QUOTE(justwei @ May 4 2010, 03:27 PM)
but i am not using it for games,mainly for watching videos and words.
just hope have battery of at least 3 hours.
any other asus that have almost same spec as acer 4745G?
budget below 3k...
If not for games, better take integrated GPU, less heat and more battery life...just hope have battery of at least 3 hours.
any other asus that have almost same spec as acer 4745G?
budget below 3k...
consider Asus A42F, i3 350M + GMA HD, freeDOS@RM2099
Same spec with Acer 4745G would be Asus A42Jr, i5 430M + ATi HD5470@RM2799 but it already phased out, so might be hard to find it...
closest is Asus A42Jk, i5 430M + ATi HD5145@RM2899, similar gaming performance but you lose the switchable GPU feature on Acer...
QUOTE(yscchan @ May 4 2010, 03:30 PM)
HI, nice to meet u all..
Im freshie here..
Im going2 buy my 1st laptop in my life=)
Budget less than rm4,199
brand : hope that the new laptop wont be making so much trouble to me.. i hav2 take it for studying oversea.. no easily spoil ? tahan longer xD
processor : i5 is enuf for a student rite ?
Size : im no so care but better dun be too heavy
nice graphic .. gaming sometimes
Is blue ray necessary so far ?
THANKS xD
Since its for oversea, better take the one with international warranty, consider Asus N82Jv, i5 520M + Nvidia GT335M@RM3999Im freshie here..
Im going2 buy my 1st laptop in my life=)
Budget less than rm4,199
brand : hope that the new laptop wont be making so much trouble to me.. i hav2 take it for studying oversea.. no easily spoil ? tahan longer xD
processor : i5 is enuf for a student rite ?
Size : im no so care but better dun be too heavy
nice graphic .. gaming sometimes
Is blue ray necessary so far ?
THANKS xD
BluRay not really necessary unless you buy BluRay movies/disc...
QUOTE(eugene_tan6 @ May 4 2010, 03:44 PM)
If I were to upgrade the 2gb ram myself, would it void the warranty? since I'm gonna have to remove the back cover. Wouldn't the stickers tear?
Void only the ram warranty, the rest no.QUOTE(sanesaint @ May 4 2010, 03:50 PM)
hey guys i need help. i'm looking for a laptop since im going overseas to study so i hope to get some recommendations for laptops. looking for:
core i5 processor, hopefully the newer ones like i5 520
500GB 7200rpm hd
an upper level class 2 graphics card
4gb ddr3 ram
15.6-16" inch screen
gonna be using the laptop mainly for casual use, but im also gonna play games on it like crysis, risen, battlefield... so yeah i guess its gonna need a good CPU+GPU performance.
ive been looking at models and am interested in models like toshiba qosmio f60 and dell xps 1645 and asus n61JA... any reviews on these laptops or better alternatives? budget is 4.5k
thanks guysss
Asus N61Ja is RM4999, its out of your budget, but since you considering it, you might as well consider Acer 5942G, i7 720QM + ATi HD5650@RM4799...core i5 processor, hopefully the newer ones like i5 520
500GB 7200rpm hd
an upper level class 2 graphics card
4gb ddr3 ram
15.6-16" inch screen
gonna be using the laptop mainly for casual use, but im also gonna play games on it like crysis, risen, battlefield... so yeah i guess its gonna need a good CPU+GPU performance.
ive been looking at models and am interested in models like toshiba qosmio f60 and dell xps 1645 and asus n61JA... any reviews on these laptops or better alternatives? budget is 4.5k
thanks guysss
Though if you want the best out of your money, consider to import Sager NP8690, i5 520M + ATi HD5870, still under RM5K with shipping...
QUOTE(yscchan @ May 4 2010, 04:02 PM)
erm... how abt dell ?? dunno why my frens keep asking me to look for dell studio... im pretty confused whther i sud choose dell or asus @@
Well, the thing is Dell Studio spec is quite old and when it refresh is still unknown, but they do have the better after sales services...QUOTE(HoPeLeSsLiNg @ May 4 2010, 04:08 PM)
ned a laptop for college life, 4 assignment those stuff~
1. Brand----- currently aim DELL inspiron14 core i3 (gt any model more cheap n similar with it?
2. Budget.---- 2-2.5k (should i buy 2nd hand?)
3. Specs.------ MS, assignment, watching video, n some light games( sims, or java games mayb)
4. Size.--------- anything, as long easy 2 carry~
Can consider Dell Inspiron 13R, i3 330M + ATi HD5470@RM2299, note that it don't have dvd drive, but it comes under 2KG...1. Brand----- currently aim DELL inspiron14 core i3 (gt any model more cheap n similar with it?
2. Budget.---- 2-2.5k (should i buy 2nd hand?)
3. Specs.------ MS, assignment, watching video, n some light games( sims, or java games mayb)
4. Size.--------- anything, as long easy 2 carry~
QUOTE(sairento @ May 4 2010, 04:57 PM)
Well.. another Dell compare here.. XD
Copy from eugene_tan6
Dell Inspiron 1564
Processors: Intel® Core™ Core i5-430M (2.26Ghz, 4Threads, turbo boost up to 2.53 GHz, 3M cache)
Operating System: Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit (English)
Displays: 15.6” High Definition 720p WLED (1366x768) Display with TrueLife™
Memory: 4GB (2 X 2GB) Dual Channel 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Primary Storage: 320GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
Optical Drives: 8X DVD+/-RW Drive with DVD+R double layer write capability
Graphics Cards: ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5450 - 1GB
Multimedia: Integrated Stereo Sound with SRS Premium Sound
Coluor: Obsedian Black
Connectivity: 1.3MP Webcam
Wired: 10/100 Ethernet controller
Wireless: Dell Wireless 1397 802.11b/g Half Mini Card and Bluetooth® 365 Module
Power Supply: 65W AC Adapter
Battery: 6-Cell Li-Ion Primary Battery
RM 2699
compare with
Inspiron 14R (new) mine research
Processor - Intel® Core™ i5-430M Processor (2.26Ghz, 4Threads, Turbo Boost up to 2.53 GHz, 3M cache)
Operating System - Genuine Windows® 7 Home Basic 64 bit (English)
Memory 2GB (1 X 2 GB) 1 DIMM DDR3 1333Mhz
Hard Drive - 320GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
Display - 14.0 Widescreen HD WLED Glossy Display with TrueLife™ (1366x768)
Video Card - ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470 - 1GB
Optical Drive - 12.7" SATA Tray Load DVD+/-RW
Wireless Network Card - Dell Wireless 1501 (MY)
Dell Services: Hardware Maintenance - 1Yr Ltd Hardware Warranty, InHome Service after Remote Diagnosis
Price is da same RM 2699
What do you think is better?? XD from da memory is different as i know..
Better go with 14R, you can always upgrade the OS and use the coupon to reduce it by RM50....Copy from eugene_tan6
Dell Inspiron 1564
Processors: Intel® Core™ Core i5-430M (2.26Ghz, 4Threads, turbo boost up to 2.53 GHz, 3M cache)
Operating System: Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit (English)
Displays: 15.6” High Definition 720p WLED (1366x768) Display with TrueLife™
Memory: 4GB (2 X 2GB) Dual Channel 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Primary Storage: 320GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
Optical Drives: 8X DVD+/-RW Drive with DVD+R double layer write capability
Graphics Cards: ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5450 - 1GB
Multimedia: Integrated Stereo Sound with SRS Premium Sound
Coluor: Obsedian Black
Connectivity: 1.3MP Webcam
Wired: 10/100 Ethernet controller
Wireless: Dell Wireless 1397 802.11b/g Half Mini Card and Bluetooth® 365 Module
Power Supply: 65W AC Adapter
Battery: 6-Cell Li-Ion Primary Battery
RM 2699
compare with
Inspiron 14R (new) mine research
Processor - Intel® Core™ i5-430M Processor (2.26Ghz, 4Threads, Turbo Boost up to 2.53 GHz, 3M cache)
Operating System - Genuine Windows® 7 Home Basic 64 bit (English)
Memory 2GB (1 X 2 GB) 1 DIMM DDR3 1333Mhz
Hard Drive - 320GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
Display - 14.0 Widescreen HD WLED Glossy Display with TrueLife™ (1366x768)
Video Card - ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470 - 1GB
Optical Drive - 12.7" SATA Tray Load DVD+/-RW
Wireless Network Card - Dell Wireless 1501 (MY)
Dell Services: Hardware Maintenance - 1Yr Ltd Hardware Warranty, InHome Service after Remote Diagnosis
Price is da same RM 2699
What do you think is better?? XD from da memory is different as i know..
QUOTE(yscchan @ May 4 2010, 06:02 PM)
RM3999...QUOTE(eugene_tan6 @ May 4 2010, 06:14 PM)
I believe the New Inspiron is better. Even though it's using 5450 but you still can oc it, no problem
. It's also using W7HP, don't you think it's better?
Well, you can also overclock HD5470...QUOTE(eugene_tan6 @ May 4 2010, 07:28 PM)
I just got back from Harvey Norman.. I've seen the 4745G and 5942G, am just worried about the size.. For the performance per price I think I'll opt for the New Inspiron 15. Actually.. I wanted to get the Inspiron 13R but then I realised it doesn't have a optical drive.. Sad case
Anyone have other better options to recommend? I wanna make this confirmation another time, is the HD5450 performing better than the HD4570 and HD5145? I've seen in the notebook check, the HD5450 stands behind both the 4570 and 5145.. 
Why not take 4745G? Should be able to get it down at RM2599...QUOTE(TopHigh-- @ May 4 2010, 10:43 PM)
I need some suggestions.
Ve been searching for a laptop which is,
Brand = ASUS (my bro insists to buy this brand, he said the cooling system is much better than other brands, is that true?)
Budget = <2500
For = watch HD movies, listen songs, programming, and some lite gamings like dota aka warcraft 3
All ASUS laptops come with glare screen right? Erm is the glare screen of any use to us?? Its kinda annoying when u r watching some movies and the screen reflects smth on it =_=
thanks for helps
Most notebook now with glossy screen, unless you go with business notebook...Ve been searching for a laptop which is,
Brand = ASUS (my bro insists to buy this brand, he said the cooling system is much better than other brands, is that true?)
Budget = <2500
For = watch HD movies, listen songs, programming, and some lite gamings like dota aka warcraft 3
All ASUS laptops come with glare screen right? Erm is the glare screen of any use to us?? Its kinda annoying when u r watching some movies and the screen reflects smth on it =_=
thanks for helps
If you are fine with low performing games, can consider Asus A42F, i3 350M + GMA HD, freeDOS@RM2099
else, try to up the budget, Asus A42Jk, i3 350M + ATi HD5145@RM2699
QUOTE(LiMcZ @ May 5 2010, 01:18 AM)
HP DM1, SU4100@RM2199QUOTE(panjibuloe @ May 5 2010, 04:24 AM)
hi please suggest me notebook below RM 2200
use:
1. programming
2. office and presentation
3. internet browsing
4. gaming - if can play Heroes of newerth(HON) and left 4 dead in high detail resolution better
brand : any brand except acer
thx b4
out of budget abit, can consider Dell Inspiron 13R, i3 330M + ATi HD5470@RM2299 and use FCRS8ZLJBKLRWR to get it down to RM2249...use:
1. programming
2. office and presentation
3. internet browsing
4. gaming - if can play Heroes of newerth(HON) and left 4 dead in high detail resolution better
brand : any brand except acer
thx b4
QUOTE(crave17 @ May 5 2010, 11:55 AM)
HP dv6t extreme performance laptop,
i7 processor... any recommendation which is equivalent to this one?
If under price range of HP DV6, can consider i7 processor... any recommendation which is equivalent to this one?
Acer 5745G, 15.6'', i7 720QM + Nvidia GT330M@RM3799
Acer 5942G, 15.6'', i7 720QM + ATi HD5650@RM4799
Dell Studio XPS 16, i7 720QM + ATI HD4670@RM4899
Dell Vostro 3700, 17.3'', i7 720QM + Nvidia GT330M@RM4199
Lenovo Y560P, 15.6'', i7 720QM + Nvidia HD5730, 6GB DDR3@RM4999
QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ May 5 2010, 01:03 PM)
Dell Vostro 3700 looks like a good deal.
For the GC part, how does Nvidia GT330M compare with other ATI GC within same price range? I find it strange that for a larger screen and better GC can be more cheaper than 15" and weaker GC, some more it's from Dell lol.
Also for the price of RM 2849, is it included the shipping cost already?
Well, GT330M is the most powerful you can get under RM 3K for now For the GC part, how does Nvidia GT330M compare with other ATI GC within same price range? I find it strange that for a larger screen and better GC can be more cheaper than 15" and weaker GC, some more it's from Dell lol.
Also for the price of RM 2849, is it included the shipping cost already?
ATi at this price range is mostly ATi HD5470, HD5145, HD5450, HD5430, which is weaker than the Nvidia GT330M...
The Dell Vostro is having cash redemption of RM650, hence the cheaper price...
This post has been edited by lee_what2004: May 5 2010, 03:04 PM
May 5 2010, 02:07 PM
0.0179sec