014, 11:00 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ May 10 2014, 04:56 PM)
Dear expert, I am newbie for HTPC. May I know what spec CPU should choose for setup HTPC?
IMHO main question is whether you wanna do any gaming on it.
second question is whether you wanna run it for downloads or torrent or for any reason you want it to run >4 hours everyday.

because right now, even the cheapest dual core CPU is capable of decoding full HD. with the exception of perhaps the lowest powered atom/celeron dual core.

some people die die wanna have 6 or 8 core in their htpc without realizing it'll easily cost them an extra 4,000W a day to run it.
paskal
post May 12 2014, 04:06 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ May 10 2014, 11:26 PM)
I am not addict with online gaming. Normally surf net & torrent. Most prefer watch 1080p & dts sound system.
Then need connect to my home theater too.
you planning on downloading torrent using the htpc?
if yes then get a cheap dual core processor. not necessarily an i3. a dual core pentium with a graphics card capable of hdmi bitstream might be better if you're into audio. refere below. cheaper electricity.

or if you don't wanna run it on days end, can always consider an i5, i7 or AMD multicore solution.

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ May 12 2014, 09:15 AM)
Guys,

I've recently moved from a media player (HDX BD1) to a HTPC biggrin.gif
My HTPC uses Intel Core i3 onboard graphics and audio.
It is connected to my Denon 2311 amp via HDMI and I've left, right, center Mordaunt-Short speakers plus a Rythmik subwoofer.

I've an issue with the audio.
When I was using the HDX BD1, the sound impact and LFE effects was much stronger.
Now on the htpc it feels much more flat.

Any ideas why?
i do agree that onboard graphics while could bitstream hd audio, do sound lacking. blame it on jitter. as onboard graphics usually extract their clock frequency from the main processor clock, the clock sync mechanism is usually not good. we've tested side-by-side between onboard solution from intel and dedicated solution from ATI graphics and the dedicated graphics do sound better.

but the great thing about htpc is that it's upgradeable. and the upgrade path is freaking cheap.
if you find the onboard graphics to sound lifeless, you could always add a dedicated card. an ATI graphics solution that could bitstream hd audio could be had from ~RM100 (HD5450). better card from HD6XXX and HD7XXX series could be had for around ~RM200.
paskal
post Aug 9 2014, 09:15 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(norazme @ Aug 5 2014, 11:12 PM)

Anybody can recommend me any shop or person to build htpc. May I know what is the latest and best spec for it. If have second hand htpc for sale also ok just let me know the spec and price. Tqvm
will depend heavily on your usage. if you're gonna use it for playing media and run it 24/7 for downloading, you would want a low power consumption htpc. a high speed processor with lots of lots of ram and high performance graphics would mean $hit for htpc. the main latency is from IO access. multiplied if you put in more than a couple of drives.

rather than scaling it based on specs, or price, it's better to scale a htpc on power. not processing power, but power consumption.
htpc could be scaled from 8W setup up to more than 200W setup. won't matter much if you run it for 2 hours a day watching movies. but if you turn it 24/7, it's the difference between paying RM1.7 to run it for 30 days, or paying RM43.2 to run it for that same timespan (electricity cost).

QUOTE(norazme @ Aug 6 2014, 10:04 AM)

Anybody use graffic card sapphire R7 260x overclock for HTPC. Is it stable coz last time I heard have probs with the audio bitstream. Please help me. Thank you.
the r7 series used to have this driver issues with bitstreaming lossless audio. it's intermittent but it's annoying as hell.
gun to my head, i think the gtx 750 ti is better than the r7 or r9 series for htpc use. it's low power, doesn't require external power from psu (less strain on psu), better driver support, better video playback support, h265 hevc hardware acceleration, better processing power for video post processing algorithms, better madvr implementation and support.

it's better in a lot of aspects compared to r7 260 or even r7 265.
this graph don't mean shit if you don't pay for your electricity, but for the rest of humanity this must be considered.

less power, less heat output, less requirement for active cooling, less chance of heat related failure, higher reliability, less heat dissipation to environment, less cooling costs if you're in the same room.
it's extensively tested by anandtech. link here.

almost bought one for testing purposes. but jayacom quoted me pretty cheap price for 4tb drives. storage > audio. so went home with a couple more terabytes.
tho i have absolutely no idea if they're any good, if the audio is miles better compared to hd7790 or r7 265 or if they're crap compared to ati radeons. someone should dump RM500 and test them. i would, if i had my audio setup working.
paskal
post Dec 8 2014, 08:08 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(willer @ Dec 5 2014, 04:52 PM)
Guys and sifus,

I needs to setup a 24/7 tiny server running on win7, apache and VMWARE (ubuntu). which i am demanding stability over performance.

- Budget RM500-700max,
- RAM 4Gb-8Gb,
- CPU should better then Intel Atom D2700 (benchmark 800),
- Hardisk exclude from budget
- power saving and small size
- display doesn't care

Currently I having this in my list:
1) Lenovo IdeaCentre Q190 Celeron® 1017U
2) INTEL NUC DN2820FYKH

You guys thinks which is better?
main question is what you're gonna use them for. if basic media playback then surely you don't need to plug an 8 core (albeit 4 weak ones) amd bulldozer for it. but if the tiny server is expected to handle media playback, media server and transcoding then >4 core would probably help.

i have the atom d2800. it's pretty weak. dual core 4 thread, but don't expect it to do much background work simultaneously. you could run it as NAS, or media playback, but not both. and certainly not when playing back vc1 bdrips and handling parity calculation at the background.

if you're planning for a 24/7 media server + torrent + download + media playback and want it to run 365 day without burning through electricity, i suggest you take a look at the newer celeron J1900.
benchmarked to use less power compared to 32nm atom (n2700 included, probably even better than my low power n2800 also). some test shows it having comparable (or even higher performance) compared to intel avoton. and it's cheap to begin with. most board supports USB3.0 out of the box. easy to connect more hdd and expand the storage.
paskal
post Jan 24 2015, 04:25 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Jan 24 2015, 11:17 AM)
So far I have built two. So managed to do some minor research before building my 2nd one 2 months back.

Here's my take.

1. Best so far, if just for multimedia eg. Kodi (XBMC) with windows 8, just use a Haswell i3 chip with built-in Intel HD Graphic chip 4400.  Its capable of decoding 4K.  I am using one now, its smooth for Full HD thus far.  Haven't tried 4K content though.  i5 is a bit overkill if you just use it for full HD video viewing.

2. AMD A6 Chipset, cheaper overall if DIY. 

If you were to opt for the first option, do look at Intel NUC mini set that comes with everything inside !  It costs about RM800++, I think is worth all the effort. 

The reason I didn't buy the NUC is that I wanted to use the HTPC to serve as server as well.  So I need a bigger casing for multiple hard drives.
woh? those integrated graphics any good meh?
got people say those integrated GC sucks and must use dedicated gaming GC only will give very the best picture quality! the more expensiver the GC the more better they say! more expensive GC = better PQ.

not true ah? kah kah kah
paskal
post Jan 25 2015, 10:55 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Jan 24 2015, 06:19 PM)
i think there is a limit on the quality they can give lol. it is a movie, not a game tho lol
Really meh?
I've been told you need Quad SLI gtx Titan or 4 way crossfire ati firepro to achieve maximum quality BD video playback. Like this one:

Only then can unlock best PQ. Not true ah? Kah kah kah
paskal
post Feb 4 2015, 06:12 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(suj87 @ Feb 4 2015, 03:37 PM)
hi guys, planning to buy a windows htpc. Mostly for watching and downloading HD movies, internet surfing and occasional usage of word/excel/powerpoint. Not for gaming whatsoever. can anyone recommend. Budget less than 1k
do you require HD audio bitstreaming capability?
paskal
post Feb 5 2015, 06:24 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(suj87 @ Feb 4 2015, 10:49 PM)
Yes bro
do you believe dedicated graphic cards deliver better picture quality compared to integrated solutions?
paskal
post Feb 5 2015, 09:25 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(suj87 @ Feb 5 2015, 06:58 PM)
Dont they?
depend on who you ask. kah kah kah
bet those that say yes have never seen the 4th generation intel 4400/4600 and the newer AMD APU in action.
paskal
post Mar 17 2015, 05:59 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Mar 17 2015, 02:54 PM)
Asrock Intel Q1900B-ITX (10W Intel BayTrail J1900)
So-DIMM 2GB DDR3 1333 MH
FSP Hexa 400W
CM Elite 120 Advance

Max 2 HDD

This is my future build for HTPC.

If you want more lower power consumption, try Raspberry Pi... thumbup.gif
if you explicitly require SATA hdd support and don't mind working with linux, this is also available:
much faster IO access compared to raspi, and has a gigabit ethernet chip. perfect for NAS purpose and download server. doesn't even have a heatsink.

similar power efficiency as raspi at ~4W
paskal
post Apr 9 2015, 12:35 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(mharmdone @ Apr 9 2015, 10:54 AM)
guys need some suggestion of graphic cards that can handle 1080p or full hd movies.
even the lowest end ati hd5450 will be able to do it.
paskal
post Apr 9 2015, 01:05 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(mharmdone @ Apr 9 2015, 12:55 PM)
oh so no issue on the playback? i mean does the card downgrade the movie frame or something let say from 1080p movies to 720p. sorry for asking to much.

thanks for the reply bro
i've used it for a number of years previously. it's one of the cheapest card that will bitstream hd audio.
no issue on the playback as even a low powered raspberry pi is able to handle 1080p movies. and that's a 5W computer.
paskal
post Apr 10 2015, 11:47 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(mharmdone @ Apr 10 2015, 03:09 PM)
anyone here did the tweak guide to the graphic card? any difference to the performance
depend on who you ask. laugh.gif

i had the ati 5 thousand series, ati 6 thousand series, ati 7 thousand series, had a brief time with the ati r7, got nvidia gtx6 series and contemplating to buy the newer gtx7. owh wait i do have a couple of those gtx7, albeit lower end not the recommended 750ti.

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0452sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:42 PM