Travel www.agoda.com, hotel booking site discussion

moody5
post Feb 25 2010, 08:52 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(ecVk @ Feb 24 2010, 10:19 PM)
You need to bring credit card also? Im planning to go singapore with my friends and use my dads credit card. What if i only bring the confirmation slip?
need to indicate about that and do according to their instruction for this case during your reservation process
quinzzy
post Feb 25 2010, 01:21 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ecVk @ Feb 24 2010, 10:19 PM)
You need to bring credit card also? Im planning to go singapore with my friends and use my dads credit card. What if i only bring the confirmation slip?
If your room is pre-paid then you can just bring the confimation slip. But usually when you stay in a hotel, you'll need to pay a sum as 'deposit' [the amount may equivalent to a room night charge] therefore the hotel may ask for a credit card or cash for the deposit.
Hope it helps. Thanks.

This post has been edited by quinzzy: Feb 25 2010, 01:24 PM
vreis
post May 13 2010, 09:51 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

Just to share some experience. This is my 1st time booking thru agoda for a hotel in HK. I paid for everything in Jan 10 while the trip is end apr 2010. I got the confirmation slip as well.
The day I reached the hotel is already 8pm. Guess what, the staff there nearly gave me heart attack saying there's no such booking even after I showed him the confirmation slip. Naturally I freaked out & quite pissed. The staff then said as long as I have the slip, they will have rooms for me. What if there's no rooms left?? The question is how can they make such an error? I already sent in a complain letter demanding an answer.

Btw its standard practice to pay deposit even if you bring the credit card that's used for booking according to the hotelier. They don't even bother to ask for that credit card.
d8kd
post May 13 2010, 01:08 PM

I'm watching over you
879 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ May 13 2010, 09:51 AM)
Just to share some experience. This is my 1st time booking thru agoda for a hotel in HK. I paid for everything in Jan 10 while the trip is end apr 2010. I got the confirmation slip as well.
The day I reached the hotel is already 8pm. Guess what, the staff there nearly gave me heart attack saying there's no such booking even after I showed him the confirmation slip. Naturally I freaked out & quite pissed. The staff then said as long as I have the slip, they will have rooms for me. What if there's no rooms left?? The question is how can they make such an error? I already sent in a complain letter demanding an answer.

Btw its standard practice to pay deposit even if you bring the credit card that's used for booking according to the hotelier. They don't even bother to ask for that credit card.
i used agoda b4, not having any issue. but on a safe side, i usually emailed the hotel b4 my departure to confirm that they actually reserved a room for me.
Lis000
post May 13 2010, 05:58 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(d8kd @ May 13 2010, 01:08 PM)
i used agoda b4, not having any issue. but on a safe side, i usually emailed the hotel b4 my departure to confirm that they actually reserved a room for me.
Yups, I usually call them even, in fact.

Haven't booked via Agoda before ( cos of incompatible rates ) but have done through the following sites.

AsiaTravel.com
PYOTravel.com
AirAsiaGo

Everything went smoothly - reservations, payment, etc

kneok
post Jun 9 2010, 11:24 AM

323 posts

i book for the first time using agoda and they told me i can cancel my reservation anytime up until one day before the actual reserved date. but they have already charged my credit card? so how to cancel?
stimix
post Jun 9 2010, 11:41 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

They probably credit bck your credit card just like what AA did?
prospeed_ballz
post Jun 9 2010, 01:12 PM

347 posts

yup....they will credit back the amount to your CC.......but it will take some time........you have to talk to the opeator using online chat......this will speed things p....if not will take time......
jamieshin
post May 17 2011, 04:12 PM

149 posts

im planning to go SG soon~ n want book hotel from agoda..... if i ored give my CC number n so on.. thy wil charged it ored rite?.. when we reach there.. show the confirmation letter.. thy stil want our CC to confirm izit?.. thy wont swap my card rite? cos ored paid ma...
stimix
post May 17 2011, 05:09 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well, Although you already paid in advance, but MOST (not All) hotel still require some kind of deposit incase during check-out you took out some of their chargeable items or even you spoil their utilities. Therefore, Most of the hotels still will ask for Deposit..either in cash or CC during check-in
jamieshin
post May 17 2011, 10:01 PM

149 posts

wow~ thn after check out~ thy wil return bk~? if gv CC ma ored charged?
vreis
post May 18 2011, 11:57 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(jamieshin @ May 17 2011, 10:01 PM)
wow~ thn after check out~ thy wil return bk~? if gv CC ma ored charged?
better use cash which they will return when u check out. If CC, they'll charged & credit back when u check out which will take some time. Logically, me think u'll gain/lose some $$$ due to the fluctuating exchange rates.
Listiani
post May 18 2011, 01:21 PM

I booked with Agoda many times and I don't face any problem. Let see how long I'll make booking with them.

Also, I notice my RHB CC conversion from foreign currency to RM higher than my Maybank CC. I mostly use Maybank CC for overseas transaction than RHB CC because of this.
arthurlwf
post May 18 2011, 04:10 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(d8kd @ May 13 2010, 01:08 PM)
Tried agoda before, and to be safe side, I usually call up the hotel to confirm the reservation..
Also tried booking.com as well..
chorng
post May 20 2011, 11:08 AM

39 posts

Agoda is a pretty big organization for bookings and they have quite alot of traffics.
Check out my hotel finder tool -> Flymyself - Hotel finder

megadisc
post Jun 9 2011, 04:32 PM

4,349 posts

sui ah
i like this site
since it multiples sites at once
then straight away can compare liao leh
so no problmes.
SUSceo684
post Jul 2 2011, 04:15 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(jamieshin @ May 17 2011, 04:12 PM)
im planning to go SG soon~ n want book hotel from agoda.....  if i ored give my CC number n so on.. thy wil charged it ored rite?.. when we reach there.. show the confirmation letter.. thy stil want our CC to confirm izit?.. thy wont swap my card rite? cos ored paid ma...
the hotel will want to swipe ur card to verify credit available.
ahfish7
post Jul 4 2011, 09:10 PM

116 posts

Tried agoda before, no issue arise. and will probably use agoda again for my coming bangkok trip..^^
dreamerer
post Jul 5 2011, 10:09 PM

Agoda got hidden cost, usually need to add in booking fees and their rates is not cheap if we really compare.
cyrusdidi
post Jul 6 2011, 01:06 AM

33 posts

hopefully the room i booked through agoda hv no issue when check-in. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cyrusdidi: Jul 6 2011, 05:52 AM

18 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:55 AM