Hobbies TAMIYA Mini 4WD V8, Mini 4wd

choycp
post Mar 23 2010, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Mar 23 2010, 03:18 PM)
the most silent car made in Malaysia..

Added on March 23, 2010, 3:21 pm

my mod not really lighten the gear.. i dont think lightening the gears can do much. the gears already very light its negligible.  as ng said.. for battery performance. good if using alkaline. the boost can last longer. either way its always good to have as little friction in every part of the car as possible  smile.gif

yeah ng. share ur bearing mod .. hehe..
i prefer to use unmodded gears rather than lightened, drilled, skimmed gears. not to say those mods are not good but everything has its pros and cons.

i believe that u can counter the cons of standard gears by having a decent motor and smooth ball bearings.
-=conselfa=-
post Mar 23 2010, 04:27 PM

erm, i've heard about the gear modding technique from jai..
dunno who have done it...izzit you sezeng???

green plastic gear + 9mm bearing + ms gear bearing + fluorin coated shaft = rclxms.gif

anyone turun t.u today??
choycp
post Mar 23 2010, 04:28 PM

zeng zeng punya gear gila modified meo...ko kene tengok sendere
-=conselfa=-
post Mar 23 2010, 04:34 PM

hmm..kena pancing sezeng post pic gear to kt forum nih.. drool.gif

c'mon sezeng ! dare to post it? if not, i'll see it myself at t.u la jap lagi.. hehe
lolhalol
post Mar 23 2010, 04:36 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(choycp @ Mar 23 2010, 05:16 PM)
i prefer to use unmodded gears rather than lightened, drilled, skimmed gears. not to say those mods are not good but everything has its pros and cons.

i believe that u can counter the cons of standard gears by having a decent motor and smooth ball bearings.
i believe that the gearbox is one of the key places to maximize the speed of the motor especially when on alkaline. Less friction = longer lasting initial boost from alkalines. i think it also helps with the top speed. Can reach the top speed faster and may increase top speed a little too. as whatever force that is lost to friction before the mod is now channeled into the tires more.

but what u said is very true. everything has its pros and cons.
-=conselfa=-
post Mar 23 2010, 04:44 PM

if u have a decent motor and smooth ball bearings, why not have a modded gears also?
i'm not so lucky to get a reeaaallly gooood motor, just ok la.
so, modding gear is quite useful actually.
TSsonic_cd
post Mar 23 2010, 04:57 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(-=conselfa=- @ Mar 23 2010, 04:34 PM)
hmm..kena pancing sezeng post pic gear to kt forum nih..  drool.gif

c'mon sezeng ! dare to post it? if not, i'll see it myself at t.u la jap lagi.. hehe
i have a pic , but unless he say to post i won`t la... tongue.gif
lolhalol
post Mar 23 2010, 04:58 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(-=conselfa=- @ Mar 23 2010, 05:44 PM)
if u have a decent motor and smooth ball bearings, why not have a modded gears also?
i'm not so lucky to get a reeaaallly gooood motor, just ok la.
so, modding gear is quite useful actually.
me and u in the same boat. only have "decent" hdpros and 1'fast' ldpro . so have to resort to other ways to maximise the potential of the motor. i really saw the diff of the gears when i was at TU last sat testing with ldpro coz dun wan to kil my hdpro. i can say that with and without gear mod there is a diff. the ldpro can catch up and at times faster than hdpro especially on long runs on the track. especially on long straights too. can notice the ldpro pick up a bit faster than hdpro without mod. but this results are not 100% accurate as i was using other cars that were rempiting to compare.

now my theory is , if got good hdpro, + low friction gear box + new hex hole = very very fast and max speed longer lasting on alkalines also. . just need a speed track to test this theory. especially the battery part.

Added on March 23, 2010, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(-=conselfa=- @ Mar 23 2010, 05:34 PM)
hmm..kena pancing sezeng post pic gear to kt forum nih..  drool.gif

i agree with choy, u have to see it inperson. very nicely done mod.

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Mar 23 2010, 04:58 PM
choycp
post Mar 23 2010, 05:03 PM

ok la sebenarnya aku tak pandai modify gear la tongue.gif
-=conselfa=-
post Mar 23 2010, 05:11 PM

btul ke x pandai? ke, ko je yg x penah reveal kt public ape ko bt kt gear tu? hehe brows.gif
lolhalol
post Mar 23 2010, 05:11 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

of course all this is useless if the cars setting doesn't suit the characteristics of what motor ur using.

this was the setting i was using.

TSsonic_cd
post Mar 23 2010, 05:14 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

damn , nice laptop tongue.gif
lolhalol
post Mar 23 2010, 05:14 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(-=conselfa=- @ Mar 23 2010, 06:11 PM)
btul ke x pandai? ke, ko je yg x penah reveal kt public ape ko bt kt gear tu? hehe  brows.gif
hahaha i agree with this...
VIPER57
post Mar 23 2010, 05:18 PM

i know one way to modify a gear.
fluorine coated shafts and ball bearings.
now for the interesting part,
u will need grease, lubricating oil and rc cleaner spray.
1. mix grease and lubricating oil.
2. put mixture in a small container.
3. put gear in small container and shake mixture.
4. take ball bearing and spray with cleaner spray.
5. take the gear and put ball bearing and fluorine shaft.

done u have a modded gear. tongue.gif
TSsonic_cd
post Mar 23 2010, 05:20 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(VIPER57 @ Mar 23 2010, 05:18 PM)

itu fail . la
VIPER57
post Mar 23 2010, 05:21 PM

and u should do this every month once.
and dont worry about the car being oily.
but i dont do this coz i dont have ball bearins and fluorine coated shafts. tongue.gif tongue.gif
-=conselfa=-
post Mar 23 2010, 05:22 PM

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 23 2010, 05:14 PM)
yaaa..damn nice calendar 2010 too. sweat.gif

>> to VIPER57

done u have a modded gear.

Dats not modded gear..this is just normal practice to service/maintenance of the gear..
VIPER57
post Mar 23 2010, 05:23 PM

[quote=sonic_cd,Mar 23 2010, 05:20 PM]itu fail . la

[/quote]

why fail??
i told some of my friends this too.
thier car went faster and smoother than usual.
Never Try, Never Know tongue.gif

Added on March 23, 2010, 5:26 pm
Dats not modded gear..this is just normal practice to service/maintenance of the gear..

[/quote]

i know but people say they want smooth gear this is what they should do if they want to do it. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by VIPER57: Mar 23 2010, 05:26 PM
junichi_nonis
post Mar 23 2010, 05:34 PM

i have to say i agree with choy.. i think modding gear is too time consuming as u nd to do it vy precisely to maximise de output.. if ur nt a patient guy, dun do it.. u'll end up ruining de gears..

nway, i prefer unmodded gears too but mayb try to station de gears properly to avoid any movements side ways..

just my 1 cent.. cheers..
lolhalol
post Mar 23 2010, 05:34 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 23 2010, 06:14 PM)
haha thanks..bt old di lah this laptop.. the acer ferari.. 1gb ram and amd turion processor only... sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(VIPER57 @ Mar 23 2010, 06:18 PM)

QUOTE(VIPER57 @ Mar 23 2010, 06:21 PM)
and u should do this every month once.
and dont worry about the car being oily.
but i dont do this coz i dont have ball bearins and fluorine coated shafts. tongue.gif  tongue.gif
QUOTE(VIPER57 @ Mar 23 2010, 06:23 PM)
why fail??
i told some of my friends this too.
thier car went faster and smoother than usual.
Never Try, Never Know tongue.gif

i know but people say they want smooth gear this is what they should do if they want to do it. tongue.gif
this isnt 'modding' a gear. this is lubricating a gear. and can achieve the same end results by just spraying the gear with rc spray and apply a little grease . no need to mix or shake.

ur friends car went faster was probably due to the gears being cleaned by the cleaner . oiling/greasing is for maintainance. and not necessary if ur gear is already 'break in'.

reducing friction and smoother gear is 2 different things .

if ur car oily, will pick up alot of dust and dirt of the track. and also will leave oil on the track. oil car also not nice to handle. hand get oily. and at Tu no toilet near by to wash hand.. sorry i very malas one..

QUOTE(-=conselfa=- @ Mar 23 2010, 06:22 PM)
yaaa..damn nice calendar 2010 too.  sweat.gif
haha .. that is vtec power flex.gif .. lol

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Mar 23 2010, 05:42 PM

125 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:46 AM