=-:~ TOSHIBA Club ~:-= V2, Leading Innovation >>>

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 8 2010, 12:10 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 7 2010, 11:28 PM)
Just to ask about those extended warranty by harvey norman, it's directly to toshiba or harvey norman?
HN Sunway says Toshiba and HN,
HN Ikano says only HN.
totally clueless
I thought Teledynamics handle all warranties in Malaysia rclxub.gif
I not sure bro, sorry
zackhan
post Apr 8 2010, 09:27 AM

75 posts

Actually I post here before about the 500GB portable hard disk as a free gift when u purhcase F60 during PC Fair. I think I am not so lucky :-( .

Free gift when I purhcase F60?? NONE, that why I posted here also, worry I have been cheated, but the retailer offer me a cheaper price for MS office and antivirus software license.

So far I am quite satisfy with it, only battery not that lasting...
For pricing, yes they will go cheaper as time pass by or new model intro in, new tech = higher price....old tech = cheaper. Now if u buy Core 2 duo or older one, will get is less than RM2k

Anyway I still need to purchase portable hard disk, portable DVD burner...any recommendation...

manutd6389
post Apr 8 2010, 02:38 PM

Glory Glory Man Utd
1,638 posts

[quote=PF T.J.,Apr 6 2010, 04:31 PM]
Is your graphic card NVIDiA GeForce G310M? Or your M500 is an earlier version 1? O____O
Because there isn't any update for the G310M yet at the moment.
Did the download occur completely? Perhaps some intermittent problem, try downloading again if possible and make sure the laptop model and GC is rightly selected.
By the way, U download it from? hmm.gif

Added on April 6, 2010, 4:44 pm

my gc is nvidia g210m...the download did occur completely and I downloaded them from nvidia website

terencetoo
post Apr 8 2010, 09:04 PM

3,246 posts

hie guys,

I would like to purchase a laptop for my cousin whom he claim for ave gamer + uni work
hence i admire Toshiba Qosmio back few yrs where the price still sky high.

Well now the price are affordable compare to good old days what are the pros n cons for this model:

QOSMIO F60-S530
INTEL i3 2.13G ( 330M ) 4 GB DDR3 RAM 500GB HARDDISK DVD BURNER
15.6" WIDE SCREEN CLEAR SUPER VIEW 3 x USB2.0, E-SATA WIFI A/B/G, BLUETOOTH WEBCAM with SMART FACE 6 IN 1 CARD READER NVIDIA GF GT330M 1GB BRILLIANT RED
MS WINDOWS 7 PREMIUM WEIGHT 2.9KG TOSHIBA Carry Case 1 Year International Warranty

How much is the F60-S531 (using i5?)
Is it sufficient got minor gaming such as Dota by using i3?

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 9 2010, 12:57 AM

24,193 posts

[quote=terencetoo,Apr 8 2010, 09:04 PM]hie guys,

I would like to purchase a laptop for my cousin whom he claim for ave gamer + uni work
hence i admire Toshiba Qosmio back few yrs where the price still sky high.

Well now the price are affordable compare to good old days what are the pros n cons for this model:

QOSMIO F60-S530
INTEL i3 2.13G ( 330M ) 4 GB DDR3 RAM 500GB HARDDISK DVD BURNER
15.6" WIDE SCREEN CLEAR SUPER VIEW 3 x USB2.0, E-SATA WIFI A/B/G, BLUETOOTH WEBCAM with SMART FACE 6 IN 1 CARD READER NVIDIA GF GT330M 1GB BRILLIANT RED
MS WINDOWS 7 PREMIUM WEIGHT 2.9KG TOSHIBA Carry Case 1 Year International Warranty

How much is the F60-S531 (using i5?)
Is it sufficient got minor gaming such as Dota by using i3?

[/quote]

Hehe, glad that you chose the Qosmio F60, there are currently 3 ppl whom I know of using the F60 at the moment laugh.gif Yes, the F60 is currently the cheapest Qosmio around icon_rolleyes.gif
Well, the i3 variant + the GT330M will definitely be able to handle DOTA with no sweat at all hehehe!
The i3 F60 cost RM 3,799, may be a lot cheaper during the upcoming PC Fair
The i5 F60 costs RM 4,799. Local warranty extension for 3 years = RM639.

Er, Average gamer + Uni, I don't think the Qosmio F60 is quite suitable because of the weight and size; unless your cousin has his/her own transport, and is willing to sacrifice mobility for performance.. then only get a F60. I'm a Uni student myself hehe icon_rolleyes.gif
N82Jv can be a good choice too. i5-520M, GT335M, 14.1', Altec Lansing @RM3,999 laugh.gif

Added on April 9, 2010, 1:03 am[quote=manutd6389,Apr 8 2010, 02:38 PM]
[quote=PF T.J.,Apr 6 2010, 04:31 PM]
Is your graphic card NVIDiA GeForce G310M? Or your M500 is an earlier version 1? O____O
Because there isn't any update for the G310M yet at the moment.
Did the download occur completely? Perhaps some intermittent problem, try downloading again if possible and make sure the laptop model and GC is rightly selected.
By the way, U download it from? hmm.gif

Added on April 6, 2010, 4:44 pm

my gc is nvidia g210m...the download did occur completely and I downloaded them from nvidia website

[/quote]

Hmmm, that's very weird...
Perhaps you can try the automatic driver update here (if you haven't already): http://www.nvidia.com/Download/PreScan.aspx?lang=en-us
My guess is need to download again cry.gif
Hope it works for you ^^

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 9 2010, 01:03 AM
szaku89
post Apr 9 2010, 09:43 AM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

my toshiva M200, 1 year+ , rosak motherboard!!! arghhhh!! need to wait few weeks for the spare part to come. Apa lah...I thought toshiba best. = ="
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 9 2010, 04:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ Apr 9 2010, 09:43 AM)
my toshiva M200, 1 year+ , rosak motherboard!!! arghhhh!! need to wait few weeks for the spare part to come. Apa lah...I thought toshiba best. = ="
Hmm, I've also heard from a couple of people about burnt motherboards on the M100, M200 series. Same happened to me when I played L4D without using my cooler pad cry.gif Serve me right haihzzz..... There seems to be heat problems for earlier Toshiba units, including the M100 and M200. Well, fortunately they are discontinued already ^___^ No heat problems for the M500 and Qosmio F60 though keke nod.gif

Sometimes buying a laptop depends on luck, but more importantly, it depends on usage icon_rolleyes.gif I have no regrets when my M100's motherboard burnt after 2 years because I've been "thrashing" it like hell haha, Maple from morning till night and played all games during that time icon_rolleyes.gif

Oh ya, heat problems may also be due to accumulation of dust on the laptop fan after prolonged usage, it is imperative that you clean it as frequently as possible nod.gif Not forgetting the fan of the cooler pad too ^^

Well, survey has shown that ASUS is the best, followed by Toshiba hehe laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 9 2010, 04:38 PM
squareballs
post Apr 9 2010, 11:05 PM

4,331 posts

Already ordered my T110,Tuesday picking it up..
rm2199 wth Toshiba DVD writer, and rm299 extended warranty..
shadowshine
post Apr 10 2010, 12:08 AM

302 posts

How is this model? Worth RM2099?

Toshiba Satellite Pro L510-B402
T6570
2GB DDR3
250GB HDD (5400rpm)
ATi HD4570

This http://laptops.toshiba.com/laptops/satellite-pro/L510 is how it looks like.

Thanks. smile.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 10 2010, 02:10 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 9 2010, 11:05 PM)
Already ordered my T110,Tuesday picking it up..
rm2199 wth Toshiba DVD writer, and rm299 extended warranty..
Wah, congratulations bro on your new laptop!
Have you tried it out? How was it? drool.gif
I've always like the T110 and T130's design icon_rolleyes.gif
Do let us know how you feel about the laptop, pros and cons if you are free. It would be good to share some personal experiences with potential Toshiba buyers! hehe~
Grats again!! icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm sure Toshiba will serve you well ^^

Added on April 10, 2010, 2:21 am
QUOTE(shadowshine @ Apr 10 2010, 12:08 AM)
How is this model? Worth RM2099?

Toshiba Satellite Pro L510-B402
T6570
2GB DDR3
250GB HDD (5400rpm)
ATi HD4570

This http://laptops.toshiba.com/laptops/satellite-pro/L510 is how it looks like.

Thanks. smile.gif
Wow! Where did you find these specs for the Satellite Pro L510?
I've seen one before but I din't know it offers such good specs for that amount of money hehe laugh.gif
If all the specifications are correct, then its worth it, for a Toshiba unit that is, there are probably other laptops with equal or better specs for the same price i.e. Acer, DELL, ASUS etc.

The Satellite L510 with T6600 2.2ghz, 4GB DDR3, 320GB, ATI HD5470 costs RM 2,699 ar (including 2nd and 3rd year local warranty) rclxub.gif
Have you personally seen this laptop? Are there shops selling with this kind of specs? I've seen 1 or 2, but not sure the specs are as stated above or not rclxub.gif
The whole laptop is made from matte surface, so it won't be glossy at all and thus, it won't collect fingerprints laugh.gif

Not a bad choice if Toshiba is the brand you desire ^^

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 10 2010, 02:21 AM
shadowshine
post Apr 10 2010, 02:46 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2010, 02:10 AM)
Have you tried it out? How was it?  drool.gif
I've always like the T110 and T130's design  icon_rolleyes.gif
Do let us know how you feel about the laptop, pros and cons if you are free. It would be good to share some personal experiences with potential Toshiba buyers! hehe~
Grats again!!  icon_rolleyes.gif

I've seen one before but I din't know it offers such good specs for that amount of money hehe  laugh.gif
If all the specifications are correct, then its worth it, for a Toshiba unit that is, there are probably other laptops with equal or better specs for the same price i.e. Acer, DELL, ASUS etc.

The Satellite L510 with T6600 2.2ghz, 4GB DDR3, 320GB, ATI HD5470 costs RM 2,699 ar (including 2nd and 3rd year local warranty)  rclxub.gif
Have you personally seen this laptop? Are there shops selling with this kind of specs? I've seen 1 or 2, but not sure the specs are as stated above or not  rclxub.gif
The whole laptop is made from matte surface, so it won't be glossy at all and thus, it won't collect fingerprints  laugh.gif

It is selling at PC fair. Btw, what so good about Toshiba? smile.gif
squareballs
post Apr 10 2010, 08:48 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2010, 02:10 AM)
Have you tried it out? How was it?  drool.gif
I've always like the T110 and T130's design  icon_rolleyes.gif
Grats again!!  icon_rolleyes.gif

I've seen one before but I din't know it offers such good specs for that amount of money hehe  laugh.gif

The Satellite L510 with T6600 2.2ghz, 4GB DDR3, 320GB, ATI HD5470 costs RM 2,699 ar (including 2nd and 3rd year local warranty)  rclxub.gif
Have you personally seen this laptop? Are there shops selling with this kind of specs? I've seen 1 or 2, but not sure the specs are as stated above or not  rclxub.gif
The whole laptop is made from matte surface, so it won't be glossy at all and thus, it won't collect fingerprints  laugh.gif

The Pros at first glance is lightweight, solid feel, and thin for me, abd it comes with a Toshiba external DVD drive.
The cons is the finger prints because of the glossy finishing, but i'm ok with that.
But weird thing is it does not come with Toshiba carryig case, few shop i ask also the same thing, come with aftermarket backpack the most..
I'm getting a cooler master, any model to recommend? blush.gif
terencetoo
post Apr 10 2010, 10:10 AM

3,246 posts

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Apr 10 2010, 02:46 AM)
It is selling at PC fair. Btw, what so good about Toshiba? smile.gif
Guess im happy to answer your question.

My Satellite Pro served me well for 6 yrs for 24/7 downloading non stop on restart to refresh the RAM and start downloading again.
So, im very confident on Toshiba reliability. smile.gif
shadowshine
post Apr 10 2010, 01:00 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Apr 10 2010, 10:10 AM)
Guess im happy to answer your question.

My Satellite Pro served me well for 6 yrs for 24/7 downloading non stop on restart to refresh the RAM and start downloading again.
So, im very confident on Toshiba reliability.  smile.gif
Wow, 52560 hours... sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 10 2010, 01:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 10 2010, 08:48 AM)
The Pros at first glance is lightweight, solid feel, and thin for me, abd it comes with a Toshiba external DVD drive.
The cons is the finger prints because of the glossy finishing, but i'm ok with that.
But weird thing is it does not come with Toshiba carryig case, few shop i ask also the same thing, come with aftermarket backpack the most..
I'm getting a cooler master, any model to recommend?  blush.gif
Yup, it sure is slim and solid. I like it a lot too, especially the design on the surface of the palm rest, very nice! laugh.gif
Its a smart thing to exclude the DVD drive cause I can't really remember the last time I used the DVD ROM haha, everything is transfered via pendrive and external HDD nowadays nod.gif Wah, Toshiba got sell external DVD drive? cool~
Ya, I understand how you feel, my Qosmio also very 99% glossy haha... I'm ok with it too because it will never look old, worth all the cleaning keke icon_rolleyes.gif
Huh? No carrying case ar sweat.gif
Well, I've noticed that Toshiba really put less focus on their carrying bags nowadays (probably to cut cost). The previous 14' carrying case were very high quality 1, now its not... perhaps Toshiba thinks that everyone would buy a new backpack instead of using the carrying case? haha!
But the Qosmio's sling carrying case is still superb in terms of quality... too bad I won't be using it cause the 15.6' monster will break one of my shoulders haha

I'm not very pro in terms of cooler pads. But my previous readings have resulted in me buying the Cooler Master Notepal U2. There are 2 variants, 1 is for netbooks (8.9-12') like the T110 (I think is around RM 50+ if I remembered correctly), while the other is for 14'- 17' laptops (RM68).
Picture here:

Now, the pros and cons:

Pros:
1. The fans are adjustable, meaning you can choose to place it anywhere, especially under the heat sinks of your lappy for optimal cooling! Also, they are totally removable if you want to decrease weight nod.gif
2. The whole surface is made up of small holes for better heat dissipation, material is aluminium.
3. Powerful fans
4. The fans are easily cleanable, noneed open this and that laugh.gif
5. Its not exactly expensive compared to other models
6. You can remove the fans and place your laptop "into" the cooler which will act as a protective cover

Cons:
1. Only 1 USB "extender"- dunno what its called, U can connect another USB to the cooler's USB port nod.gif
2. Cannot be used on lap, needs flat surfaces
3. The rubber looks cheap haha. Or its just me laugh.gif

Perhaps there are better models out there but I think this would be good enough already since I've no heat problems gaming with my F60 while using this cooler pad nod.gif Still, its better to ask around and see whether there are better alternatives 1st, cheers!
squareballs
post Apr 10 2010, 03:50 PM

4,331 posts

thanks for thee recommendation.. Will survey more about it..
The pc shop will rip off my old asus's harddrive and make it into a external hdd for me.. 8)
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 10 2010, 04:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 10 2010, 03:50 PM)
thanks for thee recommendation.. Will survey more about it..
The pc shop will rip off my old asus's harddrive and make it into a external hdd for me.. 8)
Wow, you can actually do that? Cool! laugh.gif
The ASUS HDD got casing ar? shocking.gif
squareballs
post Apr 10 2010, 10:33 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2010, 04:45 PM)
Wow, you can actually do that? Cool!  laugh.gif
The ASUS HDD got casing ar?  shocking.gif
No la, need to buy casing and they'll do it for me.. biggrin.gif
Hopefully Toshiba won't let me down..
The shop told me waranty is handled by tele dynamics.. rclxms.gif

Eguy1314
post Apr 10 2010, 11:21 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2010, 01:50 PM)
Yup, it sure is slim and solid. I like it a lot too, especially the design on the surface of the palm rest, very nice!  laugh.gif
Its a smart thing to exclude the DVD drive cause I can't really remember the last time I used the DVD ROM haha, everything is transfered via pendrive and external HDD nowadays  nod.gif  Wah, Toshiba got sell external DVD drive? cool~
Ya, I understand how you feel, my Qosmio also very 99% glossy haha... I'm ok with it too because it will never look old, worth all the cleaning keke  icon_rolleyes.gif
Huh? No carrying case ar  sweat.gif
Well, I've noticed that Toshiba really put less focus on their carrying bags nowadays (probably to cut cost). The previous 14' carrying case were very high quality 1, now its not... perhaps Toshiba thinks that everyone would buy a new backpack instead of using the carrying case? haha!
But the Qosmio's sling carrying case is still superb in terms of quality... too bad I won't be using it cause the 15.6' monster will break one of my shoulders haha

I'm not very pro in terms of cooler pads. But my previous readings have resulted in me buying the Cooler Master Notepal U2. There are 2 variants, 1 is for netbooks (8.9-12') like the T110 (I think is around RM 50+ if I remembered correctly), while the other is for 14'- 17' laptops (RM68).
Picture here:

Now, the pros and cons:

Pros:
1. The fans are adjustable, meaning you can choose to place it anywhere, especially under the heat sinks of your lappy for optimal cooling! Also, they are totally removable if you want to decrease weight  nod.gif
2. The whole surface is made up of small holes for better heat dissipation, material is aluminium.
3. Powerful fans
4. The fans are easily cleanable, noneed open this and that  laugh.gif
5. Its not exactly expensive compared to other models
6. You can remove the fans and place your laptop "into" the cooler which will act as a protective cover

Cons:
1. Only 1 USB "extender"- dunno what its called, U can connect another USB to the cooler's USB port  nod.gif
2. Cannot be used on lap, needs flat surfaces
3. The rubber looks cheap haha. Or its just me  laugh.gif 

Perhaps there are better models out there but I think this would be good enough already since I've no heat problems gaming with my F60 while using this cooler pad  nod.gif  Still, its better to ask around and see whether there are better alternatives 1st, cheers!
You got buy screen and keyboard protector for your laptop?
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 11 2010, 07:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 10 2010, 10:33 PM)
No la, need to buy casing and they'll do it for me..  biggrin.gif
Hopefully Toshiba won't let me down..
The shop told me waranty is handled by tele dynamics..  rclxms.gif
The female workers in Teledynamics Shah Alam are very pretty drool.gif
Even though sometimes it depends on luck, Toshiba units seldom let people down as long as you take good care of it~ cheers! icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 11, 2010, 7:11 pm
QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 10 2010, 11:21 PM)
You got buy screen and keyboard protector for your laptop?
Nope, it seems there are no keyboard protectors which are large enough. Saw from another Vostro 3700 thread, 2 keyboard protectors are required to cover the keyboard cry.gif
I guess i will just stick to vacuuming hehehe laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 11 2010, 07:11 PM

111 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:04 AM