33 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V6

lee_what2004
post May 2 2010, 11:54 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Better take the Asus if you want to game better, but A42Jr phased out already, replaced by A42Jk...
no need to buy the McAfee, there's other antivirus better than that...
If you want customize the notebook, can only buy it online, shops don't give customization or they can help you order online, which is the same like you order yourself...

Are you fine with 17.3'' notebook? You can consider Dell Vostro 3700...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: May 2 2010, 11:55 AM
lee_what2004
post May 2 2010, 12:52 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(dengwong @ May 2 2010, 12:38 PM)
gaming is not the MUST have function in my laptop la...juz if can have it lagi best lo...outstation will be boring also....if take ASUS A42JK...so i need to go digital mall buy lo...any recommended geh shop???or place???
the notebook with 17.3 inch how many kg oh...i m perempuan lei geh...i scare bring to cafe all those byk heavy nia...Vostro 3700  got 3 package wor....u min the rm2849 tat 1 ar??need to customize or not....or i juz order it with the original package???
thanks for ur suggestion leh... smile.gif
Like that, better take 14'', easier on the back laugh.gif, the Vostro 3700 with adaptor weight 3kg++...
and yes, the RM2849 package, you might want to upgrade the win 7 to home premium or the warranty to 3 years, it should be enough...

QUOTE(loocerom @ May 2 2010, 12:42 PM)
Roughly around 1-2 weeks, better ask the Sager user, all of them import it...
The only way is to import it, you won't find it being sold on shops...
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/820915
for gaming, its more concern on the graphic card rather than cpu, i5 or i7, they are sufficient, get i7 if you have the budget....
how about the vostro 3700.. or should i look at asus also.. and i belif the acer HDD is 5400 rpm.. ermm..
Well, Acer 5942G still better than Vostro 3700...
Asus wise, you can get Asus N61Ja, i5 520M + ATi HD5730 (which basically overclocked version of HD5650)@RM4999
ATi HD5870 is single best graphic card you can get for now, which on the Sager NP8690...

QUOTE(sairento @ May 2 2010, 12:46 PM)
my found out a Dell's laptop for me..

Inspiron 14R ( New )
Intel® Core™ i5-430M Processor (2.26Ghz, 4Threads, Turbo Boost up to 2.53 GHz, 3M cache)
Genuine  Windows® 7 Home Basic 64 bit (English)
2GB (1 X 2 GB) 1 DIMM DDR3 1333Mhz
320GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
14.0 Widescreen HD WLED Glossy Display with TrueLife™ (1366x768)
ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470 - 1GB
12.7" SATA Tray Load DVD+/-RW
Dell Wireless 1501 (MY)

as in online price RM 2,699

Comment about it??  laugh.gif
Quite ok, the only turn off is the win 7 home basic laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post May 2 2010, 01:01 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

i3 350M should be enough, its RM 2699 unless you want to use up all the budget?
The one RM2899 comes with i5 430M and RM3199 with i5 520M...
lee_what2004
post May 2 2010, 01:04 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, home basic don't have those transparency or fancy eye candy...
you would need at least home premium if you want it...
lee_what2004
post May 2 2010, 01:07 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, for the Dell, you are sacrificing 1 year warranty, 500GB to 320GB HDD and downgrade Win 7 Home Premium to Home Basic for a little better CPU...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: May 2 2010, 01:11 PM
lee_what2004
post May 2 2010, 01:29 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Here don't talk piracy tongue.gif
lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 03:38 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(angel3_72 @ May 2 2010, 10:22 PM)
Hellow people smile.gif
Need some advice. Looking to buy laptop. To be used for :

photo edit, watching video, music
light to med gaming (possibly heavy)
internet - multi page browsing, skyping, downloading, uploading, update website, blogs etc.
a lot of multitasking for the above activities.

intel processor i3 or i5, good graphics card, need international service n warranty (going abroad for 2 years or more), windows 7 home premium.

budget below RM3K if possible (but will consider RM3.5K)

any suggestions or anything else i should consider? appreciate the help. Thanks n cheers.
Depends on you want more in performance or international warranty...
performance, go with Lenovo Y460...
Warranty either take Asus with its 2 years international warranty or Dell vostro 3700 and upgrade the warranty to 3 years, it should be international warranty...

QUOTE(dmling84 @ May 3 2010, 01:16 AM)
Hello,

Need some advice here.

I wanna buy a new laptop. After surveying at dell site, i think Vostro 3700 is most suitable for me.

actually i want use for med gaming (like GTA 4, NFS, Flight Simulator X), internet - multi page browsing, multitasking running a lot of software program, photo and video editing.

for the requirement above, V3700 enough for me? or any other brand?

processor i5 430 or 520?
which one is better, nVidia 330M 1G or ATI 5470 1G?

Well, GTA4 and Flight Simulator X is heavy CPU games, better take i5 520M if you have the budget...
Nvidia GT330M is better than ATi HD5470..
lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 09:46 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Generally is good, except the CS model and some model with battery-drain issues...
lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 11:48 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Asus A42Jk, i5 430M + ATi HD5145@RM2899, you lose the switchable GPU though....
lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 12:33 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

no...
lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 02:10 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Yes, but A42Jr phased out already...

lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 02:14 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

15'' wise, Acer 5741G, i5 520M + Nvidia GT320M@RM2999...
Though if want better gaming performance, you can consider Dell Vostro 3700, i5 430M + Nvidia GT330M@RM 2849, the thing is its 17.3''...
lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 02:21 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, Asus Malaysia stated there's no supply for HD5470 hence they phased out A42Jr/A52Jr...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: May 3 2010, 02:21 PM
lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 02:25 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, the best choice is getting HD5470/HD5145 for your budget, which is weaker than the Nvidia mentioned before...
Try look Asus A52Jr/A52Jk if want the ATi...
or BenQ S57, maybe got stock from Startec, P8700 + ATi HD4650@RM2999, which is more powerful than all those mentioned before...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: May 3 2010, 02:27 PM
lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 06:18 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

2GB to 4GB is not really a big step unless you are using memory extensive program...
Home Basic don't have those transparency and eye candy...
lee_what2004
post May 3 2010, 06:27 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

You can try to use AMD GPU Clock Tool....
lee_what2004
post May 4 2010, 12:10 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(eugene_tan6 @ May 3 2010, 06:28 PM)
Still able to overclock through the CCC? is the AMD GPU clock tool safe and trustable?
Not sure about CCC...
Some user here used the AMD GPU clock tool...

QUOTE(LiMcZ @ May 3 2010, 06:37 PM)
any good latop with nice design...
mostly for basic usage...internet,movie,paper work....

budjet 2.5k

Added on May 3, 2010, 7:06 pmprefer HP brand
You can consider HP ProBook 4420s, i3 330M + GMA HD, freeDOS@RM2199 or HP Compaq CQ42-189TX, i3 330M + ATi HD5430@RM2249...

QUOTE(dmling84 @ May 3 2010, 07:56 PM)
Unfortunately, Vostro 3700 cant customized for Full HD 1920x1080 LCD anti glare. so sad...  sad.gif
I want upgrade window 7 home basic to home premium, but it don have 64bit, only Professional has 64bit. disappointed again.. sad.gif
But i heard that if it installed with window 7 home premium 64bit then i use the given  window 7 home premium 32bit key, it will work.... is it true? anyone try it?
Well, for FullHD Anti-glare, you would need to choose Precision series...
64-bit can be used for 32-bit, just need to be same version.

QUOTE(devil94 @ May 3 2010, 08:26 PM)
hmm im considering taking the Acer 1810TZ or a Netbook ?
how big was the perfomance difference ?
2 also intel graphic card.
need some comment
10'' and 11''
diff about Rm300-Rm350
thx
If you don't multitask, difference would be minimal...

QUOTE(LawdRetep @ May 3 2010, 09:01 PM)
Hey guys I have a question,

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/latest/hp-unveils...-lifestyle.html

The last paragraph is regarding the HP Pavilion dv3 Entertainment Notebook PC but then it states,

"Powered by an Intel Core i7 processor and configurable with up to 8Gb RAM, the dv2 is certainly a power packed machine in a diminutive package. The dv2 also features DX11 graphics, switchable between Intel HD and ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5450, so yes it can run Crysis. Rounding off the features on this notebook with 640Gb of HD space and HDMI output, the dv3 could very well be the ultimate entertainment notebook."

"The HP Pavilion dv3 Entertainment notebook starts at RM4099 and will be available in early May."

So is it dv2 or dv3?
If its ATi HD5450, then it is DV3...

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ May 3 2010, 09:08 PM)
any gaming laptop under 5k budget? best price to performance ratio. any size any brand. any options other than xps16? asus G or sager
Best price to performance ratios wise and other option than those and better seems to be none...

QUOTE(eugene_tan6 @ May 3 2010, 10:32 PM)
Is this deal good ?

Which is more worth it??
The third one because 2GB RAM for RM149 is quite cheap compared to the price on shops....

QUOTE(eugene_tan6 @ May 3 2010, 11:51 PM)
But over the terms, the 4330 is a relatively weak card isn't it? How bout the inspiron 13R, i3 -330M, W7HP, 2gig's ram, 5470 1Gb = RM 2382?
If gaming is the concern, Inspiron 13R would perform better...
Pretty much is the cheapest notebook available with HD5470 now...
Note that it doesn't have dvd drive...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: May 4 2010, 12:29 AM
lee_what2004
post May 4 2010, 12:39 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Haven't tried those model, so can't comment much on it...
Thought the 13'' might heat up pretty quick considering its size unless Dell do some proper job in its cooling...
lee_what2004
post May 4 2010, 12:46 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, the 1GB is dedicated, so it shouldn't eat ram memory...
lee_what2004
post May 4 2010, 12:38 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Consider Dell Vostro 3700, 17.3'', i5 430M + Nvidia GT330M@RM2849
For Optimus, you would need to spend RM4K for Asus N82Jv....

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: May 4 2010, 12:40 PM

33 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 >Top

0.0444sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:44 PM