The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!
TShtkaki
Aug 27 2010, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(kc01 @ Aug 27 2010, 11:21 AM) htkaki My earlier shorlisted gear was the PC12+, PB12+ and PB13U. Now you have time to auditioned SB series, for movie experience, does the SB12 comes close to PB/PC12+ as both the SB and PB/PC have similar price range? Or what about SB13 vs PB/PC13U? The PB / PC; vented sub is built primarily for movie and SPL in mind. The SB is for quality and not SPL drag race. IMHO, the SB is good for small and medium room with 'authority' over >40Hz region while the PB/PC is for ULF and room filling bass. Then again, both are of different characteristic. Some prefers sealed and some prefer vented sub Btw, how much is Sub25 down under?
TShtkaki
Aug 27 2010, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 27 2010, 08:25 PM) Can start with 1 first, then add second later  LOL.... good idea. It will only takes him 3-4 months to get the second unit. Will be doing EQ1 tomorrow. This time, 1 input, 2 outputs (2X 13-Ultra)
TShtkaki
Aug 27 2010, 10:05 PM
I worry about the door and the ceiling lighting in the room:p
TShtkaki
Aug 27 2010, 10:40 PM
Sld be around noon.
I might lug the 'NEW' PB12-Plus to make it 3. ROTFLOL....
TShtkaki
Aug 28 2010, 01:21 PM
12-NSD been sold out for some time.
Left with 13-Ultra and PB12-Plus.
The PB13-Ultra will heads north next week. I will be only left with PB13-Plus. The PC13-Ultra is undergoing run-in for a customer.
The PB12-Plus might find a new owner too.
That leaves me with new SB subs.
Sub aside, I'll have new loudspeakers to play with in abt 6 weeks. Very reputable and renowned brand. Mid to High end stuff.
TShtkaki
Aug 30 2010, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(klimal @ Aug 30 2010, 05:31 PM) Let me know when the PC12-NSD arrives. Np Still pondering to run 4 subs in a room. Now, on dual
TShtkaki
Aug 31 2010, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 31 2010, 07:40 AM) Taukeh dual sub could be overkill for some. Pairing AS-EQ1 with 4 subs (4 x ultra) would be siao gila. (4 x ultra)  . Boss, ain't have 4 Ultras lah. Possibly, 2x SB12-NSD, 1x SB13-Plus and 1x 13-Ultra. This way, I get all the tightness in bass (>40Hz) and good output for ULF. Or maybe I will use 1 sub for the center channel  and LFE output for 2 subs. Priority is to set up the completely new loudspeakers system in my room and also the hi-fi system. Then, only play with the subs.
TShtkaki
Aug 31 2010, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 31 2010, 12:41 PM) 2x might not be cure your sickness as LFE would leak out. Sub position is more improtant than anything else in a 'problematic' room. If you locate a second sweet spot that yield some reasonable gain, then it's time to upgrade.  Try moving the sub around first before getting a second sub. Also sub eq would be needed to tame 2x subs. Haha I guess you might be the only (klimal as well) to have experience how much effect that a room has on a subwoofer. It can make a good subwoofer sounds lousy in a very bad room and yields good result when it is being set up correctly. I am trying to learn more on this by experiencing with customers' systems. The more setups that I can fiddle with, the more knowledge could be gain which is invaluable. At the moment, learning (training ears) on hi-end hi-fi systems. Consider myself lucky as many owners would prefer to keep a very low profile.
TShtkaki
Aug 31 2010, 11:00 PM
Definition of proper HT room varies, bro  . It has to be good acoustic room. A sealed room does not equate to a good room. The dimension of the room plays an important (I bet you have read this). A bad sealed room can be worse than a living room.
TShtkaki
Sep 2 2010, 03:38 PM
kc01, buy Sub25 and enjoy 1st lor
TShtkaki
Sep 2 2010, 05:27 PM
must be Stanley's apprentice
TShtkaki
Sep 5 2010, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(logit85 @ Sep 3 2010, 12:32 PM) are u sure SUB25 Price RM14.5K for the normal finisH ???? last time u told me RM27K how come price drop what u listering to dual sealed sub which two subwoofer ??? for watching movie still doesn't suit movies how about music for dual sealed sub It is RM14.5K, you sure buy going to? Pleas go and buy two fulfill to your dream of best sub listering tamil songs
TShtkaki
Sep 6 2010, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(dlyz @ Sep 6 2010, 08:07 AM) Hmmm, for me, high chance im delaying sub purchase  , going for bookshelf instead which is easier to drive than my floorstand. Most probably Dynaudio DM 2/8, will go audit this wednesday. Just audited DM 2/7 2 days ago. But somehow or the other, i will get a sub in the near future  Time to upgrade your amp, perhaps?
TShtkaki
Sep 7 2010, 11:15 PM
I would suggest that you consider sealed sub since you are mostly into music. Wharfedale SW250 or similar in this price point worth considering.
TShtkaki
Sep 7 2010, 11:35 PM
Bro, out of his budget lah. Those subs that he mentioned is below RM2K.
TShtkaki
Sep 8 2010, 11:07 PM
He is more into music. The vented sub mentioned suffers from overhang and rather boomy to say the least. Not sure whether Sunfire has any sealed sub within his budget.
TShtkaki
Sep 14 2010, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(ckf8829 @ Sep 11 2010, 11:17 PM) Hi, Can any sifus teach me how to setup the subs? the LFE shud i put advanced mode or settle with those preset (110,200,etc). I can really feel those preset have more bass but lot of distortion too. I found this statement on SVS support " It is very important to verify that your receiver Sub-Out (LFE) channel is set to the same level as your front right and left channels. " Is that mean all my speakers (front,rear ,center ) shud set at same crossover? THanks Let your avr do the crossover. Set your sub to 'bypass' for freq xo. Btw, what speakers that you are using? Satelites normally above 100Hz. Capable loudspeakers can go lower than 60Hz. But, mostly recommend to set it at 80Hz.
TShtkaki
Sep 18 2010, 10:35 PM
logit85 don't believe in 400W  Someone must convince him that it is indeed ULTRA powerful and that he doesn't nee kW of power.
TShtkaki
Sep 18 2010, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 18 2010, 10:47 PM) NVM logit is getting sub 25... The first in Malaysia. Walaueh  4000w  King of ALL sub.
TShtkaki
Sep 19 2010, 02:31 AM
QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 18 2010, 11:45 PM) need a sifu to convince. ask the sub sifu to come talk to him Pls convince him  I've given up QUOTE singapore up there is selling svs cheaper. don't even have to ask for best price; even retail price there is already cheaper. but have to pay import duty and tax manually lah. and the last time i check, RM is going up. could possibly mean even cheaper now In a sense, it is indeed true. GST is 7% as oppose to our 15% import duty and 10% sales tax  Drive down and get an Ultra back. Settle with Ketam. Viola....save few hundreds buck to upgrade other things. Btw, have you got your avr? It is very cheap there for a new unit