Panasonic Screen Burn

low98944
post Jan 21 2010, 05:49 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 21 2010, 05:41 PM)
My boss tell me in Japan, there is a point system for 'Going Green Lifestyle'...benefits will be given by the company based on that point system...but in Malaysia..err..just follow ISO14001 requirement should be proud oledi.
In our house no need to follow ISO14001 and there is no "real" benefit to normal ppl like us, then why go green? wink.gif You don't expect ppl will go green since there is not immediate danger for not going green and there is no immediate benefit too. Then, most of the ppl will ask green for what?
darenlks
post Jan 21 2010, 06:33 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jan 21 2010, 05:49 PM)
In our house no need to follow ISO14001 and there is no "real" benefit to normal ppl like us, then why go green?  wink.gif  You don't expect ppl will go green since there is not immediate danger for not going green and there is no immediate benefit too. Then, most of the ppl will ask green for what?
Of course we could not see the instant benefit on this but for your next generations to come. Many companies have started to incorporate this policy as part of their social responsibility. We are not talking about us as normal consumer to lead the trend especially in Malaysia yet but this will be gradually driven by the government's effort going down to all the levels. It won't be surprised that we are start seeing more and more consumer products with environmental friendly element in it as their marketing strategy.

You may disagree to this or think this is too futuristic to be bothered as it is more on a prediction based on the current situation which will drive people's reaction for a cure wink.gif

low98944
post Jan 21 2010, 07:56 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ Jan 21 2010, 06:33 PM)
Of course we could not see the instant benefit on this but for your next generations to come. Many companies have started to incorporate this policy as part of their social responsibility. We are not talking about us as normal consumer to lead the trend especially in Malaysia yet but this will be gradually driven by the government's effort going down to all the levels. It won't be surprised that we are start seeing more and more consumer products with environmental friendly element in it as their marketing strategy.

You may disagree to this or think this is too futuristic to be bothered as it is more on a prediction based on the current situation which will drive people's reaction for a cureĀ  wink.gif
I am actually not support or against on green. tongue.gif It is funny that some of our products are greener than before but that is not mainly due to our government's effort but is due to those are manufactured by foreign invested companies where their have to compliance to their our countries policies. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: Jan 21 2010, 07:57 PM
darenlks
post Jan 21 2010, 08:26 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jan 21 2010, 07:56 PM)
I am actually not support or against on green.  tongue.gif  It is funny that some of our products are greener than before but that is not mainly due to our government's effort but is due to those are manufactured by foreign invested companies where their have to compliance to their our countries policies.  sweat.gif
No lah I didn't say it is Malaysia goverment but I meant a country's government. You got the absolute power to choose your own stand on this wink.gif
neb
post Jan 21 2010, 08:28 PM

2,234 posts

why panasonic stop p42s10 production? brows.gif
low98944
post Jan 21 2010, 08:31 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ Jan 21 2010, 08:26 PM)
No lah I didn't say it is Malaysia goverment but I meant a country's government. You got the absolute power to choose your own stand on this  wink.gif
Yes. That is correct. laugh.gif Actually I try to explain what I think common ppl with react to green (example, more energy saving, etc). For common ppl, I think, price still most important factor, in Malaysia, affect them to choice products, the other factors are follow trend, etc.

Added on January 21, 2010, 8:33 pm
QUOTE(neb @ Jan 21 2010, 08:28 PM)
why panasonic stop p42s10 production?  brows.gif
Ask Mr. Tony Endoh, he should know. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: Jan 21 2010, 08:33 PM
neb
post Jan 21 2010, 09:09 PM

2,234 posts

managing director! unreachable by common people
low98944
post Jan 21 2010, 09:17 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jan 21 2010, 09:09 PM)
managing director! unreachable by common people
lightning69
post Jan 22 2010, 01:29 AM

2,298 posts

i think plasma eventually will lose out because no matter how, plasma will consume more power than the LED because of the nature of the plasma tech vs LED tech.

But the main concern for consumers is the Burn-in thing. Imagine if you are going to spend 5K on a TV and you heard people like your friends who bought plasma tv before and have screen burn-in, would you take the risk and still choose plasma even if it have slightly better blacks?

Most of the consumers who buy HD Tv now will likely wanna watch Astro Beyond had most HD programs will have big bright logo just to remind you're watching their channel. Are you gonna buy a tv that says "please don't watch the same channel for too long or risk getting burn-in?" Why bother with a tech that give so much hassle.

Now i'm in a difficult situation whether to subscribe to Astro HD because of the risk of getting burn-in on my 50"plasma. And I don't think I want to buy another tv where I feel so restricted as to how long can I watch a channel. To me ...I just forget about plasma Tv as LED tv can provide just as pretty picture as the plasma.
stimix
post Jan 22 2010, 07:44 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Who dunwan new tech..The problem is will the price competitive enough compare to Plasma (probably another year of two but not now) & furthermore LED TV is just another LCD TV wth LED backlight instead of Fluorescent...So watching in big screen >42' might not be as good as plasma.

choontoy
post Jan 22 2010, 08:57 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jan 20 2010, 10:58 PM)
I feel the pixels are kind of distorted or exploded?? but of course that's also depends on the viewing distance. I still prefer to watch Astro in 4:3 but when watching on Plasma must be very careful and not to watch for longer hours....
pixel kind of distorted ? so whch distance of yr viewing ? mine approx 7feet away which are max liao.
jitbeng
post Jan 22 2010, 09:08 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Dec 30 2009, 06:13 AM)
just curious, whats the difference (other then the playback feature)  between the L42S10K and L42S18K...both LCD from Panny.
Which one better?
Both are the same. Read somewhere the 18K sounds better, you know what I mean! You know lah the Chinese is obsessed with the number 8. So some big Chinese owned outlet use it to attract customers. Whether it makes a difference or not, I think it's an OCD thing.

BTW, even Michael Schumacher is obsessed with odd number. He was allocated with the number 4 but he asked to switch to 3 which was allocated to his teammate & it was approved.

Plasma & LCD have their advantages & disadvantages respectively.

One of the reasons I prefer Plasma is its natural colour. Also Plasma price now for a 42" is less than RM3,000.00. A few years ago it was unthinkable. My friend bought one 42" for about RM18,000.00 a few years ago.

Malaysian tends to be obsessed with price too. The lower the better for a quality product.

TSechoesian
post Jan 22 2010, 12:31 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Jan 22 2010, 08:57 AM)
pixel kind of distorted ? so whch distance of yr viewing ? mine approx 7feet away which are max liao.
I sit about 9-10 feet

Added on January 22, 2010, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jan 22 2010, 01:29 AM)
i think plasma eventually will lose out because no matter how, plasma will consume more power than the LED because of the nature of the plasma tech vs LED tech. 

But the main concern for consumers is the Burn-in thing.  Imagine if you are going to spend 5K on a TV and you heard people like your friends who bought plasma tv before and have screen burn-in, would you take the risk and still choose plasma even if it have slightly better blacks?

Most of the consumers who buy HD Tv now will likely wanna watch Astro Beyond had most HD programs will have big bright logo just to remind you're watching their channel.  Are you gonna buy a tv that says "please don't watch the same channel for too long or risk getting burn-in?"  Why bother with a tech that give so much hassle.

Now i'm in a difficult situation whether to subscribe to Astro HD because of the risk of getting burn-in on my 50"plasma.  And I don't think I want to buy another tv where I feel so restricted as to how long can I watch a channel.  To me ...I just forget about plasma Tv as LED tv can provide just as pretty picture as the plasma.
Yeah I agree, we buy a TV is to enjoy as much as we can and not to worry about those IR and the restricted of usage of longer hours..

This post has been edited by echoesian: Jan 22 2010, 12:33 PM
anfieldude
post Jan 22 2010, 01:23 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jan 22 2010, 12:31 PM)
I sit about 9-10 feet

Did you use the Just mode for converting 4:3 to fill the screen or 16:9?

The correct mode in the Panny to scale a 4:3 image is Just. The scaling is pretty decent. There are displays with better scalers.
TSechoesian
post Jan 22 2010, 01:27 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 22 2010, 01:23 PM)
Did you use the Just mode for converting 4:3 to fill the screen or 16:9?

The correct mode in the Panny to scale a 4:3 image is Just. The scaling is pretty decent. There are displays with better scalers.
I feel the Just mode is stretching the picture horizontally and makes it weird. For Astro viewing, the 4:3 and 14:9 is better.
anfieldude
post Jan 22 2010, 01:56 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jan 22 2010, 01:27 PM)
I feel the Just mode is stretching the picture horizontally and makes it weird. For Astro viewing, the 4:3 and 14:9 is better.
Just mode stretches progressively not horizontally (vertical and horizontal). The stretching starts abt 2/3 on each side from the centre.
lightning69
post Jan 22 2010, 08:25 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 22 2010, 01:56 PM)
Just mode stretches progressively not horizontally (vertical and horizontal). The stretching starts abt 2/3 on each side from the centre.
Why need to stretch...LCD no need to do that. Another restriction for plasma screen
TSechoesian
post Feb 2 2010, 07:00 PM

3,294 posts

The IR is coming back to hunt me after watching Astro in Just mode for just a couple of days!!!
phat_newbie
post Feb 2 2010, 08:42 PM

265 posts

Hi echoesian, I am a Panasonic plasma user since the PV80 model. My previous PV80 plasma had a permanent AXN logo IR on it after less than 3 months usage and I called to ask Panasonic to come and inspect. Following that, the agreed to exchange my PV80 for a new unit but because at that time PV80 was obselete, they gave me an X10K instead. Guess what, watching Astro and playing PS3 now on my X10K still gives me a temporary IR which needs probably 3 days of watching HD content (Bolt 720p, Ice Age 3 720p, Madagascar 720p etc) continuously for 5 hours a day to wash off the IR. Hence, I have now given up trying to avoid IR on my plasma. Just watch and play all I want and enjoy the rich and natural colors without ghosting effect and not worry too much anymore. But take note, IR/Burn-In is still a common issue for plasma panels.
TSechoesian
post Feb 2 2010, 10:44 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ Feb 2 2010, 08:42 PM)
Hi echoesian, I am a Panasonic plasma user since the PV80 model. My previous PV80 plasma had a permanent AXN logo IR on it after less than 3 months usage and I called to ask Panasonic to come and inspect. Following that, the agreed to exchange my PV80 for a new unit but because at that time PV80 was obselete, they gave me an X10K instead. Guess what, watching Astro and playing PS3 now on my X10K still gives me a temporary IR which needs probably 3 days of watching HD content (Bolt 720p, Ice Age 3 720p, Madagascar 720p etc) continuously for 5 hours a day to wash off the IR. Hence, I have now given up trying to avoid IR on my plasma. Just watch and play all I want and enjoy the rich and natural colors without ghosting effect and not worry too much anymore. But take note, IR/Burn-In is still a common issue for plasma panels.
The IR on your screen is viewable on normal content or only apparent on standby mode / non-signal source in a dark environment?

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:06 AM