19 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

TShtkaki
post May 13 2010, 05:54 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ May 13 2010, 04:06 PM)
Will get a 2 units of Paradigm 25 or PB16+ for left and right mono like Mr boomy boom boom bass when I strike lottery later. laugh.gif
shocking.gif Elite also need to wait to strike lottery? doh.gif

Your seaweed Taip R and Volvolution, not to mention your mansion already how muchie? sweat.gif

Btw, why don't you do a dual setup with both your pu.. errr. subs?
TShtkaki
post May 20 2010, 05:01 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 20 2010, 04:25 PM)
Need sifu advise.

I have an old Sony sub, which has a Freq.cut-off from 50 - 100Hz. I set it at 100 Hz.
My AVR 2309, I set the sub cut-off at 100 Hz.

Should I set my sub freq. lower? Same freq.as well for AVR?
Set your sub to bypass. Let your avr do the job
TShtkaki
post May 21 2010, 09:49 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 21 2010, 09:39 AM)
Above are my settings. Anfield, thks for advice.
Then it would be 100Hz for the AVR and sub. Normally you turn clockwise to the max at your sub xo to set it bypass. Else, just set to 100Hz.

Out of curiosuty, what speakers that you are using? Small bookshelf spkrs? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: May 21 2010, 09:50 AM
TShtkaki
post May 24 2010, 10:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ May 24 2010, 10:07 PM)
I add aluminium foil and use rubber tape to tape it nicely... tongue.gif
to isolate RFI/EMI kah? tongue.gif

TShtkaki
post May 25 2010, 12:01 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Wait til you try a power conditioner brows.gif

For power cord, I have a few Supra Lorad, 2x Kimber Kable Classic, 3x Russ Andrew PowerMax Plus (still virgin sweat.gif ), XLO Reference 2 and 3. Last week tested out the power conditioner. Tacima is no match to this. Surprisingly good performance esp on stereo. Tightened up the bass notes, vocal becomes more focus and it hold well for treble too even at high volume. Now, thinking of getting it. Need to check how many US plugs and UK plus to be customized in it since can put 6.

TShtkaki
post May 25 2010, 03:27 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Always upgrade from the source first to yield the best result. Then towards the final gear.

E.g : BDP/CDP --> AV rcvr / Amp ---> Sub
TShtkaki
post May 25 2010, 03:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes, my Dune Prime is using IEC plug. So, I can change it. If fig 8 like in Pana BD60, then have to get adaptor to connect IEC.
TShtkaki
post May 25 2010, 11:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I always plug the power cord to my avr 1st since I am using a few sources. This is to maximize my 'investment'.

My PB13-Ultra is now being hooked with Kimber Kable Classic PowerKord tongue.gif along with XPA-5. Denon 4310 on XLO Reference 2. Prime 3.0 on Lorad.

The PB12-NSD is on Lorad as well as the 1910.
TShtkaki
post Jun 2 2010, 11:02 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Jun 2 2010, 07:25 AM)
Here are IEC adaptor
tongue.gif I have two of this plug

On another note, my place going to run out of space as there will be a 4 new sealed subs making its way here sad.gif Cannot keep every single models, which would have totaled up to 11 subs.

Might have to sell off the 3 months old PB12-NSD demo unit and the display PB12-Plus hmm.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 2 2010, 11:53 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Jun 2 2010, 11:17 AM)
Try setup all 11 sub together and see how it sound la... tongue.gif
Bro, 1 PB13-Ultra is already so powerful even at 75dB tuning whistling.gif . Still want 11 kah? tongue.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 2 2010, 10:08 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Undoubtedly, the SubM has been one of the best sealed sub available. For the money, it could be the best at that range.

Paradigm Sub25 has been getting excellent reviews thus far. This is one of the sealed sub that should be taken into consideration

Added on June 3, 2010, 8:44 amFor bass nuts with capable subwoofers that could produce 20Hz and below:

WOTW BD : thumbup.gif

Pod emerges

walker flies out and start mayhem

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 3 2010, 08:45 AM
TShtkaki
post Jun 3 2010, 02:49 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Not selling both, Latuk? Maybe you sell to Mr Logitech
TShtkaki
post Jun 9 2010, 03:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

bigger sub such as? tongue.gif

With the addition of sub and proper tuning, it does make a difference in movie watching as compare to a typical 5.0 system. A lot of time, many people overlook the .1 in their setup. It's not about 'whoompa whoompa'. It's all about integration to the rest of the spkrs that would enhance the sound enjoyment. It's not all about Loud Boomy Boom Boom (sorry, i can't help it) whistling.gif sweat.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 9 2010, 03:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I seldom let my 3 y.o. son to go into my HT room. He normally plays with his toys in master room. Only when he want to watch cartoon movies, he will go into HT room.
TShtkaki
post Jun 9 2010, 05:27 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 9 2010, 05:10 PM)
Taikor U elite got HT room mah. I live in peasant atap niah have to put all my HT stuff in the living room. rolleyes.gif
Fuyoo, really low profile and humble notworthy.gif

It's a matter of want or not since there are plenty of rooms in your mansion. Probably HM did not give approval, is it? tongue.gif

TShtkaki
post Jun 10 2010, 08:32 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Fuyoo..... Sub25 sweat.gif Elite notworthy.gif The 'touted' SubM killer. IIRC, it is on order basis. Takes abt 2-3 months to get one as the local distri did not stock it.

cslee07, your other loudspeakers must be drool.gif One of the best setup belongs to shuto1 and there is another forumer who is very low profile with his system too.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 10 2010, 08:35 AM
TShtkaki
post Jun 10 2010, 05:47 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

CHT-12Q costs a whole lot more than SW250. IIRC, it sld be around RM2.8K mark.

Yes, CHT-Q primarily for movie. SW250 would sounds cleaner but losing out in tactile. These entry level subs will not overpower the Jamo.
TShtkaki
post Jun 14 2010, 02:08 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 14 2010, 08:33 AM)
Man...you guys really need to get War of The World BD....
very very nice LFE......thumbup.gif
Is it? Heard many good reviews on the ULF in it at avsforum. This is one sub killer ref BD
TShtkaki
post Jun 14 2010, 03:03 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 14 2010, 02:28 PM)
Taikor Ronnie can I go over your place to test? laugh.gif
Pls bring 6 cans of beer tongue.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 14 2010, 05:38 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

both PG elites trying to taichi again....

Btw, when is the subwoofers shootout ?

19 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:34 AM