US stock discussion v2

Erroralot
post Apr 7 2010, 11:04 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Apr 7 2010, 10:35 PM)
Penny stocks are like hot potatoes. You either get it right or screw up big time.  smile.gif
Speaking of which, I hope you made some profits with ZANE. Its already down 10% today.
SIRI is an interesting case. There's a lot of speculation regarding the counter with people trying to manipulate its price ie push it down as well as its current business model.
If it can hold above a dollar, we might move up even higher. Tuna Amobi thinks it might hit USD1.5.
I bought SIRI in July 2009 @ 0.64 as I believed that with their improved management team and improving fundementals will eventually boost the company to break even by the end of 2009.(which they did recently). Since their overhaul of management and cost cutting measures in March/April 2009, the stock shot up from 0.10 +/- all the way to 0.30 +/-. In the 3rd quarter of 2009, analyst started covering the stock and started giving out USD 1 - 2 targets resulting in more northbound price movements. I sold my position in Feb 2010 @ 1.07, was happy with my profit and still believe that the company may actually start producing positive EPS with this coming quarter with 'booming' car sales throughout the US.

As for trading, I think that if it does surge pass a dollar again, might be good for a trade smile.gif As for ZANE, already took my profit yesterday, in at 2.55 and out by 3.00 icon_rolleyes.gif

TiVo is UP by USD1 since yesterday smile.gif Weeeeeeeee... Good luck to us all tonight smile.gif

What do u guys think the market will end up tonight? Green-ish or totally red? notworthy.gif

PS: Dmc & epalbee3, thanks for your input! Dmc, TD Ameritrade bought over think or swim right? So they use Think or Swim's trading platform?

This post has been edited by Erroralot: Apr 7 2010, 11:08 PM
Erroralot
post Apr 8 2010, 08:31 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 8 2010, 07:38 PM)
Seems like a small minor correction this week has started. Number of puts vs. calls ratios have increased.
Well, I'm all for a bear wake..  rclxms.gif
Getting ready for bear mode eh? icon_rolleyes.gif
Erroralot
post Apr 8 2010, 08:44 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 8 2010, 08:32 PM)
This is in. Jobless claims up 18K+ this week. Oh yeah, we're going down, baby!
South bound train here.. choo choo!  rclxms.gif
Gonna open a FXP position?

Or short anything in particular? thumbup.gif
Erroralot
post Apr 8 2010, 08:57 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 8 2010, 08:49 PM)
Actually, no.

I'm on the bull side. Buying pullback. I'm watching Oil. Oil is lagging behind and this pull back to $85,
perhaps giving me another opportunity to scale in some of the Oil services sector.
Looking at ERX and KOG. KOG has a breakout two days ago, pulling back a bit today.
I got out of my ERX position yesterday at 42.55, should have set a tighter stop and would have got out at 43+ the previous day. Oh well, a profit is a profit thumbup.gif

I'm thinking of re-entering a small position of ERX at 40. Whatca think? U gonna wait till 38-39?
Erroralot
post Apr 9 2010, 06:02 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 9 2010, 12:48 AM)
Yup, decided to get some ERX at 41. Not the lowest but heck, the intraday push up looks strong.
Also, loaded some more TCK @ 44. Seldom does this (average up) but this stock is too strong to ignore.
Another upgrade today:

Closing update:
Dow 10927.07 +29.55 +0.27%
Nasdaq 2436.81 +5.65 +0.23%
S&P 500 1186.43 +3.99 +0.34%

Crazy bulls, I was expecting at least a bit red, now all green.  doh.gif

Oh well.. go long.  biggrin.gif
Yea, got some ERX @ 41.37 too! Crazy bulllls ! The 11,000 horizon seems to be just around the corner...chargeeeee!!! cool2.gif
Erroralot
post Apr 12 2010, 07:51 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 10 2010, 01:50 AM)
Yes, trading in US is in USD.

1 LOT ?  biggrin.gif
AFAIK, there is no min. 1 LOT (~100 shrs) thingy like KLSE. You can buy 1 share and 1 share only.  tongue.gif

For example: 1 share of AAPL cost $240.75 (USD).

Low volume?  hmm.gif  It depends on which counter you're looking at.

Look at C, the bid/ask volume is huge.  The cheaper the price, the larger the volume.

Pennies stock like those you see in KLSE are worthless at NYSE.
Institutional investors usually stay away from them.  biggrin.gif
Update: 2:00am
Got stop out from ERX at 43.50. Oh well... couple of hundred for weekend is good enough for me.  doh.gif

Closing update
Dow 10997.35 +70.28 +0.64%
Nasdaq 2454.05 +17.24 +0.71%
S&P 500 1194.37 +7.94 +0.67%

Look at that!  Just throw 3 points at the Dow and let's call it 11K!  rclxms.gif

Note to Zamans: See the announcement from ProShares on URE. Reverse split next week.
Got stopped out from ERX at 43.22. Decent gain I guess smile.gif

So what's your take on tonight's market? More bullish anticipation? smile.gif

Erroralot
post Apr 12 2010, 02:03 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Apr 12 2010, 08:09 AM)
market is unpredictable.

may be going up straight OR dip a little then going up straight..

I will enter ERX tonight.. should be a good play tonight..

What do you think?
As of 2.00pm, Oil has retraced to 85.21 from it's day-high of 85.71 (52-week high of 87.09). Singapore, Shanghai, Hong Kong & Japan exchanges have retraced, some into negative territory. As far as I know, there isn't gonna be any significant economic data today besides AA's after hours report right? So, I think ERX may not be a good play until after hours today depending on AA's results.

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 12 2010, 09:51 AM)
The market is in overbought territory. I expect it to pull back again this week but how much, I don't know.
We need a correction now but it may or may not happen because we're in earnings week.

They expect earnings to be good, therefore will push the Dow over 11K and stay there for a while until late June.
Totally agree with u man. Overbought and begging for a pullback, might be as early as tonight maybe? Let's see how earnings fare this week which are anticipated to perform tremendously well & major economic data releases throughout the week (including China's 1Q GDP this Thursday IINM)

Good luck to us all thumbup.gif

PS: Anybody thinks that Citi will hit USD 5 before or post earnings? Or will a correction hit first? hmm.gif

PPS: Am looking into NBG, anybody considering this? Read through their 2009 Financial annual report, still looks pretty decent. With this news that was released on Sunday;

'Trying again to halt a debt crisis that has hammered the euro, fellow eurozone governments tossed struggling Greece a financial lifeline Sunday, saying they would make euro30 billion in loans available this year alone -- if Athens asks for the money.'

Worth going in for the momentum trade? Any thoughts?

This post has been edited by Erroralot: Apr 12 2010, 03:40 PM
Erroralot
post Apr 13 2010, 05:21 PM

144 posts

Hmmm, looks like today's gonna start off in the RED!!

This post has been edited by Erroralot: Apr 13 2010, 05:22 PM
Erroralot
post Apr 13 2010, 10:28 PM

144 posts

Yea, i think it would most likely close in the red too.

Got some ABK at pre market @ 2.38, sold @ 3.05. Decent profit smile.gif

I hope oil drops further, want to pick up some ERX at 40-41 smile.gif

Erroralot
post Apr 14 2010, 08:08 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 14 2010, 06:18 AM)
No reason at all. It is just a "goreng" aka speculative stock for now. Was hoping for quick ride, that's it! 
Now, the ride is over. I'm out.   sweat.gif

Infact, some analysts still holding bearish view. It was quickest rise and fall in two days I've seen.

Closing update:
Dow 11019.42 +13.45 +0.12%
Nasdaq 2465.99 +8.12 +0.33%
S&P 500 1197.30 +3.28 +0.07%
Yea, JPMorgan released to it's clients that ABK is a no value stock, hence further downward pressure. ABK is purely speculative and just for momentum trading. Investors saw PROFIT of EPS 1.93 and all flocked in, ignoring the fact that they might go bankrupt by the second quarter of 2011.

Wow, Market totally flipped! With Intel posting such great results, wonder how the market will fare tonight eh? hmm.gif

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Apr 14 2010, 07:43 AM)
BAC climbed back.. should see upward movement tonight.. In fact, BAC is good fundamental stock. That's why its support level is always there. Now depends on Friday report, if the it is back to some earnings, the price will shoot to $24++. Book per share is now $22.45.

Like PALM, ABK is aimed for cooking. Previously we had STEC.

I like cooking stock. But for this fast cooking stock, make sure you trail up with a tight stop and don't keep the stock overnight. Very dangerous.

But if you notice this kind of stock again. Please fast fast tell me.. wink.gif

Added on April 14, 2010, 7:49 am

ok, it ends green.. smile.gif

HL soon to be very attractive if dip continues..
I've been using this website quite a bit to spot pre market surges, Day Trading Blog. So far it has been pretty beneficial, like KERX was a pretty good play for the past couple of days. SSN as well. thumbup.gif The author gives pretty good information on technical analysis, Baltic Dry Index (Dryships is a pretty good trading stock), mortgage rates, LIBOR rates, closing market remarks, stocks to trade (Penny & OTC stocks as well) and etc.

Good luck to us all tonight smile.gif Hopefully C will ride with JPM's most probably good earnings report thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Erroralot: Apr 14 2010, 08:10 AM
Erroralot
post Apr 14 2010, 09:53 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 14 2010, 09:13 AM)
If C rides to $5 or near $5, I'll dump 3/4 immediately then, I'll go
for abalone and shark fins soup dinner later.  brows.gif
Buy me a drink too pls ? Yum cha? HAhahahA!

I would definately be estatic if C hits USD 5! smile.gif

Good luck Zamans! Wishing u all the best icon_rolleyes.gif
Erroralot
post Apr 14 2010, 03:05 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Apr 14 2010, 10:18 AM)
Thanks. Should buy INTC, busy watching ABK. AMD also up, NVDA also follows..

I will be happy also. Not much of C because bought at high price circa 4.65$

I know taikor DMC got at least 8,000 C at average 4.10$
Haha, taikor DMC... really tai kor la man! thumbup.gif

If JPM beats estimates, would JPM or UYG be good for scalping? Which would you choose? Thoughts ppl?

This post has been edited by Erroralot: Apr 14 2010, 03:06 PM
Erroralot
post Apr 15 2010, 07:56 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 15 2010, 02:31 AM)
Decided to sell some TGB @ 6.11 today for 20% gain.
Been riding it since $5.  biggrin.gif

Closing Update:
Dow 11123.11 +103.69 +0.94%   
Nasdaq 2504.86 +38.87 +1.58%
S&P 500 1210.65 +13.35 +1.12%

This is incredible. The bulls made another step forward with a 3 digits closed. Another new high! rclxms.gif

C made the new highs for close at 4.94 (massive 6.9% gain). 

Update:
YUM beats earnings estimates (59c versus 53c). Up 3% after hours!  rclxm9.gif
As I suspected, that growth in CHINA!
Source:
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142405...oo&mod=yahoo_hs

After a recent slowdown, Yum said same-store sales increased 4% in mainland China, exceeding analyst expectations, while profits rose more than a third. Results benefited from strong sales at the Chinese New Year and expanded breakfast sales.
"This is about China right now and no one saw plus-four coming," analyst Jeffrey Farmer of Jefferies & Co. said. "That's the big piece that's making this stock go higher.

If China reports a very positive GDP numbers later, the market can go to the moon the next session.

Update: 7:25am
Checked back in after hours, I resubmitted my sell Q for C @ $5. It got hit.  biggrin.gif
Unloaded 10% (750 shrs) off for now. I'll unload more tonight if this bull continues.
Grats with ur profits!!

Insane bulllllll!!

C is at 5.01 After-hours, insane insaneeeee! thumbup.gif
Erroralot
post Apr 15 2010, 05:17 PM

144 posts

Yeah, totally agree with u guys!

Market seems to have a tendency to constantly push forward despite so much uncertainty and insane overbought conditions!

Oh well, continue to scalp. Am pleased that I enter-ed UYG at pre-market yesterday, still holding. Setting a tight stop for today though. smile.gif

Today, as of now, market seems to be pulling back a little like what dmc predicted due to markets surging, making new 52 week highs smile.gif Buy on dip peeps!
Erroralot
post Apr 16 2010, 09:25 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 16 2010, 07:16 AM)
It is going to bounce between 4.75 and 5 for now, until it breaks out or break down again.
Nevertheless, this roller coaster ride seems fun.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Apr 16 2010, 08:59 AM)
This seems like DEJA-VU, exactly like in October last year. That time, I did not use Trailing Stop and since it hit 5.10-5.15, all the way down to $3.1x. (Just imagine getting at 3.20 and sell at $5)

I pick-up 1000 again for a short ride to $5. Dumped the last holding of AA (in profit). Dumped CENX in pre-market.  thumbup.gif

10:16:53 Sold C (S)    1,000 $5.050
12:43:09 Bought C 1,000 $4.890
11:22:04 Sold AA 200 $14.410
15:24:48 Bought C 1,000 $4.800
Sold my UYG yesterday for a small profit, was kinda surprised at first that how on earth my stock was worth 77+ till i saw the 10:1 reverse split.

I bought C after hours at 4.78 for some scalping as well smile.gif Hopefully it can ride back to 5 today thumbup.gif

Good luck to us all !! rclxm9.gif

11.08am, Asian markets really getting raped! Dow futures too! Hmmm, i wonder at pre-market how would C do? hmmmmmmmmmm ... haha..Buy more on dip?

This post has been edited by Erroralot: Apr 16 2010, 11:08 AM
Erroralot
post Apr 16 2010, 03:03 PM

144 posts

Wow, at the rate the chinese markets are getting raped, I think I can get some FXP tonight after the housing data, GE and BAC earnings (If they disappoint expectations) LOL thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Erroralot: Apr 16 2010, 03:25 PM
Erroralot
post Apr 16 2010, 09:19 PM

144 posts

Bought C at an average of 4.78 at pre market. Sold at average of 4.925.

Re-bought more at 4.76 and 4.78. Now it's 4.73 lol. Damn oh damn, wonder if the market will pick up:) even with good earnings + economic data yet the market is still tanking. What's ur take on this guys?

This post has been edited by Erroralot: Apr 16 2010, 09:20 PM
Erroralot
post Apr 17 2010, 12:12 AM

144 posts

LOL amazing, totally did not expect such an extreme red day! LOL.

For all days to report about GS, they chose today? Hmmm ...

Oh well, more Buying on Dips smile.gif

Am in FXP at pre market too, got some at 37.50. Just wanted to scalp a little, definately did not expect such a LARGEEEE surge!
Erroralot
post Apr 17 2010, 06:40 PM

144 posts

I got more C at 3.50, got some erx at 42.60 as well.

I think depending on how C and AAPL(if iam not mistaken) performs, market may swing back to bullish mode. If not, the much awaited correction for the market is due(market is overbought). Thus, bear mode will maul the bulls into pieces.

As for shorting position, u may even consider GS if more bearish pressure persists but as far as ETF goes, I personally like FXP a lot for it's performance which reacts not only based on the xinhua 25 index but on the Dow as well(eg:eventhough it tracks the xinhua index only, if hang seng performs poorly and the Dow too for the same day, the ETF will perform better than 2x of the xinhua 25's fall). Just my 2 cents:)

Am happy with this week's profits.

Nice one DMC! Good on u too zamans!

Can't wait for Monday, the moment of truth. Gonna be really exciting! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Erroralot: Apr 17 2010, 06:49 PM
Erroralot
post Apr 19 2010, 02:49 PM

144 posts

Wowww! Hang Seng down 470 smile.gif

I love my FXP smile.gif yayyyyyyy ! thumbup.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top