9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

dvlzplayground
post Apr 26 2010, 02:17 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Apr 25 2010, 11:29 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Long lense or Prime lense
Budget: less then RM1500
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand : Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  General/Landscape/Potrait
Any specific models in mind? :  AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D or Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Any specific features u want? :  -

Not in rush to get the lense, might change the plan or budget depend on my pocket and time. rolleyes.gif
ur budget can get both tongue.gif but then both wont do good for landscape
dvlzplayground
post Apr 26 2010, 01:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Apr 26 2010, 09:42 AM)
So what would suggest for landscape?
u got 18-55? okay already for landscape smile.gif if dun have, u can juz get a secondhand non-VR version, landscape no need VR, tripod is the way to go. shud be ~rm350. thinking of selling mine but wanna wait until i got money for replacement lens ;P

once got enuf money can get tokina 11-16 or nikkor 10-24
dvlzplayground
post Apr 26 2010, 09:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Apr 26 2010, 01:51 PM)
oh i already got 18-55 when i bought my d5000 it came as basic kit lense. i ask my friend few wks ago he say trade in my 18-55 and top-up more for 18-200 @_@ but out of my budget still

but anyway thanks ya biggrin.gif
well, we have to be realistic... 18-200 not in ur budget mah smile.gif but wait a minute...u using D5000? if like that u cannot use 50mm f1.8D. can is can la, but have to manual focus. get 35mm f1.8G instead, shud be around rm850. for 1.5k u need to decide u want the tele lens or normal prime 1st...

QUOTE(nikyazmin @ Apr 26 2010, 04:36 PM)
Hi guys - looking for multiple advice here

My very good friend's birthday is coming up on Sunday and he has been hinting that he wants to pick up photography. I'm thinking of getting him a DSLR but don't want to buy anything too high-tech/pro in case he decides he doesn't like photography after all.

1) Can I get anything decent for a starter for about RM1.5K?
2) Where is the best place to buy in KL?

Any advice would be much appreciated!
can i be ur very good friend too? wub.gif

1.5k i dun think can get anything brand new...2nd hand dslr can la but takkan wanna give 2nd hand stuff as birthday present rite...

1.5k can get a high-end compact, e.g. panasonic lumix LX3, canon S90 or canon G11. that way he can still learn about photography. all three got full manual control, LX3 n G11 can play with flash, filters and converter lenses if he wants... and equally important, he can learn the basics like ISO, aperture, shutter speed. even better, when he decides to get serious into photography...he can buy a good DSLR himself later but still can use the compact (sometimes bring DSLR too much of a hassle). if u give him entry level DSLR, then in the future he decides to buy expensive DSLR, the entry level one collect dust only....or sold

QUOTE(Renee @ Apr 26 2010, 08:42 PM)
Need some recommendation from sifu here, prefer shooting some of the products, so i don't think i need a DSLR camera, the compact one should be enough right ?

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact D.Camera
Budget : RM800 and below
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Any brand as long as good
Type of photography u want to do : Products shooting
Any specific models in mind? : No, i'm superb noob in camera

well not really...even for products, DSLR can take better pictures... better colour, more sharp, etc. if u can increase ur budget to rm1k, can get 2nd hand nikon D40 with 18-55 lens... can shoot much better products shots than any rm800 compact dy smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Apr 27 2010, 10:48 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ Apr 27 2010, 07:46 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: 3400-3800
Your Location:   Kuching, Sarawak
Preferable brand :  Canon and nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  potrait shot, landscape, good bokeh, video
Any specific models in mind? :  550D
Any specific features u want? :  good video quality recording
550D is a good choice already. type of photography depends on lens. for your budget i think you can get 550D + 18-55 lens + 50mm 1.8 lens (for portrait n bokeh).

another good combo is nikon D90 + 18-105 lens + 50mm f1.8D lens (for portrait n bokeh)

between canon or nikon u decide urself, dun let anyone talk you into one brand, not even the salesperson. last time i survey dslr in kch, i rmember copal digital in spring bias towards sony, the branch in saberkas bias towards canon. both canon n nikon are very solid choice dy, it's really up to your preference. if u like the 550D then juz get it smile.gif

QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Apr 27 2010, 10:03 AM)
but can i ask just thing why my d5000 cant use it for autofocus? notworthy.gif  hmm.gif
1st thing u shud know, in order for AF to work, need focusing motor. this motor can be in the camera or lens. D3000 and D5000 dun have..so we can only AF with lenses that has the focusing motor. if the lens no focusing motor, AF won't work. the 50mm f1.8D dun have motor.

in the current nikon lineup, only D90 and above got focusing motor, so they can use the 50mm f1.8D

so as i said, for d3000 and d5000, need lens that has motor. for nikon lenses (nikkor), only the AF-S series got. so if u want to get something similar to the 50mm 1.8D, get the AF-S nikkor 35mm f1.8G (~rm850). most of the pics on my flickr are shot with that lens, u can have a look smile.gif else u can get AF-S 50mm f1.4G (~rm1800). remember it's the 1.4G...the 1.4D is ~rm1k but wont AF too

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Apr 27 2010, 10:50 AM
dvlzplayground
post Apr 27 2010, 11:17 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Apr 27 2010, 11:02 AM)
i guess i will stick with 50mm and use manual focus =(

anyway thanks again and 1 more thing what does bokeh mean?
if u shoot inanimate objects shud be okay. for people, make sure u get a patient model to wait for u to focus manually

bokeh is kinda like blur2 parts of a photo, purpose is to make the background less distracting n more 'dreamy' effect i suppose. go a google image search on Bokeh u'll see what i mean. there's a bokeh gallery in the photo gallery section too
dvlzplayground
post Apr 27 2010, 03:07 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(nikyazmin @ Apr 27 2010, 11:25 AM)
Thanks for the advice!

So if I still wanted to get him a DSLR, minimum how much would I look to pay and what brands/models should I be looking for?
about rm1.8k can get the cheapest DSLR.. nikon d3000 or canon 1000D. other brands i dunno tongue.gif

QUOTE(881117 @ Apr 27 2010, 11:26 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR second hand
Budget:2k MAX including lens
Your Location:   Penang / Kch,Swk
Preferable brand :  Nikon/Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  Fun, and multipurpose.. Unique picture, editing.
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon 500D? 550D? Nikon D5000??
Any specific features u want? : Im really new in DSLR world and need some guide..

WTA : What lens should i use? What is better for beginner?
2k MAX no way u can get 500D, 550D or D5000. have to be realistic with ur budget. juz get nikon d3000 kit or canon 1000D kit unless u wanna save up more. buy the kit, normally comes with 18-55 lens. gud enuf to use until know what specific lens u need in the future. plus, it's cheap smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Apr 27 2010, 11:17 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ Apr 27 2010, 06:23 PM)
btw what differences between 18-105 lens and and 18-55 lens? which better in perform capture landscape?
calculate like this... 105 divide by 18 is 5.83.. meaning it has 5.83x zoom. 18-55 lens is 3x zoom. both quality are very similar, and both are suitable for landscape. the difference is the 18-105 can zoom further when u wanna shoot something else
dvlzplayground
post May 1 2010, 01:50 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(voryuz @ May 1 2010, 12:20 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR SECOND HAND
Budget: 5K
Your Location: Sarawak / Penang
Preferable brand :  Canon / Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Multifunction
Any specific models in mind? :  D90/EOS 550D/
EOS 500D/EOS50D/

Hi Guys, I have some question to ask,
I know EOS 50D is the best. BUT,
EOS 550D, EOS 500D, D90 Which one is the most better?? Any suggestion?
D90 is better than 550D, which in turn is better than 500D. u dun need to get 2nd hand... rm5k is a lot! u might be able to get a 2nd hand nikon D300s too, much better than the D90 (and 50D i believe).

the cheaper camera u buy, the more u can spend on lenses n flash later smile.gif

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ May 1 2010, 01:00 AM)
Both are great tu apa? I'm asking you nicely, or anyone for that matter, couldnt you comprehensively press those fingers of yours onto those keyboard for a nicer reply?

Ask wallet. I dah ada duit lah, thats why I ask, mangkuk.

Ive read thorough reviews yet none give me a decisive end word.

Anyone else can really help me?
chill dude...that was a correct reply. he's saying both nikon D3000 and canon 1000D are great cameras already. nikon fanboys will say D3000 is better, canon fanboys will say 1000D is better. the truth is both are at the same level, that's why anyone reading every single reviews in the world could not make a decision. that's y u couldn't make a decision too.

it's a matter of personal preference, particularly the menu. so since you're buying for someone, it's pretty tough since you dunno either ur friend prefers nikon menu or canon menu. another thing is the feel... the cheaper canons tend to feel for smooth and light, compared to nikon which are rough and solid. about image quality, build quality, etc...they're really the same. that's the thing about canon vs nikon (entry level at least)...comparing performance etc wont do any good.

juz get either one, whichever u think u friend would like. there's really no way for you to pick one here unless u find out ur friend prefers nikon or canon. another idea is to get the brand her friends use (if she has any kaki-dslr friends)

lastly, mind your language

dvlzplayground
post May 1 2010, 01:15 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(voryuz @ May 1 2010, 09:19 AM)
Yea meh? D90 got 12 megapixel but 550d got larga megapixel wor .. how come
ppl need to stop comparing megapixels :S d90 is closer to the 50d than the 550d
dvlzplayground
post May 1 2010, 02:55 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ May 1 2010, 01:21 PM)
wta D90 and EOS 550 D which 1 is better ? for beginner ?

550d gt high mega pixels , but i heard comment stated tat overall performance still d90 better ? any suggestions ?
both 550D and D90 are okay for beginners. u juz need to decide to go for canon or nikon. eventho d90 performance is better, some people still prefer 550D anyway cuz they like canon instead of nikon.

u can read more here: http://ninezerothree.wordpress.com/2010/03...amera-shopping/
dvlzplayground
post May 1 2010, 10:14 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ May 1 2010, 04:56 PM)
I know of the resale thing,but you know..its a girl , so she'd expect a new stuff. I dont mind a 2nd one myself.

The thing is I was expecting a technical feedback, afterall this IS a tech enthusiast forum right?

I know of reading the specs sheets,badabada, but thats not what I'm after. I want a user's first hand comments on both of these cameras. Reviews on the net MAY be biased, who knows.

A simple pros vs cons would do. Then I'll judge them two myself.

For now I'm still debating because it is for a girl, she'd want the nice outlook (red bevels,etc) of the Nikon rather than the total black module of the 1000D. She wouldnt care less of the menu, as I know that she, nor most (and I said most) of anyone here would be comparing any 2 cameras side by side.

I do have a friend using the nikon , and I myself know how to operate a DSLR. I just need to know which one is better since both come in the same price bracket, and I really dont think she would need a D90.
u already got ur technical comparisons from those reviews u got. no one is going to waste time laying them out for u. this is a DSLR we're talking about. and if it's true that u mentioned u know how to operate a DSLR, u should know how important the menu n controls is, n how the difference between D3000 and 1000D are not that important when actually taking pictures.

there's really no way of saying d3000 is better or 1000d is better. a person who prefers a nikon menu would say d3000 is better, a person more comfortable with canon menu would say 1000D is better. you asked for our opinions, and this is our opinion. end of story
dvlzplayground
post May 2 2010, 02:11 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 1 2010, 10:22 PM)
@dvlzplayground. I think LYN should make a flow chart for selecting cameras, DSLRs in particular, coz the same questions keep coming up, and it's almost always between brands. Duncha agree?
i've suggested that before. need to collaborate with other people too. i only know about nikon :S too many ppl asking about d3000/1000d, 500D/550D/D5000/D90 already here. so tired to reply :S

QUOTE(fongwan @ May 1 2010, 10:38 PM)
Dear All,

I understand that D90 is not the entry level but is the Canon D550 still consider entry level. I have ask around and also do some surfing but i still think i understand much about the camera.

Also is it wise that a person should do more learn more before they actually buy the camera ? For me I am putting myself the normal PnS type but the truth is my PnS is bad. As i don't even know anger and all those thing.

Thus really need some advice on this as we are looking at a few k  investment which i don't want to feel sorry for myself for making wrong decision. 

Thank you
um not wise because it's hard to learn without having a camera tongue.gif last time i got buy a photography book, but my PnS no manual mode, whatever i read straightaway eject from my head since didnt to it practically heheh. maybe can borrow a camera with manual controls from someone n learn about the basics 1st la i guess hehe.

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 1 2010, 11:18 PM)
no right or wrong decision. If you scared regret, you can always start from a prosumer level PnS, like LX3, S90, G10, G11. These will set you back about 1.5K. Top up 300 you can get D3000 or 1000D. D90 and 550D is at the high end of entry level DSLRs, i would reserve 3-4K before i touch these babes.

If you think you can grow into photography, go straight for DSLR. If you have worries, then learn kao kao from a PnS first. When you get frustrated with PnS liao, then you will wholeheartedly accept DSLR's weak points (big size, heavy, inferior kit lens, noisy focusing motor, expensive upgrades, etc).

I was at where you were. I went the PnS way. Remember you can always sell your PnS to fund the DSLR. They hold their prices quite well.
yup i agree. plus, if u get high-end compact, then one day suddenly decide to get D90/50D, the compact is still useful smile.gif didnt regret buying LX3 hehe

Added on May 2, 2010, 2:17 am
QUOTE(yuka @ May 2 2010, 01:43 AM)
which one is better ?

1. nikon d40x
2. nikon d2000
3. sony alpha a100
if by D2000 u actually mean D200, then get D200 smile.gif much better than D40x, plus got AF motor~

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 2 2010, 02:17 AM
dvlzplayground
post May 2 2010, 02:44 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

d200 was high end in 2006, a100 and d40x is entry level in 2007.
dvlzplayground
post May 3 2010, 03:24 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ May 2 2010, 02:52 AM)
oic, but my budget is only on a100 used one, if other need to wait few months.
so my budget max rm1300

one more thing, how about a300 compare to others?

* eh, sry.. not d200, should be d3000.. how was it?
aiya.. haha personally i prefer D40x over D3000. the features are very similar (d3000 got 11 AF points instead of 3, got sensor cleaning) but d40x is much cheaper. if u can find a used d40x (or even d40, more worth it than d40x IMO) in a good condition for ~1.1k, that's a very nice price dy smile.gif i have no idea about the alpha though

QUOTE(fongwan @ May 2 2010, 09:35 AM)
DJFoo000, dvlzplayground,

Thank for the advice. Well what happen is that my wife have canon ixus which i used to take photo and normally i use the auto mode to shoot that is why i am not sure whether am i really want to jump into the boat. If i don't even know how to shot using the compact digital camera, i am really not sure whether i can handle the dslr.

I have some friends who are into photographic which they like to take photo and normally i really enjoy and like to see their photo reason being is the feeling of the photo is different . Maybe after the post editing, however some of them actually did the shot and then just post it up and still the photo is so good.

haih.. really hard to make a decission. sad.gif
well, when using normal PnS sometimes no inspiration wanna improve also hahah. learning the dslr basics like aperture, shutter speed, ISO, WB, flash etc is easy la actually. i believe there are some very good photographers out there who probably cant even get good SPM results tongue.gif the hard part is creativity. this is a hobby after all, so either u want to explore or not, your call smile.gif

QUOTE(putochip123 @ May 2 2010, 05:17 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera/semi pro camera
Budget : Below RM1.5k
Preferable brand : Panasonic or any other
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : FZ35
Any specific features u want? Newbie in camera, start to learn

wondering which model will suit me? i like to take photo, what i heard from my friends, they said DSLR is too high end for me, they ask me go for Semi pro, is it right choice for this?
Currently looking at Panasonic Lumix FZ35, i think it is a quite nice camera since(looking at the outlook and "BIG BIG" Lens)
QUOTE(putochip123 @ May 2 2010, 07:03 PM)
approximately how much for that camera?
QUOTE(putochip123 @ May 3 2010, 02:21 AM)
compare Panasonic LX3 vs Panasonic FZ35, which 1 is better?
what is the different between this 2 models?
biggerlens better or smaller better?
LX3 and FZ35 are two different cameras for different purposes. LX3 has a bigger sensor, meaning wins for image quality and low-light. LX3 also has a faster lens, advantageous in low-light (again). LX3 has a wider lens, so it does landscape better than fz35 but not much difference lah. generally LX3 is the better camera, its reputation speaks for itself...see how many recommend dy tongue.gif

fz35 wins for zooming obviously. so for portrait, i suggest fz35.
dvlzplayground
post May 3 2010, 09:03 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(steel2k2 @ May 3 2010, 11:18 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories
Budget: Below RM1800
Your Location:  
Preferable brand :  Any as long deliverable
Type of photography u want to do :  All rounder (night, macro, landscape, portrait)
Any specific models in mind? :  Nikon D3000, EOS 1000D, Lumix LX3
Any specific features u want? : High ISO support with low noise wink.gif
I did some searching and found out that my budget can bring me the above 3 models. I loves to take pictures and i doubt I will invest more in my camera like upgrading/buying more Lens (if i go for DSLR)

So, i need some advice from Sifus here, If I am not planning to do any upgrading, which is best for me? I read about and saw that D3000 and 1000D are almost equivalent just the menu/interface.

Advice needed =)
both nikon D3000 and canon 1000D shud be around rm1700-1800 now. if u want high ISO then DSLR is ur best choice. kinda noisy at 1600 but tolerable la compared to compacts. LX3 ISO performance is pretty bad, i wont go above 800 (if i do use iso 800, it'll be for black n white only). S90 and G11 is slightly better.

n of course DSLR would give u better colours smile.gif juz the size la, dunno u ok or not
dvlzplayground
post May 3 2010, 11:20 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(steel2k2 @ May 3 2010, 10:33 PM)
I went to shop to check out S90, G11, LX3 and i happen to bump into this model Lumix FZ35

Sifus, need some comments on this? The deal i got is RM1650 with 8GB Card. HD Video Recording, 12MP and 20x Zoom. Other than that is more a like the same as the rest of the model

Comments?
picture quality is slightly less than s90, g11 n lx3. the only advantage is zoom

u guys dun read previous posts?
dvlzplayground
post May 4 2010, 10:28 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

to those ASKING ABOUT ENTRY-LEVEL DSLRs budget of 1.5k-3k

you might wanna read up on the previous pages of this thread. this same question was asked so many times before, and you'll always get the same reply.

thx smile.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 4 2010, 10:28 PM
dvlzplayground
post May 4 2010, 11:08 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Jaroque @ May 4 2010, 10:48 PM)
oh guys, i havent asked here as my thread kena closed by mod..

LX3 VS Sony A230... which better? i focus more on picture quality...
picture quality sure the DSLR win smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 5 2010, 01:55 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Reu_ch @ May 5 2010, 01:05 AM)
Guys help me out here:

I looking to make great quality short movies and clips. But i'm not too sure to go for a DSLR or CamCorder.
What you guys think based on my stuff that i'm looking for?

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Not sure, you guys tell me what i need
Budget: RM3000
Your Location:   Penang
Preferable brand :  No preferred.
Type of photography u want to do :  Wanna make good cinematic videos. Focusing on video marketing
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon Eos 550D
Any specific features u want? :  I want great HD video capabilities and nice video
if u dont mind only 720p, i think canon 500D with 18-55 lens, plus 50mm f1.8 II lens is a better combo for rm3000.

not sure about camcorders

Added on May 5, 2010, 1:56 ambtw for video, u shud get a tripod too

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 5 2010, 01:56 AM
dvlzplayground
post May 6 2010, 04:58 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ May 5 2010, 11:26 PM)
I'm at a cross junction now.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM3,000-4,000
Your Location : JB
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Indoor (wide angle) while Outdoor when going overseas for holiday
Any specific models in mind? : 550D or 50D
Any specific features u want? :
Remarks: New into DSLR

550D + 18-55 lense: RM3000 (local set)
50D @ RMM3, 650 (not sure)
50D + 18-200 lense @ RM5,100 (import set)

Which should I get?
50D is out of ur budget. as u posted, body only is already rm3650, the rm350 balance can only get 50mm 1.8II lens. not wide angle at all

i suggest 550D + 18-135 lens smile.gif

QUOTE(omg528 @ May 6 2010, 07:32 AM)
Hi guys, need some help on deciding which to buy here. Hope to get some advice from the users here. Thanks!

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital CAMERA
Budget : Below RM750
Your Location : Melaka
Preferable brand : Panasonic or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and potrait
Any specific models in mind? : Pana FH3,FH20,nikon?duno yet
Any specific features u want? : Nope.....wanna get one that is best for my budget.

I am looking for 2 brands panasonic and nikon..currently researching fh3 n fh20...
erm...nikon good or not in DC range?any model to intro?
i have no model recommendations for u, but nikon point n shoot is not really good compared to panasonic / canon / fujifilm. anyway "digital camera" is very broad a description, u're looking for "point and shoot".

QUOTE(FrozenRay @ May 6 2010, 07:45 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM3,000-4,000
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Indoor, potrait and landscape
Any specific models in mind? : 550D
Any specific features u want? :
Remarks: New into DSLR

Not sure which one is suitable for me. Some said skip the kit lens.
Which one is better for a starter?

1. 550D + 50mm F1.8 (suitable for all condition or really just for potrait?)
2. 550D + 18~55mm + 50mm
3. 550D + 18~138mm
since u mentioned indoor and landscape, it's really weird for ppl to recommend u to skip the kit lens for the 50mm 1.8 tongue.gif it's good for portraits though. for indoor, quite hard to use in small rooms

i think for rm4000 u shud be able to get 550D + 18-135 + 50mm

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0809sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:56 AM