Astro B.yond V3.0, HD Content Available
eMKs
Mar 8 2010, 04:32 PM
720p is sharper than 1080i, that's the video said.
For video that has fast moving scene, it's true. But actually you can get 1080i sharper with normal scene. If your TV has good de-interlacer or external de-interlacer, you can get better result. I mean for Full HD TV.
This post has been edited by eMKs: Mar 8 2010, 04:33 PM
eMKs
Mar 9 2010, 08:57 AM
Yeah, upscale SD content will be better on ESPN HD rather than Star Sport. If Astro can provide SD channel PQ just like PQ on HD channel downscaled to 576i, it will be much much better. Added on March 9, 2010, 9:04 amQUOTE(AjkR06 @ Mar 9 2010, 08:46 AM) may I know whether F1 was actually broadcast in 16:9 or 4:3...?? If they already broadcast it in 16:9.., I think, it's not really problem when they upscale it since the sources itself already in 16:9, but if the sources is in 4:3... ready to see the "wide" racing car...  It's available 16:9 & 4:3 linkThis post has been edited by eMKs: Mar 9 2010, 09:04 AM
eMKs
Mar 9 2010, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(l_berd @ Mar 9 2010, 09:47 AM) i only hope i no need to listen to the crap commentator from the Star Sport only in ESPN HD. original commentator provide better info on the strategy and technical terms instead Agreed. Although Steve Slater + Alex Yoong is not bad, I prefer original commentator. Back when TV3/RTM show live telecast, I always tune it rather than Star Sport. Beside good commentator, you get 2 minutes earlier live feed & less commercial break. But now no choice, ntv7 only show delayed.
eMKs
Mar 9 2010, 12:19 PM
Too bad, our byond only have 1 tuner. So, we won't have 'watch 1 channel while recording other channel' just like Astro Max, when byond recording function is available.
eMKs
Mar 10 2010, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 10 2010, 12:21 AM) But the biggest thing is they're doing it through a 1MBPS stimix line. Something TM keeps telling me is impossible to do through stimix with their IPTV box and insisting that it needs their HSBB to work due to "technical limitations" and then refusing to let me sign up because my area has no HSBB. Excuse me, the letters "IPTV" makes me believe that their decoder connects to the router by ethernet (which is validated with the fact that the TM fiber system is a data-only system with IP Telephony and IPTV running as part of the Triple-Play system. Logic will tell you that to use IP, it needs to jack into the router). If DETV's IPTV system can deliver decent quality streaming video over stimix 1M, why can't the TM-IPTV system? And on that, a suggestion to Astro: DETV's on-demand system uses Ethernet to stream programs to the user. The server will only stream the program to the user and that user alone only when requested. This is the real definition for on-demand. Try to migrate your AOD system over to that, it'll save you satellite bandwidth that you can use to carry more channels. After all, all the latest decoders already have Ethernet port. And while at it, migrate SD to DVB-S2 so PQ can improve. You've pulled off mass decoder change before, do it again. I think TM not allow their IPTV via streamyx because they want to provide HD channel & to guarantee PQ. U know la, stimix not so stable & sometime you'll get very very slow connection. Astro cannot provide real on-demand because of satellite communication limitation. Real on-demand, you need to request before you can watch it. How do they know you request it? You can't transmit data from decoder to satellite, it just 1 way. But for IPTV, you can get real on-demand. They also can provide online gaming if they want.
eMKs
Mar 10 2010, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 10 2010, 09:32 AM) Wow so F1 is really gonna be HD. Wokeh must go get my Byond afterwards. Hope the fella does it for me by Sunday. I went bought new TV just for F1 n World Cup yesterday then remembered F1 is Starsports so I thought no F1 in HD. Don't too excited. Anything still can happen. Just wait & see.
eMKs
Mar 10 2010, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 10 2010, 11:08 AM) As I said before, I dun care about PQ. I just want my BBC shows. And if DETV's PQ is quite good at 1M, I dun see how TM's can be that bad at 1M. Just wait end of this month for TM IPTV launching, maybe you'll get better idea what the're offering. Just pray they will provide 'lite' version to stimix user as well. QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 10 2010, 11:08 AM) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVB-RCS says it can be done. Also, Astro claims that their decoder can send back viewer statistics- that's how they decide that BBC has "too few people" watching and axe the channel (for some reason tho, suddenly I remember an old Square One TV Mathnet episode when they told me that). I doubt it, if you watch press conference during byond launching day, the CEO said its just 1 way. DVB-RCS need 2-way.
eMKs
Mar 10 2010, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 10 2010, 01:16 PM) As for the Astro cannot call back... so how did it relay the viewing habits of the family back to Astro? Unless it's like that Mathnet episode... fake survey box, the marketing people is actually pulling the numbers out of their ass and decided to oust channels that they don't like "just because" Well, they have Nielsen Media Research to rely on  Accurate or not is second thing
eMKs
Mar 10 2010, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(bond @ Mar 10 2010, 03:03 PM) Hi all, Need some confirmation on the byond requirement, installer was onsite and tested the existing signal and the reading is about 55-56, then he told me the cable is not good. a new cable or booster is required. I wonder is there such requirement on the minimum signal. thanks 55 only? Installer should install new cable, it's free for 20m. Don't use booster, make sure signal at least 200
eMKs
Mar 10 2010, 04:04 PM
Read previous post from AstInst, you'll get better idea such as this
eMKs
Mar 11 2010, 05:29 AM
My TV can set to stretch mode (wide zoom) when astro mode is 4:3 using HDMI, wonder why y'all can't.  Seem like astro didn't test for all tv brand. But I still prefer byond stretch mode (if I want it stretch) in previous byond firmware 1.01, because tv wide zoom will cropped some left & right part (start from minutes part will be gone in astro banner) even though I set my tv to overscan. It will be great if byond have step zoom (from pillar box untill full screen), so user can set to what they're prefer. My tv has 4 step zoom from overscan (but not until full screen for 4:3), I prefer to max zoom for SD channel. But the thing is, it will also zoom for HD channel which is I don't like. The step zoom in my tv can't set with zoom button, I need to go to screen setting, a bit annoying. With this new byond 1.1s, I need to set my tv to overscan. Still play around, still not sure it will suite my preference or not.
eMKs
Mar 11 2010, 06:52 AM
Yeah, hope that astro will fix it soon. I suggest Byond version 1.1SE
eMKs
Mar 11 2010, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Mar 11 2010, 05:10 PM) My TV model is Sony KLV-40V200A, under HDMI mode, I can't configure aspect ratio, i.e Auto wide, wide option, 4:3; vertical left shift, etc, all are hidden, I can only adjust display area (normal, -1, -2), please advise. Set your display mode to 'Full', then you can change.
eMKs
Mar 11 2010, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Mar 11 2010, 05:56 PM) I can't, when I press the remote button 'wide mode', it said ' feature not available for current signal ' , if I turn off Astro Beyond, I can access the wide mode again. Sorry, I actually mean set to other than 'Normal/Full'
eMKs
Mar 17 2010, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(AstInst @ Mar 17 2010, 02:44 PM) The SD has not got worse (I actually look at their broadcast on a PC card analyser), your personal standards have got higher now you have HD, this happens in nearly every country that launches HD! Your mind and eyes change to the better quality, at some point you will see stretching as I do! ;-) AstInst, Any idea how RTM channel looks better than any Astro SD channel
eMKs
Mar 17 2010, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(rexa13 @ Mar 17 2010, 07:25 PM) Got TV2 sometime got good movie at 10 p.m Tonight - Remember the titan Saturday - Superman returns Watch it, u'll see what i mean
eMKs
Mar 18 2010, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(apexg2 @ Mar 17 2010, 11:38 PM) seems like i have to get ready launching astro byond thread version 4.0.......ok, lets talk wut i should put in there...the new thread will be launch around next week... Better wait until discussion about stretch is over, so we can start V4 with new topic. Just reserved 2-3 post, so you can add other info later on
eMKs
Mar 18 2010, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 18 2010, 09:46 AM) Please someone advice on this. I turned on my decoder this morning upto 4am. Then i was watching ESPN HD, i checked my setting Fit to Screen, 16:9. But my SW version still 1.1.2 15th March I just upgraded to Beyond about 11-12 days ago. Does that make any differences? You already have latest firmware
eMKs
Mar 18 2010, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 18 2010, 09:54 AM) Great, then i think i just completely wasted my time waiting for an update eh..  No need to wait for update, just leave in standby mode. In 5 minutes it will auto-check for update & the update will take another 5 min
eMKs
Mar 18 2010, 10:09 AM
The new firmware is BYOND v.1.2 s Software version is: 1.1.2.001 Mar 15 2010
Press Aspect Ratio button on byond remote, if you didn't get zoom, that's mean your already updated.