15 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

3D Technology, Come n share

minimize
post Nov 22 2010, 06:47 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Nov 22 2010, 02:01 AM)
Both tech uses circular polarized glasses to view content correctly. That's where the similarity ends.
This means, I can watch Xpol 3D TV with RealD glass right?
writesimply
post Nov 23 2010, 01:35 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Nov 22 2010, 06:47 PM)
This means, I can watch Xpol 3D TV with RealD glass right?

Yes. If you don't mind not getting Full HD 3D, then get the Vizio. Personally I'd wait until the second week of January 2011 to make any decision. That's when new electronics are announced. Still wish there's an affordable 1080p 3D projector using polarizing tech.

fuad

Added on November 23, 2010, 11:36 pmFrom what I can tell, GSC Maxx is using linear polarization; if you rotate two of their glasses while looking at a light source, the glass will become dark at about 160-170 degrees. It's not circular polarization because my RealD glasses don't work.

According to a staff - even GSC is mum about the details - they are using two digital projectors to do 3D. This is similar to Imax 3d film approach; Imax digital 3D uses one 2K DLP projector. Perhaps Maxx is using 4K projectors since 2K won't hold up to scrutiny.

EDIT: I just saw pix of XpanD 3D glasses.

The shape matches the one Maxx uses. It's just the color is yellow and for some reason, on each side the logo is a cheap looking "3D tech". Hopefully GSC is using a legit 3D solution. XpanD 3D is an active shutter glasses 3D system.

3D on such a big screen is really a fantastic experience. But even 2D digital films would benefit from the screen size. Thankfully, YTL is no longer in charge. Otherwise they'll keep running 35mm films on a screen too large for it.

fuad

This post has been edited by writesimply: Nov 23 2010, 11:43 PM
minimize
post Nov 27 2010, 12:51 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Nov 23 2010, 01:35 AM)
From what I can tell, GSC Maxx is using linear polarization; if you rotate two of their glasses while looking at a light source, the glass will become dark at about 160-170 degrees. It's not circular polarization because my RealD glasses don't work.

EDIT: I just saw pix of XpanD 3D glasses.
The shape matches the one Maxx uses. It's just the color is yellow and for some reason, on each side the logo is a cheap looking "3D tech". Hopefully GSC is using a legit 3D solution. XpanD 3D is an active shutter glasses 3D system.
GSC Maxx using active glass? hmm.gif

Added on November 27, 2010, 12:54 pm
Big Cinemas go 3D
3D movies start playing this Nov25 in Batu Pahat Mall, Alor Star Mall, Taiping Sentral, Landmark Central Kulim & Brem Mall.

23 Nov – You will soon be able to watch 3D movies in BIG Cinemas Lotus Five Star outlets in Batu Pahat Mall, Alor Star Mall, Taiping Sentral, Landmark Central Shopping Mall Kulim and Brem Mall, announced the cinema chain yesterday.

According to a press release, the Ultimate 3D technology combines both the Active 3D Glasses and the latest 4k upgradable series digital cinema projector across 10 of its screens. The selected Active 3D Glass series is said to use the electronic shutter technology which is able to deliver the brightest image with an efficiency rating 15% higher than Passive 3D Glasses which are commonly available in Malaysia.

BIG Cinemas Lotus Five Star Chief Operations Officer Preetham Rebello was quoted as saying: "Cinemas have come a long way; from black and white movies, we now have high resolution and 3D presentation. With the emergence of new innovative technology, the cinematic experience is heightened and taken to a whole new level." The same source noted that despite using the latest 3D technology, they will charge the competitive market rate for a 3D movie (which is the price of the ticket and an additional RM5 for the rental of the glasses, said to cost RM200 per pair) and that the chain is confident moviegoers will be satisfied with the results of the new technology offered.
New Active 3D cinema in Malaysia. thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by minimize: Nov 27 2010, 01:01 PM
SUSchokia
post Nov 27 2010, 02:15 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Wow bravo Big Cinema, hopefully the one in Bukit Jambul Complex will get that too very soon. Coz those GSC 3D in Queensbay Mall and especially in Gurney Plaza really like shit

And while we are having endless discussion on 3D, LG is giving away almost RM10K worth of 3D gifts with their Infinia Borderless LED HD 3D tv package at Courts (including 6 pairs of 3D glasses and HTiB) You probably receive similar brochure in your mailbox today.

What you do think?

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 27 2010, 02:19 PM
minimize
post Nov 27 2010, 04:20 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 27 2010, 02:15 PM)
And while we are having endless discussion on 3D, LG is giving away almost RM10K worth of 3D gifts with their Infinia Borderless LED HD 3D tv package at Courts (including 6 pairs of 3D glasses and HTiB) You probably receive similar brochure in your mailbox today.
What you do think?
LG want to introduce 3D TV with passive glass next year. That why it want to push to sell current model to customer right now. smile.gif
writesimply
post Nov 28 2010, 01:42 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Nov 27 2010, 12:51 PM)
GSC Maxx using active glass?  hmm.gif
It is.

GSC Maxx incorporates dual digital projectors to gain the most optimal brightness for a large screen of this size.
GSC Maxx incorporates active polarized 3D system with 3D Tech active glasses. The LCD lenses in the 3D glasses incorporate the latest LCD technology which gives 3D viewing experience with best brightness.
SC Maxx is the first digital hall to incorporate fully digital sound processes by Dolby CP750. The CP750 is designed to work within the new digital hall environment, integrating easily with pre-show servers, alternative contents, and digital cinema servers. Patrons will be able to enjoy the full spectrum of digital sound from its original source without any loss in audio quality.
That should be "processors".

Click here for the full statement.
My worry is that this tech is a pirated tech. The glasses are not from XpanD but the shape and make matches. If XpanD finds out, Maxx has to be closed down until GSC gets original XpanD glasses.

The reason why I believe it is a pirated tech is because of the vague statement in the press release. When GSC launched their first 3D hall, they mentioned Dolby 3D Digital specifically. They didn't do the same here. All they mentioned was "3D Tech" which, if you've seen the glasses yourself yourself, looks very cheap like a China-made OEM product trying to pass for a Sony. The silkscreen itself feels cheap.

Added on November 27, 2010, 12:54 pm
New Active 3D cinema in Malaysia.  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif

4K upgradeable means it's not yet 4K. The first CE to offer 4K resolution was Sony with their SXRD tech.

EDIT: Then TI came in with their 4K DLP solution via Christie Digital, which makes the Christie Solaria CP4230, on November 10 2010 - yes, just this month. So basically, GSC and BIG have invested in the Sony.

I've never been to a BIG but hopefully they know that good sound is also key to a full cinema enjoyment.

fuad

This post has been edited by writesimply: Nov 28 2010, 01:47 PM
minimize
post Nov 28 2010, 03:22 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Nov 28 2010, 01:42 PM)
My worry is that this tech is a pirated tech. The glasses are not from XpanD but the shape and make matches. If XpanD finds out, Maxx has to be closed down until GSC gets original XpanD glasses.

The reason why I believe it is a pirated tech is because of the vague statement in the press release. When GSC launched their first 3D hall, they mentioned Dolby 3D Digital specifically. They didn't do the same here. All they mentioned was "3D Tech" which, if you've seen the glasses yourself yourself, looks very cheap like a China-made OEM product trying to pass for a Sony. The silkscreen itself feels cheap.
You mean that 3D glass are Sony brand? As we know for active glass, only XpanD brand that has been use in cinema around the world right now.
How about 3D quality compare with Dolby 3D?
SUSMatrix
post Nov 29 2010, 04:29 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I tried Panasonic Viera 3D TV at Jusco One-U yesterday...totally tak boleh jalan??? No difference at all with or without glasses. Somehow the set spoilt? The promoter never bother to check? I bet a lot more people will be anti-3D after watching that...coz it simply dun work!!
minimize
post Nov 29 2010, 07:02 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 29 2010, 04:29 PM)
I tried Panasonic Viera 3D TV at Jusco One-U yesterday...totally tak boleh jalan??? No difference at all with or without glasses. Somehow the set spoilt? The promoter never bother to check? I bet a lot more people will be anti-3D after watching that...coz it simply dun work!!
I think it battery already dead or drain. laugh.gif
They need to charge it every 8 hours.
writesimply
post Nov 29 2010, 11:37 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Nov 28 2010, 03:22 PM)
You mean that 3D glass are Sony brand? As we know for active glass, only XpanD brand that has been use in cinema around the world right now.
How about 3D quality compare with Dolby 3D?

No, the glasses LOOK like they are XpanD cinema glasses. But it doesn't say XpanD or X as the photo above, but "3d tech".

The quality is very good. I did not see any flickering at all. However, there is ghosting. XpanD claims that no ghosting appears on their system. I have not seen any ghosting on Dolby 3D Digital or RealD 3D systems - or at least that I can remember.

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 29 2010, 04:29 PM)

Often the promoters at Juscos and the likes (not like or HNorman BDenki) are not in their job for the long run. They are temps until they find a field that they're really interested in. So expecting them to figure out what to do may be expecting too much. If you're looking to buy a 3D TV - or any electronics - educate yourself first.

Next month's biggest 3D movie is Narnia (conversion) and Tron (native).

fuad
minimize
post Nov 30 2010, 03:35 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Nov 29 2010, 11:37 PM)
Next month's biggest 3D movie is Narnia (conversion) and Tron (native).
fuad
Narnia is conversion 3D? For sure 3D effect is not so great. On others part, quiet disappointed when harry potter not have 3D version. sad.gif

Added on November 30, 2010, 7:53 pm
QUOTE(writesimply @ Nov 29 2010, 11:37 PM)
No, the glasses LOOK like they are XpanD cinema glasses. But it doesn't say XpanD or X as the photo above, but "3d tech".
I see OEM 3D active glass that compatible with XpanD cinema at alibaba.com. Maybe GSC used this cheap glass at their cinema. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by minimize: Nov 30 2010, 07:53 PM
writesimply
post Dec 1 2010, 01:07 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Nov 30 2010, 03:35 PM)
Narnia is conversion 3D? For sure 3D effect is not so great.
Well it looked okay. Not bad. Haven't seen it yet though, only seen the trailers.

On others part, quiet disappointed when harry potter not have 3D version.  sad.gif
HP7s are also conversions. Part 1 could not have been finished at a high level of quality to make the release date. Part 2 is going to make it's release date for sure. I do believe that before Part 2 is shown, WB will re-release Part 1 in 3D to hype up the finale.

Added on November 30, 2010, 7:53 pm
I see OEM 3D active glass that compatible with XpanD cinema at alibaba.com. Maybe GSC used this cheap glass at their cinema.  hmm.gif

You could be right about the OEM part. The refresh rate is 120Hz though. The XpanD Universal glasses can go as high as 144Hz.

But if they wanted to OEM it, couldn't they just silkscreen "GSX Maxx" on the sides of the glasses? And pick a better color than yellow?

fuad
rikiraikonnen
post Dec 3 2010, 04:28 PM

35 posts

Sony NX710 is marketed as 3D ready TV but its max refresh rate is 100hz. www.best-3dtvs.com recommended that for active glass 3D tech, you need to go minimum 120hz.. best at 240hz. Does this mean Sony NX710 not really suitable for 3D?
writesimply
post Dec 4 2010, 02:23 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(rikiraikonnen @ Dec 3 2010, 04:28 PM)
Sony NX710 is marketed as 3D ready TV but its max refresh rate is 100hz.  www.best-3dtvs.com recommended that for active glass 3D tech, you need to go minimum 120hz.. best at 240hz.  Does this mean Sony NX710 not really suitable for 3D?

It's in the multiplication of images. 100Hz = 100 frames per second.

25fps = 1 frame of video will be on the screen for 4/100th of a second.
30fps = 1 frame of video will be on the screen for 3/100th of a second roughly.
24fps = 1 frame of video will be on the screen for 4/100th of a second roughly.

But that's for non-3D images. For 3D images, you have to divide that number to half as you have left and right images.

25fps = 1 frame of L/R video will be on the screen for 2/100th of a second.
30fps = 1 frame of L/R video will be on the screen for 1.5/100th of a second roughly.
24fps = 1 frame of L/R video will be on the screen for 2/100th of a second roughly.

Those are not good numbers.

fuad
DannyOP
post Dec 4 2010, 03:15 AM

5,220 posts

I find that watching 3D movies makes me tired.. even those in the cinema.
minimize
post Dec 7 2010, 03:20 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Dec 4 2010, 03:15 AM)
Try watch at cinema that are using 3D active glass like GSC Maxx or BIG. Maybe you will feel different.

BTW I just watch Narnia 3D at Maxx. I can say 3D effect is not so great because it a conversion 3D film maybe.
But for Rapunzel, I can give 2 thumb up for 3D effect. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by minimize: Dec 7 2010, 03:21 PM
writesimply
post Dec 7 2010, 05:54 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Dec 4 2010, 03:15 AM)

Have you watched an Imax 3D 70mm film?

Added on December 7, 2010, 5:56 pm
QUOTE(minimize @ Dec 7 2010, 03:20 PM)
But for Rapunzel, I can give 2 thumb up for 3D effect.  biggrin.gif

Told you, didn't I?

fuad

This post has been edited by writesimply: Dec 7 2010, 05:57 PM
denon91
post Dec 8 2010, 03:14 AM

321 posts

watch 3D sometimes make me feel dizzy
SUSMatrix
post Dec 8 2010, 10:39 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

A few days ago, tried the Panasonic 3D TV...video of volleyball game...can almost touch the arse of one of the girls...haha...j/k. The crowds looks like a bunch of 2D people in the farthest level of the 3D plane though..

One thing i noticee, when in 3D mode, everything is pretty dimmed....i think current 3D technology still needs a long way to go before it is affordable or problems free.
denon91
post Dec 8 2010, 10:46 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 8 2010, 10:39 AM)
A few days ago, tried the Panasonic 3D TV...video of volleyball game...can almost touch the arse of one of the girls...haha...j/k. The crowds looks like a bunch of 2D people in the farthest level of the 3D plane though..

One thing i noticee, when in 3D mode, everything is pretty dimmed....i think current 3D technology still needs a long way to go before it is affordable or problems free.
almost touch the girl? WOW drool.gif

15 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:58 PM