DFI nF3/4 series (LP and Infinity) users come in, Overclocking ability and troubleshooting
irenic
Feb 6 2006, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(kingmaker_20 @ Feb 6 2006, 02:56 AM) Are you sure??i dont see much temp drop there. irenic@what was the temp while using stock cooler? Using stock DFI chipset fan temp idle is 47C. This one idle at 41C normal load for stock temp is 51-52C. This one normal load at 43-44C. Btw, i just ran 13hrs of burnin with ambient temp of 30C, side panel closed. Chipset temp at 48C. As hot as my stock DFI at idle. But i think the heat came from my x1900xtx. That card is damn hot! Hotter than my SLI setup  So i think the heatpipe does the job well.. Look at my pwm temp. My case is now like an oven This post has been edited by irenic: Feb 6 2006, 10:24 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
irenic
Feb 6 2006, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(Sanko @ Feb 6 2006, 01:36 PM) hrmm.. just wanted to know whether ultra-d support wd sataII 16mb version or not. thanks. my friend is using ultra D with 250gb WD sataII 16mb.. no problem..~
irenic
Feb 6 2006, 05:13 PM
u can get it from fang..  hmm here is the screenshot with dual prime for 1hrs+ This post has been edited by irenic: Feb 6 2006, 05:17 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
irenic
Feb 8 2006, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(winc87 @ Feb 8 2006, 12:56 PM) Prime or not does not affect the chipset temperature much. Perhaps you should move a large amount of data from one HDD to another to see how hot it is.  no prob.. how large is large?
irenic
Feb 8 2006, 03:44 PM
done. i transfer 60gb of files from my movie folder in my primary harddisk to my secondary harddisk, then in the same time i capture the screen, open adobe photoshop to resize the image but no different. Temp remain at 45C. Today idle is at 42C.
irenic
Apr 12 2006, 12:24 AM
QUOTE(winc87 @ Apr 11 2006, 06:50 PM) DFI NF4 Expert users, are you all having temperature being read incorrectly? I'm getting myself an expert and i want to know whether there is any LYNer has the same problem with those in dfi-street.  my expert : with amd64 x2 3800+ incorrect .. DFI : 20++ C, while my gatewatch shows 30+C then change to opty 165 also incorrect .. just like the x2 and with current proc, opty 170 suddenly the temp shows by smartguardian just differ 1-2C with my gatewatch
irenic
Apr 12 2006, 02:01 AM
yeah.. maybe my proc n this expert is a perfect combination
irenic
Apr 19 2006, 02:31 AM
well i have some question here ... my friend is using:
DFI infinity nforce 4 SLI, AMD opteron 165, Corsair (samsung tcc5), coolermaster 550w 24pin psu, and ati x550 ...
after using around 1 month since bought all the stuffs, suddenly the pc hang during in windows and he restarted it. then it cant boot, just showed the INFINITY logo and stuck there..
he tried ( i helped him too) reset the cmos using all the way including the longest way in DFI street but still cant solve it. I also tried using another ram but still cant..
then yesterday he bought the mobo to alphamatic to claim for 1 to 1 but he forgot the receipt and alphamatic cant give 1 to 1.. but one guy there offered to check the problem and he used my friend's mobo with his technical rig ( other parts all alphamatics' .. just the mobo is my friends') but cant boot, then he took out another 5 mobo all cant boot.
his processor is not opteron, but my friend is opteron yet he still cant boot with all the brand new infinity.. what's the problem there?
then he tried the opteron with a brand new lanparty SLI D straight away can boot..
hmm when my friend got back home, he got email from DFI technician ( i believed from taiwan) to update the bios using a beta bios attached.. but how to flash if the board hang during startup?
can u guys help us? to say that the infinity not supporting the opteron is quite impossible coz it was working fine for 1 month.. and to say the problem is from other hardware also not logic bcoz the alphamatic guy tested his infinity with alphamatic's rig..
thx in advanced..
irenic
Apr 19 2006, 04:51 AM
QUOTE(winc87 @ Apr 19 2006, 02:43 AM) herm, one question here, are those infinity coming with the same version of bios? not sure bout that.. but for my problem above, i forgot to say that i did flashed the mobo to 1/3/06 bios during 1st installation (1 month ago)..
irenic
Apr 19 2006, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(almostthere @ Apr 19 2006, 06:21 AM) my best advice is to try to startup the rig using a normal proc and see how it goes. Try using AG's recommended setting up process of one stick of RAM and not hooking up other parts not required for booting. I'm guessing is the voltage pull at default is not enough untill manual settings are done. This probably includes start-up voltage which Opteron's being of San Diego core are a bit higher (especially for 165, 144's I'm hearing no problem) and at do some tests from there. Try subjecting the rig to some load and see what's the reaction. At times maybe the PSU's faulty. at first i think so as well.. but then when he brought the mobo to alphamatic, that guy tested it with amd64 3000+, antec psu and his ram (my friend not sure what brand it was) but still cant boot... the weird thing is, when the guy tried with brand new board also cant.. then he put his 3000+ in lanparty board straight away can.. whats wrong with all infinity? maybe DFI has set on 17th april all infinity on earth will went crazy  QUOTE(winc87 @ Apr 19 2006, 11:37 AM) irenic, Did you flash the 1/3/06 bios with opteron 165 running initially? yes. i flashed it straight away after bought it a month ago...
irenic
Apr 19 2006, 01:56 PM
all spoilt on the same day? i dont think it's a batch problem since my friend's mobo has been using around 1 month..
irenic
Apr 20 2006, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(winc87 @ Apr 19 2006, 02:10 PM) The only way we can explain this is the batch problem. Yes your friend can use it but it is finally dead.  QUOTE(remysix @ Apr 19 2006, 07:31 PM) any reported of such case in from other place? if it is, then most probably as what we suspected...alphamatic does not cover the warranty since no receipt...whatabout dfi...but surely need to wait until the one year local waranty ends...yikes!!! QUOTE(almostthere @ Apr 19 2006, 07:49 PM) Then most likely a stepping issue IMHO. Have you tried with other procs? i brought the board to viewnet yesterday ( wednesday) without receipt bcoz i called one of viewnet upper staff and he said no problem.. then when i arrived i went straight to viewnet service department and that guy said he will charges me coz no receipt ( which is normal procedure) .. but i refused to pay coz i had spent thousand of ringgit there and summore that board only price rm4xx wahaha.. so i called that staff and straight away dont have to pay.. he tested it and can boot .. sigh! but he agrees to change to a new board and helped me flash the bios.. thx a lot ..  now the problem is solved, but the weird thing is, why all the board in alphamatic cant boot ? This post has been edited by irenic: Apr 20 2006, 12:53 AM
irenic
Apr 20 2006, 02:13 AM
but when he tested with lanparty board no problem~  ekeke
irenic
Jul 5 2006, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(woundxp @ Jul 5 2006, 02:34 AM) DFI Lan Party is very unstable! Better buy ECS. Can OC my 3000+ winchester to 2.9GHz stable, prime 48 hrs. yeah DFI lanparty is very unstable.. lots of people manage to get over 3ghz, with it..