5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Astro B.yond, HD Content Available

kaspersky-fan
post Dec 22 2009, 12:27 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(accitzone @ Dec 22 2009, 12:23 PM)
then it wont be 16:9 oredi  LOL
It won't be 16:9 but they have the aspect ratio flag set to 16:9...so when the decoder sees that flag, it will automatically pull the picture to 16:9.... and you wont notice much diff because your eyes are not that sensitive as to vertical resolution.

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Dec 22 2009, 12:32 PM
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 22 2009, 12:50 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Dec 22 2009, 12:44 PM)
Maybe we should complain that no company broadcasts in 4:4:4.  laugh.gif
ai... i dont know about you, but i cant see much diff... as long the colour is vibrant, the sound is good, picture is detailed and sharp without pixellated images, i'm dead happy with it.... (though of course im not happy now, considering how vile their SD transmissions are lol...)
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 22 2009, 02:51 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Dec 22 2009, 02:13 PM)
as i see now, they're no subtitle at all....  blink.gif
maybe they have embedded it, so u might need to press the subtitle button to get it... it did occur to me that NGC HD has chinese subtitle (watched those ripped version before)...so try playing with the audio and subtitle streams and see if they change, ....i think they should

kaspersky-fan
post Dec 22 2009, 02:55 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Dec 22 2009, 12:54 PM)
I was being sarcastic .. LOL.

Yeah .. our eyes aren't that sensitive to colors. ASTRO's SD txn is crap. That's why I'm opting for B.yond. Anticipating sports in HD.
haha, yes i'm aware of that

For me I'm anticipating NGC, HBO and History HD... though it would be nice if they can bring in any music video channel in HD as well =D [looking at the current situation, the only best bet would be MTVN HD]
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 22 2009, 02:58 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(desmondyap93 @ Dec 22 2009, 02:55 PM)
so u mean nat geo in astro b.yond has chinese subtitles?
im not sure, i still havent get my byond yet sad.gif, you have to ask one of the users here that got their byond... but subtitles are peanuts in their bandwidth...they should have it....(its just my assumption)
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 22 2009, 05:34 PM

1,602 posts

the astro dude just called... after complaining to them lol...they said previously anyone could go to the installer and get it, but now they changed the rules, waiting turns.... said mine will be here within this week... lets wait and see >.<

Added on December 22, 2009, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(max211 @ Dec 22 2009, 05:34 PM)
Btw, just to mention, the installer that came to install my byond, he doesn't even know there are dedicated channels for HD!! it shocked me when he show me the 811 channel and say it's HD! i picked up the remote and press 831, then he looked surprised and even marvel at the details of the HD display.. then he asked me what the other 4 channels and wrote it on a piece of paper.. sigh
LMAO!!!! I still can't stop laughing...

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Dec 22 2009, 05:36 PM
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 22 2009, 10:54 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Dec 22 2009, 10:34 PM)
Installer came as promised. Really thumbs up for the HD channels. Really satisfied. Watching football would be much more entertaining after this. Woohooo.
sigh its good that you've got yours...im still waiting for mine.... *continues waiting* doh.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 23 2009, 02:04 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Dec 23 2009, 01:56 PM)
Yep , I am going to do that with my PC. So my PC would be another "TV". I was told its possible. Going to do that later

Setapak (Kuala Lumpur)
Oh yeah some more good news :-

1. The system runs Linux. Yes , it uses Linux. It has OpenSSH installed (allows you to remotely control the box and run lots of stuff. Yep , its a full blown Linux box - those who are into hacking , would know this)

2. HDMI is v1.3 compliant , even if you have HDMI 1.0 , it would still work. you'll get HD output and HD streams are HDCP. So meaning that they will only work if its done via HDMI

3. The decoder is locked (thanks to Linux and SHA-1 encryption) to the Smart Card. you can't swap the smart cards with your friends , like last time it was possible to swap smart cards (i.e if your mate has package c and hes out of town and he gives you his smart card. You can use that and view whatever channel he has). Now the decoder is smart , it knows its Smart Card. Again we can reset this stuff , if we know the root password tongue.gif

4. The USB port at the back is a USB Host and not a Client port. So meaning that we can link it to a PC and I bet its used for something or troubleshooting. I am not sure about this.

5. The LAN is 10/100 and not 1000Mbps tongue.gif

Thats all for now. I'll be doing some more paperwork/research alter and let you guys know about it
O_O.... time to hack so that you can save the digital streams via LAN!!!
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 23 2009, 03:45 PM

1,602 posts

Im waiting too, geez, pls come fast!!!
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 24 2009, 11:12 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Dec 24 2009, 10:58 AM)
At 500-600, you are missing out a lot of details, and its no even HD anymore.
not to mention its very pointless as a normal avi show downloaded from internet (those 350mb tv series) already look good on ure crt...if you feed HD feed into ure crt...u still see at most the same thing lol...
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 26 2009, 12:39 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Dec 26 2009, 12:28 PM)
have problem with my tv tuner, got sound no picture, using hdmi , what standard we using here? PAL B ? PAL D? H? I ? M? so many choices
msia is PAL B
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 26 2009, 02:15 PM

1,602 posts

change ure decoder settings to output 1080i? lol since u quoted this:

*The 1080i will only function when the signal source comes from 1080i format.

maybe ure decoder output mode in 720p
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 28 2009, 10:45 AM

1,602 posts

man u guys already got ure byonds.....im still waiting for mine....after hearing all u guys rant etc, i've lost my excitement to wait lol
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 28 2009, 07:26 PM

1,602 posts

I want to complain to astro byond kau kau....what words should i use so that they will come and install it within one day?.... I've waited for more than 10 days!!!
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 28 2009, 08:55 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Dec 28 2009, 08:06 PM)
SKMM & KPDN is the magic word.
Ok will slap them with those words.... !!! Wana see how efficient will they be after i mention those
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 31 2009, 01:33 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Dec 30 2009, 10:07 PM)
This means they using same transponder to broadcast SD and HD channel.
Astro should stick to the 5 HD channel per transponder for optimum HD quality.
This is bad because quality of HD channel will be reduce. How come they do like this?  doh.gif
Well lets face it...if DirecTV in US were able to compress HD channels to an average of 6Mbps at 1440x1080i....astro can do it too...not just that, it might be 1280x1080i..not 1920x1080i or 1440x1080i lol

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Dec 31 2009, 01:55 AM
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 31 2009, 10:44 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Dec 31 2009, 10:32 AM)
Btw, about the list earlier... I dun think we're receiving those feeds. The feed we're receiving are the ones marked "Astro". In other words, Astro clustering their signals into one or more feeds and transmitting. Those feeds on the list are for satellite providers to pick up only.
'k. Funny... maybe they doing testing when I playing around.
yes we are receiving those feeds...same transponders from sd channels as well. There is no way we can receive anything from measat3a because it uses c-band only...according to lyngsat la...
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 31 2009, 10:47 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Dec 31 2009, 10:43 AM)
HD broadcasts are definately not the same as HD from BD sources, or downscaled 720p from the HD masters. To be fair, at the moment, I don't believe there is too much bit rate compression applied. When there are more channels, there is bound to be. Same here, same overseas (BBCHD is one fine example).
someone mentioned here that the compression rate is about 8-9Mbps... I'd say just go up a bit more to 11Mbps would be just right lol... yeah BBCHD's quality has indeed drop. They claimed that they are using the latest encoder which results to smaller bitrate usage... but... honestly I've seen the .ts file ... its really bullshit like directv's hd now... meh!
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 31 2009, 11:46 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Dec 31 2009, 10:49 AM)
Doesn't make sense tho. Those feeds are not using the same encryption method as Astro box (Irdeto vs. Mediaguard).
Huh astro uses Irdeto? I thought it was Mediaguard/Seca2 all along
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 31 2009, 06:02 PM

1,602 posts

Astro has smsed me the installer info... must i call him and ask or he will know what to do etc?

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0450sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:48 PM