QUOTE(thurtin @ Jan 12 2010, 06:53 PM)
to put it in another perspective, imagine your boss firing you because someone is offering 10% of your salary for EXACTLY the same thing you do. in fact, that someone copied what you did/can do and is offering it for 10% of your salary.
You know what? If that happens, you have the rights to sue the company for wrongful termination. They need to talk to you and have you agree to the termination. And even then they will have to pay you compensation and give you time to get a new job. Most have a post-termination period of 1-2 months, where you're expected to document what you did so far. Feeling POed? Don't document completely- spend more time on hunting for new jobs via JobsDB or Jobstreet or Monster or whatever. If they don't give you post-termination period, my advice is find a lawyer or complain to labor union. That company have violated labor laws.
As for buying pirate, put this way laa. You buy cheap and a lot. But enjoyment factor also less... Too many game, cannot concentrate on finishing one... That's my experience. Also, my experience tells me pirate games got all those intro screens. Do you want to sit through irritating music with screen full of cuss words? Do you want your children to see that?
And then for some very involving games like RPGs, cutscene movies may be removed, BGM/voiceovers may be missing, features removed and some just plain randomly crash at random points and dun let you finish the game due to cheap media and/or poor QC (or overlooked copy protection). And if the game comes with freebies like figures or accessories, expect to not have them too and buy them separately, because games that comes with accessories will often need the accessory in question anyway.
Plus, buy pirate got fear of being caught if you buying suddenly BSA serbu the shop. Also, for console to play pirate game need to mod. And if you mod, you not only lose warranty, if the manufacturer catch you (by firmware update) your console can end up potentially "self destruct" (we use the term "bricked") or blocked from online service. You're in a lose-lose situation, you don't update firmware, you cannot play newer games. You update, your firmware may brick. Yes, a lot of latest gen console games can play online against people all over the world or with friends. If you buy pirate, you effectively put your console and yourself at risk if you play online. If you can at all because they can block pirate games. Even if you find online gaming pointless, the others in your family wouldn't (particularly latest generation, who're very used to the idea of meeting friends online even if you're not. Even women of last gen are already warming up to the idea of online meetings and talking to friends over internet than over phone).
Think about that. Take it from someone who have experienced the dark side and have denounced it.
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 12 2010, 09:57 PM