<-<- Sugar Gliders V15 ->->, - Glider Slaves -

yueyi5730
post Mar 29 2010, 08:08 PM

80 posts

@Divas

ehh... couple more small quesitons if you don't mind.
Is Bugsy Premium Glider Diet better than Bugsy Happy Glider? I noticed the second one has a lot more corn in it which is high in phosphorus (i also notice corn in food a lot as it is really bad for dogs, that's why it popped out at me so was wondering if corn as a first ingredient was as bad for gliders as it is for dogs)...
Also about Bugsy HPW again, I was planning on using the starter kit and then adding egg, honey and water like the recipe says, as i assumed it would be somehow better than the premix (that is more convenient because you don't have to cook the egg and find the honey), is there actually much difference? which do you use?

you have done your research you will know we pick those with little phosphorus ratio as possible..from my experience not all the gliders like to eat the pellets coz they prefer juicy sweet fruits and liquid food rather than pellets..however some of our thread members with not so picky eaters gliders do eat pellets as well..so it all depends on your sg..best if u could get some sample for ur sg to try so less wastage..

the premix u mean as in instant HPW or either those ready made frozen hpw?
Instant hpw is better for those who have no blender or freezer..coz they oni need to add water and honey accordingly..inside the powder already have dehydrated eggs so no need to add eggs
those frozen ready made(i not sure still for sale, used to have) is just need to scrape like ice cream texture and serve in proper amounts.

Oh yea and i know you have to have at least a 3ft cage but is it a case of bigger is better? I am planning on having one glider to start and possibly add another once she is bonded to me (i'm hoping to get a girl first, if i get a second will also be another girl, no breeding over here thanks). So if i had a 6 or 7ft cage would it somehow be too big for her? My guess is no, but just want to double check. Is there any height limit at all? My husband was considering building a cage in the middle of our stare-well which would make it perhaps 16ft tall by 5ft wide and long, would this be dangerous in any way (was planning on having a 3-5ft in the room as well, will multiple cages cause stress or can she get used to 2 different houses?)

yup the bigger then better the minimum we recommend is 3ft height cage..6ft-7ft will be great if u have a large space to put the cage and also will need more work during cleaning up.but of coz bigger allows more space for them to move,hop and glide around..DIY cage is great as u can customise it the way u want to..i love to make my own cages and plan to make a bigger one during the holidays..sadly i dont have much time now so recently i got a 4ft cage..

Oh sorry, one more... is it advisable to have a couple of bonding pouches so you can rotate them (use the 2nd when the 1st is in the wash and vice versa) or just have one so they only have to adjust once?

i mysekf have 4 pouches 2 from KP and 2 i sew myself during my holidays..i have 2 more pouches from amigo_pj which i keep for emergency..lol...yea we wash the pouch every week coz clean pouch is to prevent infection and it's more hygienic..we use one while the old one we handwash and dry...some even use washing machine and it's still good

Thanks so much, i think that is all my questions, from here i should be able to figure things out for myself over the next few months while i start looking for my baby. biggrin.gif

pick from a home breeder..dont only think that females are better..males make great pets to infect no difference from females just that u need to neuter to reduce the musking smell..with proper introduction they can get along with each other very well too even males with males...females tend to be sold as higher price while male joeys some breeders offer refund after u neuter the males just to be fair.so you are actually not paying extra for male joeys.

yueyi5730
post Mar 29 2010, 08:31 PM

80 posts

@Divas

good that u have put into considerations.Got a good feeling u will be a very good owner..
if u have anymore questions feel free to ask..we will try to answer your question in every way we can
yueyi5730
post Mar 30 2010, 09:41 PM

80 posts

lol u mean DIY toys izit..
u dont have a wheel for your sg?
yueyi5730
post Mar 30 2010, 11:59 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Mar 30 2010, 09:56 PM)
wow nice thread you guys have here!  thumbup.gif

hahaha my friend owns a male sugar glider, Ziggy (4 months old now) and the current 3ft cage is too small for him coz he likes to jump around so much. so i am thinking to do my own diy cage for Ziggy. biggrin.gif

Ive looked online but most of the site uses wood but i prefer to use steel wires like the normal cage one. Can you guys guide me on how to do it? Even a link to another helpful site would be so much appreciated!  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif 

Thanks a lot!  rclxms.gif
u can pm me about DIY cage..i can help u with some advice coz i myself love to DIY cage..lol
yueyi5730
post Mar 31 2010, 01:36 AM

80 posts

glider bark at night to get your attention or to communicate with other gliders..

some barking are just warning to other gliders to be careful since there is danger nearby..my bf at one time got startled by the glider then the glider ran to the curtain and stated barking..my other glider retreat and when to hide as well after hearing it bark a few sec later..
yueyi5730
post Mar 31 2010, 10:00 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Mar 31 2010, 02:14 AM)
relax, it takes time for the glider to adjust with you. check the first post in this thread on how to bond with a new glider!

Added on March 31, 2010, 2:22 amGuys i wanna ask, is it true that gliderslurp is dangerous?

This guy sent it to the lab and they found out that it contains cyanide and it doesnt contain calcium. the link is here,

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1336302
Definately NO!!!
why should it be dangerous when it's all made out of natural ingredients infect it is full of good vitamins and minerals.slurp cant be kept in the freezer as long as hpw coz no preservatives..it's even more nutricious that what humans eat daily..I'm using gliderslurp since my sg didnt want to eat hpw..i have frens who's gliders didnt eat hpw mch so they got worried and i told them to try gliderslurp and they are using it until now..Hun who makes gliderslurp is very experienced sugar glider owner/home breeder...she knows her stuff especially the diet and nutrisional facts..gliderslurp has even help rejected joeys before..and u know how hard it is to raise a rejected joey and their chances of living are less than others.if it was to be poisonus i think many gliders of hers would have died and also mine as well after using for almost 1 year..
dont just blindly trust what others say..some just wanna bring down others for their own benefit..
yueyi5730
post Mar 31 2010, 10:12 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ Mar 31 2010, 10:05 AM)
Calm down calm down.

If a product is really good, i'm sure nobody can jus simply bring it down by spreading rumours or fake information. If today someone popped out and said HPW is poisonous, i think nobody will really care because we are so confident in using this diet.

Same goes to this, if you and all other slurp users are so confident and assured on using this diet, don really nid to overreact or defend again in this issue. Otherwise, it's gonna be never ending story.

We are all adult, i think we are wise enough to identify which is true, and which is fake.
LOL i'm not over reacting u cant tell my tone by reading sentences.. laugh.gif
just telling through my experience since i'm using it ma.. hope readers dont get the wrong idea about it since u got no comment on it..

like u said there are a variety of diets now if u look on the net..but sadly some ingredients cant be found in M'sia so best if we stick to what can be easily found here like HPW/BML/gliderslurp
is up to us to study and also choose the diet for our gliders.

yueyi5730
post Mar 31 2010, 04:05 PM

80 posts

well i actually prefer to use pvc pipes insted of the zip wardrobe..yes it's cheaper but takes time and energy to make the cage to perfection and safe for glider use..

my 1st cage i use the zip wardrobe as frame but i was worried it might start to get rusty and hurt my gliders..so i just changed..

in Ipoh i'm having a PVC pipe DIY cage..
i will make kaki for the cage about 1-1.5 feet high so tat can sweep the floor under the cage too..this is extra note for u azrash
yueyi5730
post Mar 31 2010, 06:27 PM

80 posts

yeap my gliders prefer gliderslurp too..that's one of the reason i'm sticking to it.

jolene how is crislyn?is her pouch ok already??
did she escape anymore to find cricille??hahaha
yueyi5730
post Mar 31 2010, 07:36 PM

80 posts

yup yup any question about slurp u can PM crazymouse_yyh yourself or post on her thread in petstore for further enquiries

jolene Dr jenny move to a new clinic already last Friday was her last day..she will start in May if i'm not mistaken..but u can try contacting her and try your luck..

yueyi5730
post Apr 1 2010, 10:23 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Cabok @ Apr 1 2010, 12:46 AM)
I kept on wondering why the issue havent settled for 2 years and you have answered my thoughts. I wonder what this position can do untill ppl were very very interested.  if it is only because of political issue or so whatever, i could only say, IM DISSAPOINTED and whhaaaatttttteveeerrrrr!!

btw, i have a news for you guys.

my fiancee brought his baby to work today. and guess what, my poka managed to open the bounding pounch zip!!!. he told me, poka opened the zip by using his nail. haiyoo!! he is so clever.

as for my baby, yoka, didnt make any sound accept for hissing. she's hissing while pooing and also while playing with me. She might having constipation problem like eric said in first page. so i gave her papaya (papaya-mums said it is good for constipation for HUMAN). im going to try apple juice tommorow like suggested in first page. can i give a try giving 100 plus for this problem? and please dont say i need to go to dr jenny. pleaseee!!!  (i planned to bring my babies to medical checkup on 15-16 april).
and we decided to make DIY cages for our babies. since it takes time to save money to buy new cages. thank you yueyi and others for a very good suggestion.
for the potty training, i watched that before im having my s.g. and from my observation, s.g do poo and pee after they wake up. i tried to do that, and they wont poo and pee unless you giving them food. They will poo and pee 30-40minutes after eating. That is only my obeservation for my yoka. I dont know for others. but to do that everytime, lazy loh. Afterall, i dont mind at all to be her loo.

in topic of poo and peeing, may i know why yoka lovesss to pee and poo on me. because i looked at her cages, there were very few poo but she poo a lot on me.
hissing during pee or poo might be a sign of UTI(urinary tract infection)...the juice that can help is cranberry juice not apple juice...but it's hard to find pure cranberry juice in malaysia so most of us get the apple cranberry 100% juice(marigol brand)..maybe u can try giving that see if her condition improves..

they dont have bowel control so if they feel like going toilet they will just release their pee and poo..most of the time just right after they wake up..so if u are carrying it after waking it up from the pouch so that must be the reason
yueyi5730
post Apr 1 2010, 03:23 PM

80 posts

Divas not bad can give good advice already ya..lol..keep it up..

veryniub if u still have uncertainties feel free to ask..we will gladly help u..good to know before getting your sg..another way other than learning from experience is learning through other people's experiences happy.gif
yueyi5730
post Apr 1 2010, 08:16 PM

80 posts

lol glad is all over ya...
You're not staying in KL?
then it's kinda hard to get slurp u have to travel to KL every 2 months 2 get the slurp..but to me to meet up with her i dont mind as long as my babies are eating well..if not u choose hpw diet can send to u by post..chubbypetsgarden can buy in larger packaging..switching between diets often is not reccomended so best if u stick to 1 diet only..u done your research so u choose wisely..
yueyi5730
post Apr 1 2010, 08:42 PM

80 posts

lol that happen to my gliders to but from what i read from the thread is that the poo will be normal after some time eating the hpw..however i stop hpw already that was like last year when i first got my sg i stick to slurp all the way after that...where is your location?u can give all those but u still need a staple diet for ur sgs also besides what u mention
yueyi5730
post Apr 1 2010, 09:05 PM

80 posts

most of us hang the pouch around our neck and the pouch is just at our chest area...so we can see and monitor them also...and less danger coz if u put at waist may knock on table/objects while walking if not careful
yueyi5730
post Apr 1 2010, 11:34 PM

80 posts

hpw is suppose to be fed daily...if not the diet wont be balance like that if u feed on and off...

Added on April 1, 2010, 11:37 pmyour glider having watery stool due to hpw or always like that even not feeding how..might be a sign of diarhrea

Added on April 1, 2010, 11:37 pmyour glider having watery stool due to hpw or always like that even not feeding hpw..might be a sign of diarhrea

This post has been edited by yueyi5730: Apr 1 2010, 11:37 PM
yueyi5730
post Apr 4 2010, 02:03 PM

80 posts

give the baby to the mother see if she stars caring for it..if it's left alone on the floor then its a rejected joey...

do look up on suz sugar glider on the tips and ways to care for rejected joeys..
yueyi5730
post Apr 4 2010, 03:14 PM

80 posts

Dr. Jenny works for a vet clinic named My Vet Animal Clinic

Add: No. 29-G, Jalan Cecawi 6/33, Seksyen 6, Kota Damansara, 47810 PJ.
Tel: 03 6142 2122

found in other thread..dunno right or not u can call to make sure

Added on April 4, 2010, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(Cabok @ Apr 4 2010, 02:08 PM)
may i know why my s.g keep on hissing in the cage? It is not constipation problem cuz ive already give her apple juice marigold and he doesnt hissing anymore during poo/pee.
u fed carnberry apple juice or apple juice?

This post has been edited by yueyi5730: Apr 4 2010, 03:15 PM
yueyi5730
post Apr 4 2010, 03:55 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(veryniub @ Apr 4 2010, 03:49 PM)

my fren's feedin Bugsyâ„¢ Small Carnivore Food to her sg, will u reckon tat's a better and ezier to serve compared to instant HPW which needs honey?
small carnivor food is actually some sort of grinded insects and mealworms into powder form..it's not a staple diet...HPW is a staple diet where u have to feed daily according to the amount stated..small carnivore food is a supplement
yueyi5730
post Apr 5 2010, 02:12 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Cabok @ Apr 4 2010, 10:13 PM)
marigold got carnberry meh? i looked at tesco, only apple juice have. so i just bought that.
mixed apple cranberyy 100% juice
http://www.mmsb.com.my/100juice.html

Added on April 5, 2010, 2:14 pm
QUOTE(rehohk @ Apr 5 2010, 10:38 AM)
ithink, u frenz breed the SG to earlier..SG mature is arnd 6 month...if the SG became younger mother, he tend to ignore the baby...

so sad, already dead.... cry.gif

Anyway, i wanna ask u all....
SG active during nite rite....My SG at nite really like to play...when i put hand into cage...he like wanna grab my finger...do u all face this? Is it kind of playing with me, attacking me???
i let my gliders out every night..when i put in my hand to put the food bowl they will jump on and "hug" my hand so i bring them out to roam

This post has been edited by yueyi5730: Apr 5 2010, 02:14 PM

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0541sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:49 AM