University Taylor's University Thread, Now a full fledged University =D

TSHikari0307
post Aug 9 2010, 01:30 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(holyvin @ Aug 9 2010, 12:23 PM)
more boys better la, gal cant talk gaming man, my one all gal ;shy shit wan die adi
you obviously haven't meet girls from my class and a good hum maybe not that big but still a good number from my Division LOL
I think some game more than us guys ahaha and were business students some more not even computing or IT lol XD
AceOfSpades
post Aug 10 2010, 07:37 PM

235 posts

Let's say i wanna do business, international business. Can i go for the international business programme in Taylor's lakeside for 1 year then apply for a credit transfer to Macquarie University in Australia to continue for another 2 or 3 years with my degree?
TSHikari0307
post Aug 10 2010, 10:42 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(AceOfSpades @ Aug 10 2010, 07:37 PM)
Let's say i wanna do business, international business. Can i go for the international business programme in Taylor's lakeside for 1 year then apply for a credit transfer to Macquarie University in Australia to continue for another 2 or 3 years with my degree?
yes it is possible. Though the International Business Programme in Taylor's has their syllabus based on UWE in the UK so my advice would be that you enroll in maybe Marketing or Applied Finance which is under the twinning with UniSA as it will be better to be in an Aussie based programme to credit transfer there.Don't worry about the subjects since in an Aussie business degree, the first year subjects are essentially almost the same throughout any business degree no matter what you are planning to major in.

Taylor's currently have articulation agreements with these Universities that would make the process or transferring to this unis easier but you can still transfer to most other universities including Macquarie as long as the syllabus etc. match which generally does across Aussie.
1. University of Western Australia, Perth
2. University of Queensland, Brisbane
3. Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT), Melbourne
4. University of Technology, Sydney

MsZee
post Aug 11 2010, 12:58 AM

Hi

I'm new in this forum and stumble upon it when i was searching for more info on TUC's BA in Accounting & Finance in collaboration with UWE. i have a few questions regarding this course and would greatly appreciate it if any of you guys could help shed some light on this.

I am actually an accounting diploma holder and interested to study for a degree. I also have a 3-year experience working in a multinational oil and gas company. Now, my question is what's the max. exemption for a diploma holder + mature students? Is It possible for me to be exempted from year 1 and 2 and straight away enroll into year 3? Another course that I am interested in enrolling is Help UC BA in Accounting and Finance in coll with UEL. But I'd like to see what other options is available for me, plus Taylor's is nearer to home. Some of my friends with the same diploma as me straight away enroll into UEL course immediately after their diploma and got a 2-year exemptions so they only enroll into year 3.

I am not planning to apply for any study loans as my EPF account is sufficient enough to pay for a-year fees provided I enroll into year 3. Reason why I'd like to study for a degree instead of going to ACCA straight away is because I am currently taking a career break and studying for a degree would be the wisest choice at the moment not only in-terms of my short-term career progression but also beneficial in a way that it gives me an additional qualification and exemptions into ACCA. I do have a plan to study for ACCA later as my long term goal but right now I have loads of commitment to fulfill so it is not be possible to do it full-time, though I must admit that taking ACCA would be a more cost effective option. Currently, if i were to study for ACCA, I am exempted from all papers in part 1 (knowledge level) and 3 papers from part 2 (skill level) so that leaves me with 8 more papers to go.

So if there were any of you guys who actually did enroll into year 3, I hope u could share some of your experience with me. Thanks.
TSHikari0307
post Aug 11 2010, 01:39 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(MsZee @ Aug 11 2010, 12:58 AM)
Hi

I'm new in this forum and stumble upon it when i was searching for more info on TUC's BA in Accounting & Finance in collaboration with UWE. i have a few questions regarding this course and would greatly appreciate it if any of you guys could help shed some light on this.

I am actually an accounting diploma holder and interested to study for a degree. I also have a 3-year experience working in a multinational oil and gas company. Now, my question is what's the max. exemption for a diploma holder + mature students? Is It possible for me to be exempted from year 1 and 2 and straight away enroll into year 3? Another course that I am interested in enrolling is Help UC BA in Accounting and Finance in coll with UEL. But I'd like to see what other options is available for me, plus Taylor's is nearer to home. Some of my friends with the same diploma as me straight away enroll into UEL course immediately after their diploma and got a 2-year exemptions so they only enroll into year 3.

So if there were any of you guys who actually did enroll into year 3, I hope u could share some of your experience with me. Thanks.
I can't give you any definite answer. As far as I know a relevant Diploma that have similar syllabus and structure would normally give you exemptions up to one year of study making the degree into two years. Now on the base of your work experience I can't answer that and neither can Taylor's I think. What you can do is go and see counselor, explain the matter to them and they might forward you to the Dean or probably ask you for certain documentation to send over to UWE to be assessed as usually TUC won't have any power on this matter and it is up to the faculty in UWE to decide.

Here's something I pulled out of their website.
http://acreg.uwe.ac.uk/afaq.asp

Can I be exempted from a module?

If you are registered for a UWE programme and you think you have work experience which covers everything you will learn on one or more modules, then you can apply to your faculty to have your work experience assessed and, if you pass the assessment, you will be awarded UWE credit. The assessment may require you to collect and present evidence of your learning in a ‘portfolio’, or where appropriate, you may be assessed by formal examination. Experiential learning (learning achieved as part of your work experience) that is assessed and confirmed by the University for the award of University credit is described as Accredited Experiential Learning (AEL).

If you have already gained some credit or have successfully completed some assessed learning at another institution you can seek to have this recognised by the University and is described as Accredited Learning (AL). Recognising learning already achieved as AL will involve the faculty matching it against the learning outcomes of modules or groups of modules for which the AL will be substitute. This can also apply if you have gained some credit previously at UWE and are seeking to enter a higher level of award or to transfer to another programme of the same level at Degree level or above to a maximum of 20% of the credit required for that award, at the discretion of the faculty AL Committee or equivalent (see Academic Regulation B8 on http://acreg.uwe.ac.uk/rf.asp

You should be aware that there are some restrictions on the amount of AL and AEL that can contribute to a UWE award. These are set out in the University’s Academic Regulations D6 on http://acreg.uwe.ac.uk/rf.asp

MsZee
post Aug 11 2010, 01:53 AM

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Aug 11 2010, 01:39 AM)
I can't give you any definite answer. As far as I know a relevant Diploma that have similar syllabus and structure would normally give you exemptions up to one year of study making the degree into two years. Now on the base of your work experience I can't answer that and neither can Taylor's I think. What you can do is go and see counselor, explain the matter to them and they might forward you to the Dean or probably ask you for certain documentation to send over to UWE to be assessed as usually TUC won't have any power on this matter and it is up to the faculty in UWE to decide.

Here's something I pulled out of their website.
Hi Hikari,

Thanks for your prompt reply. I will drop by at Taylor's one of these days to get more info on this.
nicky87
post Aug 11 2010, 02:09 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(MsZee @ Aug 11 2010, 12:58 AM)
Hi

I am not planning to apply for any study loans as my EPF account is sufficient enough to pay for a-year fees provided I enroll into year 3. Reason why I'd like to study for a degree instead of going to ACCA straight away is because I am currently taking a career break and studying for a degree would be the wisest choice at the moment not only  in-terms of my short-term career progression but also beneficial in a way that it gives me an additional qualification and exemptions into ACCA. I do have a plan to study for ACCA later as my long term goal but right now I have loads of commitment to fulfill so it is not be possible to do it full-time, though I must admit that taking ACCA would be a more cost effective option. Currently, if i were to study for ACCA, I am exempted from all papers in part 1 (knowledge level) and 3 papers from part 2 (skill level) so that leaves me with 8 more papers to go.

While I wasn't exempt from anything cause I entered after A-levels... from what I do know about the programme is that usually diploma holders enter at year2. Generally Bristol Business School(BBS) is ranked higher than UEL's biz school hence they may have more stringent requirements. On the work experience part I am clueless sooo not going to go there. As far as I know, the exemptions from ACCA come from the second and third years... so I would wonder if you are eligible for the exemptions if you were exempted from the modules in UWE.

Generally,
Audit and Corporate Governance(yr2) will give you exemptions in F8,
Tax and Tax Planning(yr2) exemption is F6,
a combination of Financial Accounting(yr2) and Corporate Reporting Theory and Practice(yr3) will give you the exemption in F7,
a Combination of Corporate Finance(yr2) and Finance Management(yr3) will give you exemptions in F9 and
finally a combination of Management Accounting(yr2) and Advanced Management Accounting(yr 3) will give you an exemption in F5.

As you can see year2 forms a significant portion of the exemptions so you may want to clarify with UWE/Taylors/ACCA whether you will be eligible for the exemption if you do not complete these modules... when I took the programme I specifically picked Audit and Tax to gain exemptions and those friends of mine who did not complete Audit now have to do F8 in ACCA...

Whether or not these exemptions from ACCA are a god send or not I am not too sure cause I sure as hell am having a hard time in the professional papers without the knowledge from the F-level papers... just picking it up as I go >.>

All that said I highly recommend this degree as the lecturers are highly dedicated and helpful ^^ I truly enjoyed my time in Taylor's completing this degree and would not trade it for a life in ACCA F-level LOL ^^;;
MsZee
post Aug 11 2010, 03:31 AM

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Aug 11 2010, 02:09 AM)
While I wasn't exempt from anything cause I entered after A-levels... from what I do know about the programme is that usually diploma holders enter at year2. Generally Bristol Business School(BBS) is ranked higher than UEL's biz school hence they may have more stringent requirements. On the work experience part I am clueless sooo not going to go there. As far as I know, the exemptions from ACCA come from the second and third years... so I would wonder if you are eligible for the exemptions if you were exempted from the modules in UWE.

Generally,
Audit and Corporate Governance(yr2) will give you exemptions in F8,
Tax and Tax Planning(yr2) exemption is F6,
a combination of Financial Accounting(yr2) and Corporate Reporting Theory and Practice(yr3) will give you the exemption in F7,
a Combination of Corporate Finance(yr2) and Finance Management(yr3) will give you exemptions in F9 and
finally a combination of Management Accounting(yr2) and Advanced Management Accounting(yr 3) will give you an exemption in F5.

As you can see year2 forms a significant portion of the exemptions so you may want to clarify with UWE/Taylors/ACCA whether you will be eligible for the exemption if you do not complete these modules... when I took the programme I specifically picked Audit and Tax to gain exemptions and those friends of mine who did not complete Audit now have to do F8 in ACCA...

Whether or not these exemptions from ACCA are a god send or not I am not too sure cause I sure as hell am having a hard time in the professional papers without the knowledge from the F-level papers... just picking it up as I go >.>

All that said I highly recommend this degree as the lecturers are highly dedicated and helpful ^^ I truly enjoyed my time in Taylor's completing this degree and would not trade it for a life in ACCA F-level LOL ^^;;
Hi Nicky,

yes, i do agree with what you have pointed out and most of the subjects you mentioned in the year 2 syllabus of the UWE degree programme have been covered in year 2 and 3 of my diploma. As for the ACCA F-level, i only need to sit for F7, F8 and F9 based on my current qualification and this i believe was due to the missing bits that should have been covered by some of those year 3 subjects you mentioned in the degree programme.

Well, studying for the degree may not be the best possible options as compared to having an ACCA which would make you the definite choice of the employers. But as i have mentioned earlier, my career is on the rise and having a degree would definitely has it's advantages at least for now. Of course, provided that i could finish it in 1 year as i can't be leaving my job for long. If everything goes well, i could be doing my part 3 ACCA later-on on a part-time basis. But if worse comes to worse, i might just resort to plan B i.e. continue with ACCA straight away instead.

This post has been edited by MsZee: Aug 11 2010, 05:04 AM
justamember
post Aug 11 2010, 11:45 AM

660 posts

If your financial standing allows it and you don't feel like working yet, its ok to continue ACCA-P right after degree as part time study is not easy at all. lol
nicky87
post Aug 12 2010, 02:40 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(MsZee @ Aug 11 2010, 03:31 AM)
Hi Nicky,

yes, i do agree with what you have pointed out and most of the subjects you mentioned in the year 2 syllabus of the UWE degree programme have been covered in year 2 and 3 of my diploma. As for the ACCA F-level, i only need to sit for F7, F8 and F9 based on my current qualification and this i believe was due to the missing bits that should have been covered by some of those year 3 subjects you mentioned in the degree programme.

Well, studying for the degree may not be the best possible options as compared to having an ACCA which would make you the definite choice of the employers. But as i have mentioned earlier, my career is on the rise and having a degree would definitely has it's advantages at least for now. Of course, provided that i could finish it in 1 year as i can't be leaving my job for long. If everything goes well, i could be doing my part 3 ACCA later-on on a part-time basis. But if worse comes to worse, i might just resort to plan B i.e. continue with ACCA straight away instead.
The point is although your diploma has covered the relevant subjects but their content has not been recognised by ACCA, where as the modules in UWE have been recognised as satisfying ACCA's criterias. In fact if you pass Audit and Corporate Governance with 50marks or more you would be exempted from ICAEW's audit paper as well. F8 the audit paper is a purely second year subject though wink.gif Anyway my point is that although UWE/Taylors may agree to let you into year 3 ACCA may not give you the full exemptions as you have not completed the said modules I have described. So I guess you should clarify this point before joining the programme to avoid any misunderstandings.

Personally I don't enjoy ACCA life ^^;;;

QUOTE(justamember @ Aug 11 2010, 11:45 AM)
If your financial standing allows it and you don't feel like working yet, its ok to continue ACCA-P right after degree as part time study is not easy at all. lol
yeah you can continue with P level fulltime without working like I am doing right now....

MsZee
post Aug 12 2010, 04:48 AM

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Aug 12 2010, 02:40 AM)
The point is although your diploma has covered the relevant subjects but their content has not been recognised by ACCA, where as the modules in UWE have been recognised as satisfying ACCA's criterias. In fact if you pass Audit and Corporate Governance with 50marks or more you would be exempted from ICAEW's audit paper as well. F8 the audit paper is a purely second year subject though wink.gif Anyway my point is that although UWE/Taylors may agree to let you into year 3 ACCA may not give you the full exemptions as you have not completed the said modules I have described. So I guess you should clarify this point before joining the programme to avoid any misunderstandings.

Personally I don't enjoy ACCA life ^^;;;
yeah you can continue with P level fulltime without working like I am doing right now....
Actually UWE is not the only course that's on my radar. My first choice is actually to go into UEL course at Help as they are known to have been taken students with my diploma with full exemptions from year 1 and 2 subjects. But of course, UEL's Audit subject is in their year 3 syllabus where as UWE's is in their year 2 (both are optional papers) so the placing of the subjects could be the reason with regards to the modules exempted at degree level. But really, I don't mind not getting into the UWE course as time is of the essence for me right now and I don't plan to study another 2 years to get a degree, i might just go to Help or drop the whole degree idea altogether and go for ACCA instead. I am merely looking into other options preferably those closer to home and that took me to consider courses from Taylor's, Sunway, SEGi etc. Afterall, most (but not all) accounting and/or finance based degrees could earn you up to full f-level papers exemption from ACCA. But I'll go see their counselors anyway just to check on the modules i could gain exemptions on, it won't hurt to try and who knows i'll be in for a little surprise.

This post has been edited by MsZee: Aug 12 2010, 05:01 AM
rayz91
post Aug 12 2010, 06:59 PM

64 posts

Hey Hikari, got something I would like to ask you.
Im taking accounting and finance this october at lakeside and Im wondering how is the timetable like? Average 1 day how many hour of class?

I saw a paper stating that

Sem 1 - October 2010-January 2011
Sem 2 - January 2011-May 2011
Sem 3 - October 2011-January 2012
Sem 4 - January 2012-May 2012
Sem 5 - October 2012-January 2013
Sem 6 - January 2013-May 2013

My questions are

1. Does that mean that every year from May-October i will be free? That sound boring.

2. From the look of the semester, im only studying for 2.5 years instead of 3 years..how come?
infernoaswen
post Aug 12 2010, 07:04 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

came across with this...all i gotta say if u wanna study at taylors..get ready 2 smell cow shit early in the morning & good luck in finding parking....& just be patient with the lifts....hahahaha
jyhy
post Aug 12 2010, 07:21 PM

how i know
525 posts

may i know the fees for SAM? i heard it's around 23-25k.. but i need the exact figure
TSHikari0307
post Aug 12 2010, 10:16 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(rayz91 @ Aug 12 2010, 06:59 PM)
Im taking accounting and finance this october at lakeside and Im wondering how is the timetable like? Average 1 day how many hour of class?

My questions are

1. Does that mean that every year from May-October i will be free? That sound boring.

2. From the look of the semester, im only studying for 2.5 years instead of 3 years..how come?
1.yeah from around that time every year you will kinda be free since they follow UWE and during that period it's summer holidays in the UK. What students usually do is during this period they go on Internships since the long holiday is the best time to do so and most companies want you to be with them for at least 3 months for internships.

2. Well yeah since the semesters go like that. During that 2.6 years or so period is enough for you to accumulate enough credit to gain your degree so that's why it's that period. Don't ask me why since I'm more towards an Aussie system so I don't really understand UWE that much LOL.From how the semester goes other UK programmes would have the same timeline as well right. Don't worry the programme is MQA accredited and JPA recognized. and if you join January intake you will actually finish the same time as the september intake before that making it even more express lol ^^"

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Aug 12 2010, 07:04 PM)
came across with this...all i gotta say if u wanna study at taylors..get ready 2 smell cow shit early in the morning & good luck in finding parking....& just be patient with the lifts....hahahaha
ahaha the student council and taylor's are working together with MPPJ to get the cow farm to move though it will be a long process.

QUOTE(jyhy @ Aug 12 2010, 07:21 PM)
may i know the fees for SAM? i heard it's around 23-25k.. but i need the exact figure
hum the exact fees for 2011 SAM is not out yet as far as I know. The fees for 2010 was about 21k in subang. To know the exact fees for 2011 if they have set it is best that you contact Taylor's and the fees would also differ between Taylor's College Subang Jaya and Taylor's College Sri Hartamas with Sri Hartamas being 1,2k more expensive than Subang usually.
nicky87
post Aug 12 2010, 10:41 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(rayz91 @ Aug 12 2010, 06:59 PM)

My questions are

let me help you there hikari wink.gif

Overall it's 24hours of class in a week, 12 hours lecture and 12 hours tutorial... while the number of hours in a day is dependant on your timetable. Each lecture/tutorial is 2hours. Classes start at 8am though to about 6pm (the last time i checked) with a 2hour lunch break either from 10-12pm or 12-2pm. The longest time I have spent in a day at class is from 8am to 5.30pm (I graduated about 1 year now they have since revised the time table abit~ we used to have a fixed lunch from 12-1pm hence the timing diff) that's about 4 classes in a day? (mix of lectures n tutorials) the shortest time I have spent in a day in class is 2 hours ^^ so it really depends what subjects you pick, how the timetable is made and which tutorial group are you in.

Yes every may-october you will have holidays usually exams run till the end of may and class starts early october. This is the case for universities in the UK as well. You can do part time work or internships as hikari mentioned during the summer holidays. (by the way I enjoyed the summer holidays the most back in UWE XD) and oh resits are in August sooo if you fail any subjects it's not exactly a summer holiday =/

If you do a search on any universties in the UK you will find similar timelines... Don't worry it's sufficient time for one to study and also to understand the material. In m'sia we're kiasu we want loads of classes however in the UK it's more focused on independent learning... In reality Taylor's is already giving you 12 hours more of lectures and tutorials as in the UK lecture and tutorial times are only an hour each. This is due to requirements by MQA though.
rayz91
post Aug 12 2010, 10:58 PM

64 posts

@Hikari and Nicky87

Thank you for your time. I understand more about the course now ^^.

By the way I'm applying for the 50% merit scholarship and from what I know there's an interview before you're eligible for it. So, you guys know whether the interview is before my intake or during my intake? Im going for October 2010 intake. Thanks again
TSHikari0307
post Aug 13 2010, 07:10 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(rayz91 @ Aug 12 2010, 10:58 PM)
@Hikari and Nicky87

Thank you for your time. I understand more about the course now ^^.

By the way I'm applying for the 50% merit scholarship and from what I know there's an interview before you're eligible for it. So, you guys know whether the interview is before my intake or during my intake? Im going for October 2010 intake. Thanks again
well when they get enough people they will call a small bunch of you guys for the interview. It shouldn't be that long as interviews are ongoing until applications for the scholarship is closed which is latest 2 weeks before commencement of the programme if I'm not mistaken.
holyvin
post Aug 14 2010, 12:36 AM

30 posts

Added on August 14, 2010, 12:36 am
QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Aug 9 2010, 01:30 PM)
you obviously haven't meet girls from my class and a good hum maybe not that big but still a good number from my Division LOL
I think some game more than us guys ahaha and were business students some more not even computing or IT lol XD
What? lol really? im really shy ahaha, so i still duno much lol and im stil new, weird i met very very very very few only (like 1/2 in my life:plays mmorpg) tats very surprising, dota they no touch haha

This post has been edited by holyvin: Aug 14 2010, 12:38 AM
justamember
post Aug 14 2010, 07:36 PM

660 posts

Is there any other way to apply for Taylor Merit Scholarship other than online applications?

105 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0402sec    1.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:25 AM