127 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V21, ~.~ Thuban & SPI 32M Season.

hilmiangah
post Jan 6 2010, 09:42 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 6 2010, 09:37 AM)
preferred gfx, need for dual gfx (or not), ddr2/ddr3 platform, all parts or just cpu only sir?  smile.gif

for 4ghz stable, at least a 955 is needed but imo voltage won't be too friendly (i've seen c3 doin prime stable @ 1.4xV). 3.8~3.9GHz is more realistic target. if RM1.5k just for cpu, board + ram then u can have a nice setup there (well, mebe a 4x00 gfx too)...  nod.gif
thats what i have in mind too.

well to me a 3.6ghz duallie is decent enuff but since amd quaddie is cheap nowadays its simply a no brainer.

what i got in mind right now is

965 C3
msi 770-c45
some decent ddr3 ram(need u guys help here but i think a decent 1600mhz 4gb kit would suffice)
and maybe some 4770

does the mobo good enuff for the proc??or do i need something better??
ah_khoo
post Jan 6 2010, 09:49 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Jan 6 2010, 09:42 AM)
thats what i have in mind too.

well to me a 3.6ghz duallie is decent enuff but since amd quaddie is cheap nowadays its simply a no brainer.

what i got in mind right now is

965 C3
msi 770-c45
some decent ddr3 ram(need u guys help here but i think a decent 1600mhz 4gb kit would suffice)
and maybe some 4770

does the mobo good enuff for the proc??or do i need something better??
1. i will take giga 770 instead of msi
2. i will take 955 if d price diff is quite alot (>RM50, not so big for some but suffice for better ram/board)
3. i will take crucial value w/ d9kpt over any bling2 ram which cost 25~50% more (it's suffice to get a pair of ram which capable of doin 1333+ @ cas 6 or 1600+ @ cas7)
4. gotta agree on 4770, less heat but on par (or slightly inferior to 4850 from what i hear, pardon me for bein a gfx idiot, i'm still usin 3850 from dinosaur age doh.gif )

d board is no match for d chip, i will take a more balanced combo like biostar 790gx (for future cf)/giga 770 (for superior pwm + award bios but layout wise not so great). smile.gif

my 2 cents sir... wink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jan 6 2010, 09:50 AM
8tvt
post Jan 6 2010, 09:49 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

better 955
n 5770 n normal ram..
Dura-Ace
post Jan 6 2010, 09:51 AM

395 posts

@hilmiangah - as bro ah_khoo say, don keep lion(965 C3) in cage!!
letb it free and rule the jungle!! brows.gif
790Fx go2!! brows.gif

noob question, is it need to play with fsb?
some said if used BE no need to play with it, just multiple can do..
really work that way ka?
ah_khoo
post Jan 6 2010, 09:56 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jan 6 2010, 09:49 AM)
better 955
n 5770 n normal ram..
arghhh... bro, u x abih2 sembur racun 5x00 series ah? sad.gif

QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Jan 6 2010, 09:51 AM)
@hilmiangah - as bro ah_khoo say, don keep lion(965 C3) in cage!!
letb it free and rule the jungle!! brows.gif
790Fx go2!! brows.gif

noob question, is it need to play with fsb?
some said if used BE no need to play with it, just multiple can do..
really work that way ka?
do not keep ya lion (board) in d cage too... 790fx is capable of high htt oc... brows.gif

this was my highest attempt, can go higher if luck is with u + some trial & error sessions... smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=1321820

no doubt there's no need to fiddle around w/ htt when u got a be chip, but lite htt oc (i'm not askin you to do extreme htt oc since phenom don't really befitted from havin high htt) can offer better options for your 24/7 setup (mix of cpu clock, ram freq as well as nb freq). wink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jan 6 2010, 10:05 AM
Dura-Ace
post Jan 6 2010, 10:04 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 6 2010, 09:56 AM)
arghhh... bro, u x abih2 sembur racun 5x00 series ah?  sad.gif
do not keep ya lion (board) in d cage too... 790fx is capable of high htt oc...  brows.gif

this was my highest attempt, can go higher if luck is with u + some trial & error sessions...   smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=1321820
gip me face la bro laugh.gif
only have 2-3hour to play oc with my ris on weekdays coz have to OT everyday cry.gif

This post has been edited by Dura-Ace: Jan 6 2010, 10:06 AM
hilmiangah
post Jan 6 2010, 10:04 AM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 6 2010, 09:49 AM)
1. i will take giga 770 instead of msi
2. i will take 955 if d price diff is quite alot (>RM50, not so big for some but suffice for better ram/board)
3. i will take crucial value w/ d9kpt over any bling2 ram which cost 25~50% more (it's suffice to get a pair of ram which capable of doin 1333+ @ cas 6 or 1600+ @ cas7)
4. gotta agree on 4770, less heat but on par (or slightly inferior to 4850 from what i hear, pardon me for bein a gfx idiot, i'm still usin 3850 from dinosaur age doh.gif )

d board is no match for d chip, i will take a more balanced combo like biostar 790gx (for future cf)/giga 770 (for superior pwm + award bios but layout wise not so great).  smile.gif

my 2 cents sir...  wink.gif
kinda agree on the layout of the giga 770 being weird.the 8 pin connector placement at the middle of the board.

does the 955 get the new stepping as the 965??

im running an Asus 4770 Formula now.loving it power consumption and heat output.but thinking of letting it go but if the budget kinda strain than im going back to the same model but different make.

im still on the dark bout the ram still.something called Team Extreem 1600mhz 4gbkit is kinda interesting.
ah_khoo
post Jan 6 2010, 10:12 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Jan 6 2010, 10:04 AM)
gip me face la bro laugh.gif
only have 2-3hour to play oc with my ris on weekdays coz have to OT everyday cry.gif

icic... me oso not sittin infront of pc oc 24/7 mah...

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Jan 6 2010, 10:04 AM)
kinda agree on the layout of the giga 770 being weird.the 8 pin connector placement at the middle of the board.

im running an Asus 4770 Formula now.loving it power consumption and heat output.but thinking of letting it go but if the budget kinda strain than im going back to the same model but different make.

im still on the dark bout the ram still.something called Team Extreem 1600mhz 4gbkit is kinda interesting.
yup, 955 has got c3 flavor, abg cloudwan is usin one currently, but dont pressure him ( tongue.gif ), he's still takin his own sweet time to tweak d chip. tongue.gif

asus 4770 formula? d car like heatsink rite? hmm.gif

ur referrin to team dark 1600 cas 7 rite? if it comes cheap, why not? at least guarantee u'll have 1600 @ cas7, low voltage some more (1.65v iirc). rclxms.gif
Dura-Ace
post Jan 6 2010, 10:15 AM

395 posts

gaybite only used 8-pin or can used 4-pin?
i have to change my psu with my bro coz my 8-pin cant reached at the top of my mobo..
coz of my case, psu postin is at the mottom...
hilmiangah
post Jan 6 2010, 10:17 AM

5,602 posts

didnt know that 955 got C3 too.

and the new giga 770 looks very good though.

i think im gonna do more RnD on this one.
cloudwan
post Jan 6 2010, 10:20 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Jan 6 2010, 10:04 AM)

If the layout for the MA770T-UD3P is weird try looking for the 770TA-UD3, it has all the best features of the former but with better layout & SATA3 & USB3.0 thumbup.gif

Yes the 955 has the new C3 stepping, like ah_khoo said check my sig tongue.gif

The ram just ask our bro ah_khoo to get those Crucial Value Kit from SG ler, very good performance & much cheaper than that Gskill too rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Added on January 6, 2010, 10:21 am
QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Jan 6 2010, 10:15 AM)
gaybite only used 8-pin or can used 4-pin?
i have to change my psu with my bro coz my 8-pin cant reached at the top of my mobo..
coz of my case, psu postin is at the mottom...
Can i think, last time i didn't notice that my PSU got that 8pin connector and all the while i was using only the 4pin connector on my gigabyte.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Jan 6 2010, 10:21 AM
hilmiangah
post Jan 6 2010, 10:23 AM

5,602 posts

btw those new revision of the giga board already available??
ah_khoo
post Jan 6 2010, 10:48 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jan 6 2010, 10:20 AM)
If the layout for the MA770T-UD3P is weird try looking for the 770TA-UD3, it has all the best features of the former but with better layout & SATA3 & USB3.0  thumbup.gif

The ram just ask our bro ah_khoo to get those Crucial Value Kit from SG ler, very good performance & much cheaper than that Gskill too  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
if only i got moolah, i'll do bulk already bro... tongue.gif

tested by my new neighbor tongue.gif - ddr1600 @ cas7 w/ 1.74v w/o sweat... nothing to brag about but value for money imo... nod.gif

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Jan 6 2010, 10:23 AM)
btw those new revision of the giga board already available??
i think it's kinda hard for distro to bring in these model for amd platform, not until their clear d non-A series. sad.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jan 6 2010, 10:57 AM
Dura-Ace
post Jan 6 2010, 11:16 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jan 6 2010, 10:20 AM)
If the layout for the MA770T-UD3P is weird try looking for the 770TA-UD3, it has all the best features of the former but with better layout & SATA3 & USB3.0  thumbup.gif

The ram just ask our bro ah_khoo to get those Crucial Value Kit from SG ler, very good performance & much cheaper than that Gskill too  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Added on January 6, 2010, 10:21 am

Can i think, last time i didn't notice that my PSU got that 8pin connector and all the while i was using only the 4pin connector on my gigabyte.. laugh.gif
sure ka?than now u used 8pin 0r 4pin?
woried will harm d mobo sweat.gif
but i already change my psu with my bro sweat.gif
later will change back..
ah_khoo
post Jan 6 2010, 11:21 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Jan 6 2010, 11:16 AM)
sure ka?than now u used 8pin 0r 4pin?
woried will harm d mobo sweat.gif
but i already change my psu with my bro sweat.gif
later will change back..
100% can, been doin that since nf4 era. just make sure u plug it in in proper direction (dun worry, u wont be able to insert d connector if ur in wrong direction, dun anyhow force it thou, later both psu + mobo ko laugh.gif ). nod.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jan 6 2010, 11:21 AM
kuntawakaw
post Jan 6 2010, 11:31 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 5 2010, 05:53 PM)
i found biostar 790gx a3+ bios slightly richer than 790fxtud5p. but ram clockin session d latter is better. imo, no one beat dfi when it comes to bios richness... total control i must say...  thumbup.gif
ermm... ta690g... cheap + gud...  laugh.gif
yeah..but with this giga, i can even make my ram tighter...that biostar cant do that...

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jan 5 2010, 08:21 PM)
Actually kunta which Gigitbyte are u using now?  hmm.gif  Is it the MA770T-UD3P or the newer

770TA-UD3?

Dem u Giga for only now launching a proper placement internal USB header & 8pin power.. Got USB3.0 & SATA III plak tuh..  vmad.gif  mad.gif  tongue.gif
i searching for that mobo for almost 2hrs at lyp... (reached lyp at 0940am, and i wait untill all shop open..) no sight of that newer 333 board...geram geram geram...so i cant hold myself..bought a mobo same like u la bro...

i search for it becoz i saw that mobo on pc zone pricelist 23 dec...but pricelist 31dec no more...reappear on this latest pricelist...so anyone want to try? okekekke
cloudwan
post Jan 6 2010, 11:44 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 6 2010, 11:31 AM)
yeah..but with this giga, i can even make my ram tighter...that biostar cant do that...
i searching for that mobo for almost 2hrs at lyp... (reached lyp at 0940am, and i wait untill all shop open..) no sight of that newer 333 board...geram geram geram...so i cant hold myself..bought a mobo same like u la bro...

i search for it becoz i saw that mobo on pc zone pricelist 23 dec...but pricelist 31dec no more...reappear on this latest pricelist...so anyone want to try? okekekke
Ya lor just notice it in PCZone pricelist.. tho the price isn't listed yet.. If the price range is still within RM3xx that would be sweet drool.gif drool.gif
8tvt
post Jan 6 2010, 11:54 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

should be rm300+.. got several other model carries 4 n 5 series to be priced higher.. so for the price is quite ok..
just hoping distributors bring it in..

Added on January 6, 2010, 11:55 amso can pair with pII 555 haha - poison ah_khoo..

This post has been edited by 8tvt: Jan 6 2010, 11:55 AM
ah_khoo
post Jan 6 2010, 12:09 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jan 6 2010, 11:31 AM)
more options doesn't necessarily mean better mileage, it's d tweakin skills that matter. noob like me has no problem did 1700 w/o sweat on 790gx a3+ but on 790fxt i only managed a 1680. doh.gif

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jan 6 2010, 11:44 AM)
Ya lor just notice it in PCZone pricelist.. tho the price isn't listed yet.. If the price range is still within RM3xx that would be sweet  drool.gif  drool.gif
fat hope, 790fxta vs 790fxt here is $319 vs $285. u do d maths bro... sweat.gif

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jan 6 2010, 11:54 AM)
so can pair with pII 555 haha - poison ah_khoo..
i'm happily retired bro... no more mid range stuff for me... i use low end system only from now on... nod.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jan 6 2010, 12:10 PM
Najmods
post Jan 6 2010, 12:09 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Jan 6 2010, 10:17 AM)
didnt know that 955 got C3 too.

and the new giga 770 looks very good though.

i think im gonna do more RnD on this one.
I been using 955 C3, its very good, I could get to 3.8GHz with a low voltage of 1.35V. I assume you don't read the whole thread before posting rolleyes.gif

127 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:23 PM