3,294 posts

Playing via internal HDD no lagging at all
echoesian
post Mar 8 2010, 12:02 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Mar 8 2010, 11:56 AM)
no such lagging playing externally(not even once), on 8634 chipset, for avi, mkv, m2ts, bdmv
When you say externally meaning external USB or network ?
echoesian
post Mar 11 2010, 12:04 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Mar 11 2010, 12:02 AM)
Just got the unit and joined the club!

My very first question... I've seen people talking about UPnP and which is the best you use to share on your PC to Playon!HD?

I've used WMP11 but it can't seems to display RMVB files...
Can try TwonkyMedia but it can't stream .mkv, WMP11 doesn't work for .mkv as well, now trying XBMC....
echoesian
post Mar 11 2010, 11:41 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 11 2010, 10:54 PM)
Seem s like final beta liao..but from the reading the needs to format the HDD will be a killer..where to get additional HDD to copy man...haizz time to delete boring *& lousy movies liao
Can we update the firmware only after plugging out the HDD?
echoesian
post Mar 12 2010, 07:27 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Mar 12 2010, 07:09 PM)
You cannot surf web. it is fixed to, like Youtube, Picasa, etc....
Is there a Youtube? I din not see it in my POHD, it has only picasa, newsfeed, and flickr
echoesian
post Mar 16 2010, 03:21 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Mar 16 2010, 01:33 PM)
hi guys...some of my movie titles (mkv) doesn't have sub titles..do you know where i can download them & how to 'mount' or 'pair' them with the movie?

certain movie titles have a separate subtitles file xxx.srt while some simply has got subs in them...

tried watching Seven Swords & Tom Yum Gong last night..struggle to keep up with the Chinese accent in Seven Swords and obviously i dun understand Thai at all...

all help greatly appreciated!
You can download .srt file from the internet such as subscene.com, podnapisi, etc...
echoesian
post Mar 19 2010, 05:27 PM

3,294 posts

Still thinking of changing to WDTV Live
echoesian
post Mar 20 2010, 11:48 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Mar 20 2010, 11:32 PM)
Any device that has a internal HDD in it is bound to run hotter, unless you have real proper monitoring and ventilation system like a customized PC.

5400/7200 rpm makes no difference at all in playing 1080p stuff..infact 7200 rpm tends to run hotter.
The best HDD for the ACRyan is WD Green and Samsung 1.5Tb (aka F2 series-Eco version).
No point using very fast HDD like WD Black or Samsung F3.
If you experiment with HDD in a docker....the best ones are Laptop versions....although low rpm, they are very much faster in loading than desktop versions and less heat generated, but cost double.

I doubt playing through external drives it will lag..unless your USB cable is pretty long or something wrong with your file.
Can tell that company to close down if such nonsense occur.
But playing 1080p using wireless is a different story.

Take note especially with a ACRyan, once you start upgrading Firmware and stuff, be careful not to format the HDD or else all your movies gone.
When comparing playing movie via USB and 100Mbps LAN, can I say it is very similar in terms of smooth play ?
echoesian
post Mar 22 2010, 01:00 AM

3,294 posts

I thought WDTV Live PQ is better than POHD ??
echoesian
post Mar 22 2010, 11:48 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(economist @ Mar 22 2010, 11:27 AM)
Fixed dy

but i cant stream video files fr pc to ac ryan via network properly...its quite lag...any1 has stream successfully?

i didnt even stream high quality MKV .....also lag

but MP3 no prob...LOL
U stream via LAN or Wireless
echoesian
post Mar 22 2010, 06:48 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(economist @ Mar 22 2010, 11:59 AM)
wirelesssssss....Using N adapter
Try stream using LAN, see if it is still lag
echoesian
post Mar 23 2010, 01:19 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(m_angelo @ Mar 23 2010, 01:08 PM)
hi guys i just bought my POHD yesterday but i want to know is it good to update the firmware to the latest version?
The latest 2901 is a stable release
echoesian
post Mar 23 2010, 01:38 PM

3,294 posts

The Samsung 6 series can play mkv but not sure can do HD audio or not
echoesian
post Mar 23 2010, 04:25 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(m_angelo @ Mar 23 2010, 04:24 PM)
Thanks i think mine already use 2901 version so no need to upgrade
Unless u wanna try experimenting the YAMJ trial firmware ... and let us know the result smile.gif
echoesian
post Mar 25 2010, 04:23 PM

3,294 posts

3294 firmware is it stable?
echoesian
post Mar 25 2010, 07:45 PM

3,294 posts

Is there an expected date for the stable release?
echoesian
post Mar 30 2010, 04:18 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Mar 30 2010, 11:51 AM)
is there any different on PQ/AQ compare this player to WD live

Added on March 30, 2010, 11:59 amlook like POHD mini got more point compare WD live

http://www.trustedreviews.com/multimedia/r...ayon-HD-Mini/p1

POHD mini got 8/9/8/9/8 out of 10

http://www.trustedreviews.com/multimedia/r...Media-Player/p1

while WD live only got 8/8/8/8/8 out of 10
now im thinking that POHD mini is better than WD live
Many reviews are saying WD Live is better than POHD in terms of PQ???
echoesian
post Mar 30 2010, 06:38 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Mar 30 2010, 06:09 PM)
i think PQ is the same
WD Live which is using Sigma chipsets which many claims the picture is sharper wor.....
echoesian
post Apr 2 2010, 11:32 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Apr 2 2010, 07:36 AM)
Beta...

For PV73100 Playon!HD - Standard
http://www.acryan.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=5399

For PV73100 Playon!HD - Standard + YAMJ
http://www.acryan.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=5403

For PV73200 Playon!HD - Mini
http://www.acryan.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=101&t=5400

New feature added - it will show the first picture within a folder

Yeah... finally the feature i wanted is in smile.gif
Still Beta? Wondering when it is going to release a stable YAMJ ?
echoesian
post Apr 2 2010, 03:06 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 2 2010, 02:59 PM)
Apparently lotsa of complains on slow start-up if coupled wth YAMJ. & the currently the beta having some problem/crash when running Samba..as what I heard.

Also From the forum, One of the mod there confirmed there is no need to reformat HDD although it is encourage to do so.
Reformat HDD? Why do we need to do so?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0199sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:03 AM