Travel www.agoda.com, hotel booking site discussion
Nov 20 2011, 07:26 PM
2,278 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL-KL |
asiarooms.com is another nice site. I used before when I went to bangkok last time.
Nov 22 2011, 11:41 AM
1,733 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
see if any of your fav link can beat wat i usually use -- > hotelclub.com
Nov 29 2011, 11:56 AM
5 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
i used Agoda.com for my trip to Batam . no problem on the reservation. have to bring the hotel voucher during check in..
Nov 29 2011, 12:52 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Most of booking websites having their pros & cons. Some booking websites might be cheap on certain countries bcos they are from there & they got bulk pricing and some don't as they also rely on another bulk purchaser.
Not all websites offer the best and really need to compare. I used hotelclub b4 for my Manila trip as they were the cheapest that time.. but on other countries, they can't match. asiarooms sometime offering cheap rates esp to Singapore esp Singapore haha (Hotel81 can get US$30!) but they are expensive on other countries. Sawaddee very competitive on Thailand hitels & I used them when I booked Thai's hotels. On overall, I find Agoda having the widest the cheapest overall on lotsa destinations & sometime, the discount much better than others (Well not all the time). The only problem wth agoda is the "implied rate" not shown when you booked. Once you want to make payment, than they will charge you atleast US$2-US$5 xtra on top of their promo. QUOTE(dopp @ Nov 22 2011, 11:41 AM) |
Nov 29 2011, 10:39 PM
Validating
1,333 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 29 2011, 12:52 PM) Most of booking websites having their pros & cons. Some booking websites might be cheap on certain countries bcos they are from there & they got bulk pricing and some don't as they also rely on another bulk purchaser. Agree with the above. The full price is now shown initially but only appears in smaller print when you make the payment.Not all websites offer the best and really need to compare. I used hotelclub b4 for my Manila trip as they were the cheapest that time.. but on other countries, they can't match. asiarooms sometime offering cheap rates esp to Singapore esp Singapore haha (Hotel81 can get US$30!) but they are expensive on other countries. Sawaddee very competitive on Thailand hitels & I used them when I booked Thai's hotels. On overall, I find Agoda having the widest the cheapest overall on lotsa destinations & sometime, the discount much better than others (Well not all the time). The only problem wth agoda is the "implied rate" not shown when you booked. Once you want to make payment, than they will charge you atleast US$2-US$5 xtra on top of their promo. You have to pay for the room in full upon booking with agoda while others require only 10%. |
Nov 29 2011, 10:46 PM
32 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
When you sign up with AGODA and use their service several times, you will get bonus points which will be converted to the value of money which can be use for your next booking giving you discounts than the current rate..
Nov 30 2011, 11:08 AM
4,390 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cheras, Malaysia |
I booked thru Hotel.com and found their rate the best among all site in Penang's Cititel rate
Dec 20 2011, 10:32 PM
27 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Hi guys,
I was actually having the same doubt earlier as my credit card was charged much more higher that what I actually thought I paid for. The amount charged to my cc almost triple, and it was over my budget. I decided to cancel the booking via the self-service menu they provided through the confirmation email. However, I did not receive any notification about my refund. I tried contacting their customer service, unfortunately they only have UK, US, HK and Singapore lines. I tried contacted UK and Spore line but no one answer after sooo long of waiting. I tried sending an email to them, sadly still no response after 2 days. I'm very frustrated as now I lost my booking and unsure about my status of refund. Lost the hotel and the money Does anyone have any experience related to this situation with Agoda? Appreciate very much for your help. This post has been edited by Rynna: Dec 20 2011, 10:32 PM |
Dec 21 2011, 08:18 AM
2,562 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
if u are reffering to agoda site, last month i did a couple of bookings and i cancelled them and got my refund promptly refunded back to my cc after a few days time, take note for your particular booking if there is any 'free' cancellation , it varies
QUOTE(Rynna @ Dec 20 2011, 10:32 PM) Hi guys, I was actually having the same doubt earlier as my credit card was charged much more higher that what I actually thought I paid for. The amount charged to my cc almost triple, and it was over my budget. I decided to cancel the booking via the self-service menu they provided through the confirmation email. However, I did not receive any notification about my refund. I tried contacting their customer service, unfortunately they only have UK, US, HK and Singapore lines. I tried contacted UK and Spore line but no one answer after sooo long of waiting. I tried sending an email to them, sadly still no response after 2 days. I'm very frustrated as now I lost my booking and unsure about my status of refund. Lost the hotel and the money Does anyone have any experience related to this situation with Agoda? Appreciate very much for your help. |
Dec 21 2011, 09:45 AM
It's normal that what advertised by Agoda is excluding Tax & hotel surcharge just like AA haha..So beware of the ~ US$5-US$7 additional surcharge on top of the advertised rate.
Dec 21 2011, 11:39 AM
1,658 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Spion Kop |
I've actually booked twice & the amount charged is exactly as stated. Maybe I'm lucky.
My only grouse is that on 1 of my bookings (actually paid all), the hotel claimed it never received any booking from agoda but I've got all those confirmation printed out. All these when I was in the hotel edi |
Dec 21 2011, 11:51 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,962 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 21 2011, 09:45 AM) It's normal that what advertised by Agoda is excluding Tax & hotel surcharge just like AA haha..So beware of the ~ US$5-US$7 additional surcharge on top of the advertised rate. Uhm Agoda does show clearly the surcharge, but during the checkout/payment details there.The published room rate are not included surcharge. QUOTE(vreis @ Dec 21 2011, 11:39 AM) I've actually booked twice & the amount charged is exactly as stated. Maybe I'm lucky. I got that before..The reason is that bank is holding the payment to Agoda awaiting for cardholder verification.My only grouse is that on 1 of my bookings (actually paid all), the hotel claimed it never received any booking from agoda but I've got all those confirmation printed out. All these when I was in the hotel edi I actually booked the room in car and went straight to the hotel, obviously they didnt get the booking but i show them my receipt from Agoda and they print out probably later claim from Agoda |
Dec 21 2011, 11:58 AM
1,658 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Spion Kop |
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 21 2011, 11:51 AM) I got that before..The reason is that bank is holding the payment to Agoda awaiting for cardholder verification. I dont think so cos I book 5 mths ahead. Also the verifications from CC are all done beforehand. I actually booked the room in car and went straight to the hotel, obviously they didnt get the booking but i show them my receipt from Agoda and they print out probably later claim from Agoda Just my luck that agoda or the hotel screw up the booking. |
Dec 21 2011, 12:16 PM
So far, AGoda has been fulfilling my booking and I even exercised my discount vouchers throughtout few years wth them. No problemo haha.
Dec 21 2011, 02:58 PM
0 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
To play it safe, I usually email the hotel concerned with booking number. This is to confirm and put in request concerning the rooms.
Jan 27 2012, 09:33 PM
1,138 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
hi..
this will be my first time booking thru agoda.com my question is do they accept maybank visa debit card?? and how will they charge me if i would like to pay in MYR?? will they charge me as stated in their website?? or depending on maybank exchange rate?? really appriciate any feedback...thanks |
Feb 2 2012, 11:45 AM
25 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Normally, when u pay Credit Card online, they will only charge you by month end although with transaction date remains the same.
Hence there will be 2 types of scenario.. If RM appreciates then your cost is lower however if RM depreciates, then your cost is higher. Thats why there is a variance depending on currency movement & bank charges on currency exchange.. However if u pay by debit card if will be charged instantly |
Feb 3 2012, 12:06 PM
46 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
You should consider Asiarooms.com. They just get your credit card details for a guarantte for your book. The hotel will only charge you when you arrive. So there will not be any of these sort of problems arising. Especially when there are x-change rate involved.
Added on February 3, 2012, 12:13 pmYou should consider Asiarooms.com. They just get your credit card details for a guarantte for your book. The hotel will only charge you when you arrive. So there will not be any of these sort of problems arising. Especially when there are x-change rate involved. This post has been edited by kowkl: Feb 3 2012, 12:13 PM |
Feb 3 2012, 07:59 PM
20 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
in agoda, you can just set as malaysia ringgit, so it will already convert so. =) normally when i go bangkok. I will book from agoda. Smooth sailing somemore. *touchwood*
and yes you can pay via maybank debit card. They will charge as stated on their website. =) |
Feb 7 2012, 07:59 PM
3,943 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - Johore - |
Dear all,
I would like to confirm whether the Hotel tax and service fees is a one off (for the entire stay duration) for MYR36.79 or do i need to multiply with the total nights? Ao Nang Buri Resort Superior Max 2 Adults Sun 18 Mar, 2012 - Fri 23 Mar, 2012 5 Night(s) No. of rooms:1 Room charge (per night) MYR 173.19 + Hotel tax and service fees MYR 36.79 which means MYR36.79 x 5 nights? |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:29 PM |