IMU MBBS, February intake

limeuu
post Feb 6 2010, 01:46 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Kellyyhx @ Feb 6 2010, 01:29 AM)
And ya, IMU degree is worldwide recognize.
Not that certain universities are yet to register with MQA or edu board.

If you wants to save money, do locally.
You can choose to do your postgraduate overseas, which will be better than doing it in Malaysia. A lot of my seniors choosing this path. Graduate from IMU, then went to UK for specialization.
that is NOT correct.........

imu mbbs is only recognised in msia and sri lanka..........and nowhere else...........

you will have significant obstacles trying to get registered to work in uk, as your degree will not be recognised........and there is a current rule that disallow img (international medical graduates, or doctors who do not graduate from uk/eu) from undergoing specialist training in uk..............

why is pms undergraduate not an option?........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 6 2010, 01:47 AM
limeuu
post Feb 6 2010, 04:49 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Kellyyhx @ Feb 6 2010, 03:29 PM)
That is what IMU's counselor told me when i apply.
Their information is always wrong.

I've heard lots of parents complaint about their information upon application
don't blame the counselors. i do NOT think they will give such obviously wrong information.......the usual reason is a lack of understanding by applicants and parents..........and hearing the info you want to hear, instead of what is said..........

if you ask 'is it possible for my son/daughter to work overseas next time'.........the answer is 'yes'........and that's not wrong........

if you ask 'is it easy to get jobs overseas after graduation' then you will get a different answer.......

they will tell you 'there have been some graduates who have found jobs in the usa, and are undergoing specialist training there'........and you will think everybody can do that......but a searching additional question 'how many have done so, and what do they need to do to get jobs there' will bring forth the right answers..........

let me give you a real life example of misunderstanding........a friend called me, to ask me about imu, saying his son has been offered a place in imu medicine.........but that was in mid january, and i know all offers have made before christmas.......and he said he has no further news from imu........

i said, therefore it is likely the son has NOT been offered, and he replied 'but the counselor said there is offer and i even paid the fees already and we received no letter of rejection'.........well, the 'fees' was the application fees.........and when he called imu, he was told the son has not met the cutoff and there is NO offer........not even 2nd round..........

at the end of the day...............caveat emptor.........

Added on February 6, 2010, 4:52 pm
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Feb 6 2010, 04:36 PM)

AFAIK, anyone regardless of what degree you have including IMU's, you can go sit for the US USLME medical examination. If you pass, you can apply to work in US and I presume, specialization as well.
that is correct..........the us does NOT recognise any medical degree other than their own, and ALL foreigners (and us citizens) with other qualification will need to pass all 3 usmle steps to be eligible for jobs.............

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 6 2010, 04:52 PM
limeuu
post Feb 19 2010, 08:11 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Feb 19 2010, 08:06 PM)
As far as I am concerned, that I heard from my friend in IMU, the IMU degree is listed on a list published by WHO. With the degree on that list, your IMU degree MIGHT be able to allow you to work overseas, provided you met the requirement by the country you wish to work in.
Well, something like that...
that is incorrect...........who listing is of no consequence in most countries.........
limeuu
post Feb 19 2010, 11:07 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Feb 19 2010, 09:11 PM)
Hey, sorry I lost track of this thread cause it was quite cold.

Limeuu:
The difference between PMS graduate and Local could be vast, especially in the event I'm matched to ANU or Warwick. And I was quite daunted by the 'medical student tsunami' furor at Aus.

Yea, about the WHO list, I dont really see the accuracy in it as a benchmark if 'The Med School' from Russia is included in it...

it's just a list of med schools.........that's all.........means nothing at individual country level.......

anu/warick?...........so you are in the pms-graduate stream.......?
limeuu
post Feb 20 2010, 08:53 AM

12,291 posts

this intake will be the last batch on the old differential fees system..........from august, the fees for both phases will be the same.......the total fees for the local stream is still the same, phase 1 fees goes up rm5k/sem and phase 2 comes down rm5k/sem.........

but it means pms stream students will now need to pay rm25k more for the phase 1.........

subtle way for imu to increase their fees........the majority of students are in pms stream.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 20 2010, 08:54 AM
limeuu
post Feb 20 2010, 05:08 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Feb 20 2010, 04:35 PM)
Hey just want to ask, why is IMU's MBBS fees relatively much higher than other medical schools in Malaysia? Cause I've compared the 5+0 MBBS course with other unis. it seems to be about 100k more expensive than unis like AIMST, UCSI, UniKL RCMP, Mahsa, and UTAR. I mean why the need for such high cost? Is it cause of the facilities and equipments there are really good?

And another thing i want to enquire, the website for IMU says that the MBBS fees is 351k for the 5+0 programme right, but I'm sure there will be other additional fees not mention. Any IMU students in this forum? If you  dun mind can let me know the TOTAL cost fees for the MBBS @ IMU so that I may 'prepare' myself before applying for it? hehe.. thanks lotz
it's cheaper than monash msia, which is 400k.......

there is little extra you need to pay.........

of course, your living expenses are not included.............
limeuu
post Dec 7 2010, 08:36 PM

12,291 posts

the orientation week (usually actually 2 weeks) could be the best time of your stay in imu.........

0.0151sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:50 PM