cheez's no more skinny journal, still learning by 'feel', previously 5x5

TScheezzzz
post Feb 2 2010, 10:04 AM, updated 16y ago

610 posts

Hey guys, I've been going to gyms irregularly, working out but only failing to commit to my workout/diet plan. Only to realise that because I didn't have a log. So I'm starting one here, cuz I kinda frequent LYN. I've learnt a lot from LYN, not just health and fitness and I hope that maybe sharing my experience, skinny people like me don't have to waste time wandering and failing to commit to plans but get the best out of them instead. I'm just starting out but I definitely owe LYN a lot, so I hope to give back to LYN (some day, with results), the same way a lot of the experienced lifters here have shared their insight!

Body Type : Ectomorph (with endomorph tendencies, belly fat enveloping ab outlines)
Height : 180cm
Weight : 58kg
Body Fat : no idea, but according to BMI, it's 17.9 - UNDERWEIGHT.
Goals :
Hit 65kg before June 2010 with at least the outline of my used-to-be abs
Get stronger and lift heavier, increase in muscle mass
No longer look like skin n bones wit a tummy by end of this year.

31/3/10

7/6/10 - before stopping 5x5

15/8/10

At the moment I am starting out on Stronglifts.com's 5x5 strength training. Chose it because of its simplicity and because I complicate plans that have more isolation exercises instead of those incorporating compound movement. Today, until the end of this week (hopefully) or the next, my goal is to fix my form in the exercises involved ie squats, DL, inverted row etc.. It's not easy because I've never really done free weights, I used to do machines a lot. Anyways, I really appreciate any form of constructive criticism and comments! Thanks for even bothering to read this! biggrin.gif

Monday, 1/2/2010

0835 - My morning ritual of cup of fresh fruit juice (self made) and protein+meal replacement shake (25g of protein)
0920 - Wantan mee small. Barley kurang ais.
1200 - 2 slices of leftover pepperoni pizza. reheated.
1330 - A few slices of wholemeal bread to tank the hunger
1500 - Rice, spinach, bitter gourd scrambled eggs, kunyit fish
1730 - Preworkout - 2 water fryed eggs, spinach, a bit of wholemeal bread
2000 - Workout time!
2100 - Post workout - protein+meal replacement shake, red bean bun
2145 - Bak kut teh

Workout (did not follow the stronglifts plan exactly, big mistake - but I'll explain why)

Squats
Empty bar (20kg?) 5/5
Added 2.5kg each side, 25kg 5/5/5
(wanted to check my form under stress, and without stress)
Note: I only did partial squats, slightly under parallel to knee level. My back is not rounding, I extend my hips out to lower myself but I dont feel the muscles on hamstring and glutes contracting.. squatting not deep enough?

Bench Press
Empty bar (20kg?) 5/5
Smith Machine 5/5/5
(changed to smith, cuz I was worried my form was wrong)

Inverted Row
Could not find a place to do.. Not sure what to replace this with, but I did lat pull downs doh.gif

Push ups 8/8/6

Reverse Crunches (not really sure how to do, still learning)
Went with Decline crunches 12/12/12

Very bad way to start off the week. I think I'll actually seriously 100% stick to the plan after CNY, for now it's learning proper form. Please comment! Thanks!

PS: It's my first time working out at a ghetto gym, Iron Gym Fitness at Desa Setapak (v2 that row, above carrefour express) - felt very intimidated (hence the weird workout behaviour) and I don't have a gym partner. No excuses though, hope to get to know the people there more often. I cycle between Iron Fitness and Top Gym, both on the same row of shops.

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Aug 15 2010, 03:42 PM
yeah_guyz
post Feb 2 2010, 01:05 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

bench press
Stick to the free weight, no smitch machine. the form you learn from smitch machine doesnt transfer to freeweight.
Ken got a good info for this
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1150206/+1640#

i always train in iron gym, if you able to see me in the gym, just come and say hi, i am happy to guide you alil.
Majinity
post Feb 2 2010, 05:28 PM

792 posts

Warm-up? Stretching?

You and me, have the same goal by this June. Only mine is 48 to 55kg bodyweight. Good luck!
TScheezzzz
post Feb 2 2010, 10:03 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Feb 2 2010, 01:05 PM)
bench press
Stick to the free weight, no smitch machine. the form you learn from smitch machine doesnt transfer to freeweight.
Ken got a good info for this
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1150206/+1640#

i always train in iron gym, if you able to see me in the gym, just come and say hi, i am happy to guide you alil.
Yeah I read somewhere Ken doesnt support smith machine as it restricts and confines the body to a fixed movement n so forth.. I wanna learn, but it isnt easy tho hhaha.. still learning.
Ooo really?? sure! I will! what time do u usually go and workout? and how do u look like lol, i've never seen your picture xD

Majinity : oh yah forgot to write, it takes me 10+ minutes to walk up the gym from the LRT station.. my blood's already pumping before I enter the gym lolol Yeah good luck to u too! biggrin.gif Happy lifting!

Added on February 3, 2010, 9:22 pmDid not get enough rest the previous night, woke up and felt like puking everytime I ate something. Good thing is today's one of the better days where I actually did not feel the hunger/slight starvation at all. Got better around lunch time though, thank god.

Wednesday, 3rd February 2010

0710 - Morning ritual, cup of fruit juice, protein shake
0930 - Hong kong Chee cheong fun, prawn n char siu
1220 - Chicken rice, a loooong slice of papaya
1530 - Pre WO - Fistful of rice with 1/2 fist full of rendang chicken
1430 - Workout time!
1800 - Post WO - 3 half boiled eggs, 1 wantan mee, 1 glass soy bean milk
2010 - Rice, kunyit fish and some yau mat (yau choi, vegetables)
2100 - Actually starting to feel a bit hungry as I type this x.x

Today's workout was even worse. I actually went into a gym without a squat rack. Yeah, I didn't go to Iron Gym today, was at TopGym, same row, just go along the row, up the hill. lol doing stronglifts 5x5 where every workout consists of 5x5 squats and there wasnt even a rack. At least there was an empty bar for me to practice form. Thats what I plan to achieve by this week at least, to improve my form.

Squats 5x5
Empty bar 20kg
Note: This gym has more mirrors, was easier for me to see my back as i went down. Noticed i had issues going lower that parallel level, back starts to round. Any idea how to fix that? Also after 2 workout days, the area next to my traps (on my shoulder blades?) hurts when i touch it, basically where u rest the bar. Is that supposed to happen? x.x Maybe I even placed the bar wrongly lol

Overhead press 5x5
Barbell 2.0kg (i think) + 5.0kg = 7.0kg
Still working on form. Yet to put on the real weights.

Deadlift 1x5
Empty bar 20kg
Wrong grip.Form was quite bad also, not really sure how low to go. Ill get someone to video soon cuz it's really harrd to explain my poor form.

Chin-up 1x8
2 more sets I didn't manage to do, had ppl hogging the chin up bar area with the cables x.x

Prone bridges 3x30sec

I need a gym partner... sigh. No money for PT lol. Oh right, tummy calling. Gonna head for some oats and protein powder biggrin.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 7:54 pmToday's workout was better. Diet.. could be better. First time I did inverted rows cuz there was no one at the gym woot! otherwise those smith machine addicts would be starring at me using the bar just for a bodyweight exercise xD

Friday, 5th February 2010

0730 - Protein shake
0800 - Full cream milk 250ml w 1 gardenia bun
0930 - Fistful of rice/vege/small serving of chicken, 1/4 slice of a pineapple
1200 - Pre workout - 1 gardenia bun (rushing cuz gym might close at 1 for lunch)
1220 - Workout time!
1320 - Post workout - protein shake
1340 - 1/4-1/2 of a honeydew
1450 - Lunch - Pan mee with meatballs, soy bean milk
1800 - 1/2 slice of bread w protein + oats
1840 - Rest.FREAKING TIRED.
1945 - Dinner. Fistful of rice/vege/meat xD

Squats 30kg 5/5/5/5/5
First time adding more weight, after having practised form. Still working on it, not all the reps are done absolutely with proper form. Includes not full deep squats, but pushed for deep ones 2nd set onwards. Feeling the burn.

Bench Press 20kg 5/5/5/5/5
Getting a bit better but still not too sure on how to stabilize the bar. My forearms, shoulders feel the burn more than the chest does. Not good.

Inverted Rows 10/8/8
First time doing, not sure whether done correctly. Grip may be wrong, or I may not be entirely using my back. Felt the head leading first at times.

Push Ups 10/7/6

Reverse Crunches 12/12/12
Screw normal crunches! This actually hurts way more than regular ones do.. At my 8th rep on 1st I was already yelling cuz of d strain lolol

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Feb 9 2010, 09:09 AM
TScheezzzz
post Feb 9 2010, 09:08 AM

610 posts

Monday, 8th Feb 2010

0820 - Fruit juice, protein shake
0930 - 3 Half boiled eggs, 1 bread
1210 - Workout Time! (did not had pre WO cuz very full, bought potato bun just incase though)
1300 - Post WO, Protein Shake
1330 - Pan mee with shredded pork, pork meatball and fried dumpling, soy milk
1650 - 250ml HL milk with potato bun
2045 - Dinner, fistful rice/vege/fish. Chinese meal ate outside. Caused a diarrhoea though.. rest of the night sucked.

Diarrhoea aside. Workout was not too bad.

Squats 5/5/5/5/5
Weight : 32.5kg

Overhead Press 5/5/5/5/4
Weight : 20kg
Arms gave in at the last rep sad.gif

Deadlift 5
Weight : 30kg
Grip was wrong I think, supposed to 1 face in 1 face out right? x.x

Chinup (Negatives) 7/5/4

Prone Bridges 3x30sec

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Feb 11 2010, 07:40 PM
TScheezzzz
post Feb 11 2010, 07:41 PM

610 posts

Wednesday, 10th Feb 2010

0720 - OJ, Protein shake
0930 - Rice with mild vege curry with tofu and chicken in black sauce, fistful portions
1230 - Chicken rice with long beans
1415 - Workout time!
1545 - Post WO - Protein shake
1645 - 2-3 Half boiled eggs + Milk
1900 - Rice/vege/meat fistful servings each
2230 - Protein powder w oats

Workout today was bad. Only got about 5 hours of sleep, slept at 2. Big mistake #1. Which led to fatigue, even after doing hip warmups, glute activation and squat stretch, I could not do squats due to my hamstring pain. Still hurting from Monday's deadlifts. Attempted 1st set of 5 squats, lower back started to hurt at the last rep. Failed halfway through 2nd set.

Squats 5/2/x/x/x
Weight : 35kg

Bench Press 5/5/5/5/5
Weight : 30kg

Inverted Rows 8/7/7

Push-ups 10/9/7

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Feb 16 2010, 12:33 AM
TScheezzzz
post Feb 16 2010, 12:35 AM

610 posts

gong hei fatt choi! am actually just updating my log, forgot to do so the last session which was last friday. due to cny! anyways, i actually got to continue my workout today, cant rly rmb the diet so Ill just post up workouts!

Friday, 12th Feb 2010

Squats 5/-
Weight : 32.5kg
could not perform, DOMS x.x posture was just all wrong, also maybe cuz lack of rest x.x

Overhead Press 5/5/5/5/5
Weight : 22.5kg
Starting to love this exercise biggrin.gif

Deadlift 5
Weight : 35kg
Grip was wrong wth. Bak may have rounded witout me noticing x.x

Chinup (Negatives) 5/5/5

Prone Bridges 3x30sec

Monday, 15th Feb 2010

Now for the CNY workout that i did not expect.. seriously.

Front squats 5/5/5/5/5
Weight : 20kg on ez bar

Bench Press 5/5/5/5/5 Replaced with 5x5 power cleans (oops)

Inverted Rows 8/7/5

Push-ups 10/8/6

Reverse Crunch 12/12/12

YEAH biggrin.gif now gotta eat n sleep well.. toughest part of all haha..
TScheezzzz
post Feb 19 2010, 11:33 AM

610 posts

current stats, reminder as of 19 Feb 2010

Squats : 32.5kg
OHP : 22.5kg
BP : 30kg
DL : 35kg

gonna slow down on the increments on the DL..
Majinity
post Feb 21 2010, 10:37 PM

792 posts

Dude, why would you slow down DL increament? Lower back hurting kah?
TScheezzzz
post Feb 22 2010, 12:37 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Feb 21 2010, 10:37 PM)
Dude, why would you slow down DL increament? Lower back hurting kah?
lower back is fine actually, hamstrings suffered from real bad DOMS. need to rest more n use foam roll d haha.. thank God i was sick the past few days to give enough recovery time. Once im alright, im gonna hit the gym again, thats why I kept my stats as reminder haha. going slow on the DL increment to work on form haha, my form is ok but i always worry about it, and i have a bad habit of using non-mixed grip, both face in, instead of 1 in 1 out haha. not good.

also considering front squat or overhead squats over back squats cuz i have a tendency to lean forward when i squat.
TScheezzzz
post Feb 25 2010, 12:06 AM

610 posts

just recovered from a fever.. no appetite.. diet is a mess.. feeling extremely lethargic.

pray ill recover and get back in shape to hit the bars.. i miss lifting sad.gif
Majinity
post Feb 25 2010, 11:30 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Feb 25 2010, 12:06 AM)
just recovered from a fever.. no appetite.. diet is a mess.. feeling extremely lethargic.

pray ill recover and get back in shape to hit the bars.. i miss lifting sad.gif
I know how you feel. I had to rest for 2weeks myself. You'll feel alot better to get your rest fully. nod.gif
TScheezzzz
post Feb 26 2010, 07:00 PM

610 posts

IM BACK. maybe not bigger or stronger, but at least recovered. Today's logg!

1100 - overslept.good sleep tho. had 3-5 medium sized pancakes.
1230 - pancaking snacking, 1-2 to tahan till i had lunch
1420 - lunch/pre WO - rice,vege,chicken.2:1:1 ratio
1610 - WORKOUT TIME
1720 - post WO protein shake
1830 - post WO small meal, almost 2 fistful rice + a few potato (hungry n took d leftovers of lunch)
1910 - dinnerr which should be rice/vege/chicken 2:1:1
supper should be slice of cheese wit oats, or a shake.

thank God for fixing me up, hitting the gym has never felt better!

Front Squats 30kg 5x5
Will post up the video soon, wana ask u guys if my form is alright..

Overhead Press 25kg 5/4/4/3/3
Its starting to stall..

Deadlift 40kg 1x5
Got the video too! need to ask u guys if form is alright too..

Pull-up negatives 5/5/5

Prone bridges 3x30sec

pls comment on my form! thankss!

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Feb 26 2010, 07:12 PM
Majinity
post Feb 26 2010, 08:27 PM

792 posts

I'm no expert. But, your squat is good only don't lock your knee at start and end. As for DL, good back arch not rounding at all, although for me it best if you let it touch the ground after continuing for the next rep.

Ahh I still very shy to ask someone video my form ><
TScheezzzz
post Feb 26 2010, 10:45 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Feb 26 2010, 08:27 PM)
I'm no expert. But, your squat is good only don't lock your knee at start and end. As for DL, good back arch not rounding at all, although for me it best if you let it touch the ground after continuing for the next rep.

Ahh I still very shy to ask someone video my form ><
hahah I got my dad to video my form, went to the gym at the club he attends. Thanks for your kind comment.. working on not locking though. I feel DOMS is gonna haunt me for the next few days.. time to research trigger point recovery hehe
TScheezzzz
post Feb 27 2010, 11:23 PM

610 posts

bloody DOMS.. hope i recover in time for monday's WO. a bit on today's diet.

0850 - protein shake
0920to1000 or so - snacking on mandarin orange and an egg while waiting for bfast
1040 or so - satay,bit of rice..food at PKR cny open house
kept eating bit by bit till 1300-1400
1415 - lunch,fish/rice/vege 2:1:1
1530 - cny titbits.. lou sang,chicken floss etc.
1825 - Snack - 1 n 1/4 homemade ramly burger
1920 - Dinner chicken and also egg/rice/vege 211 ratio again
2240 - 1/2 bowl yoghurt + orange

may eat a slice of cheese if still hungry. or drink a cuppa milk.
TScheezzzz
post Feb 28 2010, 10:50 PM

610 posts

did a bit of foam rolling today, legs don't hurt so much already. stretching is important! something I tend to forget haha.. not going to anymore.anyways rough log of today's diet

0920 - protein shake
1000 - pan mee dry
1400 - was freaking stuffed, lunch was rice/fish/vege 211 ratio
1700 - 1 medium sized bowl of oats w bits of a pao
1910 - dinner was rice/fish/vege 211 again
2230 - leftover oats, 3/4 bowl of yoghurt w a banana

hope i get enough rest tonight so I can lift again tomoro! biggrin.gif
TScheezzzz
post Mar 1 2010, 11:34 PM

610 posts

managed to workout.. foam rolling rocks!

0900 - protein shake
1045 - pre WO bowll of oats
1215 - banana right before WO
1330 - post WO shake, few red bean buns
1445 - 2 slice of pizzas,salad
did not eat cuz lunch was a killer, felt damn full.
2200 - nasi lemak ayam

hate today's diet.

anyways, workouttt.

regular squats 35kg 5x5

bench press 32.5kg 5/5/-/-/-
I failed, left side of the bar landed on me as my arms gave in

Inverted rows 8/7/8
I think Im doing this wrong.. i dont feel the burn on the lats like I do with chin ups n pull ups, anyone got videos on this? apart from defranco's.

Push-ups 10/8/7

Reverse Crunches 3x12

Not the best workout. Actually one of my worst..

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Mar 2 2010, 07:20 AM
TScheezzzz
post Mar 3 2010, 09:49 PM

610 posts

THIS IS WHY YOU SHOULD ALWAYS POST YOUR LATEST STATS ON A REAL LOG U CARRY AROUND.

SO U DONT MESS YOUR WORKOUT LIKE I DID TODAY.

breakfast - shake + 1 pau
lunch - fried rice with chicken n 1 egg
workout!
post WO - shake + rice/chicken/vege 211
dinner - rice/chicken/vege 211
supper - small bowl yoghurt with whatever fruit i can find

squats
35kg x 4
37.5kg x 1 yes this is when i realised i was not lifiting enough

ohp
25kg 5x5 (is the overhead press suppose to feel like a military press, except standing up?)

deadlift
45kg 1x5
note: it IS harder with the bar 20cm from the ground and close to your shin.. i felt my forearms working. not good. gonna challenge this again, if fail, gotta challenge 42.5kg DL. WITH PROPER HEIGHT FROM THE GROUND.

chin ups negatives 9/7/6

prone bridges 3x30 sec

i may need to re evaluate my form.again.

Added on March 3, 2010, 9:50 pmsquats 37.5kg
deadlift 40kg
ohp 25kg
bench 30kg

as of today 3/3/10

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Mar 3 2010, 09:50 PM
TScheezzzz
post Mar 6 2010, 10:05 PM

610 posts

march 5th 2010

breakfast - shake
late breakfast-snack - chicken rice
lunch - rice,bit of fish, bit of mango kerabu, thai food basically
that was my pre WO lol.
post WO right after WO - shake
post WO after shower - bit of pineapple fried rice, two half boiled eggs
dinner - rice,pork,vege 211
supper - yoghurt small bowl

Workout was pretty okay, a bit demanding cuz I was rather tired. but quite good la. Replaced bench press with negative dips. I reckon I did something wrong there. neways.

Squats 37.5kg 5x5

Dips (negatives) 6/5/6/5/5

Inverted Rows 8/9/7

Push ups 8/6/6 (dips killed me)

Reverse Crunches 3x12

Can dips be used to replace bench press? Ive been doing a lot of research on this, lotta ppl stopped benching since they did dips. But then again I still can't really do them. I only swapped cuz the bench was occupied sad.gif
Majinity
post Mar 7 2010, 02:34 PM

792 posts

Bro, what about the DL on bar should be 20cm off the ground thing?
TScheezzzz
post Mar 7 2010, 03:08 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Mar 7 2010, 02:34 PM)
Bro, what about the DL on bar should be 20cm off the ground thing?
yeah it sud b 20cm off the ground, which is the radius of the 20kg plate. i cant possibly do 20+20 +20(empty bar) just yet hahaha thats friggin 60kg DL man, now 45 oso stall d hahha..

from stronglifts forum, where some dude commented on my form as well..

Deadlift -- overall pretty good. However, until you're using 20kg plates, stack something under the plates (e.g. other plates on their side) so that the bar is about 20cm off the ground. Next, ensure the bar is a little closer to your shins at the start. You want the bar to be roughly over the middle of your foot. Third thing: avoid the mixed grip unless you must use it to complete the lift. Using a double overhand grip will help work your grip strength. Last thing, if you can train barefoot or in flat soled shoes, you'd be better off.

Squat-- overall I thought it looked good. The bar seemed to be over your center of gravity, you kept a pround chest and a good back arch. As with the deadlift, you may want to try barefoot if the gym allows it, or else something other than cushioned running shoes.
TScheezzzz
post Mar 7 2010, 03:40 PM

610 posts

PRE-WO STRETCH BEFORE SQUATS. IMPORTANT.

Hip Abduction

and

Glute Stretch

this glute stretch alone can make me hurt like mad.. damn.. my glutes are freaking weak.or maybe just dormant for too long.

and hamstring stretches done before deadlifts..

Standing Hamstring Stretch

Added on March 10, 2010, 6:29 pmtoday's workout was awesome. learnt lotta things from kege, another lyn forumer haha. been training for a month so far, following stronglifts 5x5, having some flesh growing, instead of just being stick and bones. However overlooked a really important factor.

8. You train with the intensity of a arthritic old lady.

I honestly think I do. people finish their last rep with forced reps, like they're dying or something.. I just survive my workout.. clearly not pushing myself. I didn't push so much before this to learn the form.. now that form has improved, time to push for more. A LOT more. Anyways today's WO

Squats 5x5 42.5kg
(apparently if I can do more than 6-8 reps, that's too light, and I actually could if I want to.)

Bench Press
Empty bar x 6-8
32.5kg x 2
40kg x 3

Inverted Rows (along with Lat Pulldowns)
8/6/6
60lbs x 3 (done till failure, around 6 reps average)

Push ups 10/8/8

Reverse Crunches 3x12

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Mar 10 2010, 06:29 PM
TScheezzzz
post Mar 18 2010, 11:04 AM

610 posts

taking a break from working out for now, piled with assignments and tests.

scheduled to kick back on either 26/3 or 29/3

did a bit of exercise yesterday cuz I felt really stiff.

a few good mornings

1 x F Air Squat
3 x F Push-ups 10/10/10

TScheezzzz
post Mar 26 2010, 04:05 PM

610 posts

Ahhh feels so good to hit the bar again!
was one of my better workouts inawhile.pushed harder,eating a bit better and hope to get better rest tonite.oh only prob today was I shouldve had a bigger pre WO meal..neways any advice on my diet n workout?

Todays food and workout log..

Breakfast - 2 apple blend w 1 scp protein n 1 scp milo, 3 eggs, 1 big pc wholemeal bread w peanut butter
Snack/pre WO - 100g beef,minced,stir fried, 250ml milk
Post WO/Lunch - bit of rice w bit of vege, 2 eggs, 100g beef again
Snack - fruits (honeydew today),250ml milk
Dinner - fruits or vege, with 100g meat,250ml milk
Supper - 250ml milk with fruits or vege (if gotla)

Using a calorie calculator I need an estimate of 2600 kcals to put on weight.with the this diet above..is that even 2600??

Workout log!

Squats
Empty bar 20kg x 5
40kg x 5
45kg x 5
50kg x 5 x3

Overhead Press
Empty bar 20kg x 5
25kg x 5
27.5kg x 5
30kg x 5 x3
(Started to stall when using 30kg,time to use 27.5 again and lift at a moderate speed and better form)

Deadlift
40kg x 5
45kg x 5
- feel my form is poor, as tho I'm lifting but not burning my hams enough.isn't deadlift supposed to leave you dead or at least almost,when you're finishing your last rep?any advice on DLs anyone?

Pull ups
15 kip/momentum quarter way pull ups (all d way is full ma,quarter is 1/4 haha)
9 negatives
6 negatives
3 negatives

That's about it for today,any advice guys? Lifting is all about form,hope to improve my form b learning from d pros here! biggrin.gif
Majinity
post Mar 26 2010, 04:17 PM

792 posts

I'm sure you can push DL further. My squat is at 42.5 and DL is at 65. Feels great and lower back sore the next day. You can do it
TScheezzzz
post Mar 26 2010, 07:17 PM

610 posts

hmm.. ill try to push harder.. im just worried about form.. so basically as long as my back doesnt round and the setup is all ok, and i lift like i want do a pelvic thrust, driving my heels into the ground - should be ok? ill try to push for heavier hehehe

Majinity: bro! push your squat too haha! thanks for motivating me to push more, u should to on your squats, if it doesnt hurt your glutes.. its too light! i realised i have to put heavier weights to feel it on my glutes. u can try it biggrin.gif remember to do glute activation before squatting!
Majinity
post Mar 26 2010, 07:50 PM

792 posts

Yep should be fine. Lol, to me if my lower back hurting then my form sux that day. There's darklight's video of DL in his youtube, here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZT_4YL_Ays , you can see how he do it. I haven't video my form check, so I can't say mine is good.

The squat, I don't dare to push more weight when on my 3rd rep I hardly can go back up. Or when I feel like I'm leaning forward. (doing back squat btw). Last time I tried for more weight, a friend who once did SS say to me "your weight is too heavy, your form seems not good". I deload and do the next set, and he smiled to the form.
TScheezzzz
post Mar 27 2010, 10:42 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Mar 26 2010, 07:50 PM)
Yep should be fine. Lol, to me if my lower back hurting then my form sux that day. There's darklight's video of DL in his youtube, here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZT_4YL_Ays , you can see how he do it. I haven't video my form check, so I can't say mine is good.

The squat, I don't dare to push more weight when on my 3rd rep I hardly can go back up. Or when I feel like I'm leaning forward. (doing back squat btw). Last time I tried for more weight, a friend who once did SS say to me "your weight is too heavy, your form seems not good". I deload and do the next set, and he smiled to the form.
bro I used to lean forward too, now I'm more stable. few ways you can overcome this issue. try front squats, either oly bar or barbell. I really prefer front squats and i would change to them once my shoulders n collar bone have more flesh.if not it hurts haha. I learnt to go down with the bar without leaning forward with an old school weighted smith machine, the bar itself is already 40kg LOL. that really burnt my glutes, felt like it was squeezing the crap outta me. but it was good, now on the oly bar I go down properly, well at least my form improved abit.
TScheezzzz
post Mar 28 2010, 07:55 PM

610 posts

1,5,10,15 rep max calculator

absolutely essential for anyone doing a 5x5 programme.
TScheezzzz
post Mar 29 2010, 08:50 PM

610 posts

Bfast - 3 scp protein, shake w 250ml milk, egg mcmuffin
Snack - 1 fried popiah 1 kuih w coconut inside (uni field trip)
Lunch/Pre WO - Bit of rice w some steamed fish, bit of tofu and vege
Snack/Post WO - Chicken rice breast meat, 500ml milk
Dinner - 3/4 plate 3 diff veges, 1/4 plate (100g more like it) beef, 250ml milk
Supper - Banana, 250 ml milk

Squats
5 x 5 55kg
(YEAH SQUAT 1x MY BW SOON! biggrin.gif)

Bench press
1 x 4 40kg
1 x 3 40 kg
1 x 5 x 3 37.5kg
(I could only do 40 with a spotter, and this is the first time benching since my break, maybe not back in shape yet.)

Inverted Rows
1 x 8
1 x 8
1 x 6
Majinity
post Mar 29 2010, 08:53 PM

792 posts

I'm jealous looking at your squats.
TScheezzzz
post Mar 29 2010, 09:26 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Mar 29 2010, 08:53 PM)
I'm jealous looking at your squats.
bro use the calculator i posted, first do do one relatively heavy set of squats, for me its about 50kg. so i calculate i could do about roughly 50kg x 8-10 reps, make sure u push. cuz this data will determine whats ur 5RM, then input the details.. tadaaa u get ur 5RM! i was lifting with no guidance whatsoever to get my 5RM, now at least i have a 5RM, got new PR to look forward to haha.of course that means more stalling, but itll be great to overcome the plateau!

bro ull get there! im jealous of ur DLs too ahhaha. keep lifting!

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Mar 29 2010, 09:32 PM
TScheezzzz
post Mar 31 2010, 08:28 PM

610 posts

breakfast - 3 eggs,2 apples blended with 1scp soy protein
snack - 2 eggs,toast bread w kaya butter
lunch/pre WO - pan mee @ kin kin KL with lots of small meatballs,bit of leafy vege
post WO - chicken rice, 250ml milk
snack - 250ml milk
dinner - longbeans,bit of spinach,beef n fish about 100g-ish in total,small slice tofu,250ml milk
supper -250ml milk with any fruit i can find

WOD 31/3/10 Wednesday

Squats
1 x 5 20kg Empty Bar
1 x 5 60kg
1 x 4 60kg
2 x 5 60kg
1 x 4 60kg

Majinity now I know what you mean by leaning forward LOL. Gonna challenge again on Fri!

Overhead Press
1 x 5 20kg Empty Bar
1 x 5 27.5kg
1 x 4 27.5kg
1 x 3 27.5kg
2 x 5 27.5kg

Not a good set. Not at all.. trying to breathe properly messed my lift, but it got better during last two sets as I learnt to rest the bar on my front shoulders before another rep.

Deadlifts
1 x 5 20kg Empty Bar
1 x 5 40kg
1 x 5 50kg
1 x 4 60kg

Friggin mad. Not successful with the 1 x 5 for 60kg, gotta try again next WO.

Chin Up/Pull Up (replaced with lat pulldown)
1 x 10 The weight before 64 lbs
1 x 8 64lbs
1 x 4 77.5lbs
1 x 7 64lbs

Last reps for squats felt like shitting brix. Gonna challenge 64lbs lat pulldown till i can get 10-12 reps x 3, then keep increasing weight gradually till > my BW, and attempt chin up/pull up! (cuz I can only do negatives so far sad.gif)
TScheezzzz
post Mar 31 2010, 09:31 PM

610 posts

Eccentric! Increase Strength!

A fellow LYN forumer Desvaro explaining Eccentrics. Freaking good read. Explains why I'm starting to stall.. Considering decreasing a bit of the weights, especially on the DLs to stop stalling. My hamstrings are not really flexible tbh. and they're lagging behind compared to the growth of my other parts of the body
Desvaro
post Mar 31 2010, 11:11 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Mar 31 2010, 09:31 PM)
Eccentric! Increase Strength!

A fellow LYN forumer Desvaro explaining Eccentrics. Freaking good read. Explains why I'm starting to stall.. Considering decreasing a bit of the weights, especially on the DLs to stop stalling. My hamstrings are not really flexible tbh. and they're lagging behind compared to the growth of my other parts of the body
Hey, glad to know what I wrote was of help to you.

Anyway, ditch your lat pulldowns, just keep doing negative chin ups, lat pulldowns will not help you much in doing chinups and pullups.

Your deadlift should be higher than your squat, just saying. I know you train deadlifts at the end, so that might be a factor, But eventually, you should aim to have a DL higher than Squat. If your squat is 1.5 BW, your DL should be around 2.0 BW.

I don't think you should incorporate eccentrics into your Stronglifts 5x5 just yet. Just keep pushing yourself until you stall on a majority of your lifts (which can happen soon), and then change things up.

This post has been edited by Desvaro: Mar 31 2010, 11:22 PM
Majinity
post Mar 31 2010, 11:12 PM

792 posts

Okay now you making me more jealous. Great DL man! Btw, the breathing while pressing, I have that too sometimes. Very frustrating. And yes, doing it slower let you have the chance to get the breathing more proper.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 1 2010, 09:39 AM

610 posts

Desvaro: It sure did bro, very informative. I can totally relate to gaining strength using essentrics as I used to do negatives until yesterday. And I could do 64lbs on the pulldown, which is a lot compared to what I could do before I started Stronglifts! Yep I won't be doing eccentrics until I stall pretty bad for like a week or so.Thanks for the advice!

Majinity: broo u have pretty great lifts too ok! my DL was freaking shaky and yes it killed my lower back. But the 50kg lift killed my back more than the 60kg lift though. Oh I took Mehdi's advice on Stronglifts, to breathe at the top of your lift so you can bounce back immediately for another rep once you hit the bottom. Resting the bar on your front shoulders also help.
yeah_guyz
post Apr 1 2010, 10:37 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 1 2010, 09:39 AM)
Desvaro: It sure did bro, very informative. I can totally relate to gaining strength using essentrics as I used to do negatives until yesterday. And I could do 64lbs on the pulldown, which is a lot compared to what I could do before I started Stronglifts! Yep I won't be doing eccentrics until I stall pretty bad for like a week or so.Thanks for the advice!

Majinity: broo u have pretty great lifts too ok! my DL was freaking shaky and yes it killed my lower back. But the 50kg lift killed my back more than the 60kg lift though. Oh I took Mehdi's advice on Stronglifts, to breathe at the top of your lift  so you can bounce back immediately for another rep once you hit the bottom. Resting the bar on your front shoulders also help.
what happen to me is whenever i finish my heavy squat. my lower back already tired. and it is real hard to perform deadlift. that why the program only have 1 set of mainset for deadllift, but trust me,do a static stretch between set do wonder to your workout
TScheezzzz
post Apr 2 2010, 03:41 PM

610 posts

yeah_guyz: ooh. I googled static stretch. found a few and yeah I must say, after the stretch you'll feel ready to kill the next set!

breakfast - 3 eggs,2 apple blend with 1 scp soy protein, corn
snack/pre WO - corn, 100g beef, 250ml milk
lunch/pre WO - rice,vege,250ml milk,100g beef,2 eggs
snack - some meat. 250ml milk
dinner - meat again, with variety of vege, 250ml milk
supper - 250ml milk

milk is starting to be expensive.. anyone know of milk suppliers? wholesale? GOMAD soon, which I'll need 2L of milk everyday nx week, 3L d following and 4L MAX.Until I hit 75-80kg.

WOD Fri, 2/4/10

20kg = Empty Oly Bar

Squats
1 x 5 20kg
1 x 5 40kg
3 x 5 60kg
1 x 3 60kg
1 x 5 60kg

DAMN I COULDVE PROGRESSED TO MY NEXT WEIGHT. remember to rest enough and STATIC STRETCH, then kill the set. or else you fail and fall to the floor. first falling experience in squatting hahah

Bench Press
1 x 5 20kg
1 x 5 25kg
1 x 5 30kg
1 x 5 35kg
5 x 5 40kg

I hope I didnt do too much...Was worried I couldn't settle 40kg x.x

Inverted Rows
1 x 9 BW
1 x 8 BW
1 x 6 BW

Push-ups
1 x 12
1 x 9
1 x 8

TScheezzzz
post Apr 5 2010, 09:04 PM

610 posts

wth diet today.not the best of days.. shouldnt have lingered at frens place to play the wii..delayed meal time and WO.. only have myself to blame sad.gif

breakfast - 2 apple blend w 1 scp soy protein, 3 eggs
snack - 300ml milk
lunch/uber fail too early pre WO - mcChicken lunch set, and a red bean bun, 300ml milk
late post WO (near dinner time) - corn,100g or so of beef, remainder of my 1L milk, small pack nasi lemak
dinner - tofu,corn,vege,250ml milk
supper - 250ml milk

not good at all.. WO oso not that good, cuz started workout almost 2hrs after lunch... the fuel oso disappear dono go where d ._.

WOD 5/4/10, Monday

Squats

1 x 6 Empty Bar (20kg)
1 x 5 30kg
1 x 3 50kg
5 x 5 62.5kg

Overhead Press

1 x 5 Empty Bar (20kg)
3 x 5 30kg

Deadlift

1 x 5 Empty Bar (20kg)
1 x 5 40kg
1 x 5 60kg

Chin-up (negatives)

1 x 9 x BW
1 x 9 x BW
1 x 6 x BW

It wasnt really a good WO as I was rushing for time, did only 3 sets instead of my usual 5 for the press. I feel stronger now than when I first started stronglifts, can do more negatives and I dont just fall straight down to the hanging position when doing it haha.

Question tho.. am I doing the deadlift correctly if I feel I almost cant put the weight down properly after I lift it? Ive heard its a full body exercise but I hope I'm not hurting my back or anything by not being able to deload steadily. Thanks for any advice guys! biggrin.gif
TScheezzzz
post Apr 8 2010, 12:29 PM

610 posts

quick workout at the park

Chin-up negatives
1 x 12 x BW
1 x 10 x BW
1 x 8 x BW

Box jumps
1 x 8 x BW
1 x 8 x BW
1 x 6 x BW

did not exactly put a box but I descend slowly to a regular squat position holding that position and 'frog jump' onto a higher platform. may not be doing it right..but even so my quads are burning... mebe sud have jumped from ATG squat position.. any suggestions?

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 12 2010, 07:01 PM
TScheezzzz
post Apr 14 2010, 06:33 PM

610 posts

back on the bar again yayy!

bfast - usual apple blend soy protein, 3 eggs
lunch/pre WO - chicken rice
post WO - chicken rice, almost 500ml of milk
dinner - oats w pao n vege n meat, the leftover of my 1L milk
supper - 250ml milk

WOD - Wed, 14/4/10

Squats

1 x 5 20kg Empty Bar
1 x 3 40kg
1 x 2 60kg
5 x 5 65kg

Bench Press

1 x 5 20kg Empty Bar
1 x 3 30kg
1 x 2 40kg
5 x 5 42.5kg

Inverted Rows

1 x 7 x BW
1 x 8 x Bw
1 x 6 x BW

First workout after a week's break. Squats dont seem to be hitting the glutes and hams sad.gif Maybe I can only tell from tomoro's DOMS. Took out push ups and reverse crunches cuz rushing for time. I realised I spend slightly more than an hour on my workout days, not good as exams are drawing near, time is crucial.

At the moment contemplating a 3 day split workout, revolving around compound movements, should b chest/triceps,back/biceps and shoulders/traps/legs - mainly to save time but still hit all my body parts.Any comments? or suggestions? Really appreciate any!! thanks!
Majinity
post Apr 14 2010, 07:38 PM

792 posts

65kgs on Squat. I'm far behind.

As for going for bodyparts exercise, how long have you been doing 5x5 ? If its already 3months then yes, you should. You can try look for the members workout to try first. All the best.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 14 2010, 08:09 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Apr 14 2010, 07:38 PM)
65kgs on Squat. I'm far behind.

As for going for bodyparts exercise, how long have you been doing 5x5 ? If its already 3months then yes, you should. You can try look for the members workout to try first. All the best.
bro u can do it too! im already stalling, in a way. my form for 65kg is quite bad. may want to reassess my form.

not 3 mths yet haha.i guess im sort of into my 2nd month, almost halfway. will stick to it until exams which is end of this month. LOL. see how it goes. if i stall for these 2 weeks in most of my exercises I may just switch to bodypart split.

members workout? thanks bro!
yeah_guyz
post Apr 14 2010, 10:06 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

brother, you train at which gym at wangsa maju? may be we can meet up one day at Iron Gym biggrin.gif
TScheezzzz
post Apr 14 2010, 11:39 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Apr 14 2010, 10:06 PM)
brother, you train at which gym at wangsa maju? may be we can meet up one day at Iron Gym biggrin.gif
same gym as u la broooo hahahahha!
lemme know when, but i usually workout at really odd hours.. which is not at night haha.. u workout at night rite?

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 20 2010, 10:39 AM
TScheezzzz
post Apr 20 2010, 10:42 AM

610 posts

WOD 19/4/10 - monday

Squats
1 x 5 x 20kg empty bar
1 x 3 x 40kg
1 x 3 x 60kg
5 x 5 x 67.5kg

Overhead Press
1 x 5 x 20kg empty bar
1 x 3 x 25kg
1 x 3 x 30kg
1 x 5 x 32.5kg
1 x 4,1x3,1x2,1x1 basically failing

Deadlift
1 x 5 x 20kg empty bar
1 x 5 x 40kg
1 x 3 x 60kg failing x.x

Pull up negatives
3 x F (about 6-10 reps per set)

Not the best wod..for sum reason my inner quads r burning like mad,outer not so much.also deadlifts did not get a good foot stance to drive entire foot n heel down to push all the way up when lifting x.x
TScheezzzz
post Apr 21 2010, 09:41 PM

610 posts

WOD 21/4/10 - Wednesday

Squats
1 x 5 x 20kg empty bar
1 x 3 x 40kg
1 x 3 x 60kg
3 x 5 x 70kg
1 x 4 x 70kg *stopped here due to joint pain at tailbone sad.gif

Bench press
1 x 5 x 20kg empty bar
1 x 3 x 30kg
1 x 3 x 40kg
2 x 5 x 45kg
1 x 3 x 45kg
1 x 5 x 45kg
1 x F x 45kg *no strength to push the bar d

Inverted rows (smith machine adjusted)
1 x 8 x slot 11
1 x 10 x slot 11
1 x 6 x slot 9

Joint pain at tailbone sad.gif first joint injury from squatting >< any advice guys? Also, I seem to be able to unrack the bar properly sometimes, thats why I get my full sets, but there are times where I don't finish my set or I simply fail cuz I dont unrack properly and get really unstable during the lift. any advice on benching and unracking it properly?

Thanks!
TScheezzzz
post Apr 24 2010, 12:33 PM

610 posts

currently form checking for my squat due to the tailbone lower back injury.. in the mean time. reverting to a 3 day split programme. i will attempt to follow my stronglifts routine, will only use the 3 day split if pain persists. Look something like this.

Chest/Bi
Bench Press (Flat,Decline,Incline)
Chest dip/barbell curls/push ups
Hammer Curls

Back/Tri
Pull-ups
Hammer chins/chin ups
Inverted rows
Bench dip
Prone bridges

Shoulders/Legs
Military/Overhead Press
Upright Row
Lateral Raise
Leg Press
Leg Curl
Calf Raise

I wanted to split them into 3 days initially, with 3 main comp exercises - bench,deadlift,squat. But the DL and squat involves my injured part. see how this goes for now. Did shoulders/legs ytd and it was pretty taxing esp on my quads, mayb cuz was involving my quads more than my hams during leg curl.
yeah_guyz
post Apr 24 2010, 12:47 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 24 2010, 12:33 PM)
currently form checking for my squat due to the tailbone lower back injury.. in the mean time. reverting to a 3 day split programme. i will attempt to follow my stronglifts routine, will only use the 3 day split if pain persists. Look something like this.
Chest/Bi
Bench Press (Flat,Decline,Incline)
Chest dip/barbell curls/push ups
Hammer Curls

Back/Tri
Pull-ups
Hammer chins/chin ups
Inverted rows
Bench dip
Prone bridges

Shoulders/Legs
Military/Overhead Press
Upright Row
Lateral Raise
Leg Press
Leg Curl
Calf Raise

I wanted to split them into 3 days initially, with 3 main comp exercises - bench,deadlift,squat. But the DL and squat involves my injured part. see how this goes for now. Did shoulders/legs ytd and it was pretty taxing esp on my quads, mayb cuz was involving my quads more than my hams during leg curl.
do the seated overhead press better.

The best is rest for a week. give urself a break.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 24 2010, 02:16 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Apr 24 2010, 12:47 PM)
do the seated overhead press better.

The best is rest for a week. give urself a break.
hahah ill be taking the rest very soon already. exams that week is 1 week without gym. but until then I do what I can. sticking to a 3 day split for now. not going to complicate things, the exercises I wrote abit too much actually.

will proly do about 4-6 exercises per session, warm up and start with 8-10 rep max weight, slowly descending weight across sets. about 4 sets.

Majinity
post Apr 24 2010, 02:27 PM

792 posts

decreasing weights across sets are better? and why dont you do abs?

sad, i hav to stop for exams, 2weeks. althou i tot of going this week, but fell sick. thus total it will b 3weeks no gym. shyt
likimikuku
post Apr 24 2010, 03:09 PM

564 posts

Dude..

Have a good 1 week rest, it might a good gain actually.
Take care and good luck on your exam biggrin.gif
swks26
post Apr 25 2010, 10:33 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

Hey Chezz, I'm pretty much like you when I started.
Tall and very skinny. 182cm and 60kg when I started.
When did you start bodybuilding, if I may ask? smile.gif
TScheezzzz
post Apr 25 2010, 11:18 AM

610 posts

majinity: pushing with the max weight immediately on the first heavy set, dropping weight gradually as set progresses. OR dropping weight if I cant get my full 8-10 reps. my hams killing me today, calves ytd ><

likimikuku: thx bro.. i will take a chill pill.

swks26: to be honest I have been reading n trying things n failing as well for almost a year already. but recently about almost 2 months ago only I started doing stronglifts. 1 month + consistent, 3-4 weeks taking breaks. u used to be there too? whatabout now?
swks26
post Apr 25 2010, 11:27 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

I'm 70kgs now. Definitely looking better and fitting into clothes better too! I started off as a newbie like last July.
I'm hoping to hit 80/85kg by the end of the year (if that's possible).

The part where I want most growth would be my chest actually. I have had like what my friends laugh about 'inverted chest'. Chest like worst than a waterboard laugh.gif But it's definitely grow on the upper pecs. The lower pecs of mine has no line to define it. Massive work needed there.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 25 2010, 11:35 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Apr 25 2010, 11:27 AM)
I'm 70kgs now. Definitely looking better and fitting into clothes better too! I started off as a newbie like last July.
I'm hoping to hit 80/85kg by the end of the year (if that's possible).

The part where I want most growth would be my chest actually. I have had like what my friends laugh about 'inverted chest'. Chest like worst than a waterboard laugh.gif But it's definitely grow on the upper pecs. The lower pecs of mine has no line to define it. Massive work needed there.
wah! good gains bro! sure can la! whats your diet like? and your routine?? hahah nola im sure ur gains are pretty good too! 10kg gain in less than a year is pretty solid btw! thats like 1-2kg gain per mth biggrin.gif
TScheezzzz
post Apr 26 2010, 05:19 PM

610 posts

bfast - 3 eggs + soy protein
snack/pre WO - slice of bread and 250ml milk
post WO - soy protein + milk shake
lunch - beef noodles
snack - 250ml milk and probably 2 eggs
dinner - beef stew with vege and bread/rice (hopefully 250ml milk again)
supper - 250ml milk

WOD - Monday, 26/4/10

Trying out new workout plan.. here goes nothing!

Bench Press, flat (warmup DB, heavy sets BB)
1 x 15 10kg
1 x 15 20kg warm up ends here
1 x 10 35kg
1 x 8 37.5kg
1 x 8 40kg
1 x 6 40kg

Basically had dis big dood push me to go for 40kgs (partially cuz he wanted to warm up with 40kg ._.) it was friggin pain I didnt really feel the chest muscles contract towards the last 2 sets >< instead my shoulder started to hurt. probably didnt warm up properly.. wanted to attempt DB bench but DBs were too heavy lol.

Bench Press, incline (smith machine)
1 x 15 empty
1 x 12 10kg
1 x 12 15kg warm up ends here
1 x 10 20kg
1 x 8 22.5kg
1 x 8 20kg
1 x F forgot the weight (supersetted)

incline wasnt good esp with my shoulder hurting through out making the lifts harder

DB Flys
3 x 10+ 5kg per arm

wanted to do pushups but chest-shoulder area burnt out i just dropped lol.

Bicep Curl (barbell)
1 x 15 empty
1 x 12 5kg
3 x 8 10kg
(supersetted last lift with 4kg DBs, hammer curls)

Reverse Crunches
3 x 15

Today is chest/bi/abs day. Doesnt feel as taxing as my previous 5x5.. but I hope I'm getting the most out of my lifts, they dont kill me and make me feel 'sleepy' as I am on the 5x5 but I dont know if thats a good thing. Trained today and now gotta rest and eat alot. Any advice or comments guys? I'm sure theres a lot of fine tuning needed to be done, really appreciate any comments guys! cheers!

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 26 2010, 05:21 PM
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 01:20 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

If you're looking to gain muscle, do not super set/giant set/tri set, etc.

Added on April 27, 2010, 1:23 am
QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 26 2010, 05:19 PM)
bfast - 3 eggs + soy protein - mana protein?
snack/pre WO - slice of bread and 250ml milk -protein?
post WO - soy protein + milk shake - tak cukup protein
lunch - beef noodles - fair enough
snack - 250ml milk and probably 2 eggs - i guess.... so so but not enough protein imo
dinner - beef stew with vege and bread/rice (hopefully 250ml milk again)
supper - 250ml milk - MANA PROTEIN???
WOD - Monday, 26/4/10
I'm gonna reply like Terry replied last time in an old forum when he saw a diet like this. It's not some top secret advice but common sense.

This post has been edited by darklight79: Apr 27 2010, 01:23 AM
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 10:05 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 01:20 AM)
If you're looking to gain muscle, do not super set/giant set/tri set, etc.

Added on April 27, 2010, 1:23 am

I'm gonna reply like Terry replied last time in an old forum when he saw a diet like this. It's not some top secret advice but common sense.
ooh, darkie what would u suggest for meals that lack protein? like chicken breast..? actually i could try that, but itll be taxing on parents bills haha.. i need to eat at least 1 chicken breast per meal? or easier on the snacks, 100g nuts or eggs? any advice on my workout routine? how can I improve it?

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 27 2010, 10:18 AM
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 12:38 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 27 2010, 10:05 AM)
ooh, darkie what would u suggest for meals that lack protein? like chicken breast..? actually i could try that, but itll be taxing on parents bills haha.. i need to eat at least 1 chicken breast per meal? or easier on the snacks, 100g nuts or eggs? any advice on my workout routine? how can I improve it?
I don't know what's your workout routine. BB or Strength?
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 12:48 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 12:38 PM)
I don't know what's your workout routine. BB or Strength?
at the moment 3 day split, looking for more gains in size over strength. and recovering from a tailbone/coccyx area injury, everytime i squat heavy i feel the pain. at the moment only using machines to replace squats..
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 01:08 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 27 2010, 12:48 PM)
at the moment 3 day split, looking for more gains in size over strength. and recovering from a tailbone/coccyx area injury, everytime i squat heavy i feel the pain. at the moment only using machines to replace squats..
How the hell did you get a tailbone injury while squatting? How tall are you bro?
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 01:25 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 01:08 PM)
How the hell did you get a tailbone injury while squatting? How tall are you bro?
im almost 180 oni.. not that tall ><

the pain is more like slightly above my tailbone.. but i recall feeling something click when i descend too quickly on a squat on a heavy set. the pain got worse as i started a new set, so i stopped after 1-2 reps. my good guess is cuz i didnt warm up properly.. usually my squats have my hamstrings stretched when under tension, partially sustaining the weigh but this time because of poor warmup and form the weight wasnt distributed well n bam. sigh.

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 27 2010, 01:30 PM
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 01:30 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Lol, more like you tried going ATG didn't you?
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 01:39 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 01:30 PM)
Lol, more like you tried going ATG didn't you?
haha usually i do parallel but my mind tells me not low enough.. what a price to pay.. btw i tink i saw u the other day at safa.. u really frequent there dont you
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 01:42 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 27 2010, 01:39 PM)
haha usually i do parallel but my mind tells me not low enough.. what a price to pay.. btw i tink i saw u the other day at safa.. u really frequent there dont you
How the hell you know it was me? Lol. You never saw me before. Who was i with bro? Parallel's good enough, or just slightly below parallel.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 01:50 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 01:42 PM)
How the hell you know it was me? Lol. You never saw me before. Who was i with bro? Parallel's good enough, or just slightly below parallel.
im guessin haha, errr resembles u in ur workout journal? huge arms massive uperbody? hahaha. u were sitting near d screen i tink, i was sitting nx to d shisha shop lawl. last saturday night. u were w another 1-2 guys n a girl i think. ok sorry if its starting to sound stalker-ish lol.

icic.. any thing about my routine and diet i can improve on btw?
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 01:57 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 27 2010, 01:50 PM)
im guessin haha, errr resembles u in ur workout journal? huge arms massive uperbody? hahaha. u were sitting near d screen i tink, i was sitting nx to d shisha shop lawl. last saturday night. u were w another 1-2 guys n a girl i think. ok sorry if its starting to sound stalker-ish lol.

icic.. any thing about my routine and diet i can improve on btw?
You can always come say hi. I had mamak there with pedro and angrydog several times. Those 2 are one of the nicest guys you can meet.

Your diet. You need to flood your body with protein pre and post workout. Breakfast is one of your most important meals too. As far as i can see, you're not getting in enough protein at all. Why soy? It's not a bad protein but you can do better with whey. And milk is for babies. Really.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 02:02 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 01:57 PM)
You can always come say hi. I had mamak there with pedro and angrydog several times. Those 2 are one of the nicest guys you can meet.

Your diet. You need to flood your body with protein pre and post workout. Breakfast is one of your most important meals too. As far as i can see, you're not getting in enough protein at all. Why soy? It's not a bad protein but you can do better with whey. And milk is for babies. Really.
ooo sure! definitely will if i see u there again! haha really? haven met u guys in real life before haha..

icic..apparently its some plant protein concentrate, soy based - with really almost 99% absorbability.. its my mom's supplements, but deep down i know i could use some whey post WO n breakfast haha..

ill try to pack on more without relying on milk, any cheaper alternatives to chicken breasts?
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 02:05 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 27 2010, 02:02 PM)
ooo sure! definitely will if i see u there again! haha really? haven met u guys in real life before haha..

icic..apparently its some plant protein concentrate, soy based - with really almost 99% absorbability.. its my mom's supplements, but deep down i know i could use some whey post WO n breakfast haha..

ill try to pack on more without relying on milk, any cheaper alternatives to chicken breasts?
Egg whites. Not saying you can't use milk but it's not optimal.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 02:11 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 02:05 PM)
Egg whites. Not saying you can't use milk but it's not optimal.
what happens to the remaining egg yolk? an egg is about 6g of protein isit?
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 02:13 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

If you're seriously in need of mass and a skinny ecto, eat a few a day.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 02:16 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 02:13 PM)
If you're seriously in need of mass and a skinny ecto, eat a few a day.
a few meaning 10?
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 02:35 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 27 2010, 02:16 PM)
a few meaning 10?
No!!! 2-4. Lol.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 02:45 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 02:35 PM)
No!!! 2-4. Lol.
lol 2-4 eggs? hahah u lost me there
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 02:49 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

i meant yolks
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 03:22 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 02:49 PM)
i meant yolks
owh yeah i take at least 3 a day.. i noe u guys eat a lotta egg whites but what do u guys do with the yolks? cook for some other dish? lol
darklight79
post Apr 27 2010, 06:26 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 27 2010, 03:22 PM)
owh yeah i take at least 3 a day.. i noe u guys eat a lotta egg whites  but what do u guys do with the yolks? cook for some other dish? lol
Throw the away.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 09:08 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 27 2010, 06:26 PM)
Throw the away.
owh. haha. i thought can go make pancakes ke ape.

thanks for the advice darkie! will try to work on my diet!
TScheezzzz
post Apr 27 2010, 10:13 PM

610 posts

breakfast - 4 eggs with protein concentrate shake 2 scp (8g per scp)
snack - beef + bread (beef sandwich?)
lunch - rice vege fish + 250ml milk
snack - beef sandwich again
dinner - rice/bread + vege + beef + fish
supper - oats and a cup of milk, later gonna eat the left over beef from dinner.

meat are more or less 100g unless stated otherwise. trying to stop relying on milk.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 28 2010, 08:43 PM

610 posts

breakfast - 4 eggs + protein shake
snack - minced beef
lunch/pre WO - meehoon with 2 eggs
post WO - protein shake + 1 mcD beefburger
dinner - beef,vege,oats
supper - oats and milk

WOD - Wednesday, 28/4/10

Deadlifts
1 x 15 x 20kg empty bar
1 x 15 x 30kg warm up ends here
1 x 12 x 40kg
1 x 10 x 45kg
1 x 10 x 50kg

Pull ups assisted (25 lbs)
3 x 8-10 x BW

Hammer pull ups assisted (neutral grip, 25lbs)
3 x 8-10 x BW

Seated cable rows
1 x 15 x 10 lbs
1 x 12-15 x 15 lbs warm up ends here
1 x 10-12 x 20 lbs
2 x 8-10 x 25 lbs

Tricep cable pushdowns (both arms)
1 x 15 x 10 lbs warm up ends here
1 x 12 x 15 lbs
1 x 10 x 20 lbs
1 x 8 x 25 lbs (don rly rmb actually..)

2 sets each for plank and supermans

I think I made a mistake doing back/tri with deadlifts when my leg day is just 2 days away, worried about recovery. Maybe I should do back/tri on mon instead with chest/bi on weds. Anyways, workout was pretty good, worried if im undertraining though.. but at the rate im growing the chances of undereating > undertraining lol... any advice on my routine or diet?

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 28 2010, 08:56 PM
Majinity
post Apr 28 2010, 09:20 PM

792 posts

To me, on Arms day, I could easily tell when I am undertraining. Its when I don't feel enough sore after the gym.

I've been thinking of going on split, after my exam weeks. What do you think? I've been struggling to earn my weights back after losing 2kgs because of the fever I had.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 28 2010, 09:57 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Apr 28 2010, 09:20 PM)
To me, on Arms day, I could easily tell when I am undertraining. Its when I don't feel enough sore after the gym.

I've been thinking of going on split, after my exam weeks. What do you think? I've been struggling to earn my weights back after losing 2kgs because of the fever I had.
have u taken a break week? im guessing the fever is your rest week huh haha. have u done a deload since u plateau-ed (stumble this wall that made u struggle to earn your weights) ?

if for 3 consecutive workouts in a row you cannot get ur squat up, u can do a deload, lift 70-80% of the weight u stumbled at. and get that 3x5, or 5x5 in my case haha. only for that particular workout. if ur bench fail 3 workouts in a row, do the same.. do for any exercise.. then the next time u do that workout, try that weight u were stuck at again. sometimes, it really is mind over matter.

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 28 2010, 10:07 PM
Majinity
post Apr 28 2010, 11:50 PM

792 posts

A break eh? After my exam weeks, it'll be a total of a whole month without gym. Shyt I seriously miss gym. The joy of lifting more and more every workout day.

So the term is plateau. Yes, for squat twice and deadlift once. Although I wouldn't say I reached plateau for my Row, since my form is still very poor, been stuck on that many many weeks back. Anyway, the going on a split decision really is up to me right? I think I should try, just to vary things up a bit.

And, how do you push more on your calories intake? I've been trying but I seems to not get enough still. My weight seems to stop gaining when I stop working out.
TScheezzzz
post Apr 28 2010, 11:57 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Apr 28 2010, 11:50 PM)
A break eh? After my exam weeks, it'll be a total of a whole month without gym. Shyt I seriously miss gym. The joy of lifting more and more every workout day.

So the term is plateau. Yes, for squat twice and deadlift once. Although I wouldn't say I reached plateau for my Row, since my form is still very poor, been stuck on that many many weeks back. Anyway, the going on a split decision really is up to me right? I think I should try, just to vary things up a bit.

And, how do you push more on your calories intake? I've been trying but I seems to not get enough still. My weight seems to stop gaining when I stop working out.
switch to inverted rows for your rows. its simple. like doing a pushup, except on a smith machine bar. wait i got a vid for this 1.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xhcHKlsxIY

u wana noe if u got develop ur lats during rows, move ur elbow front n back n put ur other hand under ur armpit there. the lat, or 'wing' muscle..

to be honest, milk the cow dry. get the full gains u can out of your programme. that means to at least squat 1.5x BW for most str programme. i would continue if i were u, my injury is holding me back sad.gif

erm, i take oats hehehe. add brown sugar biggrin.gif oats are excellent carbs with a bit of protein. and yes u will tend to stop gaining when working out cuz ur body isnt in that calorie deficit state where it will consume n absorp whatever u give it. ectos like us rely on that state to gain weight haha. buy more chicken breast when u shop with your parents, beef does wonders too, has a higher caloric value compared to chicken breast.

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 29 2010, 12:00 AM
9ty5
post May 3 2010, 02:35 AM

89 posts

cheez
Hi. Just share a bit of what little knowledge I know and also share my humble opinion on some of your posts. Yep, I didn't read all your posts. Just some of it. Whatever I write below are some thoughts for you to think about. You won't need to do it if you don't feel comfortable with it. smile.gif

Health Check :
- Do a complete health. With blood sample, they can check a lot of stuff. Kidneys, sugar levels, cholesterol (good and bad), bla bla bla. Too many to say. With that health check, then you'll know what food is safe for you and what isn't. You won't want to eat and end up with a blocked artery. Believe me, it can happen to ANYONE even though they exercise regularly. So, know how your body works internally, then you can plan your diet more appropriately.

Be Patient
- I noticed that you squat a lot, and quite frequently. Or so I noticed, that is. Usually, a muscle takes 3 days to recover, based on heavy loads. Try resting that muscle for about 3 days before you work it again. I rest about 5-6 days for each muscle I work. Then, slowly work your rest days from there. If you recover fast, then you can try to work that muscle again after 2 full day of rest.

- Training for size or strength takes time. Don't rush yourself because if you do, you may risk injuring yourself. When I say "takes time", expect at least 6 months of working out, about 4-5 times a week consistently. But this would also depend on your rest and recovery too. Be patient. Else, if you injure your major body parts, you could be out of gym for a long time.

Your diet :
- Your diet plan looks a bit odd, forgive me for saying that. Again, get a full body check up before planning your diet plan. I actually did a full body check and the results were great. My bad cholesterol is very low and I'm safe. For a start, try to reduce as much milk as you can. I've read that even low fat milk could lead to slow increase in bad cholesterol but again, I read it so I'm just repeating what I read. This is my diet (remember, check your body first)

Morning : 5 half boiled eggs (LTK Omega Plus eggs ONLY!), 1 yolk. 4 tea spoons of oats and some spirulina + brown rice cereal.

Morning snack : Weet Bix with milo or plain water

Lunch : 1/3 box (those Styrofoam box of white rice), omelette, 2 vege.

Afternoon snack : weet bix with milo / plain water.

Evening snack (before work out) : a power bar. Like those from Nature Valley.

Dinner : whatever mum cooks.

Before bed : 5 eggs, 1 yolk.

Here's a sample of a one my latest set of work out logs. I rest 1 day before the next work out, usually. You don't need to follow my routine but after a fair number of trial and error of training on my own with some tips from personal trainers here and there, I manage to straighten out my work out program.

=========================
Work Out Log : Biceps, Triceps, Legs, Abs (My arms work out has changed to lighter but doing super sets. Legs are still heavy, for me at least haha)

Bicep Super Set 1
3 sets : 10 reps alternate 12.5 kg dumb bell curls + 12 reps EZ barbell curl (total weight 15 kg)

Tricep Super Set 1
3 sets : 10 reps 27.5 kg dumbbell over head extension + 12 reps EZ barbell skull crusher (total weight 15 kg)

Bicep Super Set 2
Set 1 : 10 r 5 kg/arm standing angled cable curls + 14 r 10 kg single weight straight bar cable curl
Set 2 : 10 r 7.5 kg/arm standing angled cable curl + 14 r 10 kg single weight straight bar cable curl
Set 3 : 10 r 10 kg/arm standing angled cable curls + 14 r 10 kg single weight straight bar cable curl

Tricep Super Set 2
Set 1 : 10 reps 15 kg rope pull downs + 12 reps body weight bench dips
Set 2 : 10 reps 17.5 kg rope pull downs + 12 reps body weight bench dips
Set 3 : 10 reps 20 kg rope pull downs + 12 reps body weight bench dips

Leg Routine
Hammerstrength iso-lateral leg press. Total weight 150 kg : 14 reps, 3 sets

Calf extensions on hammer strength leg press. 50 kg / side. : 15 reps, 3 sets

Technogym hamstring curls. Single weight. All 15 reps : 35 kg, 40 kg, 45 kg

Abs Routine
Abs roll with abs wheel : 15 reps, 3 sets

Weighted cable crunch. Single weight 25 kg : 20 reps, 3 sets

Ball Crunch : 15 reps, 3 sets

Chest Routine (extra)
Cable raise, bottom to front. Weights/arm. All 10 reps : 15 lbs, 17.5 lbs, 20 lbs

Work Out Log : Back, Cardio (Back work out is still heavy sets except for some work out. I use hand straps to help with heavy lifts)

Back Routine
Pull ups : 6 r, 5 r, 5 r (these are non assisted, body weight only and pull till chin)

Bent over bar bell row. Olympic short bar. Weights/side. All 12 reps : 20 kg, 25 kg, 30 kg

Bent over dumb bell row. All 10 reps : 30 kg, 32.5 kg, 35 kg

Technogym lat pull down. Single weight. All 12 reps : 35 kg, 40 kg, 50 kg (used to pull 75 kg but using body momentum so decided to reduce the weight and totally no body momentum)

Straight bar pull downs. All 10 reps. Single weight : 15 kg, 17.5 kg, 20 kg

Chest Routine (extra)
Flat bench dumb bell flyes. All 10 reps : 20 kg, 17.5 kg, 15 kg

Cardio : cycling, 30 minutes

Work Out Log : Chest, Abs, Cardio (Have changed to super sets for chest, hence the lighter weights.)

Chest Routine
Super set - Incline barbell press into incline dumb bell flyes.
1 sets: 12.5 kg / side barbell pres (10 reps) + 12.5 kg dumb bell flyes (12 reps)
2 sets: 15 kg / side barbell pres (10 reps) + 12.5 kg dumb bell flyes (12 reps)

Super set - Flat bench barbell press into flat bench dumb bell flyes
2 sets : 15 kg / side barbell press (10 reps) + 12.5 kg dumbbell flyes (12 reps)
1 sets : 15 kg / side barbell press (8 reps) + 12.5 kg dumbbell flyes (10 reps)

Flat bench dumb bell pullovers. All 10 reps : 25 kg, 27.5 kg, 30 kg

Abs Routine
Cable crunch. Weights/arm. All 20 reps : 25 lbs, 27.5 lbs, 30 lbs

Abs Roll : 15 reps, 3 sets

Seated leg tuck with 10 lb dumb bell at feet : 20 reps, 3 sets

Cardio : 30 minutes cycling

Chest routine
Cable dips. Weights/arm. All 12 reps : 30 lbs, 35 lbs, 40 lbs

Decline cable flyes. Weights/side. All 12 reps : 10 lbs, 12.5 lbs, 15 lbs

Work Out Log : Shoulders, Abs, Cardio

Shoulder Routine
Front dumbbell raise. All 10 reps : 7.5 kg, 10 kg, 12.5 kg

Prone incline bench rear dumbbell raise. All 12 reps : 7.5 kg, 10 kg, 12.5 kg

Dumb bell shrugs. All 12 reps : 35 kg, 37.5 kg, 40 kg (hand straps used)

Front barbell shrugs. Weights/side. All 12 reps : 20 kg, 30 kg, 40 kg (hand straps used)

Rear barbell shrugs. Weights/side. All 10 reps : 20 kg, 25 kg, 30 kg (hand straps used)

Hammer strength iso-lateral shoulder press. Weights/side. All 12 reps : 20 kg, 25 kg, 30 kg (10 reps), 35 (5 reps)

Cardio : cycling, 30 minutes

Abs Routine
Abs roll : 10 reps, 15 reps, 15 reps

Weighted cable crunch. Weight/arm. All 20 reps : 25 lbs, 27.5 lbs, 30 lbs

Seated leg tuck with 10lbs dumb bell at feet : 20 r, 20 r, 25 r

Shoulder Routine
Dumb bell side lateral raise. All 12 reps : 7.5 kg, 10 kg, 12.5 kg

Dumb bell front raise till overhead. All 10 reps : 5 kg, 7.5 kg, 10 kg

This post has been edited by 9ty5: May 3 2010, 02:41 AM
TScheezzzz
post May 3 2010, 10:14 AM

610 posts

9ty5 : thanks for your comment bro! hahah its surprising i didnt think there would be bodybuilders on LYN that are health conscious. yeah one month ago when i just started stronglifts and eventually stopped due to my injury, it was not bad in the sense it allowed me to check my diet and workout plan, and to restructure it.

it was a push A push B 2 day split kinda training. just followed blindly and now trying to change to a 3 day split with respective body parts.

as for my diet lol, i was desperately trying to put on weight by drinking milk. realised it wasnt the best choice but it did work for weight gain. trying to not rely so much on milk. and yeah i could use a body check, though i just got back from a natural detox haha. now can fall sick, means my natural body system detox isnt as good as it was when I first detox-ed. where did u do yours?

ive got to post up my restructured workout n diet post as well, well once i feel its effective haha.now still in experimental phase. also, u only take egg whites isit? ive read somewhere taking both together is actually good for ur cholestrol as it lowers the LDL. but condition is that it isnt oxidized or cooked or heated or sumthin like that.. true?
9ty5
post May 3 2010, 06:56 PM

89 posts

cheezzzz,
No probs. Don't thank me for my comments until you've reached your goals and my advice has helped. Else, I'm not worthy of any thanks. I myself am still a beginner when it comes to diet but in terms of work out, I guess I've had my share of trial and errors, injuries and recoveries.

I got my body check up in my company when my company's Environment, Health And Safety Committee a health company to come do a full check up. But you could pretty much do it anywhere, like Path Lab or something. If you're working, check to see if your company covers it. Else, it could cost quite a fair bit but it's worth it to know what's going on inside your body before eating 1 cow a week. haha

My injuries :
Shoulder rotator cuffs (basically, the shoulder joint area). Suspected to have got it from dumb bell side lateral raise and heavy flat/incline bench barbell presses.

Lower back/spine area :
Got it from lifting heavy when I was all too hyped out about doing heavy dead lifts. A tight belt around my waist obviously didn't help.

Now, about my diet. I don't exactly follow the routine consistently day in and day out. On working days, that's pretty mcuhw hat I eat. On weekends, it's no-diet days. haha I'm the mid-sized frame kind of guy so I gain weight rather easily but I know of a friend who's got a slim frame and he found it difficult to gain size. If I had a slim frame here's what I'd eat to gain size, based on the following assumptions :

- Body health check shows I'm good and very fit. Do a body check every 6 months, for say, the next 12 or 18 months. This is to understand how your body is reacting to your food intake.

- I work out 4-5 times a week.

- All portions are average. Don't over eat. Just eat till you are no longer hungry but yet, not totally filled up. You'll slowly find out how to adjust your portions.

Breakfast :
Immediately after you wake up, take a cup of oats / oat bran. If you have a basic protein shake, then just take the protein shake. Do this IMMEDIATELY after you wake up. Don't bother brushing your teeth too. Will explain later why I did this during my earlier days.

5 egg , 1 yolk (half boiled). 2 slices of whole meal bread (dip in the half boiled egg. yummy!). Milo with skim milk (no fat milk).

Morning Snack :
3-4 bars of weet bix. Small cup of milo with skim milk. Weet bix is quite dry so take a bite and sip in the milo to soak the weet bix in your mouth, or dip the weet bix into the milo and take a bite.

Lunch :
1 bowl (not those big gigantic bowl, ok. Just the small bowl) White rice, with steam chicken breast (steam chicken from the chicken rice stall should be ok. Stay away from chicken skin. Some vege.

Afternoon Snack :
3-4 bars of weet bix. Small cup of milo with skim milk. Weet bix is quite dry so take a bite and sip in the milo to soak the weet bix in your mouth, or dip the weet bix into the milo and take a bite.

Pre-Work out :
1 or 2 mid sized banana. 1 bar of weet bix.

Dinner :
Spaghetti in choice of low fat sauce. 1-2 hard boiled egg whites. Some steam brocolli.

Before bed :
6 tea spoons of oats / oat bran. 3 egg whites, 1 yolk.

Work Out :
- Conjure up a proper work out plan.
- Try not to do so much cardio.
- Remember to stretch after every work out, especially that specific muscle that you've worked out. (will explain why later).
- Rest rest rest rest. No late nights. Your body recovers at it's optimum level during the night. So no more clubbing. You can do your gang bangs before 11pm or something. haha

Now, here's the explanation ;

Eating before bed and right after you wake up : Drinking protein shake, or something fast moving food immediately after wake up. Assuming you sleep a whole 8 hours (this is the recommended sleep time). When you sleep, your body doesn't totally shut down. It's still working, just slower. Hence, it's actually feeding at a slow rate. When you wake up, your body metabolic rate starts to kick in and it'll get hungry. When you don't feed it quickly, it will start to find whatever it can in your body, starting with the fats, and then the proteins, and eventually breaking your muscles down slowly to feed itself. This is generally how a body survives when it's starved. So when you drink protein, or some fast moving food, it helps to feed your body before it starts "eating" your body. Initially, you won't really need to worry too much about this unless your % body fat is very very low.
And because your body feeds while you sleep, it is why you eat something before bed, so your body can feed on those food, therefore retaining as much of your muscles as possible. Well, this is the theory but I guess, to most, we need not worry so much about it. I actually don't let myself go hungry so if I happen to be working late at night, I'll eat.

Gaining Size / Bulking up :
In the process of gaining weight, you would sure to gain some fats along the way. Its very difficult to bulk up and get ripped at the same time. I tried it, unsuccessfully. Therefore, I decided to gain and gain until a point I could not gain anymore, and then I started to cut down. My weight went like this ;

When first start gym : 83 kg, 32.5% body fat
Main Goal : Lose weight, burn fats
After 3.5 months : 72 kg, 25% body fat
I decided to stop cutting because my weight training is not improving. Did cycling classes every tuesday and thursday evenings.

After another 1 year, 3 months : 87 kg, 30% body fat
Was on supplements for 1 year, non stop.
Ate like t-rex.
Weight training improved significantly. I flat bench dumb bell press from about 20 kg to 35 kg in about a little more than 1 year. Incline dumb bell press from about 15+ kg, to 30 kg in the same time. Totally no cardio.

From there on wards, I started to cut down again till today : 76 kg, 25% body fat
No supplement since Dec 2009.
Controlled food intake.
Cardio between 15 to 30 minutes after my weight work outs. Took only Prima Force pure BCAA, mixed with warm green tea before cardio.

This was me in Mar 09.

This was me in Dec 09.
TScheezzzz
post May 3 2010, 09:50 PM

610 posts

thanks for your testi bro, very inspiring as well biggrin.gif

what is wheat bix lol. some kinda wheat/oatmeal bar? neways VERY GOOD explanation on the part you should eat the moment you are awake. I find that not easy to do, I have a bad habit of rolling around my bed. But then again thats when absorption is at peak. Should work on that.

Hows your health now bro? still working out?
likimikuku
post May 3 2010, 10:49 PM

564 posts

Bro CheezzzZZZzz,

Sorry kacau your thread, but i want to ask something to Mr 9ty5.

How do you get that forearm??? i always have a tiny forearm, please share.

if this question is too silly, please ignore it.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Likimikuku
Reubs
post May 4 2010, 08:14 AM

257 posts

hey cheez awesome progress. how much have you gained so far? I'm already touching 65kg now. Been a little busy with college, but now i'm back on track. Eating and eating and eating.
TScheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 10:21 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ May 4 2010, 08:14 AM)
hey cheez awesome progress. how much have you gained so far? I'm already touching 65kg now. Been a little busy with college, but now i'm back on track. Eating and eating and eating.
thanks man, still can do better. cuz after my 1month + of consistent stronglifts and gomad i went from 58 to now about 61-62. now in my 2nd month and injuries came up, travel to sg alot to meet gf, sick and now exams.. too many breaks.. trying to maintain my weight around there until I can resume training.

daaaaammmmnn man thats fast! hows progress now? deadlift squat bench? i think i have to do a form check on my squats, either that or work my way up again cuz i seem to be not lifting properly, which caused my injury. keep it up man! update your log!! hahaha
yeah_guyz
post May 4 2010, 11:21 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(9ty5 @ May 3 2010, 06:56 PM)

When first start gym : 83 kg, 32.5% body fat
Main Goal : Lose weight, burn fats
After 3.5 months : 72 kg, 25% body fat
I decided to stop cutting because my weight training is not improving. Did cycling classes every tuesday and thursday evenings.

After another 1 year, 3 months : 87 kg, 30% body fat
Was on supplements for 1 year, non stop.
Ate like t-rex.
Weight training improved significantly. I flat bench dumb bell press from about 20 kg to 35 kg in about a little more than 1 year. Incline dumb bell press from about 15+ kg, to 30 kg in the same time. Totally no cardio.

From there on wards, I started to cut down again till today : 76 kg, 25% body fat
No supplement since Dec 2009.
Controlled food intake.
Cardio between 15 to 30 minutes after my weight work outs. Took only Prima Force pure BCAA, mixed with warm green tea before cardio.

From your stat..and the math calculation...you are like wasting the effort..see the below

83KG BW @ 32.5%--56kg Lean Mass, 27kg Fat
72KG BW @ 25%----54kg Lean Mass, 18kg Fat
87KG BW @ 30%----60.9kg Lean Mass, 26.1kg Fat
76KG BW @ 25%----57kg Lean Mass, 19kg Fat

if you are considering fat loss, it is ok

but very minimal muscle gain you can see from the above. cheers
9ty5
post May 4 2010, 02:26 PM

89 posts

yeahguyz
yeah, tell me about it. Muscle gain is slow in certain areas but some areas are ok. As for body fats, let's not even talk about it cos it's rubbish figures, that I'll totally admit. haha which is why I say, I'm far from half way through. haha Anyway, feel free to PM me cos this is cheezzz's thread smile.gif Feel free to drop me some PM's. I'm open for any kinds of work out tips + diet plans. smile.gif

likimikuku,
that question is not silly dude. haha To get that forearms, just pose like how I did in that pic. haha Really, my forearms are not big. I don't even work out my forearms on it's own. haha
TScheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 03:21 PM

610 posts

my forearms are small. wrists even smaller. heck my wrist is only slightly thicker than an oly bar (the part where u grip, not the biggger diameter ends).

they will grow. just do enough deadlift,bench,squat,bent over rows/inverted rows and overhead press. barbell workouts help your forearms grow. don need to isolate.
likimikuku
post May 4 2010, 09:47 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(9ty5 @ May 4 2010, 02:26 PM)
likimikuku,
that question is not silly dude. haha To get that forearms, just pose like how I did in that pic. haha Really, my forearms are not big. I don't even work out my forearms on it's own. haha
wahhaha... good advice, it sure look big in picture. I guess you have a "right" pose...

Added on May 4, 2010, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(cheezzzz @ May 4 2010, 03:21 PM)
my forearms are small. wrists even smaller. heck my wrist is only slightly thicker than an oly bar (the part where u grip, not the biggger diameter ends).

they will grow. just do enough deadlift,bench,squat,bent over rows/inverted rows and overhead press. barbell workouts help your forearms grow. don need to isolate.
Bro CheZZZzzz,
lol, no way... that was too small... i tot oly bar was just 1~1.5 inch dia wide???

This post has been edited by likimikuku: May 4 2010, 09:52 PM
Majinity
post May 4 2010, 11:07 PM

792 posts

Mine is 2inch wide.
TScheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 11:24 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ May 4 2010, 11:07 PM)
Mine is 2inch wide.
high 5 bro! more or less about there
Majinity
post May 4 2010, 11:29 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ May 4 2010, 11:24 PM)
high 5 bro! more or less about there
I am not proud of it T_T
TScheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 11:33 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ May 4 2010, 11:29 PM)
I am not proud of it T_T
neither am i but smaller wrists make ur forearm look big biggrin.gif thats wat some ppl say. wait or was it small forearm bigger arm..
9ty5
post May 5 2010, 05:45 PM

89 posts

I read somewhere that you can actually pose in certain ways to make your muscles look nicer. Then again, that article i read was a little about flexing, and showing the judges the best part if the muscles to get higher points or something like that.

QUOTE(likimikuku @ May 4 2010, 09:47 PM)
wahhaha... good advice, it sure look big in picture. I guess you have a "right" pose...

yeah_guyz
post May 5 2010, 07:08 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(9ty5 @ May 4 2010, 02:26 PM)
yeahguyz
yeah, tell me about it. Muscle gain is slow in certain areas but some areas are ok. As for body fats, let's not even talk about it cos it's rubbish figures, that I'll totally admit. haha which is why I say, I'm far from half way through. haha Anyway, feel free to PM me cos this is cheezzz's thread smile.gif  Feel free to drop me some PM's. I'm open for any kinds of work out tips + diet plans. smile.gif

likimikuku,
nah..no harm. from your stat, just to tell you there is something wrong either your workout or diet. as you gain the hardgain muscle and loss it during cutting, at the end you spending so much of time only gain 1kg muscle mass
9ty5
post May 6 2010, 05:39 PM

89 posts

yeahguyz,
Yeah, I know what u mean. My muscles has been growing kinda slow for the past few months. A direct wild guess would be my sleep patterns. I can't sleep well almost every night... for the past dont-know-how-many years. But I never thought of calculating it the way you showed me so thank you for sharing it with me smile.gif Besides, I'm above 30 already so gains are slowing down. kakaka old man already. hehe

cheezzz,
how's your work out and diet so far? smile.gif
TScheezzzz
post May 7 2010, 09:44 PM

610 posts

diet not too good recently, exams. but trying my best la.

breakfast - shake + bun
lunch - chicken rice
snack/pre WO - nasi lemak with 5 eggs
post WO - 250ml milk + a happy jacks ol skool beef burger
dinner - bit of rice with cucumbers,egg and steam egg-meat mix.
supper - oats

seriously *#)@!&@#*( diet.

WOD for 7/5/10, Friday

Legs day

Squats (wide stance, in between parallel and ATG)
1 x 12 x BB
1 x 12 x 40kg
1 x 10 x 45kg
1 x 10 x 50kg

Leg extension
1 x 12 x 36kg
1 x 12 x 41kg

Leg curl
3 x 12 x 27ish kg

Calf raises (leg press machine)
1 x 15 x 30kg
1 x 15 x 35kg
1 x 15 x 40kg
1 x 15 x 45kg

Leg raises
3 x >10 reps x BW

not rly feeling the burn in the leg curl device.. maybe I should revert to leg press machine instead to hit my hams and also glutes. any tips on using the machines? >< any comments or advice? really appreciate any! thanks! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: May 7 2010, 09:47 PM
Majinity
post May 8 2010, 10:27 AM

792 posts

You and I are different. It felt like my legs nak tercabut if doing the Leg Curl machine. I like Squat and Leg Extension. And also Leg Press, Leg Press always go to my glutes. Had to stretch myself several times. Haha.

I think I want to follow your routine see how. Can edit first post with latest routine? Thanks. I lazy do research. tongue.gif
TScheezzzz
post May 8 2010, 11:05 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ May 8 2010, 10:27 AM)
You and I are different. It felt like my legs nak tercabut if doing the Leg Curl machine. I like Squat and Leg Extension. And also Leg Press, Leg Press always go to my glutes. Had to stretch myself several times. Haha.

I think I want to follow your routine see how. Can edit first post with latest routine? Thanks. I lazy do research. tongue.gif
routine just changed again >< pull/push/legs now >< cuz last 3 day split got some days not tiring enough.
snowberry
post May 14 2010, 02:03 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ May 8 2010, 11:05 AM)
routine just changed again >< pull/push/legs now >< cuz last 3 day split got some days not tiring enough.
eh chez, wats the meaning of pull/push ar?
TScheezzzz
post May 14 2010, 11:10 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ May 14 2010, 02:03 AM)
eh chez, wats the meaning of pull/push ar?
it refers to the action. whether u push or pull. in lifting weights u can either push or pull oni ma, whether its horizontal or vertical haha. example

push exercises
bench, push up, shoulder press, tricep pushdown..

pull exercises
deadlift, chin up, pull up, inverted row, bicep curl, delt rows, shrugs, upright row..

leg.. u noe la. haha.

im only doing this cuz i feel my legs deserve an entire day to themselves ahaha.

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: May 17 2010, 01:59 PM
TScheezzzz
post May 17 2010, 02:00 PM

610 posts

WOD 17/5/10, Monday

Push day

Squats
1 x 15 x Empty Bar
1 x 12 x 42.6kg
1 x 8 x 47.2kg (kinda forgot the weight ><)
1 x 9 x "
1 x 8 x "

Bench Press
1 x 15 x Empty Bar
1 x 12 x 29.2kg
1 x 8 x 33.6kg
1 x 8 x 38.0kg
1 x 6 x 38.0kg

Shoulder Press (did 1 set of incline db press before this)
1 x 12 x Empty Bar
1 x 8 x Empty Bar
1 x 6 x Empty Bar

Ran for about 10 mins.

Today's workout was really bad. Bench grip was no good towards the end of the workout. Seemed to be hitting my left front shoulder instead of the entire chest... thats why shoulder press was like crap. Push pull not really working I guess.. see how it goes on pull day.. if this keeps up, the chest/bi split is still the best split I suppose..
TScheezzzz
post May 19 2010, 07:29 PM

610 posts

WOD 19/5/10, Wednesday

Back/Tri (supersetted?)

Warm up (lat pulldown)
1 x 15 x 20lbs

Pull ups
3 x 10-15 x BW (negatives)
Upon completing a set, continue with lat pulldowns till failure.

Lat Pulldown
3 x F x 50-60 lbs

Inverted Rows
3 x 10-15 x BW
Upon completing a set, continue with cable rows.

Cable Rows
3 x F x 40 lbs (i think)

Triceps Pushdown
1 x 15 x 20 lbs (warm up)
1 x 15 x 30 lbs
2 x 12 x 40 lbs

Cable Bicep Curls (superset?)
1 x 15 x 20 lbs (warm up)
3 x 15 x 30 lbs

Cable bicep curls hurt my forearms more.. proly not doing it right.. continued with Hammer Curls

Hammer Curls (thumbs up grip xD)
3 x 15 x 5 lbs (each arm)

Weights for hammer curls were a bit too light but the 15th rep was killing me already. Biceps were just inflating like a balloon.. if only they stayed that way forever lol.. Oh and I sprained my trap/neck muscle while doing pull ups.. now turn my neck to the right hurts like crap.. dont even know how the heck it happened.. thank God it was my last set.

Any advice on getting arms bigger? I seem to be lagging on my bi and tri.. other parts are also lagging but at least got growth.. Would appreciate any advice! Thanks!

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: May 19 2010, 07:30 PM
Majinity
post May 19 2010, 07:34 PM

792 posts

Back/Tri day but you're doing Biceps? Haha you are desperately in need of bigger arms like me. I prolly will include some Biceps exercises on Friday too.
Cotton Diesel
post May 19 2010, 08:21 PM

428 posts

Good job there man!!
TScheezzzz
post May 19 2010, 08:49 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ May 19 2010, 07:34 PM)
Back/Tri day but you're doing Biceps? Haha you are desperately in need of bigger arms like me. I prolly will include some Biceps exercises on Friday too.
its sum antagonist muscle thing.. superset dono wat it is hahah but since doing triceps just do bi together lah! bi didnt die enough from the back exercises lol. maybe im not training with enough intensity, again. sad.gif

QUOTE(Cotton Diesel @ May 19 2010, 08:21 PM)
Good job there man!!
thanks bro
Cotton Diesel
post May 19 2010, 10:00 PM

428 posts

better relax your biceps mate on other muscle group workout day. i know you are tempting to build your arms but you got to let it rest. my friend is obsessed with his chest, every day even doing other muscle group he will always do the chest. now he injured himself already.
TScheezzzz
post May 19 2010, 10:38 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Cotton Diesel @ May 19 2010, 10:00 PM)
better relax your biceps mate on other muscle group workout day. i know you are tempting to build your arms but you got to let it rest. my friend is obsessed with his chest, every day even doing other muscle group he will always do the chest. now he injured himself already.
thanks for the tips bro but if u look at my log.. it almost does not show me doing isolation bicep work. even if got, these is one of the few times that I do haha.
ill do anything to get bigger, but i just feel certain parts of my body are lagging haha.
Desvaro
post May 23 2010, 09:35 PM

639 posts

It is not a good idea to work chest/triceps or back/bi on the same day, because when training the back you'll fatigue the biceps, then you won't be able to train your arms with high intensity.

If you're training in higher rep ranges, you can use chest/back on one day and bi/tri on another day. If you're training in lower rep ranges for strength, chest/bicep and back/tri.

My personal preference is the latter.

What are your exact goals now?
Cotton Diesel
post May 24 2010, 12:04 PM

428 posts

muscular body i think?
likimikuku
post May 28 2010, 04:15 AM

564 posts

Bro, how thing going on??

Cotton Diesel
post May 28 2010, 04:53 PM

428 posts

No updates?

Majinity
post May 28 2010, 06:39 PM

792 posts

cheezz on holiday or something maybe. or is it exams time for him?
TScheezzzz
post May 29 2010, 09:40 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(Cotton Diesel @ May 28 2010, 04:53 PM)
No updates?
QUOTE(Majinity @ May 28 2010, 06:39 PM)
cheezz on holiday or something maybe. or is it exams time for him?
hey guys, sorry ive been on hiatus. at sg visiting my gf here haha.. rest week is up, exam results are out n the next sch term is starting soon biggrin.gif time to hit the bar again biggrin.gif

desvaro: my goals are to gain more size than strength, would be good if can gain both tho haha. thanks for the suggestions. i am trying to get the 'feel' of selecting weights, currently sort of doing pyramids where I start with a weight I can do about 10 reps or more.. any more than 12 then I up the weight abit, until I eventually do max 8-10. Trying not to sacrifice form for poundage as well.
Majinity
post May 29 2010, 12:20 PM

792 posts

Man why didn't you told me earlier, I also wanted to visit my gf in JB. Hows your current body weight?
Cotton Diesel
post May 29 2010, 05:29 PM

428 posts

Wah, all want to have gf at sg. I also want one lah. Do you feel the gain cheez? How is your diet?
TScheezzzz
post May 31 2010, 06:53 PM

610 posts

Majinity: seriously? next time we should drive down or take bus together lol, where's she from? like which part?

Cotton: bro i haven weighed in so far, last I weighed was 62kg or so.

And WOD was awesome. Gotta be one of the better workouts I've had for my back.. usually I don't feel much after back day.. (yes I probably didnt lift with intensive or proper form)

WOD 31/5/10, Monday

Back/Tri

Warm up
1-2 mins on the stepper to get the blood flowing
1 x 15 x 20+ lbs Lat Pulldown

Chin ups
1 x 13 x BW
1 x 11 x BW
1 x 12 x BW
(1st rep proper form, following reps kip n did negatives)

Lat pulldown
1 x 15 x 64 lbs
1 x 13 x 77.5 lbs
2 x 12 x 77.5 lbs
1 x 11 x 77.5 lbs
1 x 15 x 64 lbs

Inverted rows
3 x 10-12 x BW

Cable rows, horizontal
1 x 15 x 30 lbs
1 x 14 x 40 lbs
1 x 13 x 50 lbs
1 x 12 x 50 lbs

Tricep pushdown
1 x 15 x 20 lbs
1 x 13 x 30 lbs
3 x 12 x 30 lbs

A random 1 set of db kickback,db tri extension, db skull breaker.. in hope of finding that tricep workout that works for my left tri.. right tri has np.. or mebe cuz its just stronger just seems like its bigger than left arm >< any other suggestions for left tri?

Today was a great workout.. tricep pushdown was killing my tris, actually it kinda did.. lookin for other tri workouts that will kill it just as bad. still working on my form n trying to improve mind-muscle connection. would really appreciate any comments n suggestions guys! biggrin.gif

EDIT: my lats IS SOREEEE T.T dam happy cuz nv felt it sore in my entire life.ever. ._. lol

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: May 31 2010, 07:17 PM
Majinity
post May 31 2010, 08:09 PM

792 posts

Somewhere in Pasir Gudang. Haha. Dude nice going with bodyweight, nearly to 65kgs and I say its achievable by June! How the hell did you get your lats to sore mann! Must be that negative chinup?
TScheezzzz
post May 31 2010, 09:45 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ May 31 2010, 08:09 PM)
Somewhere in Pasir Gudang. Haha. Dude nice going with bodyweight, nearly to 65kgs and I say its achievable by June! How the hell did you get your lats to sore mann! Must be that negative chinup?
oooh johor's pretty big tho.. mebe canla if i ever drive to sg. IF i ever lol. never happened before aHAHAAH

thanks.. but its proly my tummy, or a bit of it.. cuz my abs are nowhere near showing >< oh well, cutting sud b easier later on.. i hope ><

hahah the same way u get every other muscle to sore. dont focus on getting your lifts or poundages or trying to struggle thru the lift. instead, think mind-muscle, imagine ur back squeezing.. its like the motion of lat pulldown on the chin up bar. i dont think it was the chin ups tho.. proly more of the pulldown.

chicaman who's training at terry's gave me advise about compressing ur muscle to the max for every rep.. n focus on the motion.. in other words form over poundage. makes sense, u gotta stress ur muscle enuf if ur gonna make it grow, n not just try to complete the session. that was my mistake
TScheezzzz
post Jun 2 2010, 01:37 PM

610 posts

WOD 2/6/10, Wednesday

Shoulder/Legs

Warm up
3-5 Mins total on cycling machine n treadmill

Shoulder Press
5 x 8-13 x 44lbs (empty bar)

Leg Extension
1 x 15 x 30lbs
1 x 15 x 40lbs
1 x 15 x 50lbs
1 x 13 x 60lbs
1 x 15 x 50lbs
1 x 13 x 60lbs

Deadlift
1 x 15 x 44lbs empty bar
1 x 12 x 55lbs 2.3kg plate on each side
1 x 10 x 88lbs 11.3kg plate on each side
1 x 8 x 88lbs

Upright Row, Cable
1 x 15 x 10lbs
1 x 15 x 20lbs
1 x 15 x 30lbs
1 x 15 x 40lbs
2-3 x 12 x 50lbs

Rear Delt Rows, Dumbbell
6-7 x F (about 8-14) x 5lbs (2.5kg dumbbells each hand)

After all that.. i forgot about my calf workout.. was burnt out by then x.x

And wth delt row n upright row.. friggin killer. esp delt row.. even with so lightweight by 8th rep oredi shoulders giving in x.x
Majinity
post Jun 2 2010, 01:43 PM

792 posts

Eh its 44lbs ar? I count that as 45lbs the oly bar lol. No squat today?
TScheezzzz
post Jun 2 2010, 01:53 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jun 2 2010, 01:43 PM)
Eh its 44lbs ar? I count that as 45lbs the oly bar lol. No squat today?
about there hahaa.. donola. i take it as about 2.2lbs per kg.. got the decimal that never ends wahah..

yea i figured i cant squat n dl on d same day.. tho i used to do tat.. but now i do a higher volume, more rep n more sets.. so i cant afford to kill my energy that way.. so if i squat, i do leg curls, if i dl i do leg extensions

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Jun 2 2010, 01:53 PM
TScheezzzz
post Jun 5 2010, 01:14 AM

610 posts

WOD 5/6/10, Friday

Chest/Bi

Bench Press, Barbell
1 x 15 x 20kg (empty bar)
1 x 15 x 25kg
1 x 13 x 30kg
4 x 10-12 x 32.5kg

Incline Bench Press, Dumbbell
1 x 15 x 5kg (each arm)
4 x 12 x 7.5kg

Dumbbell Flyes
1 x 15 x 5kg (each arm)
1 x 12 x 7.5kg
2 x 15 x 5kg

Bicep Curls,Cable w Bar
4 sets, increasing weight per set - 10lbs,15,20,25

Hammer Curls, Dumbbell
4 x 12 x 7.5kg (or was it 5 ._.)

Attempted to continue with preacher curl machine but arms dam sore.. more of the forearms though sad.gif Still working on mind-muscle connection! Comments please guys! biggrin.gif Thankss!

Oh on another note I fixed my bench grip! Weight isnt crushing on anywhere except my chest lol.
Majinity
post Jun 5 2010, 03:26 PM

792 posts

Yaiks, your Bis show some peak yet? Pics man! tongue.gif
TScheezzzz
post Jun 5 2010, 07:02 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jun 5 2010, 03:26 PM)
Yaiks, your Bis show some peak yet? Pics man! tongue.gif
right bi bigger than left... like some mutant lawl.

pics when i grow bigger overall.. technically i have.. since my skinnier days haha.. but the stomache not getting flatter sad.gif o well will cut later haha
Majinity
post Jun 5 2010, 08:32 PM

792 posts

Come on pics, I posted mine. Now its your turn. No homo lol. But dude, you measure? How big is it now? I'm like not even 12" so sad
TScheezzzz
post Jun 5 2010, 08:42 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jun 5 2010, 08:32 PM)
Come on pics, I posted mine. Now its your turn. No homo lol. But dude, you measure? How big is it now? I'm like not even 12" so sad
ahhaha we go workout together one day la hahah.. gf has something against me posting personal pics online haha.

im 12" minus .1 or .2 lol. just so u noe ur pic looks alot like me HAahhAHA.

oh wait ur more ripped. haha. i looked like i just put on heaps of weight n not so obv the cuts.. n my wrists are smaller. i tink. but yea more or less d same la haha.

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Jun 5 2010, 08:43 PM
Majinity
post Jun 5 2010, 11:43 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Jun 5 2010, 08:42 PM)
ahhaha we go workout together one day la hahah.. gf has something against me posting personal pics online haha.

im 12" minus .1 or .2 lol. just so u noe ur pic looks alot like me HAahhAHA.

oh wait ur more ripped. haha. i looked like i just put on heaps of weight n not so obv the cuts.. n my wrists are smaller. i tink. but yea more or less d same la haha.
Haha same dude, my gf like that also. But w/out the face she kinda okay it seems. She bookmark my journal dude haha. Oh dem your arms bigger! I'm .5 less of 12" sheyt, oh well, you are 63kgs. Lift more and rest more!
TScheezzzz
post Jun 6 2010, 01:34 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jun 5 2010, 11:43 PM)
Haha same dude, my gf like that also. But w/out the face she kinda okay it seems. She bookmark my journal dude haha. Oh dem your arms bigger! I'm .5 less of 12" sheyt, oh well, you are 63kgs. Lift more and rest more!
hahaha but gotta giv it to ya.. ur chest got better definition. solid on the bench press eh? biggrin.gif

yea u lift hard too bro! im workin on getting a turtle shell/predator pod back.. dam lagging man my back.
Cotton Diesel
post Jun 6 2010, 05:24 AM

428 posts

U should try bench too. Majinity is great at that. ask for some tips. hehehe
TScheezzzz
post Jun 7 2010, 04:50 PM

610 posts

WOD 7/6/10, Monday

Back/Tri

Deadlifts
1 x 14 x 40kg
2 x 12 x 45kg
1 x 10 x 45kg

Chin ups (negatives)
3 x 8-10 x BW

Lat Pulldown
1 x 14 x 64lbs
2 x 10-12 x 77.5lbs
1 x 12 x 64lbs

Machine Rows (2 sets neutral grip, 2 sets pronated grip)
4 x 10-12 x forgot poundage x.x

Tricep Pushdown, Cable
4 x 12-15 x about 20-30lbs

Was unsatisfied with tricep workout today.. actually quite disappointed w today's workout.. the deadlifts could've easily killed me.. pre workout did not eat enough carbs. Went home and tried to kill my tris wit various tricep exercises.. i probably still have bad form for other tricep exercises.. kickback is not bad..again.
Cotton Diesel
post Jun 7 2010, 07:08 PM

428 posts

Maybe should relax your muscle. if you push enough at gym, you should chill your muscle at home
TScheezzzz
post Jun 9 2010, 07:51 PM

610 posts

WOD 9/7/10, Wednesday

Shoulder/Legs

Squats, Barbell
1 x 15 x 20kg (Empty Bar)
1 x 13 x 40kg
3 x 12 x 50kg

Leg Curl, Machine
1 x 12 x 23kg
3 x 12 x 25kg

Calf Raises, Machine
10kg,20kg,30kgx2 - reps until failure.. had to find the feel to get the calves burning

Overhead Press, Barbell
4 x 10-12 x 20kg (Empty Bar)

Upright Row, Cable
1 x 15 x 10lbs
1 x 15 x 20lbs
1 x 15 x 30lbs
1 x 15 x 35lbs
1 x 15 x 40lbs

Rear Delt Row, Dumbbell
3-4 x F x 5kg per arm

Note: Oh yeah leg curl was like crap cuz of the deads on Monday ><
Upright rows are awessomeeeee but form kinda sucks as it gets heavier.. 35lbs was done wit better form.. but dono y left shoulder getting hit less than right shoulder.. And I still don really get how to do the leg curl properly.. tho its machine haha. Rear delt rows dono got hit the rear (posterior) part of shoulder.. Please comment and advise guys! Thanks! Oh and I just bought a small serving of BSN True Mass.. just to try out first haha.. any suggestions on how to prepare or any good recipes to go with it? Ie milk + BSNTrueMass, or ice cream.. i dono haha..

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Jun 9 2010, 07:56 PM
Majinity
post Jun 9 2010, 10:15 PM

792 posts

Why not to DB seated shoulder press instead? I feel good with it. And I just saying out of boredness, I hate leg curl, if I do that on the lowest weight possible on the machine, my leg still feels burn like hell after 2-3reps ONLY.
TScheezzzz
post Jun 9 2010, 10:38 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jun 9 2010, 10:15 PM)
Why not to DB seated shoulder press instead? I feel good with it. And I just saying out of boredness, I hate leg curl, if I do that on the lowest weight possible on the machine, my leg still feels burn like hell after 2-3reps ONLY.
ahhaha eh bro u strong on d deads ur hams sud b quite strong what! why burning!

ahha cuz i love barbell overhead press.. biggrin.gif and i have shoulder issues when doing db shoulder press ._. dono why.
Majinity
post Jun 9 2010, 11:24 PM

792 posts

I dont know! Hate 'em, would never touch them machines evil evil I say! Let deads kill my hams instead. Speaking of deads, tomorrow going to have them tested with new straps!

Kay this should be your journal lol. Nvm that seated shoulder press, do what feels good on you right !
TScheezzzz
post Jun 9 2010, 11:43 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jun 9 2010, 11:24 PM)
I dont know! Hate 'em, would never touch them machines evil evil I say! Let deads kill my hams instead. Speaking of deads, tomorrow going to have them tested with new straps!

Kay this should be your journal lol. Nvm that seated shoulder press, do what feels good on you right !
ajahhaa but then they hit the spot, if u noe wat i mean lol. n i do them when i do squats. this week i tried squatting n deadlifting in d same week... tiring.. thinking of alternating squat 1 week, deadlift the other... when squat.. ill do leg curl.. OR SLDL instead! WHY DIDN I TINK OF THAT sad.gif then on dl week, use leg extension/leg press woot!

tell me how it goes wit the straps bro! no worries!

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Jun 9 2010, 11:44 PM
TScheezzzz
post Jun 14 2010, 07:13 PM

610 posts

WOD 14/6/10, Monday

Back/Tri

Chin-ups, negatives
2 x 15 x BW
1 x 14 x BW
1 x 13 x BW

Close grip pulldown, supinated grip
1 x 15 x 56.5lbs
3 x 15 x 64.5lbs

Machine row, pronated grip
1 x 15 x 27kg
1 x 15 x 32kg
1 x 15 x 36kg
1 x 15 x 32kg
1 x 15 x 36kg

Machine row, narrow neutral grip
1 x 15 x 27kg
2 x 15 x 36kg

Tricep kickback, cable (one arm)
3 x 15 x 10-20lbs

Tricep pushdown, cable (both arms)
1 x 15 x 25lbs
1 x 15 x 30lbs
1 x 15 x 35lbs
1 x 15 x 30lbs

Trying to find 3-4 exercises that will hit my entire back.. thats why I varied my pulldowns.. without knowing which part it hits LOL. No deadlifts today cuz I didnt feel I'd be energetic enough. oh well. tomorrow will attempt to squat and DL. hopefully it doesnt kill me.. maybe go lighter on the squats and heavier on the deads.. see how it goes. Oh and gym changed from BSN to ON serious mass heheheh time to taste again. rm250 for 12 lbs.. considering to get it argh... but sugar content seems dam high. oh well gonna try the taste first!
Desvaro
post Jun 14 2010, 08:52 PM

639 posts

It is very tough to progress on squats AND deadlifts unless you are a true beginner.

I'll be talking about this from a strength point of view, which is mostly aimed at improving your deadlift poundage. Generally you should prioritise your squats over deadlifts. There are many ways your deadlift can increase - I myself did not deadlifted for more than 5 months. But when I finally did them, I broke my old records easily. Why?

Because when I wasn't doing deadlifts, I was doing:
1) Lots of pullups
2) Lots of split squats
3) Hamstring work (SLDL and some leg curls)
4) Heavy dumbbell rows
5) Of course, some squats

True, the deadlift is a lower body exercise, but you need to have a strong back as well, and of course a strong grip.

As for the squat, to improve your squat, well you need to squat.

If your aim is to gain muscle then, I guess you could get away with going light on deadlifts - I know many 'pros' who do deadlifts the last on their back days, so that the focus is on the muscle, not on the movement. Maybe that can work for you.

Also, never say 'I did not feel energetic enough therefore I did not attempt it'. At the very least, go through your normal warm up. Like myself, for deadlifts I'll warm up with 40kg, 50kg, 60kg, 80kg before moving on to my work sets. No matter how high my work set is, I will always do 40/50/60/80 to get a feel of the movement. If I feel that the weight seems unusually heavy today, then I proceed with caution. Don't just skip a lift altogether, you'll be surprised with what you can achieve sometimes.
TScheezzzz
post Jun 14 2010, 09:38 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Jun 14 2010, 08:52 PM)
It is very tough to progress on squats AND deadlifts unless you are a true beginner.

I'll be talking about this from a strength point of view, which is mostly aimed at improving your deadlift poundage. Generally you should prioritise your squats over deadlifts. There are many ways your deadlift can increase - I myself did not deadlifted for more than 5 months. But when I finally did them, I broke my old records easily. Why?

Because when I wasn't doing deadlifts, I was doing:
1) Lots of pullups
2) Lots of split squats
3) Hamstring work (SLDL and some leg curls)
4) Heavy dumbbell rows
5) Of course, some squats

True, the deadlift is a lower body exercise, but you need to have a strong back as well, and of course a strong grip.

As for the squat, to improve your squat, well you need to squat.

If your aim is to gain muscle then, I guess you could get away with going light on deadlifts - I know many 'pros' who do deadlifts the last on their back days, so that the focus is on the muscle, not on the movement. Maybe that can work for you.

Also, never say 'I did not feel energetic enough therefore I did not attempt it'. At the very least, go through your normal warm up. Like myself, for deadlifts I'll warm up with 40kg, 50kg, 60kg, 80kg before moving on to my work sets. No matter how high my work set is, I will always do 40/50/60/80 to get a feel of the movement. If I feel that the weight seems unusually heavy today, then I proceed with caution. Don't just skip a lift altogether, you'll be surprised with what you can achieve sometimes.
thanks for the advice des! maybe I shouldn't have skipped it too.. I usually do it on my back day, but if I do, come my legs day itll b burning like mad and I cant do leg curls properly. Still contemplating how to adjust my split.. currently its back/tri, shoulder/legs n chest/bi.. hmmm.
Desvaro
post Jun 14 2010, 10:41 PM

639 posts

What are your weakest body parts?

My current split is Chest/Bi , rest, Legs, rest, Back/Tri , rest 2 days. I include shoulder work at the end of both upper body days.

Works alright for me. If I do deadlift heavy, I might still feel some slight soreness on Back/Tri day but I push through it anyway.

Leg curls are 'fun' =D
TScheezzzz
post Jun 14 2010, 11:24 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Jun 14 2010, 10:41 PM)
What are your weakest body parts?

My current split is Chest/Bi , rest, Legs, rest, Back/Tri , rest 2 days. I include shoulder work at the end of both upper body days.

Works alright for me. If I do deadlift heavy, I might still feel some slight soreness on Back/Tri day but I push through it anyway.

Leg curls are 'fun' =D
haha i dono which r weakest if judging by strength.. but by roughly stating wuld b rear shoulders, left arm tricep (always cramp dono why), glute/hip n lower back. mebe core too. oh n calf. ahha jus stating the lagging parts of my body.. oicic... i do a 3day split.. n i dont know where sud b deads be put at.. back/tri? or legs? haha currently i alternate.. squat 1 week, d next week dead.. seems pretty ok.. thanks again for the advice!
Desvaro
post Jun 14 2010, 11:47 PM

639 posts

If I may suggest, stick with squats for 4-6 weeks, you should be able to progress every week (more reps or more weights, your choice) until week 5 or week 6, then change to deadlifts for 4-6 weeks.

That way you can gain more than switching exercises every week.
TScheezzzz
post Jun 15 2010, 12:09 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Jun 14 2010, 11:47 PM)
If I may suggest, stick with squats for 4-6 weeks, you should be able to progress every week (more reps or more weights, your choice) until week 5 or week 6, then change to deadlifts for 4-6 weeks.

That way you can gain more than switching exercises every week.
hmm.. sounds good.. or maybe I should do deadlifts on back/tri day.. will b tiring but hey nothing like a shock to the body for it to learn to adapt to eh?
TScheezzzz
post Jun 18 2010, 06:49 PM

610 posts

WOD 18/6/10, Friday

Full body

Bench press, flat, dumbbell (per arm)
1 x 15 x 7.5kg
1 x 15 x 10kg
1 x 12 x 12.5kg
1 x 10 x 15kg

Pull-ups, negatives
3 x 8-12 x BW

Deadlifts
3 x 10-12 x 40kg

Upright Row, cable
3 x 15 x 30-40lbs i think

Triceps pushdown, cable
3 x 15 x 30-40lbs

kinda forgot the poundage for the row n pushdown. did a full body cuz i missed gym on wed.. and also cuz I brought a friend and decided to show him around with more or less a full body routine.. though I didn't exactly manage to cover all cuz we were both kinda rushing for time..

TScheezzzz
post Jun 21 2010, 09:51 PM

610 posts

WOD 21/6/10, Monday

Full body

Dips, partial
5 x F x BW (about 8-12 reps)

Lat Pulldown, cable
1 x 15 x 64 lbs
1 x 15 x 77.5lbs
1 x 13 x 77.5lbs
1 x 12 x 77.5lbs

Deadlifts
3 x 8 x 50 kg

Tricep pushdown, cable
1 x 15 x 20lbs
1 x 15 x 30lbs
3 x 15 x 35lbs
1 x 15 x 40lbs

Upright row, cable
1 x 15 x 30lbs
3 x 12 x 35lbs

Not exactly full body cuz i didnt do biceps, but I focused on the parts that I'm lagging.
likimikuku
post Jul 3 2010, 03:38 PM

564 posts

dude?? having your break now???

TScheezzzz
post Jul 5 2010, 09:59 PM

610 posts

likimkuku: yeah bro been on a break for awhile.. anyways..

WOD 5/7/10, Monday

Chest/Back

Bench press, barbell
4 x 8-12 x 40kg

Incline press, machine
1 x 15 x 10kg
3 x 8-10 x 15kg

Lat pulldown, cable, quite wide pronated grip
1 x 15 x 33kg
1 x 14 x 37kg
1 x 12 x 37kg
1 x 10 x 37kg
1 x 8 x 37kg
* i think. i hope not lbs.. too light right lbs i oso not sure la.. but it was not easy to lift..

Bent over rows, dumbbell
20lbs left, 25lbs right
3 x F

Ez-bar/barbell shrugs
1 x 15 x 20kg
2 x 15 x 25kg
1 x 15 x 20kg
*weird feeling... dono done right anot.. dono too heavy anot lol.

Deadlifts
1 x 10-15 x 20kg (empty bar)
3 x F x 40kg

ahhhhh miss working out sial. abit unorganized workout, was intimidated by working out at CF one utama for d first time haha.. anyways.. do comment! my bent over rows epicly suck.. i need sum advise on getting the lat pulling motion right, esp for my left lat >< any suggestions? biggrin.gif

likimikuku
post Jul 5 2010, 10:15 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Jul 5 2010, 09:59 PM)
likimkuku: yeah bro been on a break for awhile.. anyways..
WOD 5/7/10, Monday
Chest/Back
Bench press, barbell
4 x 8-12 x 40kg

Incline press, machine
1 x 15 x 10kg
3 x 8-10 x 15kg

Lat pulldown, cable, quite wide pronated grip
1 x 15 x 33kg
1 x 14 x 37kg
1 x 12 x 37kg
1 x 10 x 37kg
1 x 8  x 37kg
* i think. i hope not lbs.. too light right lbs i oso not sure la.. but it was not easy to lift..

Bent over rows, dumbbell
20lbs left, 25lbs right
3 x F

Ez-bar/barbell shrugs
1 x 15 x 20kg
2 x 15 x 25kg
1 x 15 x 20kg
*weird feeling... dono done right anot.. dono too heavy anot lol.

Deadlifts
1 x 10-15 x 20kg (empty bar)
3 x F x 40kg
ahhhhh miss working out sial. abit unorganized workout, was intimidated by working out at CF one utama for d first time haha.. anyways.. do comment! my bent over rows epicly suck.. i need sum advise on getting the lat pulling motion right, esp for my left lat >< any suggestions? biggrin.gif
Well come back thumbup.gif
Majinity
post Jul 5 2010, 11:20 PM

792 posts

Your bent over row, you bent 90 degrees? Or just 45 to 70 degrees?
TScheezzzz
post Jul 6 2010, 09:10 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jul 5 2010, 11:20 PM)
Your bent over row, you bent 90 degrees? Or just 45 to 70 degrees?
70-90 lawl. but i feel it hit my right lat.. just my left lat that i don have a good connection with zzz
TScheezzzz
post Jul 9 2010, 07:05 PM

610 posts

WOD 9/7/10, Friday

Shoulder/Tri/Legs
(wtv that is lagging)

Seated shoulder press, dumbell
5 x 8-12 x 20 lbs per arm

Arnold press, dumbbell
5 x 8-12 x 20lbs per arm

Lateral raise, machine
1 x 15 x 5kg
3 x 10-12 x 10kg

Close grip bench press, barbell
4 x F x 20kg (empty bar)
* found a tri exercise that really works for me biggrin.gif

Tricep extension, dumbbell
4 x F x 20 lbs

Tricep pushdown, cable
1 x 15 x 5kg
1 x 10-12 x 10kg
2 x 15 x 5kg

Deadlifts
1 x 10-12 x 20kg (empty bar)
1 x 10 x 40kg
1 x 5 x 60kg
2 x 8-10 x 40kg

Calf extension, machine (alternate toe outwards and toe inwards)
3 x 15-20 x 35kg
mushroomgirl
post Jul 15 2010, 12:16 AM

27 posts

hey. i recognize the gym. its the one in The Club! biggrin.gif Used to go there.. Just enrolled in CF actually. I've got a skinny frame too :/
yeah_guyz
post Jul 15 2010, 10:53 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

@cheez

buddy, interested to train together at Iron Gym? biggrin.gif

Friday-lower body (around 7pm)

Saturday- Upper body (around 5pm)
TScheezzzz
post Jul 21 2010, 07:21 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(mushroomgirl @ Jul 15 2010, 12:16 AM)
hey. i recognize the gym. its the one in The Club! biggrin.gif Used to go there.. Just enrolled in CF actually. I've got a skinny frame too :/
haha! oh CF one utama? I currently train there lol, part-timeing there

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jul 15 2010, 10:53 AM)
@cheez

buddy, interested to train together at Iron Gym? biggrin.gif

Friday-lower body (around 7pm)

Saturday- Upper body (around 5pm)
broo I do full body workouts now hahaha squat/dead lift + horizontal push n pull + vertical push n pull.. cuz recently dam inconsistent cant keep to 3 day splits, so now doing a 2 day split >< but hey fri ah.. if I'm not working maybe can la.. sat I'm not around the area so yeah.. lolol. see how it goes then!

WOD 20/7/10, Tuesday

Full body workout

Legs
Front squats, smith
1 x 15 x 20kg
1 x 8 x 40kg
1 x 6 x 40kg
1 x 7 x 40kg
1 x 6 x 40kg

Vertical,Push
Military press, smith
1 x 12 x 20kg
3 x 10-12 x 20kg

Vertical,Pull
Pull ups
3-4 x F x Assisted 26

Horizontal,Push
Bench press, dumbbell (per arm)
1 x 15 x 30lbs
3 x 8-12 x 35lbs
1 x 7 x 37.5lbs

Horizontal,Pull
Bent over rows, barbell
1 x 12 x 27.5kg
2 x 10 x 30kg
1 x 10 x 32.5kg

I should've done them in supersets. Should be better for growth right?

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Jul 21 2010, 07:22 PM
TScheezzzz
post Jul 29 2010, 08:31 PM

610 posts

WOD 29/7/10, Thursday

Vertical push/pull

Overhead Press, Barbell
1 x 12 x 20kg (empty bar)
2 x 8 x 25kg
1 x 7 x 25kg
1 x 6 x 25kg

Arnold Press, Dumbbell
4 x 6-10 x 20lbs (per arm)

Assisted pull ups, neutral grip
1 x 13 x 26 (assisted weight)
3 x 7-10 x 19

Assisted pull ups, pronated grip
3 x 7-10 x 19 (assisted weight)

Close grip bench press, barbell
3 x 10-12 x 20kg (empty bar)

Calf extension, machine
4 x F x 55-65 (weight)

Deadlift
1 x 12 x 20kg (empty bar)
1 x 10 x 40kg
2 x 8 x 50kg
elvenchou1987
post Jul 29 2010, 09:20 PM

327 posts

Bro. Busy with uni work? See that you train once a week like that
TScheezzzz
post Jul 29 2010, 11:18 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Jul 29 2010, 09:20 PM)
Bro. Busy with uni work? See that you train once a week like that
yeah man.. lotta tests.. now I try to make it to train twice a week.. I think twice a week is ok for me.. I take quite awhile for the sore to go away.. lousy recovery haha
TScheezzzz
post Aug 4 2010, 07:44 PM

610 posts

OH crap forgot to post last Saturday's workout.was it saturday? ah anyways, here goes.

WOD 31/7/10, Saturday

Horizontal push/pull

Smith machine Squats
DB Chest Press
DB 1-Arm Bent Over Row
Tricep Extension

err.... I think that's bout it for that day.. forgot reps n sets haha.

WOD 4/8/10, Wednesday

Vertical push/pull

Pull ups
1 x 15 x 26 (assisted)
1 x 12 x 19
2 x 10 x 19
2 x F x BW (negatives)

Shoulder press, Dumbbell
1 x 15 x 20 lbs (per arm)
1 x 13 x 22.5
1 x 12 x 25
3 x 7-9 x 27.5

Upright row, cable
3 x 10-12 x 12.5 (kg i tink)

Deadlift
1 x 14 x 20 kg (empty bar)
1 x 11 x 40 kg
1 x 10 x 50 kg
1 x 8 x 55kg

Tricep Extension, Dumbbell
3 x 12-15 x 20-22.5lbs

Felt tired and hungry, ended workout and went home and ate a ham egg mayo tuna sandwich biggrin.gif pls advise!
TScheezzzz
post Aug 11 2010, 08:54 PM

610 posts

WOD 11/8/10, Wednesday

Horizontal push/pull

Goblet Squat, dumbbell (warm up only)
1 x 15 x 40 lbs
1 x 15 x 52.5 lbs

V-squat machine
5 x 8-12 x 65,85,100,115,115 lbs
(cuz got ppl hog the freakin smith ._.)

Dips, partial
2-3 x F x BW

Bench press, dumbbell
3 x 8-12 x 30,32.5,35 lbs per arm

Bent over rows, one arm, dumbbell
4 x 8-15 x 20-27.5 lbs per arm..

Was feeling really weak today.. the squats really got to me.. haven't squatted in awhile and was rather sleepy today.. great reminder never to hit the gym if I'm feeling too tired.
TScheezzzz
post Aug 14 2010, 03:11 PM

610 posts

WOD 14/8/10, Saturday

Back/Triceps

Pull ups,assisted
1 x 14 x 26 (assisted weight)
3 x 8-12 x 19

Bent over row, dumbbell, one arm
22.5,25,27.5,30 (all 1 set)
3 x 8-10 x 30lbs

Deadlift
1 x 10 x 20kg (empty bar)
1 x 10 x 40kg
1 x 8 x 60kg
1 x 6 x 62.5kg
1 x 5 x 62.5kg

Skullcrushers (forgot weight and reps)

Tricep Extension, Dumbbell, both arms
3 x 12 x 20lbs

Currently reverting to a Back/Tri/Deads and Chest/Shoulder/Bicep/Squats split. I know I know.. too many changes.. but trying to organise my workout now ._. comment plleassee
TScheezzzz
post Aug 17 2010, 11:07 PM

610 posts

WOD 17/8/10, Tuesday

Chest/Shoulder/Bi

rough draft

Bench Press - 45kg x 5

Shoulder Press - 22.5lbs per arm x 8

V squat machine - 95 x 8-10

EZ Bar Curls - dono wad weight but dam syok
TScheezzzz
post Aug 25 2010, 08:58 PM

610 posts

ASSSSSIGNMENTS SIAALLLL. FINAL WEEK OF IT. AND THEN COME THE EXAMS RAWRRR

still need to workout though.

WOD 25/8/10, Wednesday

Chest/Shoulder/Bi

Bench Press, Dumbbell
1 x 13 x 27.5 lbs (per arm)
1 x 10 x 37.5 lbs
1 x 8 x 37.5 lbs
2 x 6 x 37.5 lbs
1 x F x 27.5 lbs

Shoulder Press, Dumbbell
1 x 12 x 15 lbs (per arm)
1 x 10 x 22.5 lbs
2 x 8 x 22.5 lbs
1 x 6 x 22.5 lbs

Lateral raise, weight plates
1 x 15 x 1.25 kg (per arm)
1 x 12 x 2.5 kg
1 x 15 x 1.25 kg
2 x 10 x 2.5 kg

Bicep curls, ez-bar
3-4 x 10-15 x alternate weight, cant rmb ><

Wasted a lot of time working on fixing my grip for bench press.. still sucks like crap..and shoulder press epic fail, I guess overhead press and standing 1 arm at a time shoulder press better. Lateral raises.. if anyone has a great video or tips to share on how to do them right, pls do.. Biceps.. could've done more but not enough time, today worked the part closer to the forearms.. didnt exactly hit the 1 tat helps build the peak ><
TScheezzzz
post Aug 29 2010, 11:47 PM

610 posts

WOD 29/8/10, Sunday

Back/Tri

Pull-ups, assisted
1 x 15 x 33 (value on machine)
2 x 15 x 26
1 x 10 x 19
2 x 15 x 26

Bent-over rows, dumbbell
1 x 12 x 20 lbs (per arm)
3 x 8 x 27.5 lbs

Skullcrushers, dumbbell, 45 n 90 deg arm angle variation alternated
3 x F x 12.5-15lbs

Tricep pushdown, cable
1 x F x 5 lbs (for pump)

Deadlifts
1 x 8 x 40 kg
1 x 8 x 50 kg
1 x 5 x 60 kg

Just got up from a nap when I hit the gym, was worried I couldn't do deadlifts and almost did not want to do today. Had trouble pulling through the rows but it got better and better and ironically I felt more alive when doing the deadlifts haha..
TScheezzzz
post Sep 4 2010, 04:48 PM

610 posts

WOD 4/9/10, Saturday

Chest/Shoulder/Wtv

Squats, Smith Machine
1 x 13 x 30kg
1 x 10 x 50kg
3 x 6-8 x 60kg

Close Grip Bench Press, Barbell
3 x 15 x 20kg (empty bar)

1 arm shoulder press, dumbbell
3 x 8 x 22.5 lbs per arm

Calf extension, machine
4 x F x 45 kg

Bicep curl, ez bar
3 x 15 x 5kg
TScheezzzz
post Sep 6 2010, 02:09 PM

610 posts

WOD 6/9/10, Monday

Back/Tri

Neutral grip pull ups, assisted w machine
1 x 15 x 33 (assistance)
1 x 15 x 26
1 x 12 x 19
1 x 10 x 19
1 x 12 x 26

Bent over rows, dumbbell
1 x 15 x 22.5 lbs (per arm)
3 x 10 x 27.5

Deadlifts
1 x 12 x 20kg empty bar
1 x 8 x 40kg
1 x 7 x 60kg
1 x 6 x 60kg

Overhead tricep Extension, dumbbell (both arms)
3 x F x 20 lbs

Close grip bench press
2 x F x 20 kg empty bar
likimikuku
post Sep 6 2010, 04:20 PM

564 posts

Bro, how the 2 days split?? gaining weight lately?
TScheezzzz
post Sep 6 2010, 10:35 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Sep 6 2010, 04:20 PM)
Bro, how the 2 days split?? gaining weight lately?
now on n off 2 day or 3 day wahahah. well check my first post in my log, got updates on my current weight cuz i just did a bodyfat measurement wit the machine biggrin.gif

not much recently cuz busy n oso diet is like crap. lookin to bounce back real soon but still training lo
likimikuku
post Sep 7 2010, 02:39 PM

564 posts

65 kg...sound like improvement, u r a student right? should have more time to take care of diet and workout...hehe

TScheezzzz
post Sep 7 2010, 07:34 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Sep 7 2010, 02:39 PM)
65 kg...sound like improvement, u r a student right? should have more time to take care of diet and workout...hehe
true.. but now exams wahahaha.. slowlyloh. later when no more exams can hardcore again haha
TScheezzzz
post Sep 8 2010, 09:42 PM

610 posts

WOD 8/9/10, Wednesday

LOL 8 9 10! sorry syok sendiri..

Home workout/ shoulders and arms

All dumbbell workouts!

Shoulder press, seated and standing
3 x F x 10kg per arm (per variation)

Bent over fly
4 x 15 x 5kg per arm

Skull crushers (2 diff variation, straight arm and 45 deg arm)
3 x 15 x 2.5kg per arm (straight)
3 x 15 x 5 kg per arm (45 deg)

Hammer curls, bicep curls, concentration..

was trying them all to find 1 that would hit the contraction well.. need to develop better bicep peak.

On a lighter note, found out had to twist the weight from neutral grip to pronated grip for skull crushers.. and it rly killed my tris! NAIS.

SELAMAT HARI RAYA TO MY MUSLIM KAWANS! \m/
Majinity
post Sep 8 2010, 11:28 PM

792 posts

Ever tried cable preacher curl? Its niceee. Although if at home, I'd do 21s instead
TScheezzzz
post Sep 9 2010, 12:00 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Sep 8 2010, 11:28 PM)
Ever tried cable preacher curl? Its niceee. Although if at home, I'd do 21s instead
preacher don hav that thing at home for me to use for preacher LOL. oo from scooby's? i tried tat today.. doesn beat the hammer curls LOL i got a thing for hammer curls xD
syarehey
post Sep 9 2010, 04:13 AM

492 posts

maybe u can post some pictures..wink.gif

0.6084sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:33 PM