IMU MBBS, February intake

TSShaneNg
post Feb 19 2010, 09:11 PM

217 posts

Hey, sorry I lost track of this thread cause it was quite cold.

Limeuu:
The difference between PMS graduate and Local could be vast, especially in the event I'm matched to ANU or Warwick. And I was quite daunted by the 'medical student tsunami' furor at Aus.

Yea, about the WHO list, I dont really see the accuracy in it as a benchmark if 'The Med School' from Russia is included in it...

This post has been edited by ShaneNg: Feb 19 2010, 09:12 PM
cgan
post Feb 19 2010, 09:36 PM

83 posts

Hey guys thanks for the clarification. Appreciate it biggrin.gif . And yea i do love Chem actually. I've gain an interest for Chem and Bio since i was form 4.

Frankly, the thought of doin medicine never came across my mind cause i was just thinking of doin something related to either Chem or Bio which was Pharmacy or Physiotherapy. But then my friends and relatives encourage me to pursue med saying it can be quite a fulfilling career to assist ppl in the area of healthcare. I am well aware though of the difficulty and hardships that most doctors have to face as the medical profession is a life long career that requires a life long commitment but i'm sure that at the end of the day, my passion of helping ppl should drive me and motivate me to give all out for this.
limeuu
post Feb 19 2010, 11:07 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Feb 19 2010, 09:11 PM)
Hey, sorry I lost track of this thread cause it was quite cold.

Limeuu:
The difference between PMS graduate and Local could be vast, especially in the event I'm matched to ANU or Warwick. And I was quite daunted by the 'medical student tsunami' furor at Aus.

Yea, about the WHO list, I dont really see the accuracy in it as a benchmark if 'The Med School' from Russia is included in it...

it's just a list of med schools.........that's all.........means nothing at individual country level.......

anu/warick?...........so you are in the pms-graduate stream.......?
TSShaneNg
post Feb 20 2010, 03:59 AM

217 posts

Limeuu:
Yeap,...you didnt sound as if there was something wrong, did you?

aku88:
I would, like a foresight if I would be 'tormented' in the notorious IMU orientation...
Haha, thanks for reaching out, how would I find you in the school?

This post has been edited by ShaneNg: Feb 20 2010, 09:07 AM
D_s_X
post Feb 20 2010, 05:31 AM

451 posts

Shane,

No matter what you do. Just enjoy the orientation. Sure it may be dirty and humiliating at times but it is definitely one of the best times there are. You can choose not to do the activity but then you'll lose out A LOT.
limeuu
post Feb 20 2010, 08:53 AM

12,295 posts

this intake will be the last batch on the old differential fees system..........from august, the fees for both phases will be the same.......the total fees for the local stream is still the same, phase 1 fees goes up rm5k/sem and phase 2 comes down rm5k/sem.........

but it means pms stream students will now need to pay rm25k more for the phase 1.........

subtle way for imu to increase their fees........the majority of students are in pms stream.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 20 2010, 08:54 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 20 2010, 10:59 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 20 2010, 08:53 AM)
this intake will be the last batch on the old differential fees system..........from august, the fees for both phases will be the same.......the total fees for the local stream is still the same, phase 1 fees goes up rm5k/sem and phase 2 comes down rm5k/sem.........

but it means pms stream students will now need to pay rm25k more for the phase 1.........

subtle way for imu to increase their fees........the majority of students are in pms stream.......
That makes PMS even poorer value for money compared to before.

By opting for cheaper university and lower living cost cities like Leeds in UK, I reckon doing the entire course oversea will be almost the same as IMU-PMC. Mainly because you do 2.5 yrs pre-clinical in IMU instead of only 2 yrs overseas.

kha7577
post Feb 20 2010, 11:48 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Feb 20 2010, 05:31 AM)
Shane,

No matter what you do. Just enjoy the orientation. Sure it may be dirty and humiliating at times but it is definitely one of the best times there are. You can choose not to do the activity but then you'll lose out A LOT.
rclxub.gif
cgan
post Feb 20 2010, 04:35 PM

83 posts

Hey just want to ask, why is IMU's MBBS fees relatively much higher than other medical schools in Malaysia? Cause I've compared the 5+0 MBBS course with other unis. it seems to be about 100k more expensive than unis like AIMST, UCSI, UniKL RCMP, Mahsa, and UTAR. I mean why the need for such high cost? Is it cause of the facilities and equipments there are really good?

And another thing i want to enquire, the website for IMU says that the MBBS fees is 351k for the 5+0 programme right, but I'm sure there will be other additional fees not mention. Any IMU students in this forum? If you dun mind can let me know the TOTAL cost fees for the MBBS @ IMU so that I may 'prepare' myself before applying for it? hehe.. thanks lotz
limeuu
post Feb 20 2010, 05:08 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Feb 20 2010, 04:35 PM)
Hey just want to ask, why is IMU's MBBS fees relatively much higher than other medical schools in Malaysia? Cause I've compared the 5+0 MBBS course with other unis. it seems to be about 100k more expensive than unis like AIMST, UCSI, UniKL RCMP, Mahsa, and UTAR. I mean why the need for such high cost? Is it cause of the facilities and equipments there are really good?

And another thing i want to enquire, the website for IMU says that the MBBS fees is 351k for the 5+0 programme right, but I'm sure there will be other additional fees not mention. Any IMU students in this forum? If you  dun mind can let me know the TOTAL cost fees for the MBBS @ IMU so that I may 'prepare' myself before applying for it? hehe.. thanks lotz
it's cheaper than monash msia, which is 400k.......

there is little extra you need to pay.........

of course, your living expenses are not included.............
aku88
post Feb 20 2010, 09:07 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Feb 20 2010, 03:59 AM)
Limeuu:
Yeap,...you didnt sound as if there was something wrong, did you?

aku88:
I would, like a foresight if I would be 'tormented' in the notorious IMU orientation...
Haha, thanks for reaching out, how would I find you in the school?

Hey, honestly, it's not torture at all. You'll definitely get VERY messy and dirty in the outdoor activities and it can be a little tiring but honestly at the end of the day it's really fun. If you stick with it it's a great chance to meet your seniors and start off life in uni with knowing a whole group of people from your batch. I honestly really enjoyed my 2 weeks of orientation when I joined in 2008.

Having said that, if you ever find that things are going a little too far, you can always opt to not join in on any of the games, none of the seniors have any power to force you to do something you don't want. Also, the orientation committee is easily contactable and they'll definitely be stressing the whole 'no-ragging' policy on your first briefing.

If you're looking for me, just ask anyone from the orientation committee that you're looking for "Aku". Most of them should know who I am. I'm not in the committee myself but I was for the previous orientation =)
manking91
post Feb 20 2010, 10:50 PM

20 posts

how long will the orientation be for this intake?? and will we have classes during orientation?? and why i can't find any stalls selling foods in vista b?? omg!!!
D_s_X
post Feb 21 2010, 08:10 AM

451 posts

The orientation will be 2 weeks long. There will be PPD sessions (some personal development thing).
raul88
post Feb 21 2010, 03:41 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(Kellyyhx @ Feb 6 2010, 01:29 AM)
You have to go though several test in order to be posted in US.
As you know their system are slightly different from us.

And ya, IMU degree is worldwide recognize.
Not that certain universities are yet to register with MQA or edu board.

If you wants to save money, do locally.
You can choose to do your postgraduate overseas, which will be better than doing it in Malaysia. A lot of my seniors choosing this path. Graduate from IMU, then went to UK for specialization.

Note that I'm not medic student nor sciences.
But I still know all these stuff. I once applied, but changed my mind

If you really can't make decision, just call them out and postponed the dateline. They wouldn't mind
that part is wrong
Gorila_
post Feb 21 2010, 04:09 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Feb 20 2010, 04:35 PM)

And another thing i want to enquire, the website for IMU says that the MBBS fees is 351k for the 5+0 programme right, but I'm sure there will be other additional fees not mention. Any IMU students in this forum? If you  dun mind can let me know the TOTAL cost fees for the MBBS @ IMU so that I may 'prepare' myself before applying for it? hehe.. thanks lotz
Bolded part is very misleading. Its a complete local degree, with no foreign Uni's name on it... 5+0 is only used when one is doing the degree locally but get a ful foreign degree(MONASH).
cgan
post Feb 22 2010, 08:19 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Feb 21 2010, 04:09 PM)
Bolded part is very misleading. Its a complete local degree, with no foreign Uni's name on it... 5+0 is only used when one is doing the degree locally but get a ful foreign degree(MONASH).
oops.gif hey thanks for the clarification. my bad. yea "5+0" actually are meant to refer to unis which are having partnership with other foreign unis. wat i wanted to phrase was the 5 years local programme at IMU. thousand apologies
imamaxis
post Dec 7 2010, 06:55 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Feb 22 2010, 08:19 PM)
oops.gif hey thanks for the clarification. my bad. yea "5+0" actually are meant to refer to unis which are having partnership with other foreign unis. wat i wanted to phrase was the 5 years local programme at IMU. thousand apologies
hey guys. i am going in IMU for february intake, medicine. Ermm, i am under jpa so i was sent there.. i don't know much about the uni. people just told me the orientation week is very evil. and i'm pretty much nervous about it. can i skip just skip it?

and how is the classes there? is the lecturers all ok? Thanks.
limeuu
post Dec 7 2010, 08:36 PM

12,295 posts

the orientation week (usually actually 2 weeks) could be the best time of your stay in imu.........
imamaxis
post Dec 7 2010, 10:26 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 7 2010, 08:36 PM)
the orientation week (usually actually 2 weeks) could be the best time of your stay in imu.........
really? no notorious ragging?
junyong5155
post Dec 8 2010, 12:51 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(imamaxis @ Dec 7 2010, 06:55 PM)
hey guys.  i am going in IMU for february intake, medicine. Ermm, i am under jpa so i was sent there.. i don't know much about the uni. people just told me the orientation week is very evil. and i'm pretty much nervous about it. can i skip just skip it?

and how is the classes there? is the lecturers all ok? Thanks.
hi im ur senior then haha~ basically orientation ROCKS! tiring but really fun...dun skip it pls.

lecture just 2 hours per day...so u need a lot of self study...but for me, i personally think 2 hours is really sufficient as I prefer to study on my own...and we got stuffs like problem based learning, medical museum session and some lab practical as well...most of the lecturers are good, just wait till u come to imu then i think seniors will tell u more about the lecturer... biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0214sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:32 PM