63 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Toshiba xxZV600E Model LCD TV, Owners pls come in and share

nitrox
post May 7 2010, 05:46 PM

64 posts

AFAIK, movies are filmed at 24 fps. This is the standard sampling rate. The 1080/24p tv is just showing the picture in its native form. The judder is a natural byproduct of the 24 fps rate. If you have the option to play bluray movies in either 24p or 60p, maybe 60p would be more stable.
anfieldude
post May 7 2010, 06:09 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ May 7 2010, 04:45 PM)
Too bad there is no such info display on screen to tell me which refresh rates it is using (negative point for this tv). The only thing I know is that the tv is capable of accepting 24Hz/25Hz/30Hz source via HDMI connection only. Since my PS3 has been set to 24Hz output and I didn't notice any motion juddering or blurriness during the playback, I assumed it was in 24Hz.

What did you mean by if it refreshes at 24Hz, most ppl would complain ? Isn't it better ? unsure.gif
If u refresh at 24Hz, in smaller screens people would notice the judder. Thats why displays either take the 246fps (23.976fps to be exact) and refresh it at multiples of 24Hz, ie, 48Hz, 72Hz, 96Hz and some lcds even 120Hz, and 240Hz. Some displays take a 24fps signal and convert it to 30fps and refresh at 60Hz. I notice most people don't really mind that there is conversion and most of the time they say it is smoother. This is becoz all these days that was what was happening for DVDs. The NTSC DVDs refresh at 60Hz (they convert the original 23.976fps to 29.97fps using 2:3 pulldown).

For me, I prefer refreshing at 72Hz. 48Hz I see judder, 96Hz is not too bad, anything higher just looks unnatural. 23.976fps converting to 60Hz refresh is also irritating as I notice the conversion.

So it depends on the individual.

Also just becoz the display supports 24p does not mean it actually refreshes at multiples of 24p. The Panny lower end models are a good example.

Edit:

Just found some info that the ZV actually refreshes at 120Hz for 24p content if you select Film Stabilization : Standard.

Maybe ZV owners can confirm that there is indeed a setting for Film Stabilization.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: May 7 2010, 06:21 PM
TSdarenlks
post May 7 2010, 06:56 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 7 2010, 06:09 PM)
If u refresh at 24Hz, in smaller screens people would notice the judder. Thats why displays either take the 246fps (23.976fps to be exact) and refresh it at multiples of 24Hz, ie, 48Hz, 72Hz, 96Hz and some lcds even 120Hz, and 240Hz. Some displays take a 24fps signal and convert it to 30fps and refresh at 60Hz. I notice most people don't really mind that there is conversion and most of the time they say it is smoother. This is becoz all these days that was what was happening for DVDs. The NTSC DVDs refresh at 60Hz (they convert the original 23.976fps to 29.97fps using 2:3 pulldown).

For me, I prefer refreshing at 72Hz. 48Hz I see judder, 96Hz is not too bad, anything higher just looks unnatural. 23.976fps converting to 60Hz refresh is also irritating as I notice the conversion.

So it depends on the individual.

Also just becoz the display supports 24p does not mean it actually refreshes at multiples of 24p. The Panny lower end models are a good example.

Edit:

Just found some info that the ZV actually refreshes at 120Hz for 24p content if you select Film Stabilization : Standard.

Maybe ZV owners can confirm that there is indeed a setting for Film Stabilization.
Thanks for in-depth explanation and good to know more about the conversion.

Yes, there is a setting for Film Stabilization mode mainly to handle 24p source (Off, Standard and Smooth). I've tried it in Standard mode and still see the juddering but when turn it off, no more juddering. I read couple of reviews on this and all of them recommended to set it to Standard but I found turning it off is the best I could get.
anfieldude
post May 7 2010, 06:59 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ May 7 2010, 06:56 PM)
Thanks for in-depth explanation and good to know more about the conversion.

Yes, there is a setting for Film Stabilization mode mainly to handle 24p source (Off, Standard and Smooth). I've tried it in Standard mode and still see the juddering but when turn it off, no more juddering. I read couple of reviews on this and all of them recommended to set it to Standard but I found turning it off is the best I could get.
Got it. That goes to show what I said, a lot of people prefer pulldown to 60Hz and then refresh at in this case it would be 240Hz.

Smooth is some interpolation and shd be the worst if u see carefully.
TSdarenlks
post May 7 2010, 11:44 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 7 2010, 06:59 PM)
Got it. That goes to show what I said, a lot of people prefer pulldown to 60Hz and then refresh at in this case it would be 240Hz.

Smooth is some interpolation and shd be the worst if u see carefully.
Agreed that Smooth mode gave the worst result. I still wonder which rate the ZV is refreshing for 24p signal in our case even though you mentioned that it was refreshing at 240Hz but the ZV model sold in Malaysia only has 200Hz unless they are not related to each other hmm.gif
bond
post May 8 2010, 01:54 PM

83 posts

Extracted from the catalog on Clear Scan 200

Image flicker, which causes the blurring of a moving picture, is directly linked to frame rate frequency. At 50Hz, the eye detects flicker, so motion blur is a problem. At 100Hz, the problem is greatly resolved, but Toshiba has gone even further with Clear Scan 200, which combines a 100Hz rate with scanning backlight technology to achieve the equivalent of a 200Hz eect. The backlight control area is split into three sections, and by synchronising the control and video signals, motion blurring is virtually eliminated

This post has been edited by bond: May 9 2010, 01:11 PM
dizfire
post May 8 2010, 03:37 PM

20 posts

my 42zv600e just came! i have been messing around with it for 2 hours, and i must say i like it alot. it looks good - although its true, its more reflective than usual, which is a small problem seeing my living room is very bright

i only have access to 2 HD channels now from TM's unifi, and HD looks GREAT on the tv. no astro beyond, bluray player or media player yet.

to be honest, im going to have to read the manual now. i tried out many of the features like +resolution and clearscan etc, and i really can't tell the difference, to the point i am unsure of what settings to use. even turning on the +resolution with normal astro doesnt seem to make a difference to my eyes - but maybe it's just me.

maybe some experienced users of this model can tell me what settings to put for normal astro, normal dvd, media player HD, etc?
bond
post May 9 2010, 10:44 AM

83 posts

yes, there are differences in both setting, for resolution+, the edge of the text do improve a little, i set it to 5 for my astro but not the HD source.

The clear scan do help to improve on the motion blur, again if you test it with HD test signal. i leave it on for both sd and hd source.
dizfire
post May 9 2010, 01:54 PM

20 posts

ah, thanks bond for the info

is it just me, or is this tv really really hot? as in, the heat coming off from the screen (not the back off the tv)
sonixmedia
post May 9 2010, 11:01 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(dizfire @ May 9 2010, 01:54 PM)
ah, thanks bond for the info

is it just me, or is this tv really really hot? as in, the heat coming off from the screen (not the back off the tv)
shakehead.gif nope mine not hot at all, just feel some heat if i touch the back of it.. infront almost nothing.
realproperty
post May 9 2010, 11:07 PM

242 posts

Hi all.. i have been reading this thread for 1-2 weeks now.. finally i have made my decision to purchase 42ZV600E from HLK puchong just now. Requested to deliver next week as my house is still under final stage of renovation.

Thanks for all the reviews and discussions esp by darenlks. I can't wait to see it performs live in my own house. smile.gif
art6969
post May 10 2010, 12:02 AM

1,520 posts

my friend bought this model, and i saw astro SD in this model.

look like same with my tv, nothing different... if the astro SD is low resolution, even u watch with super duper tv, there has nothing, coz the source of the tv is low resolution
dizfire
post May 10 2010, 02:45 AM

20 posts

just wanted to update a little, been using the tv alot for the last 2 days, and i got astro byond as well as the ac ryan playonHD, so been watching lots of HD content

honestly, HD content looks great on the tv, really beautiful, especially in the dark - when there is zero reflection

i normally put it to dynamic settings, but in the dark its too bright, so switch to standard or auto

astro doesnt look good, but i believe astro SD is by default not very good

however, normal .avi files, tv series etc (those standard 170mb for 20-30min series or 350mb for 40-60min series) looks great though, even though it's "stretched" so big, its totally watchable

the tv's speakers are also very high quality (for a tv), can't complain there

uhm, what else? i dont really know much about calibration, so i leave pretty much most of the settings as default.

i turn on +resolution at 3, i turn on clearscan to auto, and i leave film stabilization on at "standard"

i really wonder about the clearscan and film stabilization though, it would be nice to have sifus *cough* anfieldude *cough* tell me what they should be set at. i noticed sometimes when streaming with the playonHD i get.. well, its hard to explain. it's like for a few seconds, very fast, things appear very "animated", like if the character is talking, his lips, hands, etc all move very fast. like someone pressed fast forward. audio remains perfectly fine. i dont know if its the tv settings, or the media player settings - perhaps its just a glitch in the streaming, or perhaps the media player is set to the wrong refresh rate, etc. the best way for me to explain it is as though the video lagged abit, so speeded up to "catch up".

lca120
post May 10 2010, 12:58 PM

20 posts

already bought an unit. but have to wait until this saturday for delivery (cos no1 at home during weekdays!)

plan to collect it myself from the shop after work, can't wait until this saturday!

so i have 2 questions, is it easy to install? can it fit into my car (hatchback car)?

pls advise blink.gif
opjust
post May 10 2010, 01:06 PM

721 posts

ask them to send after ofis hour.. like me smile.gif..
lca120
post May 10 2010, 01:26 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ May 10 2010, 01:06 PM)
ask them to send after ofis hour.. like me smile.gif..
they only send up to 6pm

i normally get home about 8pm rclxub.gif
TSdarenlks
post May 10 2010, 01:28 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(dizfire @ May 8 2010, 03:37 PM)
my 42zv600e just came! i have been messing around with it for 2 hours, and i must say i like it alot. it looks good - although its true, its more reflective than usual, which is a small problem seeing my living room is very bright

i only have access to 2 HD channels now from TM's unifi, and HD looks GREAT on the tv. no astro beyond, bluray player or media player yet.

to be honest, im going to have to read the manual now. i tried out many of the features like +resolution and clearscan etc, and i really can't tell the difference, to the point i am unsure of what settings to use. even turning on the +resolution with normal astro doesnt seem to make a difference to my eyes - but maybe it's just me.

maybe some experienced users of this model can tell me what settings to put for normal astro, normal dvd, media player HD, etc?
You could turn off the resolution+ to compare when it is on at 1, 2, 3 and so on, you will then notice the difference of each scale smile.gif

Added on May 10, 2010, 1:32 pm
QUOTE(realproperty @ May 9 2010, 11:07 PM)
Hi all.. i have been reading this thread for 1-2 weeks now.. finally i have made my decision to purchase 42ZV600E from HLK puchong just now. Requested to deliver next week as my house is still under final stage of renovation.

Thanks for all the reviews and discussions esp by darenlks. I can't wait to see it performs live in my own house. smile.gif
Congrats bro, welcome on-board rclxms.gif .

This post has been edited by darenlks: May 10 2010, 01:32 PM
anfieldude
post May 10 2010, 01:35 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(dizfire @ May 10 2010, 02:45 AM)
just wanted to update a little, been using the tv alot for the last 2 days, and i got astro byond as well as the ac ryan playonHD, so been watching lots of HD content

i really wonder about the clearscan and film stabilization though, it would be nice to have sifus *cough* anfieldude *cough* tell me what they should be set at. i noticed sometimes when streaming with the playonHD i get.. well, its hard to explain. it's like for a few seconds, very fast, things appear very "animated", like if the character is talking, his lips, hands, etc all move very fast. like someone pressed fast forward. audio remains perfectly fine. i dont know if its the tv settings, or the media player settings - perhaps its just a glitch in the streaming, or perhaps the media player is set to the wrong refresh rate, etc. the best way for me to explain it is as though the video lagged abit, so speeded up to "catch up".
The reason why u r seeing some weird stuff with the media player is due to frame rate mismatch between the original content and the refresh rate on ur display. Typically, what u r seeing is normal if u r trying to refresh 25Hz/50Hz on a mode that is meant to refresh 24p material. Most (except the Dvico 6500 and the Dune) media players do not have a auto (they all have auto but that normally yields the highest refresh rate that ur display supports 1080p/60Hz) framerate on the source material. I would suggest whenever u see this happening, change the output of ur media player to 1080p/50Hz. This shd fix the stuttering. The reason u r seeing this is dropped frames.

Most of the time it is most obvious for 25/50Hz stuff being refreshed wrongly.
TSdarenlks
post May 10 2010, 01:53 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(dizfire @ May 10 2010, 02:45 AM)

honestly, HD content looks great on the tv, really beautiful, especially in the dark - when there is zero reflection

i normally put it to dynamic settings, but in the dark its too bright, so switch to standard or auto

astro doesnt look good, but i believe astro SD is by default not very good

however, normal .avi files, tv series etc (those standard 170mb for 20-30min series or 350mb for 40-60min series) looks great though, even though it's "stretched" so big, its totally watchable

the tv's speakers are also very high quality (for a tv), can't complain there

uhm, what else? i dont really know much about calibration, so i leave pretty much most of the settings as default.

i turn on +resolution at 3, i turn on clearscan to auto, and i leave film stabilization on at "standard"

Clearscan is a feature to address motion blur by inserting a black frame via backlight blinking while Film Stablisation mode is to handle motion juddering caused by 24 frames per second movies on 50Hz/60Hz tv. You could try turn on the 24Hz output in your POHD and set the Film Stablisation mode to Standard or Off for comparison

Added on May 10, 2010, 1:57 pm
QUOTE(lca120 @ May 10 2010, 12:58 PM)
already bought an unit. but have to wait until this saturday for delivery (cos no1 at home during weekdays!)

plan to collect it myself from the shop after work, can't wait until this saturday!

so i have 2 questions, is it easy to install? can it fit into my car (hatchback car)?

pls adviseĀ  blink.gif
Congrats rclxms.gif . I think best to get them deliver it because if anything broken during delivery, you could hold them for responsibility. Btw, which size did you order ?

This post has been edited by darenlks: May 10 2010, 01:59 PM
shindenv
post May 10 2010, 05:30 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(lca120 @ May 10 2010, 12:58 PM)

pls advise  blink.gif
I drove my Kelisa to grab my 42" that day.
It take up the my whole row on my back passenger seat and the representative from the shop need to drive another car to install for me later.

Its not too heavy + its not rocket science to install it either icon_rolleyes.gif

63 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:21 AM