Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V36!, The Orange Legion

lehtung
post Jan 26 2010, 03:12 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jan 26 2010, 03:02 PM)
guys...refer to tis web...tis kind of potrait which few lenses can make it?Beautiful potrait
damn poisoning! icon_question.gif
Braynumb
post Jan 26 2010, 03:13 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 26 2010, 03:09 PM)
im sorry for all these  tongue.gif

Added on January 26, 2010, 3:10 pm

135 1.8~2.8 / 85 1.4
the guy/girl is using 85mm f.14 wo...

QUOTE(lehtung @ Jan 26 2010, 03:12 PM)
damn poisoning!  icon_question.gif
ya lo... tongue.gif
achew
post Jan 26 2010, 03:14 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jan 26 2010, 03:13 PM)
the guy/girl is using 85mm f.14 wo...
yea..nothing wrong ma..i never saw his sig...so i was guessing he is using FF 135 1.8/2.8...or apsc 85 1.4 lo...
yfchin2
post Jan 26 2010, 03:16 PM

905 posts

i wonder can 50mm f1.8 get these kind of pics?? tongue.gif
Braynumb
post Jan 26 2010, 03:22 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 26 2010, 03:14 PM)
yea..nothing wrong ma..i never saw his sig...so i was guessing he is using FF 135 1.8/2.8...or apsc 85 1.4 lo...
hahaha... didn't say you were wrong.. biggrin.gif just want to share info... hehehe... seriously, 1st person that came to mind when I saw those pic were you wo... hehehe... reminds me of the pics you take of your GF... tongue.gif hehehe... but his/her pic is just... too.... Perfect... somehow...too sharp wo... tongue.gif and he's only using a700... why my pics don't look like that leh??

QUOTE(yfchin2 @ Jan 26 2010, 03:16 PM)
i wonder can 50mm f1.8 get these kind of pics?? tongue.gif
I tried it once while taking pics of my wife and daughter... not the same effect or sharpness la... since only using my Minolta 50mm f1.7
yfchin2
post Jan 26 2010, 03:28 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jan 26 2010, 03:22 PM)
hahaha... didn't say you were wrong.. biggrin.gif just want to share info... hehehe... seriously, 1st person that came to mind when I saw those pic were you wo... hehehe... reminds me of the pics you take of your GF... tongue.gif hehehe... but his/her pic is just... too.... Perfect... somehow...too sharp wo... tongue.gif and he's only using a700... why my pics don't look like that leh??
I tried it once while taking pics of my wife and daughter... not the same effect or sharpness la... since only using my Minolta 50mm f1.7
agree..especialy the bokeh sharpness is low compare to the 85mm haha...
ok..im being poisoned....i jsut get my 50mm few days ago ROFL... rclxub.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 26 2010, 03:30 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jan 26 2010, 03:02 PM)
no turning back....nice lens btw...

Added on January 26, 2010, 3:03 pm

guys...refer to tis web...tis kind of potrait which few lenses can make it?Beautiful potrait
gosh it's really sharp n nice n...perfect.. rclxms.gif
Braynumb
post Jan 26 2010, 03:31 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

niceeee... don't wait! go out and shoot! get yourself used to the lens! biggrin.gif
albnok
post Jan 26 2010, 03:31 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

kysham: It does.

You use ASA400 film with the camera set to ASA800 (thus causing the meter to underexpose 1 stop.) Then you push the film 1 stop up effectively giving it ASA800 exposure.

Digital sensors work the same way - your base ISO is either ISO100 (CCD) or ISO200 (all Alpha CMOS dSLRs) and every other ISO is just an underexposed and then amplified signal.

Braynumb: Your scanner might have Digital ICE:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_ICE

Congratulations on making it to the exhibition!

clivengu: Actually if you're talking about classic cameras, I like them clean with just shutter, ISO and aperture dials.

Minolta X300 with Seagull 50mm F1.8 MD lens. Aperture Priority capable camera.

tanjq87: Congratulations!

achew: I have to credit the light the most - the sunlight was really nice. A lot of us forget to shoot when the light is great!
achew
post Jan 26 2010, 03:32 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jan 26 2010, 03:22 PM)
somehow i find that the natural light(sun) in tw is lot better than what we have here..and they have lots of nice sceneries to compliment the nice models...
sharpness wise..err..i dont really find it razor sharp la..probably just nice for portrait....too sharp isnt a good thing for portrait....u shd try to use a macro lens for portrait and u'll know y =D

for ur shot..err..im not sure..maybe misfocused?
neo_lam
post Jan 26 2010, 03:34 PM

Player
1,921 posts

Sony DSLR Family got the most stunning portrait ever by Alpharian in Taiwan or mayb the whole world...
achew
post Jan 26 2010, 03:35 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 26 2010, 03:31 PM)
achew: I have to credit the light the most - the sunlight was really nice. A lot of us forget to shoot when the light is great!
yup..sunlight is very very impt element as i mentioned previously..personally i prefer evening light..or early morning..the sun from 830am~530pm is just too strong for my liking.. >.<
yfchin2
post Jan 26 2010, 03:35 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 26 2010, 03:35 PM)
yup..sunlight is very very impt element as i mentioned previously..personally i prefer evening light..or early morning..the sun from 830am~530pm is just too strong for my liking.. >.<
especially middle of afternoon 12pm - 3pm rofl..the sunlight sweat.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 26 2010, 03:41 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(yfchin2 @ Jan 26 2010, 03:35 PM)
especially middle of afternoon 12pm - 3pm rofl..the sunlight  sweat.gif
but i prefer d morning light...those at 10-11am is great for me,though i'd love to shoot in d afternoon sun more..but m'sia's weather...2-3pm sunlight will kill d photog n d model sweat.gif
Braynumb
post Jan 26 2010, 03:45 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 26 2010, 03:31 PM)
kysham: It does.

You use ASA400 film with the camera set to ASA800 (thus causing the meter to underexpose 1 stop.) Then you push the film 1 stop up effectively giving it ASA800 exposure.

Digital sensors work the same way - your base ISO is either ISO100 (CCD) or ISO200 (all Alpha CMOS dSLRs) and every other ISO is just an underexposed and then amplified signal.

Braynumb: Your scanner might have Digital ICE:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_ICE

Congratulations on making it to the exhibition!

clivengu: Actually if you're talking about classic cameras, I like them clean with just shutter, ISO and aperture dials.

Minolta X300 with Seagull 50mm F1.8 MD lens. Aperture Priority capable camera.

tanjq87: Congratulations!

Might be have the Digital ICE... not sure... hehehe... all I know is that it can scan negatives and turn it into digital images... hehehe... office scanner that is... tongue.gif

thanks albert! really was shocked to see my pic in the list... biggrin.gif

Yeah... the early morning sunlight in the pictures are wonderful! absolutely the perfect natural lighting tool for that kind of shot...

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 26 2010, 03:32 PM)
somehow i find that the natural light(sun) in tw is lot better than what we have here..and they have lots of nice sceneries to compliment the nice models...
sharpness wise..err..i dont really find it razor sharp la..probably just nice for portrait....too sharp isnt a good thing for portrait....u shd try to use a macro lens for portrait and u'll know y =D

for ur shot..err..im not sure..maybe misfocused?
QUOTE(achew @ Jan 26 2010, 03:35 PM)
yeah... the lighting is seriously nice... wonder where the place is...

yeah... it was misfocused... tongue.gif had the lens on fully manual... somehow my mistake, not to double check... but either way, love this shot... hehehe... had it in my mind for a month before the shoot... biggrin.gif

730am-8am here in Kuching is just nice for morning shoot... biggrin.gif if it's after that, then it's time for wireless flash! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ReasonsofThanatos @ Jan 26 2010, 03:41 PM)
but i prefer d morning light...those at 10-11am is great for me,though i'd love to shoot in d afternoon sun more..but m'sia's weather...2-3pm sunlight will kill d photog n d model sweat.gif
hehehe... that's why time is very important when it's about outdoor model shoot... hehehe... if not, then can shoot indoors! biggrin.gif

Added on January 26, 2010, 3:47 pmshyt... suddenly remembered Ryzan and all his poisoning about studio photography and studio lights... hm... sad.gif

This post has been edited by Braynumb: Jan 26 2010, 03:47 PM
yfchin2
post Jan 26 2010, 03:47 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jan 26 2010, 03:31 PM)
niceeee... don't wait! go out and shoot! get yourself used to the lens! biggrin.gif
yeah gotta try with something later on rclxms.gif
hafeez71
post Jan 26 2010, 03:48 PM

/// CleaN ISO \\\
538 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Jan 26 2010, 12:02 PM)
Nice. Really love #4 detail. Anyone up to broga? hehe. Really want to again. There 's a lot of detail place that i missed out.