4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

<-<- Sugar Gliders V15 ->->, - Glider Slaves -

SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 6 2010, 12:36 AM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

QUOTE(princessworldz @ Mar 5 2010, 11:52 PM)
need help.
my sg had been cutting down her appetite. not eating much.
only HPW she ate all. but if i put in the mix vege+fruit salad she's not touching. even i mixed it with HPW she'll jus lick off the HPW n the vege n fruit remain untouch.

her most favourite apple oso she only eat abit.

wat should i do to get her appetite bak to normal? scare she'll be lack of nutri or strave to dead >.<
You can try just putting fruits at nite when she wakes up, if she is really hungry she will eat it. As for the HPW, in the morning you feed her. So 2 sessions of food. Try that method and see nod.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 8 2010, 10:30 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Mar 7 2010, 10:27 PM)
i think i have 3/4. need to check back later.

although i only used it one at a time.
Lol emino just put them all up.. at least each one can have their own XD

QUOTE(shazman @ Mar 8 2010, 01:51 AM)
I have 6 wdnt wheel fr my eight gliders sweat.gif
as eric said its WORTHY thumbup.gif
N to all sugie lvrs..its a must nod.gif
Shazman u spoil your babies rotten laugh.gif ~ did you get my pm? LOL... busy sangat nohhhh xD

QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 8 2010, 04:52 AM)
seems i gonna to have the wdnt wheel if i going to have a joey...
btw,do they have good habit in toilet@ing? i mean do they have the fixed place as their toilet or?
as if using the 3 feet bird cage, no bedding can be placed at the bottom of the cage rite?

thanks again^^
As the prev posts states, they cant be toilet trained.. They are not guinea pigs or rabbits XD At the bottom of the 3ft cage is a tray, you can put paper based bedding like breeder celect. Or just use the normal newspaper and change it daily or 2 days once.

QUOTE(tednet @ Mar 8 2010, 06:53 AM)
nervermine, please read the first page very carefully. sugar glider does not have bowel system (if the terms are correct unsure.gif unsure.gif) they cannot be toilet trained. they can pee or poo any where they felling like they need.

but a bunch of people claim to have toilet trained them, try youtube it and youll find. for mine glider, she always poo n pee when i take her out from her pouch, after cleaning she wont poo n pee.  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
This is correct! thumbup.gif mine also will pee and poo on me when they wake up. So usually i let them go on my hands.. but i still stick my hand inside the cage, wait them to finish and then flick the poo and wipe the pee, then they can sit on me XD lazy to mop the floor too many times sweat.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Mar 8 2010, 10:31 AM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 8 2010, 10:59 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(tednet @ Mar 8 2010, 10:49 AM)
guys,

want to ask, this morning i found that the fur on my glider face kind of wet, also at her arm (both arm) does anyone know what it is? if its hpw leftover should be some color stain right?
Take wet wipes and wipe see if it goes away. Else take a picture so we can see.
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 8 2010, 12:38 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(tednet @ Mar 8 2010, 12:36 PM)
it does go away when i wipe it... but when she is wet she look like she is very very sick... hais doh.gif doh.gif
Hahaha in that case shud be ok.. but if u see her maybe got signs of illness straight to Dr jenny nod.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 8 2010, 09:39 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(PeeBee @ Mar 8 2010, 09:35 PM)
Ahhh theyre so cute!  They're brownish right? not the grey type? or is it the photo? I like when they cuddle together very sweet <333  wub.gif
All gliders that live in groups of 2 or more will have the tendency to turn a little brown. They will groom each other, mark and everything else together lol. Even tho they dont stay in a coconut, they will be a little brownish. But you can see a big difference in gliders who stay in a coconut. Just like my gliders, they were perfectly grey when they were still joeys. Grey is the standard color when they are still joeys.

SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 10 2010, 12:35 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 10 2010, 12:12 AM)
yueyi,thx for ya reply.btw,can do u know the actual dimension of the cage? bcoz the picture only show the dimention of the stand...
thanks again^^
This is the dimension of the cage itself - 18" x 14" x 36"(H)
hope it helps smile.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 10 2010, 11:01 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(bremboy84 @ Mar 10 2010, 10:04 PM)
hye all.. wanna ask Q.. how to bring my SG to sarawak.. bcoz i hav to work they around 2week.. procuder to bring SG on flight.. where must i go to declare this pet..
I know of someone who bought a joey from me who came down from sabah to pick up her joey. Then she smuggle on to the plane when the suggie was on her rolleyes.gif summore she got sms me after safe "We all passed security safely" LOLOLOL~ brows.gif But i wouldnt dare if i was in that shoes, cuz not everybody will have the same luck as her XD

Better off boarding here wink.gif Kelvin is a very experienced glider owner who does boarding for pets.. maybe u can ask him? nod.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 12 2010, 02:07 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(titik.titik @ Mar 12 2010, 01:57 PM)
no prob at all, english better smile.gif i do understand, i just need some time to reply it rclxub.gif  okay i just mixed those fruits and vegetables right? yeah, the SG breeder in my area told me to feed her with high protein, high calc, low phos, and low magnesium...theres no hpw in my country *probably* but i have wheel and pouches. the SG breeder told me to give it repcal-calcium for reptile- with low ratio...or give her cricker laugh.gif yes, im serious, cricker is high calcium thumbup.gif
Hi~ welcome.. your SG looks very small, tho the tail is a little fluffy i would still say it might be underaged. Cage seems like a small cage too, not suitable for your glider sad.gif You can probably order HPW and get it shipped to indonesia thumbup.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 12 2010, 09:32 PM

1,434 posts

Barking means they are looking for companionship.. the person who gave you the glider gave you wrong information. Tho when a glider crabs, or raise their hands, they are unhappy about something. Clearly you have not bond well with your glider. So thats why you get that kind of scenario. Bonding doesnt happen overnight. It could take days, weeks and months even if the glider is wild at the first place.
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 12 2010, 11:06 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 12 2010, 11:01 PM)
yea she look scare and offencing
so far i got no chance to do handing and touching with her...even i pass her some food,she will act like rush to me, wanna bite me and crabs@@

so she is awake now,should i put her into her bonding pouch and do my homework with me?
;-p

btw,i got a stitch doll which bought at the minitoons(disney 1). is it suitable for her to play?

thansk^^
During the night do no put in the bonding pouch, let them roam on you. If they are not bonded yet, tonite skip playing with them first.. Else later they run here and there, you wont be able to catch them back into the cage. Later lagi susah.

For tonight, you take the bonding pouch (no gliders inside ya sweat.gif )~ and put/wear it with you when you sleep. So they can get accustom to your smell.

Tomorrow when you are up to do your chores or going anywhere, put them inside the bonding pouch so they can smell your scent. Keep doing this until they crab lesser, and then during the nite you can try to bring them out to play with you without the bonding pouch.

It will be easier if you have a tent too. The one used for camping.. You can have tent time with your gliders blush.gif without worrying they will escape or run elsewhere. This method can also be used during the bonding process.

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Mar 12 2010, 11:08 PM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 12 2010, 11:17 PM

1,434 posts

Oh eric knows your name wub.gif

I also forgot about the t-shirt method sweat.gif Like eric said, cover the cage with your USED t-shirt.. Your smelly welly shirt from the laundry basket also can biggrin.gif

The key is scent and trust~ Once they are accustomed to your smell, and trust you.. nothing can go wrong biggrin.gif

Good Luck!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Mar 12 2010, 11:18 PM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 14 2010, 07:09 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 14 2010, 07:04 PM)
yahor...thx^^
btw,normally how long do you all SG sleep?12 hours?or more than tat?
Mine all will wake up at 12am on the dot LOL.. sometimes 11pm if too hungry i think.. Then eat, play until 7am in the morning.. Sometimes got lah wake up until 9-10am. Then sleep all the way to 12am. Then repeat.. over and over again. nod.gif

But not all gliders are the same smile.gif all have different characteristics laugh.gif some will wake up earlier.. some later.. its up to you to find their sleeping patterns wink.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 14 2010, 09:14 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 14 2010, 09:02 PM)
yea,mine sleep at abt 6.30 am. then normally wat will they do if they wake up or hungry? in day time?
bcoz i cant put any food in the cage coz alot of antz! even though i just bought some ant killer but not use.
so i scare later she hungry during day time and im not ard then she will starve...

or is there any dry food tat i can put in the cage and not attracting those antz? i bought a dry pineapple from pet shop but it attract the antz too, adn she seems doenst like the pineapple@@
btw, 2day is the 5th day that she stay with me  smile.gif
I know about the ants scenario.. sleep.gif been there done that.. those ants are just soooo nasty. Get some vaseline, and rub at the 4 corners of your cage stand. As soon as they finish with their meal, take it out immediately.. this will stop the ants problem a bit.

During the day, if i do not bring my gliders to work with me, i will usually leave them some Bugsy Happy Glider fruity flovored and sugar glider diet. Both are from Bugsy.. There is also the protein chicken dry food, that i leave for my breeding pair smile.gif Don't feed pineapple.. its very acidic.. same goes for oranges.. or any citrusy fruits. They like it sweet, so find sweet fruits wink.gif

How is the bonding going? smile.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 14 2010, 10:09 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 14 2010, 09:26 PM)
vaseline? where can i get it? i dont have a cage stand so far...
huh,no pineapple and orange...@@i feed her orange but 1 piece each time and she will eat some. she seems dont like apple....
sweet fruit...honeydew? (but its size quite big @@)

bonding...so far last nite is the 1st time i touch her, by using the dry pineapple to attract her notice. she will stun there and i could touch her. but she still look offensive sometime as my hand going closer to her then she will dash to me and crab+look like wanna bite me

going to buy some Bugsy food for her on tuesday~
Vaseline normal pharmacy will sell smile.gif it looks liek this:

If no stand, at the edges of your cage (Outside ya not inside) >< you sapu this vaseline so the ants wont be able to climb in. Apple not good to feed often also good that she dont like it. Honeydew doesnt mean you have to feed all >_< u ma eat some lo. Some you give your gliders. I think some shops/pasar malam will sell half cut honeydews. You can feed papaya, pear, sweet plums got a lot of fruits here one lol.. just experiment what they like smile.gif Once in a while can get the sweet potatoes also.. they go crazy over that rclxm9.gif

Go slowly on the bonding process, dont rush ya. Try to get some yogurt drops at petshack.. this cant go wrong.. will sure steal from your hands tongue.gif else get mealworms. If you can tahan to hold the worms go ahead and hand feed wink.gif Low fat yogurt also can.. like those marigold brand.. dip your fingers and give wub.gif But not too much yaaa.. all these are treats oni xD
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 14 2010, 11:08 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 14 2010, 10:34 PM)
SCC,thx for the info of Vaseline

i did tried potato (boiled it till soft) but the response ...@@
oh ya,last nite i did buy banana (almsot forgot ady) ,can she eat tat?

yea, last nite i can touch her is quite enuf ady...trying to let her trust me^^
thanks smile.gif
Banana dont feed... maybe like one small slice let them just taste only can. Cuz its high in phosphorus. Did you buy the normal potato or SWEET potatoes? laugh.gif Normal potato i know they wont eat >_< sweet potatoes, the outside is red color smile.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 14 2010, 11:37 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(Cabok @ Mar 14 2010, 11:28 PM)
what happen if i fed them with lots of banana?>
We need to feed fruits and veges higher in calcium than phosphorus simply because when there is too much phosphorus in the gliders body, the body cannot absorb calcium into the body. Once there isnt much calcium in the body, the glider becomes weaker and possibly can get diseases like HLP (Hind leg paralysis) just to name one. Thats why its important to check the cal and phos ratio in the diet you are feeding smile.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 15 2010, 10:34 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(jolenelarhhs @ Mar 15 2010, 09:47 AM)
Finally got a picture, hard to take as she struggled a lot. The rest I took were very blur. This picture is taken with flash, and I covered her head. The pink spot there is her pouch area. D: 
[attachmentid=1483226]

I don't know if it's the same, but I assume it's the early stage of a disease known as Giardia.
I googled for "pouch infection" first and came to one of Suz' Sugar Glider's page - (http://www.suzsugargliders.com/symptoms.htm)
Just before "Hygiene & Diet", there's a picture of a glider where it's pouch area was pink and some skin like thing is showing as well.

Mmm.. It looks nothing like that YET. But it's possible right..  S:  I'm just super worried.
Hurmm it does look like an infection or what they could call an inverted pouch, that is not the average look of a female's pouch. Once your parents are back straight go to Dr Jenny. This is the very first time i see this here. Is your cage dirty or something? Maybe do a thorough cleanup on the cage. If you have germisep, clean the cage right away with germisep. Else you can use dettol to clean (more water than dettol ya) and then rinse with more water after that.

Sending my prayers your way~ dont worry to much ok~

Edit~ wait can't to think of it.. i think someone else here has a female glider with inverted pouch. I think it was Lis..

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Mar 15 2010, 10:41 AM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 15 2010, 12:13 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(moe81 @ Mar 15 2010, 11:54 AM)
Hello to all, i've been following this thread closely for the past one month or so. i bought my girlfriend a female glider. so, we've both been checking this thread for some guidance. i guess it's time i come outta the closet.

Hello again.

female glider named Molly. DOA is Feb 26, 2010.
Welcome to the thread happy.gif come post some pics of your baby~

QUOTE(rehohk @ Mar 15 2010, 12:07 PM)
i'm happy now with my 'kaka'.....
wanna bring him outside...hopefully not running away...haha
I wouldn't do that if i were you, some gliders who have not fully bonded with their owners, may just run off like nobody's business and will be hard to catch.. Get a tent or make a glider proof room to play with them at first.
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 15 2010, 03:57 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Mar 15 2010, 01:03 PM)
guys i'm thinking of putting in some branches into my glider's cage.. any suggestion what  tree or plant shall i get from?
You can try the bunga raya branch, but you have to wash it thoroughly before placing inside the cage.. scared got pesticide which is dangerous for a glider. Try to google for glider safe branches.. but i can assure you most cannot find here in malaysia doh.gif Else you can just use the Exo-terra branches, got small to xl sizes. It mimics the look of branches and fully bendable.

QUOTE(darksterz @ Mar 15 2010, 01:37 PM)
Hye guyz,i wanna share my latest picture of my beloved suggies.

Tweedledee
Very cute~ brows.gif

QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 15 2010, 02:36 PM)
this is my Venus~ DOA=9 March

Added on March 15, 2010, 2:39 pmlast nite i tried to offer my hand to Venus so that she could climb to my,but she smell my hand,and start biting...initially bite lightly,but then she will bite harder and harder Y_Y
how huh?i tried both hand she did the same thing... then i can rub some honey on my hand?she lick the honey part, but the other part she still biting @@
Hahahaha~ cute picture!! Tho cant see her face in full. How hard exactly she bite? Got come out blood or not? If no blood comes out, then i would consider it nipping. My bella loves doing this... sleep.gif i know for sure she wants more treats from me when she starts nipping me. You can try to fist your hand and put your hand in and try to ask her to climb on you.. At least she gigit your fist, it wont hurt so much. Dont be discouraged nod.gif

Anyways~ thought i would like to show some of my joey pictures.. Kaiser just opened his eyes last nite.. Kallisto still blur blur.. not yet open eye >_<
Perky little guy! NOT a single crab O_o but he was searching for his mama after 5-10 minutes xD

Knows how to pose for the camera XD

Kallisto seems to like sleeping in my daughters hands, but not mine sleep.gif Zzzzzzzz

Nice face features :3

It was easy to distinguish which is Kaiser and which is Kallisto dis time lol.. Kaiser got some sort of jambul on his head. His diamond shape is sort of chipped on the left side.. whilst Kallisto has the chip on the diamond on the right side laugh.gif They will be going to lovely homes end of next month happy.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Mar 15 2010, 03:59 PM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 15 2010, 05:00 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(jolenelarhhs @ Mar 15 2010, 04:13 PM)
@SCC
Nice pics ! biggrin.gif hehe.
Kaiser and Kallisto's ear so cute tongue.gif One of them has pointy ears and the other has a more roundish edge x] hehehe. Both cute in diff ways ;D
Hahaha thanks dear~ yea too cute at this age.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 15 2010, 04:16 PM)
you really can differentiate your SGs?their stripe different or? thinner?
i found out that SG is quite similar to kitty, dont they? They are just mini kittens...they like ppl sayang them...clean themselves by tongue...

abt Venus biting. i offered my fist...as initially she is going to bite all my finger@@...no bleeding yet,but the worst 1 is still have a red dot now,but such biting is acceptable for me

beside, from the 1st page tell us that the stomach size of SG is just like our thumb size is it? bcos im not sure the amount of the mixture i feed her enough or not, and she wont go to the bowl and lick the mixture herself, only i feed her by McD spoon...but when i passing the spoon she will crab and smth bit the spoon too.

Added on March 15, 2010, 4:17 pmyea, Kallisto's ears are so sharp...like Persian cat! smile.gif
I differentiate with the diamond shape on the head usually. But usually if you see them everyday, day by day you can easily distinguish which is which laugh.gif

the red dot is sign of puncture mark? did you try the bonding pouch method? while venus is sleeping in her pouch, you squeeze the pouch into the bonding pouch so she goes in.. in case you not sure how to take her into the bonding pouch..

Yeap the stomach size is about thumb size only smile.gif McD spoon is very little liao O_o are you a HPW user? Usually accompany HPW with 1 tablespoon of fruits and veges.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0442sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:08 PM