153 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

For Small and Medium Business Owners, Come In and Share Your Biz.

bekman
post Dec 28 2009, 12:20 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Dec 22 2009, 03:35 PM)
one thing funny though

they are busy capturing pirated cd owners while everywhere in shopping mall people are selling it
This is MALAYSIA BOLEH spirit! tongue.gif

Added on December 28, 2009, 12:24 pm
QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 22 2009, 04:01 PM)
Yes. Could be a viable business. International Trade.  biggrin.gif
Please consider transportation / freight charges, custom duty, tax, etc.

This post has been edited by bekman: Dec 28 2009, 12:24 PM
am_eniey
post Dec 28 2009, 02:20 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Dec 28 2009, 11:51 AM)
I love this thread man. I'll continue reading everyday on your success stories! Ha xD

Might even pick up a thing or two, as I'm planning on looking at student room rental as I was once a student renting rooms and I just KNOW its super damn viable. Those area near the new Taylors College Lakeside Campus sure untung gila now @_@
renting business can be considered as a side income, however you have to concentrate to a business where you can commit most of your time successing it. renting a property you may consider it as your bonus income.
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 28 2009, 02:35 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 28 2009, 10:29 AM)
F&B line is a wide industry. What do you have in mind? Cafe? Kopitiam? Restaurant? Franchise F&B?
Well said.  thumbup.gif
There is a time when I decided to open a rest stop with food court. And I've been to MacD to work just to see how their works to apply to the new food court.
yes... there were once where I drew their supply chain on paper....

still, they really perfected 5S, Kaizen, JIT etc....
alpha0822
post Dec 28 2009, 03:04 PM

learned a lot today, well done on this thread while i will be hookin up with u guys.

lets say if I wants to start off a business via Internet, can any tai kor advice?

currently found 2 partners and got tons of idea been rejected after a clear calculation has been done.
F&B would be a great idea but as my fren says we nid to know how 2 cook, just liked thread owner said. I dowan my chef run and my restaurant jz started/stopped without a chef = =
am_eniey
post Dec 28 2009, 04:29 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(alpha0822 @ Dec 28 2009, 03:04 PM)
learned a lot today, well done on this thread while i will be hookin up with u guys.

lets say if I wants to start off a business via Internet, can any tai kor advice?

currently found 2 partners and got tons of idea been rejected after a clear calculation has been done.
F&B would be a great idea but as my fren says we nid to know how 2 cook, just liked thread owner said. I dowan my chef run and my restaurant jz started/stopped without a chef = =
Just do any buiness that you are capable of and you are way better compared to your employee. That chef runs away situation is a good example. From what I know, starting a business with partners is like suicide.

My point of view about a beneficial business partner - someone who does a job not the same as what you are doing, I take myself as an example. I operate a laundry outlet and my friend sets up new laundry. Together we provide training to newcomers where he teaches machine installations and operations while I teach those laundry steps and procedures. Independently, we are able to expand our businesses respectively without intefering each others' operations.

If the partnership you mean like you and your friend operate the same business and doing the same job, there will be WAR later on.
alpha0822
post Dec 28 2009, 11:39 PM

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Dec 28 2009, 04:29 PM)
Just do any buiness that you are capable of and you are way better compared to your employee. That chef runs away situation is a good example. From what I know, starting a business with partners is like suicide.

My point of view about a beneficial business partner - someone who does a job not the same as what you are doing, I take myself as an example. I operate a laundry outlet and my friend sets up new laundry. Together we provide training to newcomers where he teaches machine installations and operations while I teach those laundry steps and procedures. Independently, we are able to expand our businesses respectively without intefering each others' operations.

If the partnership you mean like you and your friend operate the same business and doing the same job, there will be WAR later on.
but the best/fastest way to gather capital for SME should start off by partnership right ? We do understand the situation that about all partner was doing the same work and WARs happend, so we do prefer to seek for a good chances and start to plan, actually we do all the research and planning job after we came out for an idea and yet we will know whether is it really can be done, few points to concern were : Capital to start the business , Profit of the business, Competitor of business, future of business, Sources of supplier, and also the 4P of course , Plan, Place , Promotion, Price, and 2M : Management, Manpower. This would be the few facts we will concern on. smile.gif
TSedyek
post Dec 29 2009, 08:53 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Dec 28 2009, 11:51 AM)
I love this thread man. I'll continue reading everyday on your success stories! Ha xD

Might even pick up a thing or two, as I'm planning on looking at student room rental as I was once a student renting rooms and I just KNOW its super damn viable. Those area near the new Taylors College Lakeside Campus sure untung gila now @_@
thumbup.gif Thumbs up to room rental for students. Area nearby Taylors college is a good location. Good luck in searching for a good location.

Added on December 29, 2009, 9:30 am
QUOTE(am_eniey @ Dec 28 2009, 04:29 PM)

Couldn't agree more. Have the same experience in the computer sales and services venture. mad.gif

Added on December 29, 2009, 8:59 am
QUOTE(alpha0822 @ Dec 28 2009, 11:39 PM)
but the best/fastest way to gather capital for SME should start off by partnership right ? We do understand the situation that about all partner was doing the same work and WARs happend, so we do prefer to seek for a good chances and start to plan, actually we do all the research and planning job after we came out for an idea and yet we will know whether is it really can be done, few points to concern were : Capital to start the business , Profit of the business, Competitor of business, future of business, Sources of supplier, and also the 4P of course , Plan, Place , Promotion, Price, and 2M : Management, Manpower. This would be the few facts we will concern on. smile.gif
Too many things to consider... rclxub.gif
Up till now any idea what biz you plan to start?

This post has been edited by edyek: Dec 29 2009, 09:33 AM
alpha0822
post Dec 30 2009, 01:29 AM

QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 29 2009, 08:53 AM)
thumbup.gif Thumbs up to room rental for students. Area nearby Taylors college is a good location. Good luck in searching for a good location.

Added on December 29, 2009, 9:30 am
Couldn't agree more. Have the same experience in the computer sales and services venture.  mad.gif

Added on December 29, 2009, 8:59 am
Too many things to consider...  rclxub.gif
Up till now any idea what biz you plan to start?
its too many for us to calculate, but cant find for a best one so far......so we plan to work for a longer period to gather more capital =)

TSedyek
post Dec 30 2009, 07:22 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(alpha0822 @ Dec 30 2009, 01:29 AM)
its too many for us to calculate, but cant find for a best one so far......so we plan to work for a longer period to gather more capital =)
Nike says it better. " Just Do It ". brows.gif
thenightcrusader
post Dec 30 2009, 08:33 AM

233 posts

edyek sums is best biggrin.gif sometimes we get too overwhelmed by info that we are just paralyzed and afraid to start. one can never fully analyze anything actually. so, do look for opportunities and grab it before it flies away.
Gary1981
post Dec 30 2009, 01:00 PM

1,610 posts

QUOTE(jamzz @ Dec 26 2009, 11:05 PM)
Any bro can guide me in f&b line... can elaborate how does thg woks n management of it.... any bro succeed in f&b line r most welcom to share thk....
Get a part time job in any F&B outlet. Start from either waiter or cashier. From there, find your way to learn from shop floor to kitchen, beverage,cashier & people management. In F&B line, kitchen(the chef) is the most important that you should be focus on.
am_eniey
post Dec 30 2009, 07:14 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Dec 30 2009, 01:00 PM)
Get a part time job in any F&B outlet. Start from either waiter or cashier. From there, find your way to learn from shop floor to kitchen, beverage,cashier & people management. In F&B line, kitchen(the chef) is the most important that you should be focus on.
Correct, as a boss, we must know every operation from labour works to management skills. We can still operate it even the employee runs away although it's a bit tiring (I've had this experience before) but the business runs as usual. All (I mean all with no exception) employees are not trustworthy at all. All bosses must be ready for this.
jamzz
post Dec 30 2009, 11:15 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Dec 30 2009, 07:14 PM)
Correct, as a boss, we must know every operation from labour works to management skills. We can still operate it even the employee runs away although it's a bit tiring (I've had this experience before) but the business runs as usual. All (I mean all with no exception) employees are not trustworthy at all. All bosses must be ready for this.
bro anyway to prevent agains tis kind of half hearted employee & usually wat de choice for woker to hire? indon or local?
IGax2000
post Dec 30 2009, 11:42 PM

641 posts

local ppl should be consider 1st....
don't u realise that KL is flooding with a lot foreign worker nowadays...sorry no offended.
Just my opinion!!
am_eniey
post Dec 31 2009, 12:10 AM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

@Jamzz & @IGax2000

Yes we have to search for local worker first but we all know that locals are the real scumbags (not all but most of them) and I'm not siding on the foreigners neither. You see the situation here, a cheap foreign labour accepts a RM600 salary per month compared to a RM1000 per month for local for doing the same work. Yes all business owners are able to give that amount but you people have to take note that most businesses hire foreign worker to cut their costs. As their costs can be cut through that, they can reduce the price of their goods and services. Compared to the business owners who hire 100% locals with RM1000 payout monthly, surely they can't survive it if their price of goods and services are similar with those who hire foreign labourers. If they increase the price just to cover the salaries of the locals, nobody would come and buy goods and services at their shops/outlets. We as business owners must also imagine ourselves as a consumer, in general, we will go shop at outlets where the price is the cheapest disregarding who works either local or foreigner. We as consumers really don't care. It's the price that matters. I wish my employees are all locals but for now, it would kill me as my rivals around me only hires Indonesian/Bangla workers to run their businesses. I got no choice. They problems with locals, you know, they are smart, they know how to lie, they like to skip coming to work with millions of excuses, they want long long holiday ( dad is getting married again, mother's friend is sick, friends's birthday party, fever, cold, cough, H1N1, AIDS, HIV and so on but all are bullcrap ). I wish the government allow the business owners to increase their price just to give job opportunities to locals and prevent foreigners from getting in. But again if this rule is enforced, many bosses will take advantage to increase the prices but maintains their illegal foreign workforce instead of replacing them with locals. This problem until now I can't figure out how to solve it.
Gary1981
post Dec 31 2009, 12:26 AM

1,610 posts

QUOTE(jamzz @ Dec 30 2009, 11:15 PM)
bro anyway to prevent agains tis kind of half hearted employee & usually wat de choice for woker to hire? indon or local?
IMHO, you can try Burmese and sabah & sarawak. These people are hardworking and has no problem in communicate. Though vietnamese can consider but they have problem communicate.
TSedyek
post Dec 31 2009, 08:48 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Dec 31 2009, 12:26 AM)
IMHO, you can try Burmese and sabah & sarawak. These people are hardworking and has no problem in communicate. Though  vietnamese can consider but they have problem communicate.
Same thing goes with Sabah & Sarawak. They are locals. And locals are not cheap considering they are in fact at least primary 6 educated. I'm using foreign workers as well as they are more cheaper than the locals. More hardworking and more loyal (compare with the locals).

Gary1981
post Dec 31 2009, 10:01 AM

1,610 posts

It depends on what you recruit them for purpose. For me, I dont classify the CHEAP to recruit a good labour. I wiling to pay if they serve their job good. Perhaps you should try out sabah & sarawak workers. I have a lot business & contractors friends that recruit this people (From 1k-2k range). They are strong and hardworking. Just treat them as a HUMAN & part of your family in your company. I was suprise when a business friend of mine told me he gave his worker(sabahan) which work for 6 years at salary 2k.

This post has been edited by Gary1981: Dec 31 2009, 10:02 AM
TSedyek
post Dec 31 2009, 10:30 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Dec 31 2009, 10:01 AM)
It depends on what you recruit them for purpose. For me, I dont classify the CHEAP to recruit a good labour. I wiling to pay if they serve their job good. Perhaps you should try out sabah & sarawak workers. I have a lot business & contractors friends that recruit this people (From 1k-2k range). They are strong and hardworking. Just treat them as a HUMAN & part of your family in your company. I was suprise when a business friend of mine told me he gave his worker(sabahan) which work for 6 years at  salary 2k.
Yes. That is correct. You just have to treat them right. That is the whole point of it. thumbup.gif
Sarawak - Iban
Sabah - Kadazan Dusun
Sifha238
post Jan 1 2010, 07:58 PM

454 posts

I think besides telling the success / failure of the business, it's better if any business sifu can tell about how they start the business, things to do before start the business to make sure you won't be in trouble in future, where they go to get all the thing needed, the obstacle etc

It's will be good for anyone that want to start small / medium business, in my opinion

153 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0320sec    1.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:34 PM