124 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Bright Side V3, Malaysian Flashaholic Community!

TSpseudoblue
post Feb 2 2010, 05:53 PM

Note to becareful when wiping the reflector. Use a very soft cloth or micro fibre type. Clean inside and make sure it's dry. Dry the o-ring thoroughly as well. Lube the o-ring very slightly, just put a little smear on ur finger and lube it with your fingers.
Zen|th
post Feb 2 2010, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Feb 2 2010, 02:53 AM)
Note to becareful when wiping the reflector. Use a very soft cloth or micro fibre type. Clean inside and make sure it's dry. Dry the o-ring thoroughly as well. Lube the o-ring very slightly, just put a little smear on ur finger and lube it with your fingers.
Micro fibre as in those to wipe glasses?
Striderman
post Feb 2 2010, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(Zen|th @ Feb 2 2010, 05:59 PM)
Micro fibre as in those to wipe glasses?
Yes, but I think the best is to return it to the seller for replacement
TSpseudoblue
post Feb 2 2010, 06:04 PM

Yea, I use micro fibre, but soft cloth also can.
Zen|th
post Feb 2 2010, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(Striderman @ Feb 2 2010, 03:03 AM)
Yes, but I think the best is to return it to the seller for replacement

Yea, that's my sentiment as well..

I do not wanna risk anything to void it's warranty though...
Its only like about 1 and a half weeks old... Ok Kah Wai, a package is coming to u.. haha
damonlbs
post Feb 2 2010, 06:18 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Feb 2 2010, 05:48 PM)
Zenith, look at Metalmania's post here = http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=31241150

Noticed how the head can be opened? Try that and fix your o-ring position.
Zen|th

mayb u try contacting Metalmania 1st b4 u send back the P7 head,

if u can fix it urself it will save u alot time

---------------------

This post has been edited by damonlbs: Feb 2 2010, 06:40 PM
nexro
post Feb 2 2010, 06:46 PM

Bright Lights
2,705 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Feb 2 2010, 05:53 PM)
i wouldn't do that... from past experience, it would only further damage the reflector.
besides, the water mark won't show up in your beam... it's only annoying when you look at the reflector. then again, who looks at their light's reflector when using their light ???

i tried the using soft cloth, cotton bud, etc to clean a jetbeam reflector which was returned by a customer due to a water mark just like that but it only managed to create more fine scratches on the surface. in the end, returned it to jetbeam to fix it.
nexro
post Feb 2 2010, 06:51 PM

Bright Lights
2,705 posts

anyone interested in getting the ICON lights ?
I'm thinking of getting the Rogue 1 and Modus 1 just for fun biggrin.gif

image stolen from http://www.myiconlight.com/

I'm working something out with our local distributor to see if this is feasible...
if you're interested, please let me know smile.gif

metalmania
post Feb 2 2010, 06:57 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

zenith

i got your pm

its a bit tight..i use computer power cable..wrap around the bezel like in the picture..be sure the cable is sand free, dont want scratch..if it slips double the wrap, grip the cable like how you grip a flashlight and twist counter clock with reflector facing you..if you manage to open it..do the same for the reflector..

as for reflector i use the usual use dish washing liquid...pekat, so thick skin does not touch reflector..make sure you washed your hands before doing this..i keep the tap water running on standby. the moment i feel the reflector on the tips of my finger i stop and put more soap or scoop soap on other area of the reflector to the area being cleaned...gentle rubs and dont press. use warn or hot water will help the reflector dry up quicker, the reflector will be quite hot, absorb heat it seems.

water marks is due to 2 things i can figure, its the grease washed down by water and water, i use battery water...no rubbing when drying..use air compressor or a little bit low tech...i secure it in anything like umbrella kind of cloth and swing away.. biggrin.gif also tapping on the cloth..seem like football, umbrella or wind breaker cloth is lint free...

this technique is very effective if done carefully and thoroughly..have one good slave flashlight to verify the cleanness before moving to blowing and drying. I always keep the module in a clean plastic bag when washing the reflector or vise versa. hope this helps

This post has been edited by metalmania: Feb 2 2010, 07:14 PM
TSpseudoblue
post Feb 2 2010, 07:10 PM

Zenith,

Yea up to you if you wanna send the light for replacement though. Maybe you should. But for me, I would just fix it myself but if something to do with LED or driver, technical. I would go for warranty instead.

Metalmania, is the head glued? IF the warranty state that by opening the head voids the warranty maybe it's better to send it back. You should ask KahWai about this.
metalmania
post Feb 2 2010, 07:16 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Feb 2 2010, 07:10 PM)
Zenith,

Yea up to you if you wanna send the light for replacement though. Maybe you should. But for me, I would just fix it myself but if something to do with LED or driver, technical. I would go for warranty instead.

Metalmania, is the head glued? IF the warranty state that by opening the head voids the warranty maybe it's better to send it back. You should ask KahWai about this.
its not glued the led and driver is..i think since the led is effected send it for warranty...

zenith if you need more help plse let me know, i will go over if i have too, dont let the water soak the reflector for too long the coating might fade away..or root..

This post has been edited by metalmania: Feb 2 2010, 07:18 PM
TSpseudoblue
post Feb 2 2010, 07:19 PM

I don't know if the LED is affected, haha have to ask Zenith.
metalmania
post Feb 2 2010, 07:23 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Feb 2 2010, 07:19 PM)
I don't know if the LED is affected, haha have to ask Zenith.
i feel sorry for our mate zenith..aduh...
polkiuj
post Feb 2 2010, 07:27 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(nexro @ Feb 2 2010, 06:51 PM)

image stolen from http://www.myiconlight.com/

I'm working something out with our local distributor to see if this is feasible...
I want a modus!

Let me know how much they are. Newspaper suppose to get some for us but he got bigger projects. =D

Added on February 2, 2010, 7:28 pm
QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Feb 2 2010, 05:53 PM)
DO NOT WIPE THE REFLECTOR!

You will destroy it. That's why I generally do not like un-potted lights.

But then again I went ahead and opened my potted lights. Lol!

This post has been edited by polkiuj: Feb 2 2010, 07:28 PM
TSpseudoblue
post Feb 2 2010, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Feb 2 2010, 06:18 PM)
Wow, that was very informative...

Ranting - read if you want:

TSpseudoblue
post Feb 2 2010, 07:34 PM

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Feb 2 2010, 07:27 PM)
DO NOT WIPE THE REFLECTOR!

You will destroy it. That's why I generally do not like un-potted lights.

But then again I went ahead and opened my potted lights. Lol!
U know i've wiped both reflectors of my Vantage, and RRT-0. Lightly and carefully, even used damp cotton buds for certain spots. No issue there. I think have to becareful la, if put force.. gone case. I use a good microfibre material though.

strinq
post Feb 2 2010, 08:20 PM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

QUOTE(nexro @ Feb 2 2010, 06:51 PM)

Me me me! Since old_newspaper is gunning for other things lol.
But again have to see price...
Zen|th
post Feb 2 2010, 08:56 PM

Hmmm.. Seems very technical.. I do not wan to scratch my reflector if i accidentally make a mistake...

Its true that the water mark only irritates me but, I DON LIKE THAT MY NEW MODULE HAS SOME MARK!!! haha

Thanks metalmania for ur time in explaining.. The LED driver seems to be ok... I donot know whether has the water kena the LED as u can see form the pics that alot of water went in..

I think its safer to send it back to our dear friend Kah Wai... I sakit to open my new module. .Suddenly one stupid mistake... Habis...
TSpseudoblue
post Feb 2 2010, 10:17 PM

All the best and hope you get the proper one.

Btw, good water test tongue.gif
Zen|th
post Feb 2 2010, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Feb 2 2010, 07:17 AM)
All the best and hope you get the proper one.

Btw, good water test tongue.gif
Luckily i found out first before going into the caves and kill my light!!

124 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:23 AM