Is Pioneer KRP500 worth it?, need advice

ronaldjoe
post Jan 25 2010, 06:32 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 25 2010, 06:22 PM)
it's coming the specs are just finalized, you don't need to wait 2-3years to mature... it's just an extension of AVC codec.. and the rest is add-on hardware like apeture glasses amd HDMI 1.4...

as for the reference of BD, well I bought I started buying 2008, it didn't take long to go from HDMI 1.0 to HDMI 1.3.. or BD x1 to BD x8.. or BD profile 1.0 to BD profile 2.0..
Since this Kuro is for the PQ and not many ppl would look for 3D performance (like me), Kuro is still a good buy for the elites.
ar188
post Jan 25 2010, 06:35 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 25 2010, 06:32 PM)
Since this Kuro is for the PQ and not many ppl would look for 3D performance (like me), Kuro is still a good buy for the elites.
if you can upgrade TV every 2-3 years, I don't see why not.. go get it.. thumbup.gif (I doubt 3years time KRP-500 will be so hot.. like how 428 was great in 2007 biggrin.gif )

for me, buy low-middle range and change every 2-3years.. biggrin.gif sorry la.. poor fellas is like this wan.. sad.gif
ronaldjoe
post Jan 25 2010, 06:39 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 25 2010, 06:35 PM)
if you can upgrade TV every 2-3 years, I don't see why not.. go get it..  thumbup.gif  (I doubt 3years time KRP-500 will be so hot.. like how 428 was great in 2007  biggrin.gif )

for me, buy low-middle range and change every 2-3years..  biggrin.gif  sorry la.. poor fellas is like this wan..  sad.gif
I won't spend 12k for a 50" tv lor... too pricey for me liao sweat.gif
12k for a 63" then it's different story la. TV is getting cheaper and cheaper every year, don't want to throw money into sea.

This statement does not applies to elites. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 25 2010, 06:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 25 2010, 06:39 PM)
I won't spend 12k for a 50" tv lor... too pricey for me liao sweat.gif
12k for a 63" then it's different story la. TV is getting cheaper and cheaper every year, don't want to throw money into sea.

This statement does not applies to elites.  biggrin.gif
elites buy new Kuro (or it's replacement model, top of the range Series) every 2years?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 25 2010, 06:41 PM
anfieldude
post Jan 25 2010, 07:13 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 25 2010, 06:22 PM)
it's coming the specs are just finalized, you don't need to wait 2-3years to mature... it's just an extension of AVC codec.. and the rest is add-on hardware like apeture glasses amd HDMI 1.4...

as for the reference of BD, well I bought I started buying 2008, it didn't take long to go from HDMI 1.0 to HDMI 1.3.. or BD x1 to BD x8.. or BD profile 1.0 to BD profile 2.0..
I guess u're right.

Maybe ur strategy of AV upgrade is the correct one.

Too late for me to turn back. No upgrade at least for the next 5yrs for me, so I'll just have to be happy with what I have and gloat at people like u for always getting the latest stuff!

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jan 25 2010, 07:14 PM
ar188
post Jan 25 2010, 07:33 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 25 2010, 07:13 PM)
I guess u're right.

Maybe ur strategy of AV upgrade is the correct one.

Too late for me to turn back. No upgrade at least for the next 5yrs for me, so I'll just have to be happy with what I have and gloat at people like u for always getting the latest stuff!
I think yours abit different, you choose 60incher.. (if not mistaken panny still sell older 60incher series even if the newer ones like 42-50 are being replaced right?) so maybe 2years time your Kuro 60 still considered (mid high end) among 60inch sold in local market.. (but maybe prices for these bigger sizes will tumble more, am not sure??)

however, 50" is more common... so maybe the 500A will be obsolete sooner.. anyway my remarks was more "optimized" for 42- 50inch TV.. cos the models change much faster and every change brings more features and cheaper price.. (with respect to how 42inch top range 10k model 3years ago is probably beaten by a 5-6k TV now)

(besides you won't be gloating at me getting a newer 60incher than yours.. biggrin.gif I'm sure it's still pricey, relative to 42-50inchers, even in 2years later.. )

again poor fellas like me cannot venture out of the cost effective mass market product range.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 25 2010, 07:36 PM
htkaki
post Jan 25 2010, 10:08 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 25 2010, 07:33 PM)
I think yours abit different, you choose 60incher.. (if not mistaken panny still sell older 60incher series even if the newer ones like 42-50 are being replaced right?) so maybe 2years time your Kuro 60 still considered (mid high end) among 60inch sold in local market..  (but maybe prices for these bigger sizes will tumble more, am not sure??)

however, 50" is more common... so maybe the 500A will be obsolete sooner.. anyway my remarks was more "optimized" for 42- 50inch TV.. cos the models change much faster and every change brings more features and cheaper price.. (with respect to how 42inch top range 10k model 3years ago is probably beaten by a 5-6k TV now)
(besides you won't be gloating at me getting a newer 60incher than yours..  biggrin.gif  I'm sure it's still pricey, relative to 42-50inchers, even in 2years later.. ) 

again poor fellas like me cannot venture out of the cost effective mass market product range..  biggrin.gif
Yeah.... right tongue.gif

Maybe need to be specific. Let me try to rephrase it : 'No display panel upgrade at least for the next 5yrs' whistling.gif

I am eager to see what will the pricing strategy be when 3D FHD Tvs hit the market.
anfieldude
post Jan 26 2010, 10:39 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 25 2010, 07:33 PM)
I think yours abit different, you choose 60incher.. (if not mistaken panny still sell older 60incher series even if the newer ones like 42-50 are being replaced right?) so maybe 2years time your Kuro 60 still considered (mid high end) among 60inch sold in local market..  (but maybe prices for these bigger sizes will tumble more, am not sure??)

(besides you won't be gloating at me getting a newer 60incher than yours..  biggrin.gif  I'm sure it's still pricey, relative to 42-50inchers, even in 2years later.. ) 

again poor fellas like me cannot venture out of the cost effective mass market product range..  biggrin.gif
Hey, Vizio announced a 70in LED backlit LCD for the amazing prize of USD3k+. I'm not sure how Vizio are doing it, panels that huge for a LCD are not cheap, yet they are planning on a release.
anfieldude
post Jan 26 2010, 10:41 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 25 2010, 10:08 PM)
Yeah.... right tongue.gif
Maybe need to be specific. Let me try to rephrase it : 'No display panel upgrade at least for the next 5yrs'  whistling.gif

I am eager to see what will the pricing strategy be when 3D FHD Tvs hit the market.
True, no planned display panel upgrade....music / sub highly possible.

2010 3D FHD panels are still far and few between. Samsung only the highest end has 3D FHD, Panasonic only the highest end as 3D FHD, 2011 will see many and cheaper.
ronnt88
post Jan 26 2010, 10:44 AM

2,353 posts

Vizio 70" tv??

like the 70" but never heard of vizio.... wat co. is this again? whistling.gif
anfieldude
post Jan 26 2010, 11:03 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 26 2010, 10:44 AM)
Vizio 70" tv??

US company...cost effective solutions, panels from Taiwan.

Their products were never the best in terms of final PQ, but the sheer size and price, was the factor.

Last year they had a 55" LED backlit and was very low priced.
ronnt88
post Jan 26 2010, 11:06 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 26 2010, 11:03 AM)
US company...cost effective solutions, panels from Taiwan.

Their products were never the best in terms of final PQ, but the sheer size and price, was the factor.

Last year they had a 55" LED backlit and was very low priced.
sounds like crap then tongue.gif

anfieldude
post Jan 26 2010, 11:13 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 26 2010, 11:06 AM)
But for Joe Public, imagine 72in TV with decent PQ, for pretty cheap prices.
ar188
post Jan 26 2010, 11:18 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 26 2010, 10:44 AM)
Vizio 70" tv??

Vizio famous in US leh.. in few years become leader in TV market in US..
ronnt88
post Jan 26 2010, 11:20 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 26 2010, 11:18 AM)
Vizio famous in US leh.. in few years become leader in TV market in US..
sorry hehe... me katak bawah tempurung tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 26 2010, 11:20 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 26 2010, 11:06 AM)
you won't be saying that if they have it here and they were selling it at 60% of equivalent feature LCD brands.. local dimming LED etc.. thumbup.gif

Added on January 26, 2010, 11:21 am
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 26 2010, 11:20 AM)
sorry hehe... me katak bawah tempurung tongue.gif
say is katak but got 950 samsung and submersive wor.. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 26 2010, 11:21 AM
ronnt88
post Jan 26 2010, 11:24 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 26 2010, 11:20 AM)
you won't be saying that if they have it here and they were selling it at 60% of equivalent feature LCD brands.. local dimming LED etc..  thumbup.gif

Added on January 26, 2010, 11:21 am

say is katak but got 950 samsung and submersive wor..  notworthy.gif
i guess i mustn't say they're crap coz I'm samsung user & samsung is like vizio here in Asia... cheap alternatives for big screens whistling.gif
ar188
post Jan 26 2010, 11:34 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 26 2010, 11:24 AM)
i guess i mustn't say they're crap coz I'm samsung user & samsung is like vizio here in Asia... cheap alternatives for big screens whistling.gif
but submersive is like aston or bentley of subs wor.. biggrin.gif so you got both worlds.. biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0167sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:59 AM