19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

GameFest 2010 is back again, DotA, CS, COD,Console registration open!

Ji3MOON
post Mar 30 2010, 05:06 PM

Eat Sleep Dive Repeat
1,633 posts

QUOTE(LiLFreaK @ Mar 30 2010, 12:02 AM)
all unknown player

now i noe y mushi lose le..

they look down and underestimate those new small kids..

anyway i unhappy with new kingsurf dat lost they shouldt have kicked papaxiong .. i miss papaxiong

WTF u call my SAYANG!! unknown player.. vmad.gif
u...pls..quit...dota...go play solitaire doh.gif

SUSLiLFreaK
post Mar 30 2010, 07:10 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(skyll @ Mar 30 2010, 03:45 PM)
lol. mufc win 2 tounament this month u idiot.

u check back gg.com. they already took back what they said bout ppx.

i think u are not regular cw player. redsun koy and other always at there. which room u train ur team? or im afraid u never have any team?
brother u dont talk if u dont know my team Ssg hear b4? we play in room 21 just ask all noe us , weiwei, peng,musica ,surion all my teammate lai de.

if u free can come find us we can frenly anytime. dun simply say me no team oh

juz bcuz u noe them dun make them all famous and all noe them.. lolz think cw so pro? all kiasu one join game sure keep kick u 1 all fren play together oni dun dare fight outsider laugh.gif
lonelydevil
post Mar 30 2010, 07:55 PM

QUOTE(LiLFreaK @ Mar 30 2010, 07:10 PM)
brother u dont talk if u dont know my team Ssg hear b4? we play in room 21  just ask all noe us , weiwei, peng,musica ,surion all my teammate lai de.

juz bcuz u noe them dun make them all famous and all noe them.. lolz think cw so pro? all kiasu one join game sure keep kick  u 1 all fren play together oni dun dare fight outsider  laugh.gif
diam 7 la flizzardo wub.gif

This post has been edited by lonelydevil: Mar 30 2010, 07:55 PM
shinyuuchris
post Mar 30 2010, 08:10 PM

LMAO LOL !!!!!!!!!!!
Coolest Steel
post Mar 30 2010, 08:28 PM

Oh my , I sense small argument happening here, going to be of topic ! Chill off you guys, this thread not for debate! >_< cool down your head guys >_<
bone90
post Mar 30 2010, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(LiLFreaK @ Mar 30 2010, 07:10 PM)
brother u dont talk if u dont know my team Ssg hear b4? we play in room 21  just ask all noe us , weiwei, peng,musica ,surion all my teammate lai de.

juz bcuz u noe them dun make them all famous and all noe them.. lolz think cw so pro? all kiasu one join game sure keep kick  u 1 all fren play together oni dun dare fight outsider  laugh.gif
BAPAK NOOB LOL
stanz88
post Mar 31 2010, 02:17 AM

31 posts

guys~can i knw whr to get those dota competition replays?
rotisejuk
post Apr 1 2010, 12:41 AM

Since nobody's started to state the obvious about the recently ended event, i'll start on a few things that could have been done better during the event:

BTW, i mainly attended as a spectator for COD 4 so my rants will be mostly be about the COD 4 event...

Firstly, this applies to the entire event, what happened to the electricity management? I'm well aware that during the first matches of the day for the LAN events (dota, CS and COD 4), the power tripped not once, not twice, but three times. I can't tell what the cause of it all was, but the amount of power plugs for the PCs connected to all those extension cords that were then connected to more extension cords and finally connected to TWO power plugs. It might be a clue, you know. Because even in my home of three phase circuits, i can get a power overload if i turn on a gazillion switches using so much amp and voltage at the same time. Plus, when the computers were being packed up, i noticed that every single time one island's power was turned off, the entire hall's power went out as well. And this happened in the middle of the COD 4 and CS matches. I mean, in an event of such scale, does this really happen? Event if it does...rarely, but so many times in a row? I think the organizers or whoever was in charge of electricity could have done a better job to avoid all these power outages from occurring one after another.

Some people noticed that most of the crowd on the first day of the event, and i mean there was a huge crowd, left because of the non-stop power outages in the morning of the first day. I'll bet they didn't bother coming back the second day either.

Second would be the time management issue. I believe the only LAN event to finish on time was Dota? Good job to the people who ran the dota event. Correct me if i'm mistaken, but i was informed that all the the organizers knew very well that the PCs would have to be packed up latest by 9 pm.

And, i'm very sure somehow the news of a closing ceremony was passed around to all the organizers as well? The gamers had to pause their games throughout the closing ceremony. The CS and COD 4 players were in the midst of their games, and it's not like we need a half-hour strat time break to discuss strats. Could something have been done to halt the rounds before the closing ceremony started? There really should be more communication between the organizers and the ones running the games...

Usage of third party programs in COD 4. Correct me if i'm wrong, but third party programs are not allowed in COD 4. It was event stated in the rules and regulations. The players should be well aware that, towards the second half of matches during the second day, some teams used Ventrillo to communicate with each other. I'm sure the main reason for this is that the coms had problems with certain hardware like sound cards, etc. So, the sound wasn't perfect. If the organizers had carried out the necessary tests to make sure that all devices on the computers were running properly and suited for the game, then it would have been an unavoidable risk to the players. I'm sure players were already well informed to bring any gear and devices,software needed to run the game and hardware properly.

Ventrillo is a third party program, which is prohibited by the rules and regulations in COD 4. Basically it's an outside program that allows you to talk to everyone using the software as long as you are in the same "room". This chat applies to whoever is in the room, regardless if you are dead or alive in-game. The COD 4 rules state that you're not allowed to report/speak to a teammate if you are dead. However, you may speak to those who are dead. Ventrillo allows you to bypass this rule and your chat is heard by everyone in the room. There's no qualms with the in-game chat that is built-in to COD 4 because the "death silence" rule is already built into the system. I'm not accusing anyone of "death chat", but you can't be 100% certain that nobody broke the rule either. So, the organizers should not have allowed the use of Ventrillo in the first place. That way, it doesn't give any additional doubt to any parties involved.

The previous MMU gamefest for COD 4, which was held last year, was a failure. There was no cash prize, the computers did not properly support COD 4 up to competitive standards and the software was not even installed before the tournament. I remember waiting around until after lunchtime before the proper installation and patching had been completed. This time, frankly, all that MMU has managed to do for the COD 4 section is to soup up the computers and give us ONE island to play with inside a huge hall. With all those big time sponsors pitching into the event, I'd say the overall power outages, PC problems, software/driver glitches here and there made it a very memorable event, indeed.

I'll say that a good job was done preparing for the other things. Like the rubix cube, the cup stacking, board games, console games and etc. But eh LAN event just cropped up disaster after disaster. I'd expect it from last year's MMU gamefest due to the lack of support and seemingly lack of preparation. But this time, with all the hype and performance PCs from warmart, I would have expected much, much more from an event on a scale such as this.

Some people i know, event took some time off their busy schedule to just come and watch the failboat. That itself, is disappointing enough. I really hope that MMU will learn from their mistake THIS year...and make NEXT year an event worthy of sore eyes and uninterested feet.
Asert
post Apr 1 2010, 12:26 PM

meh walll of text

This post has been edited by Asert: Apr 1 2010, 12:28 PM
Sanction
post Apr 1 2010, 12:56 PM

20 posts

=.=" good points rotisejuk. If people can't be bothered to read, and try to fix things, they don't deserve proper competitions. Wish I didn't have to hear about nightmare competitions like this giving the industry a bad name.
TPK
post Apr 1 2010, 02:23 PM

Which reminds me on the super multiple blackout during UTP's Electronic Sports Championship last year.

Wish that they could extend the usage of the hall to midnight instead to only 9 pm
gav
post Apr 1 2010, 05:01 PM

22 posts

Well i don't have any PC problem luz. don't complain so much yawn.gif , if not next time just BYOC, its irganized by student itself good job GDC and the rest.
sasaug
post Apr 1 2010, 11:42 PM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

yea...as one of the not so important gamefest committee member, I feel this gamefest is quite nice(I never attend such event before anyway)..

cod 4 installation was not by us...espgl install them early morning around 8am.... only dota & cs were installed by us...

closing ceremony clash with games as by plan, all games should be end on 6pm which is the closing ceremony time.

The LCD, i had personally play on the pc the dae before gamefest and I feel the screen got alot of reflection due to the glass...all the lcd I use so far doesnt have a plastic glass like that...and i can see a lot reflection which is not nice for me..So i tink that might be the issue where you feel the screen was like one kind in CS...dota was fine...cod4 one is still ok too...
chewinggum
post Apr 2 2010, 12:24 AM

124 posts

replay links ?
chikhan
post Apr 2 2010, 07:26 AM

32 posts

Blab blab, roti, put more emotion into it!! I ain't feeling you man! Imagine if you were infront of simon cowell
ahhieng88
post Apr 2 2010, 07:32 AM

19 posts

Dear rotisejuk,

The power is not the GameFest Team problem because the problem is cause by the incoming power from TNB main switch which is unstable. Regarding the extension cable for the each pc, it is not done the way you see. Each 30 pc is connect to a 30 AMP DB box for the safety purpose, all our electric wiring is done by professional people. We also on and run all the pc at full capacity on friday to check if there is any problem or not. our source of power is not from normal 13 amp socket, we pull our electric from an 100 amp electric source.

Regarding the closing ceremony, the time for closing ceremony is set very early. Why we need to follow time and ask all the gamer to pause the game because our VIP( MMU President & Cyberview GM & etc) all have been inform time for the closing ceremony. It is impossible for us to ask the VIP sit in the VIP room for 1 hour doing nothing. I sure you understand my point when you involve in much bigger event than Gamefest which will involve VVIP as well.

Regarding the computer driver is not our Gamefest Team fault because we did ask every single pc to test for every single things but when it came to the day itself the sound driver went unstable. I only can say that the driver is not install properly by WarMart personal.

Dear Sasaug,

Regarding the LCD monitor, even i use the best lcd monitor that cost me at least RM1.5k also will have a bit of reflection. I did test the lcd monitor, the reflection that you mention is cause by the position of the monitor. Just the lower down the position for the lcd monitor from the source of the light then you will not have this kind of problem. May be i do not know who you are since there is so many working committee, you all are such a important asset to our GameFest team because without you all the event itself will not run by itself. Thanks for lending a hand for this event.

Dear Gavin,

Thanks for the nice comment lolx....... Really thanks a lot for helping us during the event.

Regards,
Chris
rotisejuk
post Apr 2 2010, 10:46 AM

Dear Chris,

Thanks for clarifying my above inquiries into the event.

What I would suggest for a closing ceremony that clashes with the matches is to make sure the persons running the games stop matches before the ceremony starts (instead of pausing the games). I understand that we don't want to make the VIPs wait, though it would be better if both the competitors and VIPs are not disturbed in the process.

Thus, my further inquiries are only towards the COD 4 event, which i have spoken with ESPGL personnel about.

I'm only pointing out the qualms which i had about the LAN event. The rest of the event was without a doubt run very well. My hopes are that the criticisms stated will help everyone organize future events better and increase the standard of events held in the Malaysian E-Sports scene.

Regards,

Rotisejuk
gav
post Apr 2 2010, 11:36 AM

22 posts

u both reply in email? haha chris come find me along with eric
rotisejuk
post Apr 2 2010, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(chikhan @ Apr 2 2010, 07:26 AM)
Blab blab, roti, put more emotion into it!! I ain't feeling you man! Imagine if you were infront of simon cowell
no thanks, i'm not trying to be a firestarter here. blink.gif

QUOTE(gav @ Apr 2 2010, 11:36 AM)
u both reply in email?
errr nope. he replied to my post on this thread. i'm just looking for clarification.
crashtec
post Apr 2 2010, 02:03 PM

Hardware provider kena blame hahahaha!

19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0274sec    1.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:52 PM