CLOSED

anfieldude
post May 17 2010, 08:31 AM

3,858 posts

Watched Avatar and this is my review.

The PQ is definately reference with bright colours. It is a good show off disc for HT and a well calibrated display. I could not really detect any EE, or artifacts due to mastering. AQ uses the surrounds pretty well. They are active all around. LFE moments strong. My setup does not allow below 23Hz so the filtering did not effect me in any way I would know, but I still believe its weak compared to the scene.

The movie, sends out its messages about humanity pretty well. I think it achieves the purpose pretty well. Subtle messaging about politics, wrangle over power, how the "unobtanium...oil rules the world thing is pretty much in yer face.

However, I believe it is justified that it did not win any awards for acting or best film. Nothing spectacular abt the movie. It did not grip me enuf to even complete in single watch..so go figure.
boreclub
post May 17 2010, 09:54 AM

94 posts

hi, all the sifus out there. May i know how u sifus buying bd? is it most of the time direct purchase from Amazon or from ....? Do u sifus have any nice n good service seller to recommend here, thankx.

thonysky
post May 17 2010, 09:57 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(boreclub @ May 17 2010, 09:54 AM)
hi, all the sifus out there. May i know how u sifus buying bd? is it most of the time direct purchase from Amazon or from ....? Do u sifus have any nice n good service seller to recommend here, thankx.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/723954
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
20thCentury
post May 17 2010, 10:21 AM

138 posts

Want to ask... anyone who owned Lord of the Rings Blu Ray edition experiencing obvious white noise in black color palette or background during the scenes in Fangorn Forrest or in Rohan scenes?
low98944
post May 17 2010, 10:42 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

I just received my full refund for Saving Private Ryan and I think I would buy the corrected copy since only $5 off. wink.gif Anyway, my case is same ask those claimed for full refund. I can keep my copy for myself. tongue.gif
htkaki
post May 17 2010, 12:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 17 2010, 08:31 AM)
Watched Avatar and this is my review.

The PQ is definately reference with bright colours. It is a good show off disc for HT and a well calibrated display. I could not really detect any EE, or artifacts due to mastering. AQ uses the surrounds pretty well. They are active all around. LFE moments strong. My setup does not allow below 23Hz so the filtering did not effect me in any way I would know, but I still believe its weak compared to the scene.

The movie, sends out its messages about humanity pretty well. I think it achieves the purpose pretty well. Subtle messaging about politics, wrangle over power, how the "unobtanium...oil rules the world thing is pretty much in yer face.

However, I believe it is justified that it did not win any awards for acting or best film. Nothing spectacular abt the movie. It did not grip me enuf to even complete in single watch..so go figure.
Yes, the PQ is good even on my puny 720p HD pj. Watched it yesterday.

The surround is very well mixed and clear. Vocals are very good too. The LFE is the only setback. If only its audio is as good as Sherlock Holmes

sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post May 17 2010, 04:07 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Just to let you guys know, for those whose interested with Dil To Pagal Hai blu-ray, i'm getting extra from supply on Wednesday.

PM me if anyone interested.

Cheerio..
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post May 17 2010, 06:12 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Deal Alert: Coraline Blu-ray for $9.99 !

The price-tracking tools at blu-ray.com have made it unnecessary to post as many deal-related news as in the past, but this is just too good not to mention. Amazon has dropped the price of the stop-motion fantasy movie Coraline to $9.99 (63% off MSRP). There is no information regarding how long this price will last.

Note that this edition includes the movie both in conventional 2D and anaglyph 3D versions, using magenta/green glasses. A "proper" 3D edition has not been announced at this time.
maskedchan
post May 17 2010, 06:58 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ May 17 2010, 10:42 AM)
I just received my full refund for Saving Private Ryan and I think I would buy the corrected copy since only $5 off.  wink.gif  Anyway, my case is same ask those claimed for full refund.  I can keep my copy for myself.  tongue.gif
order already???
i order mine already

so quiet here..only one page for a day?!!! hmm.gif

anyway, da vincci code now 16.49
grab grab thumbup.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post May 17 2010, 07:01 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ May 17 2010, 06:58 PM)
order already???
i order mine already

so quiet here..only one page for a day?!!!  hmm.gif

anyway, da vincci code now 16.49
grab grab  thumbup.gif
$14.99 for SPR is a good deal.
Its hardly acceptable that , its not available for everyone though [$5 off i meant] tongue.gif brows.gif
TSkianwee
post May 17 2010, 07:43 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

v6 is dead. v7 is up. Keep the thread clean with solely discussions about blu-ray. Salesman stay in garage sale and don't ever come here promoting your sale.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1426471

0.0255sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:30 PM