Stock Market V50, HUAT AH!!! Tiger Roar, Market Rise!
darkknight81
Mar 6 2010, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 6 2010, 10:57 AM) Yes, I agree with you. The IPOs change a lot today. It is more of spreading the risks ( transferring risks to small fish ) as the business worldwide is at great uncertainty and facing fierce competition . Of course , it is hidden under " Fund Raising " Objective. It is more like someone is buying an insurance policy, with no " intention " to claim but likely in future. On the other hand, listed companies with good cash piles , more and more are taken into private ( relevant to dividend investors like you ) " TOO BIG TO FAIL " is likely to fail in next crisis. Breaking up of very large Corprations into smaller units would also lower the risks in time to come. The old school of thought of " Specialisation" i.e doing what you are really good at is making a come back.
The recent changes ( more to come ) to banking rules that make Banks more difficult to own Banking, Insurance and Broking Business under one entity , unless you have very huge Paid up Capital to support. So breaking up could be another good option. Could be more IPOs coming the way. Just my personal opinion Should be  The idea behind is they still own the company and spread the risks. For me i will never touch IPO. This post has been edited by darkknight81: Mar 6 2010, 11:16 AM
SKY 1809
Mar 6 2010, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(sharesa @ Mar 6 2010, 11:05 AM) that's why I sold off Maxis not long ago, cause I finally figure out that they are sort of using this relisting for their own benefit. Better late than never maybe.  Added on March 6, 2010, 11:09 amI don't think so....just trading sideways, my opinion. You holding-kah? By the way, Proton, is the Maybank 0.1% still on after March? I am glad you do that. My intention is create some awareness among the small fish like us. Never my intention to cause any sell downs of Maxis , if any.  With due respect to Maxis shareholders. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Mar 6 2010, 11:15 AM
darkknight81
Mar 6 2010, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 6 2010, 12:14 PM) I am glad you do that. My intention is create some awareness among the small fish like us. Never my intention to cause any sell downs of Maxis , if any.  With due respect to Maxis shareholders. Small fish always on the losing side. It is fact that we have to accept Same goes to other counters not only Maxis
SKY 1809
Mar 6 2010, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Mar 6 2010, 11:26 AM) Small fish always on the losing side. It is fact that we have to accept Same goes to other counters not only Maxis Just to enlighten you that in many developed markets. Big fish could hold 20% and control, the rest 80% belongs to smaller fish ( through unit trusts and so on ). Again , that 20% could belongs to a family as a whole. Another way of spreading the risks, if you want to call it. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Mar 6 2010, 08:27 PM
whizzer
Mar 6 2010, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(chyaw @ Mar 6 2010, 08:09 AM) Good news for RCECAP!!!! No commercial bank access into civil servant mart THE government has no plans to let commercial banks enter the lucrative civil servant loans market, Second Finance Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Husni Mohamad Hanadzlah said. "No, we have not discussed that at all. It's not on our agenda at all," Husni said in Kelana Jaya yesterday, when asked if the government would consider such plan. A news report last year said a number of commercial banks are planning to break into the market of lending to government employees after being allowed to make automatic salary deductions. The report did not name the banks or where it got the information from. At present, only credit cooperatives and a number of government-owned financial institutions are provided with the special codes that allow these salary deductions. The ability to deduct loans repayment from the salary makes this business profitable for banks because the risk of bad debts are much lower Had been holding on this stock since Aug 2009. Generally, doesn't seem to move much despite some analyst having high TP for it (e.g Maybank Nov 2009 TP @ 0.92). Its not known for its dividends as well (maybe because of its high gearing). Hopefully the above news can charge it up.
darkknight81
Mar 6 2010, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 6 2010, 12:31 PM) Just to enlighten you that in many developed markets. Big fish could holds 20% and control, the rest 80% belongs to smaller fish ( through unit trusts and so on ). Again , that 20% could belongs to a family as a whole. Another way of spreading the risks, if you want to call it. It ends up , CEO is very powerful person, for good or for bad. Yup but this only apply to those mature market E.g. Singapore, UK etc. In shorts the major shareholder cannot make decision alone.
Oracles99
Mar 6 2010, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(protonw @ Mar 6 2010, 09:27 AM) So come monday, do we see more red in Maxis? :  If u add back the "one time" IPO cost, its profit did not drop much. That is the 'normal' profit it should have made This post has been edited by Oracles99: Mar 6 2010, 05:59 PM
protonw
Mar 6 2010, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(sharesa @ Mar 6 2010, 11:05 AM) that's why I sold off Maxis not long ago, cause I finally figure out that they are sort of using this relisting for their own benefit. Better late than never maybe.  Added on March 6, 2010, 11:09 amI don't think so....just trading sideways, my opinion. You holding-kah? By the way, Proton, is the Maybank 0.1% still on after March? No, never buy Maxis after listing. I gonna check with them next Monday. Will post here when I have the answer.
Oracles99
Mar 6 2010, 10:54 PM
IPOs are indeed fund raising exercise for the majority shareholders. If listing in the stock market is not fund raising, then what is for? To share their spoilts with everybody? Even cash-rich Genting M is meant for the controlling shareholder to do RPT. You can see a long line of IPOs down the road. Investors apply for IPOs thinking that it is priced below market price and hence they can profit, that's all. Unfortunately, those days are already long gone.Now IPOs are priced at market price. So, better think twice before applying.
This post has been edited by Oracles99: Mar 6 2010, 11:02 PM
whizzer
Mar 7 2010, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(Oracles99 @ Mar 6 2010, 10:54 PM) IPOs are indeed fund raising exercise for the majority shareholders. If listing in the stock market is not fund raising, then what is for? To share their spoilts with everybody? Even cash-rich Genting M is meant for the controlling shareholder to do RPT. You can see a long line of IPOs down the road. Investors apply for IPOs thinking that it is priced below market price and hence they can profit, that's all. Unfortunately, those days are already long gone.Now IPOs are priced at market price. So, better think twice before applying. Err.. IPO is to allow owners to turn into cash their ownership sometimes under the guise of expanding the business I think to be fair, if the IPO was done during bullish times, higher chance of making a quick buck.
David_Brent
Mar 7 2010, 01:03 AM
Warren Buffett's 2009 market review Letter to Shareholders Some very useful Sunday reading from The Sage of Omaha: http://www.berkshirehathaway.com/letters/2009ltr.pdfThis post has been edited by David_Brent: Mar 7 2010, 01:04 AM
cherroy
Mar 7 2010, 08:33 AM
New version coming up, please create new thread on it.