I need some serious motivation to continue playing this game....
yesterday went to play ps2 game pulak.
About FF13 Eng Ver - Something I don't Understand
Mar 17 2010, 03:14 PM
1,006 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
I need some serious motivation to continue playing this game....
yesterday went to play ps2 game pulak. |
Mar 17 2010, 03:36 PM
168 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: PJ, SS2, Selangor |
I quite like the game. Quite addicted to it actually. The story is pretty interesting, the voice dubbing/acting is done quite well. And I suppose the thing with Vanille is also quite matching. The character in game acts pretty annoying IMO
The level up system is quite cool. It reminds me of FF10's system. I think the battle system is pretty interesting. I quite hated the random battle kind as it interferes with exploring the map and awe-ing at the graphics. I think this is the fourth FF game I will finish after FF7 and FF8 and FF10. |
Mar 17 2010, 05:25 PM
798 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Equine Park, Seri Kembangan |
Mar 17 2010, 06:08 PM
128 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Overall, i think FFXIII is a very good game RPG wise.
Those that review it to be too linear mostly is base on story/gameplay of FF7 or FF8. But i think games should be change in time, can't always stick to the old glory style..... The battle system is the best in all those FF i play so far (7/8/9/10/10-2/12), i think is abit of FF10 + FF10-2 + FF12 + abit of its unique style |
Mar 17 2010, 10:14 PM
3,616 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: From MLK, Currently in MCR |
I guess its all up to individual preference yea?
I think I will try the game sometime too...but definitely not top of my Wishlist... GOW3 = wishlist lol |
Mar 25 2010, 02:40 PM
71 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Bukit Jelutong |
I heard that Square Enix cuts some content that were originally to be included in the final game, those are town locations right? Maybe we could see Final Fantasy XIII: Director's Cut in the future.
Mar 25 2010, 06:22 PM
maybe in international version..who knows
Mar 26 2010, 11:19 AM
Do you guys find that the battle speed is too fast? its too fast for me to actually select the command and watch the battle.
In most of the battles, I ended up - 1) select the commands 2) check the HP bar 3) select commands / items 4) check the HP bar . . . I ended up not watching the battle at all. I don't even know if the enemies died or not and sometimes the battle just end without even realising it. The ATB was slower in FF7. Anyone have similiar feelings? |
Mar 26 2010, 11:49 AM
u can actually adjust the battle speed in the setting u know
i use slower settings hv time to think and watch the fight |
Mar 26 2010, 01:23 PM
hmm really... i try tonight
Mar 26 2010, 03:25 PM
400 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Penang |
Mar 26 2010, 03:42 PM
2,802 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(Dark NT @ Mar 13 2010, 10:13 PM) 3 hours into this game. I would say that FF graphics are inbetween HR and UC2. Heavy rain graphics arent that good compare to the demo that i played.Tilt left stick to move, press O in battle. Watch it. thats all ones need to do. so far no level up function (still in chapter 2). thus no point to engage in battles that are avoidable. boring background.. very boring space station / space city like background with uninteresting enemies (robot type). graphics are pretty nice. But FF13 is not even leading in graphics if compared to Heavy rain / uncharted 2. story is the usual ff style with many many names that i don't normally bother. but its not a bad game really.. just that expectations are too high for most of us. Feel when played the game something is missing from it. |
Mar 26 2010, 03:42 PM
Mar 29 2010, 09:40 PM
656 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(lilko @ Mar 13 2010, 10:44 PM) meh... no rpg games are not linear... Its all fight, cutscene plus towns and caves.... U dun play jrpg and expect it to have like superb fight. Although many try to do it now.. Maybe u say... Its time to change jrpg.. But... sometimes not ervy new things is an enjoyable thing.. And dun tell me the stories of any games are as good as a movie or a drama?? So unexpected?? Then you might as well read a novel... actually there are many rpg that are not linear like fallout 2, only JRPGs are almost always linear (except special cases like chrono trigger). if you say an rpg is about fighting, cutscene plus towns and caves, then FF 13 is not an rpg as it does not have towns. I wont say that its time to change JRPG, instead do something different. however for FF they shouldnt change so much. if it changes alot then the fans wont like it anymore. novel? some great rpg stories are more entertaining than novels, some games (both rpg and none rpg) have better story than many movies i know. Though I cant entirely say that this is the best series.. Cuz the characters are too normal... You feel them more as a team than an individual characters... There are not so much of truly heartfelt emotions.. maybe some.. compare to their previous predecessors.. In which some may not like it.. Cuz FF was "suppose" to give you an awe on their characters... The deep bonding between the players and the characters.. Although have to admit oso la... Not much interaction of like.. to so some small trivial stuff which is very interesting indeed..Well, Small achievements make you happy dun they? Well, This one big expectation that was not meet lead to many flaws that they cant be over look anymore.. But, please dun say FFXIII is boring just by hearing others... Even though u dun feel them individually.. But as a team... it was still a nice storyline.. If you are a fan of FF.. This is not much of a disappointment.. If you are new .. And you are a hardcore gamer since like a long long time ago or are very spoilt by action base game... Then.. yea... you might as well just pick up GOWIII for the gruesome fight and leave FF alone... There is no point in condemning a game.. Its your personal taste.. Take it or leave it... Eternal Sonata is boring... lol... If you finish the game.. I think FFXIII is more than ok... XD PS: I kinda like snow.. XD.. Eventhough Sephiroth is oways number one in my heart... FF 13 is definitely not the best of it's series. many reviewers say so as well. Actually your comment is the wrong way round. If you are a fan of FF, you will feel dissappointed. But if you have never played FF or any JRPG before, this game can be a good game. FF 13 is a good game BUT is a bad RPG. |
Mar 30 2010, 03:30 AM
95 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Gongaga |
QUOTE(exsea @ Mar 29 2010, 09:40 PM) actually there are many rpg that are not linear like fallout 2, only JRPGs are almost always linear (except special cases like chrono trigger). if you say an rpg is about fighting, cutscene plus towns and caves, then FF 13 is not an rpg as it does not have towns. I wont say that its time to change JRPG, instead do something different. however for FF they shouldnt change so much. if it changes alot then the fans wont like it anymore. novel? some great rpg stories are more entertaining than novels, some games (both rpg and none rpg) have better story than many movies i know. Lol... people had been obsess with words like WRPG, JRPG, action RPG and stuff like that.. It doesn't matter wat kinda genre it is as long as it good game and you role play the character.. RPG or not.. Who cares? So what the reviewers say its bad... They just happen to like other genre more.. After such a long time.. People change.. Its been more than 10 years mate.. Besides, everyone is different.. Some like pizza other like sushi? Some hate both some like both or either.. Point is.. Its your taste.. So why judge a game using people's point of view? Whether a game is good onot, you can vaguely tell.. Unless you have the same taste with the reviewer.. That, I have nothing to say..FF 13 is definitely not the best of it's series. many reviewers say so as well. Actually your comment is the wrong way round. If you are a fan of FF, you will feel dissappointed. But if you have never played FF or any JRPG before, this game can be a good game. FF 13 is a good game BUT is a bad RPG. Well, people say allot about disappointment and stuff cuz they keep looking back and compare to the previous series.. Am sure that there are fans out there who are not the same as "other" fans that you are referring to as in the incapability in accepting new style.. So please dun brand everyone under the same categories...But, ok, on second thoughts, I take back my words on old FF fans will not be disappointed.. Cuz it seems like most of the fans are like that.. and I wrote it in my point of view.. Also many people think they are superior when they played the full whole series of it or play dozens and dozens of game since oldsch... lol.. Game is just something that waste your time and money, with not much knowledge given but you still love it kinda thing.. Except maybe a short getaway from reality.. Ok.. I apologize for offending.. But aint it true? So Why condemn a game like your a divine guru of sort when in fact its not as bad? Why are many influence by what one person says or by some people who love to sabo something that is big? Anyway as long as the main juice was there, it doesn't matter what new concept SE give.. Conclusion is... FFXIII is not a bad game, rpg or wateva u wan to think about it.. Gamers who are always look dwn by many were suppose (not must or necessary) have a more open mind.. But I guess its all the same.. Perhaps worst? Well, if you dun like it then leave it be.. No point turning people off and not give it a chance at all... Who knows, you dun like it... Others might like it aye? This post has been edited by lilko: Mar 30 2010, 03:39 AM |
Mar 30 2010, 11:26 AM
656 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
i did say that FF13 is a good game, but i just want to point out that its not a real RPG.
like/dislike is very subjective. being an oldschool gamer does not make anyone a divine guru. only somethings in FF13 are too different from the rest of the series. its like if you see some restaurant selling sushi, you will have an image of sushi in your head. ff13 has changed to the point its like fried sushi. do you get what i mean? its like got megaman 1 to 10, you already know what to expect of megaman in a game, then in megaman 11 it becomes a strategy game, as a fan it may make you feel like wtf? coz if the company wanted to make a strategy game for megaman, they can but they should maybe use a different name like megaman tactics. another note, i wont say gaming is a waste of time and money. gaming is entertainment. |
Mar 30 2010, 11:35 AM
1,450 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KK |
QUOTE(exsea @ Mar 30 2010, 11:26 AM) i did say that FF13 is a good game, but i just want to point out that its not a real RPG. Well said, that's why I always think the series, and the developer, have gone down hill since Squaresoft decided to make a sci-fi movie called FF:TSW and MMORPG FFXI.like/dislike is very subjective. being an oldschool gamer does not make anyone a divine guru. only somethings in FF13 are too different from the rest of the series. its like if you see some restaurant selling sushi, you will have an image of sushi in your head. ff13 has changed to the point its like fried sushi. do you get what i mean? its like got megaman 1 to 10, you already know what to expect of megaman in a game, then in megaman 11 it becomes a strategy game, as a fan it may make you feel like wtf? coz if the company wanted to make a strategy game for megaman, they can but they should maybe use a different name like megaman tactics. another note, i wont say gaming is a waste of time and money. gaming is entertainment. |
Mar 30 2010, 12:22 PM
Lol. the reason I make this topic is to see whether the game is worth buying or not. Coz for me RM150+ is quite pricey...and there are games which is at that price, but they fail hard.
But based on the general preception of this game I guess it's worth it. Will definitely try it out in the near future. |
Mar 30 2010, 12:24 PM
1,450 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KK |
Give it a try, since it FF you'd find it rather easy to sell if you don't like it
Mar 30 2010, 12:27 PM
Yea I guess so. FF titles normally will not go wrong.
Just that I saw the prices in Japan went so low and I was afraid the price here will also be the same...but based on the prices I see in LYN, the price is still not bad... Just sidetrack abit, anyone selling their FF13 English Version? =P |
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:39 PM |