104 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

TShtkaki
post Sep 14 2012, 05:05 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Congrats!

No worry, I am sure klimal will guide you smile.gif It is not difficult
ainuddin
post Dec 6 2012, 10:02 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

wah, long time no one post reply. anyway sifus, whats the optimal loudness of you all punya sub? mine need to put around 60% plus the sub channel at the av receiver need to up a few notch, then only the bass sound loud for me.

is this ok? how loud can i blow my subs?

This post has been edited by ainuddin: Dec 6 2012, 10:03 PM
Skylinestar
post Dec 6 2012, 11:54 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Dec 6 2012, 10:02 PM)
wah, long time no one post reply. anyway sifus, whats the optimal loudness of you all punya sub? mine need to put around 60% plus the sub channel at the av receiver need to up a few notch, then only the bass sound loud for me.

is this ok? how loud can i blow my subs?
put it at the same level with other channel. some like it hot...maybe +3dB or +5dB hot.
What AVR are you using? Most AVR has auto calibration which set the level for u.
ainuddin
post Dec 7 2012, 12:34 AM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 6 2012, 11:54 PM)
put it at the same level with other channel. some like it hot...maybe +3dB or +5dB hot.
What AVR are you using? Most AVR has auto calibration which set the level for u.
i've hit +8dB on the AVR channel a few times, not to mention the gain/volume on the sub itself. im using pioneer vsx-520k, no auto calibration. my hall does have bulky sofa's all around with cloth as cover, so i assume they absorb most of the sub's sound. hmm.gif
sonerin
post Dec 7 2012, 07:23 AM

8,739 posts

Dont think sofa is a problem. Maybe your room size is big and your sub is too small
katyPerry
post Dec 16 2012, 04:41 PM

109 posts

hey guys, which subwoofer would you guys recommend for budget of Rm1400 ? use with audioengine A5, thanks
Calebraj
post Dec 17 2012, 12:04 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(katyPerry @ Dec 16 2012, 04:41 PM)
hey guys, which subwoofer would you guys recommend for budget of Rm1400 ? use with audioengine A5, thanks
The best suggestion is to go and try a few options in your budget and listen to them by yourself.
It's kind of personal.

It would help if you can provide us what are you using your system for. Music? Computer? AV? This would narrow the scope down.
Hope that helps.
Cheers.
katyPerry
post Dec 17 2012, 12:16 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(Calebraj @ Dec 17 2012, 12:04 AM)
The best suggestion is to go and try a few options in your budget and listen to them by yourself.
It's kind of personal.

It would help if you can provide us what are you using your system for. Music? Computer? AV? This would narrow the scope down.
Hope that helps.
Cheers.
I thinking to get audioengine A5 for music , the additional sub is to provide more OHM for gaming and movie, but i wish to get musical sub, so it wont messed with the audio quality of A5.
I dont know which sub I should look into, so I cant listen to them. But from what I survey in internet , STF-2 is very good at $329USD for musical sub http://www.hsuresearch.com/products/stf-2.html, I think it somehow fit my budget, but unfortunately i dont see any people selling this sub in Malaysia or Singapore.

joydman
post Dec 17 2012, 01:28 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(katyPerry @ Dec 17 2012, 12:16 AM)
I thinking to get audioengine A5 for music , the additional sub is to provide more OHM for gaming and movie, but i wish to get musical sub, so it wont messed with the audio quality of A5.
I dont know which sub I should look into, so I cant listen to them. But from what I survey in internet , STF-2 is very good at $329USD for musical sub http://www.hsuresearch.com/products/stf-2.html, I think it somehow fit my budget, but unfortunately i dont see any people selling this sub in Malaysia or Singapore.
with that price by the time someone brings it here with the shipping and taxes guess it'll be around rm1600 or so. why not wait for the svs 1000 series.

I understand maxx audio visual will be having them end of december and pricewise around rm2000, if not mistaken.
katyPerry
post Dec 17 2012, 06:17 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(joydman @ Dec 17 2012, 01:28 PM)
with that price by the time someone brings it here with the shipping and taxes guess it'll be around rm1600 or so. why not wait for the svs 1000 series.

I understand maxx audio visual will be having them end of december and pricewise around rm2000, if not mistaken.
Any SVS sub model is within my budget sweat.gif ? 2000 is too much...
Skylinestar
post Dec 17 2012, 08:01 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(joydman @ Dec 17 2012, 01:28 PM)

svs 1000 series is priced around RM 2.5k ... exceed his budget already.
poonkm
post Dec 18 2012, 11:14 AM

Hi Sifus,
I'm thinking of getting SVS PB-1000 connecting to my old Yamaha RX-V663 and PSB speakers. Used mostly for bluray movies. My HT corner around 12" x 15".

Do you think this woofer is overkill for my current setup? This woofer is definately many steps higher than my current PSB Subseries 1 woofer. Thanks!
blueyan
post Dec 18 2012, 12:33 PM

322 posts

Does anyone know how Swan H6/h10 perform rclxms.gif ?

This post has been edited by blueyan: Dec 18 2012, 12:34 PM
katyPerry
post Dec 18 2012, 12:35 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(katyPerry @ Dec 16 2012, 04:41 PM)
So, no one know any musical sub that cost under 1.4k notworthy.gif ?
TShtkaki
post Dec 28 2012, 11:41 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(poonkm @ Dec 18 2012, 11:14 AM)
Hi Sifus,
I'm thinking of getting SVS PB-1000 connecting to my old Yamaha RX-V663 and PSB speakers. Used mostly for bluray movies. My HT corner around 12" x 15".

Do you think this woofer is overkill for my current setup? This woofer is definately many steps higher than my current PSB Subseries 1 woofer. Thanks!
This is an entry level sub from SVS. It will not be an overkill for your system. This sub can go to a low 19Hz but not as high output (dB) as its bigger siblings like the PB12-NSD and above. smile.gif

QUOTE(katyPerry)
So, no one know any musical sub that cost under 1.4k notworthy.gif ?
Not that I am aware of. Musical sub normally refers to sealed sub with good attack and pace. At that price point, I have not come across any.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Dec 28 2012, 11:41 PM
ronnt88
post Jan 10 2013, 01:55 PM

2,353 posts

Jeng jeng jeng jeng.... expecting something to show up at my doorstep tomorrow brows.gif
runemastertan
post Jan 10 2013, 03:47 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(poonkm @ Dec 18 2012, 11:14 AM)
Hi Sifus,

Sorry, IMHO, there won;t be a sub that is overkill for a setup, unless you are talking about super huge subs. Anything from 10" - 12" should be fine.
poonkm
post Jan 10 2013, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 28 2012, 11:41 PM)
This is an entry level sub from SVS. It will not be an overkill for your system. This sub can go to a low 19Hz but not as high output (dB) as its bigger siblings like the PB12-NSD and above.  smile.gif
Went to Acoustique Systems 2 weeks back but the sub not available yet. Have put my name for notification though...was told will arrive mid Jan. Early waiting for arrival, hopefully can get before CNY thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
ronnt88
post Jan 11 2013, 12:20 AM

2,353 posts

Look what I just got brows.gif
geforce1999
post Jan 12 2013, 11:14 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Congrat on the new toy, more pictures please smile.gif

104 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top