126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

US stock discussion v2

epalbee3
post Jan 8 2010, 07:23 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 8 2010, 10:43 AM)
I'm using TD Ameritrade and it has trailing stops, can hold long and short positions at the same time,
Level 2 access, and bunch of other tools for beginners and sophisticated traders. $10 a trade.  laugh.gif
so expensive.. smile.gif

only suitable for high end trader.. wink.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 8 2010, 09:37 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,124 posts

I knew it.. jobs numbers are not that good. No improvement at all. Traders are going sell this news.

Who's hiring?
Answer:Nobody! Welcome to Jobless Recovery 2010! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 8 2010, 09:42 PM
epalbee3
post Jan 8 2010, 10:11 PM

1,345 posts

what is the effect of next economic downturn, if any?

property price? then we can buy house at lower price..

Added on January 8, 2010, 10:12 pmAnyone know is there a way to see how many people short for certain stock?

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Jan 8 2010, 10:12 PM
danmooncake
post Jan 8 2010, 10:18 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Jan 8 2010, 10:11 PM)
what is the effect of next economic downturn, if any?

property price? then we can buy house at lower price..

Added on January 8, 2010, 10:12 pmAnyone know is there a way to see how many people short for certain stock?
That already happened last year.
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 8 2010, 11:04 PM

1,121 posts

market up or down? dunno man rclxub.gif make ur stand & place ur bets, its earnings season
now tat, wil be the real kicker brows.gif
below r excerpt from another forum laugh.gif

1) November payrolls were revised to show the economy actually added 4,000 jobs in that month rather than losing 11,000 as initially reported.
That's a 15K difference. I can't wait to see what creative accounting they use to expalin the December numbers. Looks like that Job Summit went well..........

2) This from the CNN story:
Perhaps the most encouraging news from December was a 46,5000 net increase in temporary help jobs. Temporary employment is typically seen as a leading indicator of job growth because employers will add part-time workers before they're willing to hire permanent employees.

Well, in past years that may have been the case, but with the multiple spectres of 0bamacare, cap and tax, and other nefarious anti-business mischief soon to become reality, my guess is temp jobs are likely going to be "it."

3) The numbers are smoothed for those type of seasonal variations. What -85,000 means is that 85,000 fewer people were hired in December after accounting for the normal season flux of the Christmas.

Actually, though, November and December is normally a time of job losses on an unadjusted basis as many seasonal operations (shipping for Christmas, outdoor recreation, outdoor construction, etc.) slow down by October/November, manufacturing takes a holiday for Thanksgiving and Christmas and New Years, etc. The last December with growth in the absolute number of jobs was 1999.

4) "Market" should not be confused with "economy". Market is up on government provided liquidity, anticipation, overweighting of particular "hot" group in the "market" as measured too often by only 30 Dow Industrial stocks (which can be and has been replaced by stronger companies, which makes the "index game" upwardly "rigged" - better to use Russell 2000 / RUT or Wilshire 5000 index, though similar caveats apply) as well as real earnings which are positive due to offshoring and cutting employment. "Market" can also be a financing mechanism for public companies, so government makes every effort to sustain and/or maintain its high level.

there is a real earnings recovery - which is one of the big drivers of the "market" - but it actually comes at the expense of real economy and economic recovery. Such environment is not sustainable for very long, especially when federal and state governments make it ever more difficult to start or grow the business, with higher business costs due to taxes, mandates, regulations, minimum wage, unionization, artificially created inflation and so on...

[QUOTE]

If you don't ask the right questions you may not get the right answers
danmooncake
post Jan 9 2010, 03:26 AM

10,124 posts

Bought back some FUQI 20.60 during open. They got a new business opportunity.
Good news indeed.

See this press release: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/FUQI-to-Excl....html?x=0&.v=10

Added on January 9, 2010, 6:04 am
Closing Update
Dow 10618.19 +11.33 +0.11%
Nasdaq 2317.17 +17.12 +0.74%
S&P 500 1144.98 +3.29 0.29%

Guess what.. the worse than expected unemployment numbers do not matter. Stocks continue higher..
Let see how big this bubble can get. tongue.gif

ERX now is flying to moon. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 9 2010, 06:18 AM
mynewuser
post Jan 9 2010, 09:59 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(AnonyNite @ Jan 7 2010, 10:22 PM)
yeah, why ah? ohmy.gif it went up like triple already? ~_~
C also up how many times already since mar 2009 low.
danmooncake
post Jan 9 2010, 11:48 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jan 9 2010, 09:59 AM)
C also up how many times already since mar 2009 low.
C has much more opportunities to go even higher.
Just buy the dip and hold C. US govt won't let it fail.

epalbee3
post Jan 9 2010, 12:51 PM

1,345 posts

the reasonable price to bid should be <3.30 for safe.

I guess it will have the chance to go until 5.50 for long term.

By the way, I am going to pump in money end of the month.

Either up or down, we will be able to long and short.

Do you think Sogotrade is ok? should I change to other broker?
danmooncake
post Jan 9 2010, 11:45 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Jan 9 2010, 12:51 PM)
Do you think Sogotrade is ok? should I change to other broker?
I thought you just complained Sogotrade does not have trailing stop or after hours trading?
What about execution? Fast? Slow?

Well, only you know what you need. laugh.gif

But, I'm telling you and I do like TD Ameritrade. Fastest execution, no issue with after hours orders,
customized orders, and I'm with ok the transaction fees 'coz I make it back easily. nod.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 9 2010, 11:46 PM
epalbee3
post Jan 10 2010, 12:50 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 9 2010, 11:45 PM)
I thought you just complained Sogotrade does not have trailing stop or after hours trading?
What about execution? Fast? Slow?

Well, only you know what you need.  laugh.gif

But, I'm telling you and I do like TD Ameritrade. Fastest execution, no issue with after hours orders,
customized orders, and I'm with ok the transaction fees 'coz I make it back easily.  nod.gif
Ameritrade is good, but fee a bit high.

I might use just2trade, as recommended by zaman.

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 10 2010, 05:35 PM

1,121 posts

my watchlist @ gambling portfolio cool2.gif
everything on track, since none reach cut loss level flex.gif oso its estimated earnings due date

*hog, 23/1/10, <50 & >200ma, stil tidur
vwdry, 28/1/10, <50&200ma, ^**stil tidur
gci, 30/1/10, >50&200ma, ^ok on track

*rgr, 24/2/10, <50&200ma, ^stil tidur
clf & CGJGJ.X , 25/2/10, >50&200ma, ^**ok on track
*tlvt, 26/2/10, >50&200ma, ^**~ok on track

vnr, 5/3/10, >50&200ma, ^~ok on track
bont, 11/3/10, >50&200ma, ^~ok on track
hitk, 11/3/10, >50&200ma, ^~ok on track
ks, 16/3/10, >50&200ma, **stil tidur
*heat, 18/3/10, >50&200ma, **~ok on track
gol, 20/3/10, >50&200ma, ^~ok on track
caas, 26/3/10, >50&200ma, ^~**ok on track

sgg is etf, no earnings date laugh.gif

epalbee3
post Jan 11 2010, 10:04 PM

1,345 posts

C premarket is higher... wink.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 11 2010, 10:28 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Jan 11 2010, 10:04 PM)
C premarket is higher... wink.gif
Remember, don't chase. Play some other stocks while think about this one in the background.

This week, market will surge higher. Buy dips during pullback. Sure way to win. nod.gif

epalbee3
post Jan 11 2010, 10:41 PM

1,345 posts

I feel C will pass 4.00 soon.

Holding some now since 3.30.

Added on January 11, 2010, 11:39 pmSold 144 C at 3.65. Earned USD 50.

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Jan 11 2010, 11:39 PM
danmooncake
post Jan 12 2010, 01:01 AM

10,124 posts

Oil going into volatility mode again, therefore I'm day trading again.

Sold 1/2 ERX @ 47.50 during open.
Repurchase back @ 45.50 30 mins ago for $2 play. $1K profit for this brief pullback.
Hopefully, ERX will get to $50 by next week. tongue.gif

Looks like everyone piling into commodities before Alcoa reports later.

MGM players: Did you guys see that pop? Looks like a break out to me. Shorts be careful here.

Closing update:
Dow 10663.99 +45.80 +0.43%
Nasdaq 2312.41 -4.76 -0.21%
S&P 500 1146.98 +2.00 +0.17%

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 12 2010, 05:30 AM
zamans98
post Jan 12 2010, 09:16 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

Crazy MGM. Sold at 9.85, now breaks 11.15. Gila.

AA is not as attractive in price, as traders already factored in the good report.

For UYG, it moved by 70cts in less than 2 weeks. Duh! Missed it.
danmooncake
post Jan 12 2010, 09:25 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Jan 12 2010, 09:16 AM)
Crazy MGM. Sold at 9.85, now breaks 11.15. Gila.

AA is not as attractive in price, as traders already factored in the good report.

For UYG, it moved by 70cts in less than 2 weeks. Duh! Missed it.
Poor AA, they didn't make it.
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/12/business...er=yahoofinance

After hours tanked badly.
zamans98
post Jan 12 2010, 02:10 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

See the top volume, taking that, I believe C is good for 4$
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 12 2010, 06:36 PM

1,121 posts

i m curious, did anyone ever make $ trading from salvador dali or martin wong? or attended their seminars? rclxub.gif

126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:27 PM