131 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Travel Club LYN Japan V3, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

TStanoshi
post Mar 23 2010, 06:33 PM

347 posts

An articles to share..(even its old one, but I agreed with him)
Why I hate driving in Japan

By William Bonds

I don’t get out of Japan as much as I used to, but as far as I’m concerned, driving overseas is a zillion times more enjoyable than it is here. Why? Well here are 10 reasons.

1. Country roads. The most pleasurable thing about driving, for me, has always been cruising along a road less traveled in the British/American/Canadian/European countryside—there are few cars, no speed cameras and only beautiful scenery to look at. The Japanese countryside is polluted with ugly overhead cables, ugly villages and boring, boring roads.

2. Driving lessons. Getting a license in this country is ridiculously time-consuming and expensive. I know this because Mrs Bonds is halfway through the process. There are, if I remember rightly, around 40 hours of driving lessons, 30 hours of classroom lessons and five tests to take. It will cost around 300,000 yen. All this wouldn’t be so bad if Mrs Bonds were actually learning how to drive—but in fact all that is just to learn how to pass the exams. After she’s got her license, I’ll have to teach her how to drive.

3. Truck drivers. When the missus finally does earn her license, she won’t get any help from truck drivers. In Japan, like many other countries, “might is right.” Truckers seem to think that they have the right of way on any stretch of road. This is most apparent on expressways, when they drive right up your rear to try and bully you into moving over.

4. Blinkers. Do driving schools teach you what those orange lights are for? Even if they don’t, just how stupid can the drivers of Japan be? You put your indicators on before you brake to show that you are about to turn. Every day, I see drivers brake, then indicate, and then turn. The dumbest thing in Japanese motoring.

5. Insurance. OK, we need insurance, but my insurance man just quoted me a rate that’s higher for my second car than my first car, which is worth three times as much. On top of that, he says that because my second car is so cheap, it’s not covered for damage. So I pay less to get more insurance for a more expensive car. What’s more, he can’t link the two cars’ insurance policies. Oh yes, and I’m not covered for theft. Eh?

6. Shaken/taxes. You must get your car tested three years after you bought it new, and every two years thereafter. A dealer will charge you in the region of 150,000 yen to do this (my local mechanic does it for half that). A car inspection program is good, but this isn’t it. And how many privately owned Japanese cars need to be inspected after three years? Almost none. It’s an unrealistic and unnecessary burden on the car owner.

7. Parking. You have to have a parking place before you can own a car in Japan. Maybe not such a stupid idea, but the street parking in cities is way out of hand. Enforcement has improved, but there are still too many cars blocking too many roads. On the other hand, you will get a ticket for parking in a metered spot after-hours. Well, if a spot is OK during busy hours, why can’t we use it when the roads aren’t busy? Doesn’t make sense.

8. Tolls. I hate tolls. Apart from being an inefficient system for collecting money, they are way too high. OK, PM Aso has reduced them temporarily. Well done, but no one should be charged for sitting in a 50 kms traffic jam. You should only have to pay for expressways if they do their job, i.e., getting you from A to B fast.

9. PC Plod. A cop caught me speeding last week. Was it fair? Well, yes, I was speeding, but it was on a coastal toll road with absolutely no traffic. Possibly the quietest, safest road in Japan. Penalizing me on that road will not contribute to road safety in any way; he was just making sure he got his quota for the month. The police too often go for the easy target while letting the loonies go free.

10. Old People, young people. Confucius says old people are the repositories of wisdom. No, stupid people only get stupider as they grow older. And young stupid people are just plain dangerous. Restrict what they can drive and keep death off the roads.

William Bonds is an automotive journalist based in Chiba.

This commentary originally appeared in Metropolis magazine (www.metropolis.co.jp).

And I proud to have a valid full Japanese drivin license! icon_rolleyes.gif
mita
post Mar 23 2010, 06:59 PM

76 posts

Visa Approved, Payment fully settled, Fly to Osaka this Friday for 5 days trip ..... Japan here i come. How is the wind condition? Any strong jishin ? Bring it on man brows.gif Malaysia Gaijin power !

RegentCid
post Mar 23 2010, 09:53 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Today Breaking News:
東京:
JR埼京線の池袋 - 新宿駅間で車両トラブル 埼京線と山手線などが運転を見合わせ
帰宅ラッシュ時間帯の23日午後7時すぎ、JR埼京線の池袋 - 新宿駅間で車両トラブルが発生し、23日午後8時40分現在、埼京線と山手線、湘南新宿ラインの上下線で運転を見合わせている。JR東日本によると、午後9時前には順次再開するという。
23日午後7時18分ごろ、JR埼京線の新宿発武蔵浦和行きの電車で、先頭車両のガラスに何らかの物体が衝突したため、運転士が緊急停止した。
この影響で、埼京線の大崎 - 大宮間の上下線、山手線内外回りの全線、湘南新宿ラインの全線で、午後7時すぎから運転が見合されている。
衝突したのは、パラボラアンテナのケーブルのようなもので、埼京線の先頭車両のガラスには、ひびのようなものが入っているという。
JR東日本によると、山手線の架線に架かっている障害物を撤去していて、埼京線の再開はまもなく、山手線なども順次再開される見通し。
JR東日本は、障害物が線路に飛んできた原因などについても調べる方針。

JR山手線の外回りが運転再開
JR山手線の外回りが運転を再開した。 (03/23 21:27)

xixi0708
post Mar 23 2010, 11:48 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Mar 22 2010, 05:33 PM)
I dont know.. xixi sounds too gay if its a guy
so im just assuming its a girl
no heart feelings if youre a guy xixi tongue.gif

me organize? lol. im not even in japan to organize things. plus i myself, needs my fiance as my guide to travel around. def not a good idea for me to organize. you lah buat tanoshi! youre the senior in lyn jap!  notworthy.gif
no no, just a funny name im using ~ but you are right lar, im not BRO ..

This post has been edited by xixi0708: Mar 23 2010, 11:55 PM
kerryking
post Mar 24 2010, 12:16 AM

553 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Mar 23 2010, 04:31 PM)
Sorry guys... super busy all the way till May so I don't think I have much time even on the weekends as I'm either working extra hours or catching up on some well-deserved rest.

Added on March 23, 2010, 4:35 pm
You can search on the English version of Rakuten Travel (http://travel.rakuten.co.jp/en/)
or
Hotel chain sites such as this (http://www.superhotel.co.jp/en/index.html).
Oh thanks.

Between. I got a Question:
From Kyoto to Hakone how much will it cost using shinkansen..
Is the JR West line able to reach Odawara using the JR West Rail Pass?
Sry for the noobie question tongue.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Mar 24 2010, 03:56 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(kerryking @ Mar 24 2010, 12:16 AM)
Oh thanks.

Between. I got a Question:
From Kyoto to Hakone how much will it cost using shinkansen..
Is the JR West line able to reach Odawara using the JR West Rail Pass?
Sry for the noobie question tongue.gif
To checkout trains and shinkansen cost, you can use this site- http://www.hyperdia.com/

Just type the station's name in English (Kyoto) and (Odawara) and you'll see the timetable as well as the price for the journey.
A quick search[link] returns 11950 JPY for a one way ticket on the Hikari Shinkansen.

I don't think it's possible to use the JR West Rail Pass to get you from Kyoto to Odawara.
TStanoshi
post Mar 24 2010, 04:39 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(xixi0708 @ Mar 24 2010, 01:48 AM)
no no, just a funny name im using ~ but you are right lar, im not BRO ..
ulps blush.gif gomen ne sis...

(hehehehe...I'm gonna have a date lol brows.gif )

See you sis!

Added on March 24, 2010, 4:40 pmOh my Malaysia!!!

OMG blink.gif

Mar 24, 2010
ST.com News: Paid to marry foreign hookers

KUALA LUMPUR - FOREIGN sex workers in Malaysia are paying local men up to RM5,000 (S$2,100) a month to become their husbands so that they can stay on in the country to ply their trade, a local newspaper reported yesterday.

Under immigration laws, foreign spouses of Malaysians are initially given three-month visas before eventually obtaining year-long permits, which are renewed automatically.

Immigration Department director-general Abdul Rahman Othman told the New Straits Times that the prostitutes had taken on husbands to become eligible for long-term visas.

And although prostitution is illegal in Malaysia, the women cannot be prosecuted under immigration laws because their marriages are legal, Datuk Abdul Rahman said. They can, however, be prosecut...

Click here for to read the full story.

Or cut and paste this URL in your browser:
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_505889.html

This is a computer generated email. Please do not reply to this email.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Copyright © 2010 Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Co.

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Mar 24 2010, 04:40 PM
mita
post Mar 24 2010, 05:34 PM

76 posts

One question to you all Yakuzas or good people in Japan

Is Iphone or high end mobile phone (ie xpedia ) cheaper in Japan ? Does the phone come with English OS ?

Iphone here cost RM 2300++, Expedia 2 rm 2500 ++

Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Sumimasen & aligato.

TStanoshi
post Mar 24 2010, 05:48 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(mita @ Mar 24 2010, 07:34 PM)
One question to you all Yakuzas or good people in Japan

Is Iphone or high end mobile phone (ie xpedia ) cheaper in Japan ? Does the phone come with English OS ?

Iphone here cost RM 2300++, Expedia 2 rm 2500 ++

Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Sumimasen & aligato.
Mmm hmm.gif better buy in Malaysia lah...UNLESS the model not available in Malaysia and you know how to unlock it then...good to buy in here!
For me Malaysia is the best price!!!!! thumbup.gif
musha
post Mar 24 2010, 05:50 PM

63 posts

double that, malaysia is better, for warranty and also the price. of course the language too.
here mostly u need to join their service plan.
mita
post Mar 24 2010, 06:16 PM

76 posts

Ahhhh, IC ......... Thanks

Then what kind of items are cheaper TO buy in Japan for men ? Ive heard cosmetic items are cheaper there right ? (Ie facial mask )

Aligato

The 48 hours countdown to Osaka has begun.. Tick tick tick , Very Kancheong ( excited ) Why time is so slow ? tongue.gif

Wa Musha, your signature is funny, i actually tried to kill the bug on my monitor just now biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mita: Mar 24 2010, 06:19 PM
D-Tourist
post Mar 24 2010, 06:31 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(mita @ Mar 24 2010, 06:16 PM)
Ahhhh, IC ......... Thanks

Then what kind of items are cheaper TO buy in Japan for men ?  Ive heard cosmetic items are cheaper there right ? (Ie facial mask )

Aligato

The 48 hours countdown to Osaka has begun.. Tick tick tick , Very Kancheong ( excited ) Why time is so slow ? tongue.gif
Wa Musha, your signature is funny, i actually tried to kill the bug on my monitor just now biggrin.gif
Got cheap things in Japan ar? Cost of living in japan so expensive, everything also sooo.... expensive lar. Rather buy things which are unique and found in japan which may not necessarily be cheap. Anyway, japan is interesting and fun despite the cost. smile.gif
TStanoshi
post Mar 24 2010, 07:20 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Mar 24 2010, 08:31 PM)
Got cheap things in Japan ar? Cost of living in japan so expensive, everything also sooo.... expensive lar. Rather buy things which are unique and found in japan which may not necessarily be cheap. Anyway, japan is interesting and fun despite the cost. smile.gif
As Musha quoted....For me you can buy anything as long the thing you cant find in Malaysia and its worthbuyin then..nothin is cheap duh huhuhu! rclxms.gif
mita
post Mar 24 2010, 08:22 PM

76 posts

Sure Kah ....
TStanoshi
post Mar 24 2010, 08:38 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(mita @ Mar 24 2010, 10:22 PM)
Sure Kah ....
yeah 101% sure, and must work for it to get it lorrr...

An example I bought a T's not so expensive (its a COKE'S made in USA, BUT sold only in Japan with Japanese words in front and English at the back...some of my relatives offer me for RM100!! just to show the value you bought an item from Japan that couldnt find in Malaysia...what for you wanna buy the thing also can get in Malaysia and some more if cheaper pun just a different for RM20-30..sake because of 'cheap' then willing to buy in Japan ka bro? huhuu...
Whatever is, your money maaaa...up to you lorrr as long you happy, anyone no rights to complaint kih kih! icon_rolleyes.gif
mita
post Mar 24 2010, 08:43 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Mar 24 2010, 08:38 PM)
yeah 101% sure, and must work for it to get it lorrr...

An example I bought a T's not so expensive (its a COKE'S made in USA, BUT sold only in Japan with Japanese words in front and English at the back...some of my relatives offer me for RM100!! just to show the value you bought an item from Japan that couldnt find in Malaysia...what for you wanna buy the thing also can get in Malaysia and some more if cheaper pun just a different for RM20-30..sake because of 'cheap' then willing to buy in Japan ka bro? huhuu...
Whatever is, your money maaaa...up to you lorrr as long you happy, anyone no rights to complaint kih kih! icon_rolleyes.gif
You made a good point. icon_rolleyes.gif Haha ...
RegentCid
post Mar 24 2010, 08:55 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Japan Thing are quite Expensive because of the tax..Malaysia tax on food 5%...in Japan they are tax on the thing you buy.

One thing i discover very big diffrent are Games (PC , PS3 , Xbox). In Malaysia PC Games most standard are RM130 - 180. In Japan PC Games Standard price are 7,000Yen - 8,300 Yen. (RM300 Above).

Example:
C&C Red Alert 3 Normal Edition in Malaysia RM145
in Japan
C&C Red Alert 3 Normal Edition English Version is 8,200 Yen / RM300

TStanoshi
post Mar 24 2010, 09:30 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 24 2010, 10:55 PM)
Japan Thing are quite Expensive because of the tax..Malaysia tax on food 5%...in Japan they are tax on the thing you buy.

One thing i discover very big diffrent are Games (PC , PS3 , Xbox). In Malaysia PC Games most standard are RM130 - 180. In Japan PC Games Standard price are 7,000Yen - 8,300 Yen. (RM300 Above).

Example:
C&C Red Alert 3 Normal Edition in Malaysia RM145
in Japan
C&C Red Alert 3 Normal Edition English Version  is 8,200 Yen / RM300
yeah...even 100yen shop also you need to pay 105yen hehehe!
darren84
post Mar 25 2010, 12:19 AM

172 posts

I'm visiting hokkaido in april 18th. Anyone knows if there's still chance of catching snow?
PsyCHZZZ
post Mar 25 2010, 12:59 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(darren84 @ Mar 25 2010, 12:19 AM)
I'm visiting hokkaido in april 18th. Anyone knows if there's still chance of catching snow?
Depends on which part of Hokkaido you're going.
I just got back from Sapporo last weekend... there's still snow but very little left in the city.
I think if you're visiting the mountains or even further up north a bit from Sapporo you might still be able to get decent amount of snow.

Here's a picture of Odori Park as seen from Sapporo TV Tower which I took just last Saturday.
Most of the snow left are melting and it's like wet and dirty.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Mar 25 2010, 01:07 AM

131 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:56 AM