TSnujo87
post Dec 6 2009, 04:53 PM, updated 16y ago

247 posts

Hi sifus,
there always a question in my mind:
1)Should i drag my car to Higher RPM
2)Or shift b4 3500RPM
for 0-110?(becoz im rarely go>110 smile.gif )

Im driving old waja 1.6,n as i noticed from the engine torque curve i got best torque between 2500-3500...
but i also heard some ppl say drag to higher RPM is always better...
Confused rclxub.gif

Old waja 1.6(non CPS) torque curve:
http://paultan.org/2006/01/13/waja-campro-vs-waja-4g18/

This post has been edited by nujo87: Dec 6 2009, 05:18 PM
jim18992
post Dec 6 2009, 04:57 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(nujo87 @ Dec 6 2009, 04:53 PM)
Hi sifus,
2)Or shift b4 3500RPM

Im driving old waja 1.6,n as i noticed from the engine torque curve i got best torque between 2500-3500...
Confused rclxub.gif
May I ask, for racing purposes or for normal cruising purposes?
TSnujo87
post Dec 6 2009, 05:00 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Dec 6 2009, 04:57 PM)
May I ask, for racing purposes or for normal cruising purposes?
Maybe city racing only biggrin.gif (not more than 110)
Intrigue
post Dec 6 2009, 05:02 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

city racing not more than 110?
jim18992
post Dec 6 2009, 05:06 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(nujo87 @ Dec 6 2009, 05:00 PM)
Maybe city racing only biggrin.gif (not more than 110)
So that mean FC is not of a concern then?

Definitely over it is better I guess, for the original Waja with the mitsu engine, rev till 6k should already reach it peak output.

But I guess better wait some Waja sifu come confirm this.

But still, better don't race in the city, it dangerous, plus you never know when you meet one of our friends from PDRM.

This post has been edited by jim18992: Dec 6 2009, 05:07 PM
TSnujo87
post Dec 6 2009, 05:10 PM

247 posts

but as i noticed from the torque curve the engine torque drop very sharp after 4500
n the peak torque is on 3000RPM

Added torque curve on 1st post smile.gif

This post has been edited by nujo87: Dec 6 2009, 05:19 PM
post Dec 6 2009, 06:43 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

waja 4G18 max torque should be at 3000rpm.

You should shift abit after 3600 rpm so then when it drops,the engine will still be at the max torque band area.

waja engine sucks.Nuff said.You want power go for MIVEC or like one guy did,transplant a Mitsubishi Galant MIVEC V6.Didnt even know its possible to do that.Saw it on sale in mudah for Rm30k
TSnujo87
post Dec 6 2009, 06:55 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(779364 @ Dec 6 2009, 06:43 PM)
waja 4G18 max torque should be at 3000rpm.

You should shift abit after 3600 rpm so then when it drops,the engine will still be at the max torque band area.

waja engine sucks.Nuff said.You want power go for MIVEC or like one guy did,transplant a Mitsubishi Galant MIVEC V6.Didnt even know its possible to do that.Saw it on sale in mudah for Rm30k
ic ic,so should i drive like tis?
gear 1 to 20kmph
gear 2 to 45kmph
gear 3 to 70kmph
gear 4 to 95
then 5 to more

like tis i need to train my hand for gearshiftting liao tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nujo87: Dec 6 2009, 06:57 PM
SUSadvocado
post Dec 6 2009, 07:09 PM

2,948 posts

mmm, so how to balance between max Torque & max BHP RPM zone?
post Dec 6 2009, 08:06 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(nujo87 @ Dec 6 2009, 06:55 PM)
gear 1 to 20kmph
gear 2 to 45kmph
gear 3 to 70kmph
gear 4 to 95
then 5 to more

erm,I dont understand the rational of why you need to bother at what speed you change gear? Does your job requires you to constantly race against time that you need to shave off valueble seconds to reach ur destination? biggrin.gif

Just let your muscle automatically coordinate.I believe if you drove a manual car lots of time,your timing to shift gear becomes automatic without needing to look at the RPM meter.Just be natural.
shinjite
post Dec 6 2009, 08:22 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,306 posts

QUOTE(nujo87 @ Dec 6 2009, 06:55 PM)
gear 1 to 20kmph
gear 2 to 45kmph
gear 3 to 70kmph
gear 4 to 95
then 5 to more

For max power of course you need to rev it higher, after all its still a 1.6 and needs high revs to achieve max power
But for city driving, 2k to 3.5k is good for the 4G18 since the torque is abundance within that range

This post has been edited by shinjite: Dec 6 2009, 08:22 PM
SUSadvocado
post Dec 6 2009, 08:52 PM

2,948 posts

Even though you get max torque around 3000rpm, and the torque starts dropping after that rpm, the torque you get is still higher than any rpm you get on higher gears, little chance you get higher torque than lower gears unless you are using really close ratio gears, which is not your case.

You need to figure out your torque graph for each gear by figuring out the gear ratios & dyno testing, and determine at which rpm the next gear tend to give less dip in torque.
acbc
post Dec 6 2009, 08:57 PM

9,035 posts

You should shift higher than 4000 RPM occasionally only.

I always change gear at 4000 RPM on my smart forfour and sometimes 6500 RPM. Usually, will keep below 2500 RPM to change gear.

That way, you will 'exercise' the engine further - good for town cars. However, ensure you spend money on high quality engine oil to this often or you might break something in the process.
TSnujo87
post Dec 6 2009, 09:21 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Dec 6 2009, 08:52 PM)
Even though you get max torque around 3000rpm, and the torque starts dropping after that rpm, the torque you get is still higher than any rpm you get on higher gears, little chance you get higher torque than lower gears unless you are using really close ratio gears, which is not your case.

You need to figure out your torque graph for each gear by figuring out the gear ratios & dyno testing, and determine at which rpm the next gear tend to give less dip in torque.
quite a noob question here notworthy.gif ,
Lets say in the torque curve graph stated at 3000rpm the engine will produce 150NM...
will the 1st gear at 3000rpm produce 150NM,and 2nd gear at 3000rpm produce 150NM too?

Added on December 6, 2009, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(779364 @ Dec 6 2009, 08:06 PM)
erm,I dont understand the rational of why you need to bother at what speed you change gear? Does your job requires you to constantly race against time that you need to shave off valueble seconds to reach ur destination? biggrin.gif

Just let your muscle automatically coordinate.I believe if you drove a manual car lots of time,your timing to shift gear becomes automatic without needing to look at the RPM meter.Just be natural.
Well,simply becoz i want to know more about my car(the maximum performance part)
Maybe it's not for daily driving,but WHEN THE TIMES COME tongue.gif ,this maximum performance driving style should really help me smile.gif

This post has been edited by nujo87: Dec 6 2009, 09:59 PM
shinjite
post Dec 6 2009, 10:01 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,306 posts

Dude, in dyno, from 2.5k onwards its full throttle at 3rd gear
and yes its full throttle
SUSadvocado
post Dec 6 2009, 11:22 PM

2,948 posts

Try starting a car from 0 on 3rd gear instead of 1st, feel any difference? As the speed goes higher high gears can work more efficiently but if you think starting from 3rd gear thing, you can easily tell there's a major difference in "torque" with different gears. Higher gears are just there so you can move up to a higher speed without reving 10k rpm & increase fuel efficiency during higher speed of travelling.

QUOTE(nujo87 @ Dec 6 2009, 09:21 PM)
quite a noob question here notworthy.gif ,
Lets say in the torque curve graph stated at 3000rpm the engine will produce 150NM...
will the 1st gear at 3000rpm produce 150NM,and 2nd gear at 3000rpm produce 150NM too?
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 7 2009, 10:26 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(nujo87 @ Dec 6 2009, 04:53 PM)
Hi sifus,
2)Or shift b4 3500RPM

Confused rclxub.gif

Old waja 1.6(non CPS) torque curve:
http://paultan.org/2006/01/13/waja-campro-vs-waja-4g18/
4g18p??

i dont think it makes any diff where u shift. 4g18 are not meant to be driven like that imho. the torque curve is all wrong. it peaks too early. a very obvious sign of an engine meant for city driving.

4g18 torque max out at 2.8k.

however this isnt where u suppose to shift. imho u should shift at 6k. good luck wit tht tho.. u goin to kill ur engine very soon if u do this often smile.gif
dstl1128
post Dec 7 2009, 11:15 AM

4,464 posts

Your car definitely launches faster (and accelerate more) when high power (usually hi rpm->peak hp). Whether you have the force to pull your car (FF) forward is another thing, and whether your tire bites the floor is also another thing.

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Dec 7 2009, 11:16 AM
TSnujo87
post Dec 7 2009, 11:35 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Dec 7 2009, 11:15 AM)
Your car definitely launches faster (and accelerate more) when high power (usually hi rpm->peak hp). Whether you have the force to pull your car (FF) forward is another thing, and whether your tire bites the floor is also another thing.
i cant really understand wat r u trying to say tongue.gif
mind explain again?(no offense,bro)
Joseph Hahn
post Dec 7 2009, 12:22 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Around 3K RPM should be ok i think. Balance between FC and power. High revving will kill your FC not your engine.

0.0175sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:14 PM